Haunted Legends: The Call of Despair Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Haunted Legends: The Call of Despair Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(458.24 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Amax Interactive proudly presents the latest chilling installment of the Haunted Legends series!

When the Captain of the Musketeers in Nulver Town calls for help, you rush to his aid. When you arrive, you find more than your average missing person’s case to deal with. People in the town are turning into crystal and more appear on the street each day! Can you find out who’s behind these strange transformations and save the town before it’s too late? Find out in this exciting Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

  • Solve an intriguing mystery involving a plague-ridden town in the bonus game.
  • Earn a variety of unique achievements!
  • Tons of hidden crystals and morphing jigsaw puzzle pieces to find.
  • Enjoy completing a 52-piece bonus jigsaw puzzle, wallpapers, soundtrack, concept art, and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1079 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Legends: The Call of Despair Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(458.24 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Haunted Legends: The Call of Despair Collector's Edition is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Too Bad of a Game I'm glad I tried this game out, due to such bad early reviews, but then I gave it a try, and it turned out to be a fun game. A lot of activities to keep you busy. Good puzzles, and some challenging HOS. Overall it was just as good as any other new HOPA game that has come out lately. Give it a try and see if it's a game you like. I like puzzles, and this one had lots. Some really easy and some more challenging.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked this game So excited to see a new Haunted Legends. Not sure why the bad reviews. I think some reviewers think there needs to be a plethora of plots available at all times, when in reality these are games. There are only so many plot subjects to come up with. Try the game for yourself. I enjoyed it.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ignore the "Experts" After I played the demo, which I thoroughly enjoyed, I thought this game deserved a positive post from just a regular old gamer. Despite a decade of intense BFG gaming, sometimes I appreciate games that are simply fun (and it helps when they are this beautiful and professional). Some games become boring immediately but this wasn't one of them. Nothing about it was difficult but it had enough to keep me entertained so that the trial hour ended while I was in the midst of solving a puzzle...can't beat that! I would recommend this game for anyone who likes HOPAs and wants a break from very creepy evil stuff. It's not a highly difficult game but it's enjoyable and of course, coming from this developer, it is gorgeous. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is that it didn't make me say, "Wow! I can't wait to buy that." Nevertheless, I'm buying it. Play it for your own opinion.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Players seem to be too picky I played part of the demo and liked it. Every game can't be great. I recommend being a bit more open-minded. Try it and look for the fun parts.
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from hidden objects only just started seems very good
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Call of Despare Personally, I like the game, but it does have it's flaws. It is far from being easy. In fact, in some places you have to use the hint button, several times. I got this game in the SE with a game coupon, so I will be playing it, again. However, games in this depth, should be made easier to navigate through. Some of the hidden object puzzles are so blended in together you can hardly find what you are looking for.
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not too bad, but it got a bit annoying. Ok, I have seen a few reviews asking why there are poor reviews on this game. Ok, let's start off with gameplay. Gameplay, in my opinion, is far too long. I was excited at first, because I admit, the storyplot was worth exploring even further. I love the drama, the action, the classic fencing and bloodshed, revenge..... All tied into one. Great, I thought. All makes sense, and the action was really good. Unfortunately, as the game goes on, it starts to become stale and long. Too many puzzles, especially the tricky and difficult ones, and I am sorry to say, my brain is still quite frazzled at this point. Some of the instructions of the puzzles are not very clear on explaining what to do. What do I do to the elf in the end? It shows a green heart, so what do I do? Another green heart / shield? What do I do if there is a blue shield? Another blue shield? It became confusing at some point, and I was forced to skip. The reflection puzzle is very confusing too. What do I do? So, I'm really, really sorry to say this, but the level of challenge had just dramatically risen. It became stale and long, with not much interesting happening. Second off, fun factor. I mean, of course, at the beginning, it was pretty fun to unravel the story, but later, after the climax, it wasn't really interesting anymore. The additional 'too-hard' puzzles didn't really make it more fun either. It slowly became stale and bland, with not much fun in there. Overall, it's an OK game. I mean, I would recommend to those who wants an extra challenge every now and again. But I just don't think that this kind of game is for me. XD But recommending to those who are hardcore challenge-loving peeps out there. Ok, Sophia out! :D
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was an OK game - I found this to be an okay game to play - nothing really to write home about. I had only 2 issues with this game. I found it quite annoying when you got the morphing puzzle piece that the screen would "fade out" for a couple seconds. The 2nd (more major issue) - is that there is NO opportunity once finished the game to get any of the pieces missed throughout the game. Huge disappointment for me and one feature that a lot of the developers do not include. I still recommend the game, however, it is not one I liked well enough to replay.
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad - but a bit disappointing at the end! I really enjoyed the game and it had a decent extra story. Why the average rating? Because you can't go back and find the morphs and crystals you missed - that was a big no-no for me - very disappointing at the end!
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WENT downhill from the first of this series WHAT happened fellas??? The first one to this series was great and as the years go by they should get even better. Not so here. It just seems to lose your interest too soon.... Story line seemed to be all over the place and loses you at times. Morphing objects flickered but seemed to still be the same item before and after "Morphing!" Juat not a game that kept your interest enough to buy it. I think they need to bow out gracefully about now and call this the end to this series...
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dreadful Based on the completed game. People who read my infrequent reviews know that I like games with strong stories and characters. While the demo held promise, this game fell apart after the introduction. Pointless action, much to and fro, 20 items in inventory that made no sense. No logical progression in the game. The same went for the bonus chapter. Saving grace: the game was long, but when everything you're doing lacks rationale, length is simply frustrating. And regarding the bonus materials: Another thing I don't like is CE games that don't let you go back and find morphs and collectibles that you missed. I missed 2 of the approximately 40, but with no re-do, was deprived of completing the final bonus puzzle. No way I was going to run through the entire pointless game again for those two missing pieces. I gave it two stars because the graphics are beautiful and the HOS are exquisite and logical to complete. Logical within their own context, but mostly not logical in the context of the game. Basically, I hated it. (p.s. I number of the puzzles did not like my solution when it was the "right" solution, so I'm passing that off to my outdated operating system and not the game.)
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Trial: Another Dreaded Disease! Sigh! Too many GAMES! This started off with hope it would move forward. Great graphics, good attention to detail, décor and character attire. Then the games started and never stopped. Then some of the tasks that should have been mini games required use of numerous hints as well as use of the strategy guide to complete. That was more than annoying because you had to complete them or you couldn't move forward! When the next task was instructions to manufacture a caduceus, that was enough for me. Nothing but games! Little story. This is an old tired story line with lots of mini games thrown in to take up time and destroy any continuity and forward advance that would have make the game enjoyable. I didn't even finish the trial. Lasted about 10 minutes before calling it a day! With all the great qualities I still can't recommend this one. Not a Hidden Object Game...It's a Mini Game, game! Oh, almost forgot the storybook misplaced items game with gruesome pictures!
Date published: 2019-05-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A PLAGUE THAT TURNS PEOPLE INTO CRYSTAL?~IF THAT'S THE BEST PLOT YOU CAN COME UP WITH END THE SERIES~SERIOUSLY GIVE IT SOME DIGNITY! Completed Game approximately 4.0 hours (including CE Bonus Chapter & all mini-games) I'm not even going to attempt to give a storyline synopsis, there is no storyline to synopt. (no it's not a real word) I had a CE code that was going to expire so I bought this game, I prolly should have just let the coupon expire:( The storyline is utterly ridiculous, they just don't have any "new" plot ideas so they just wing it as they go. Amax hasn't released any new series games so they just keep plugging away at the same handful of series offered since the beginning of time. In the beginning, these games had fresh plots with just enough of an edge to please any crowd, but the beginning is in the rearview mirror folks, the middle flew by about 8 years ago, the end actually occurred a few years back, everyone got the memo accept for Amax. The CE collectibles are rather confusing. The SG clearly states that there are Collectibles AND Morphing Objects, but the Collectibles are Jigsaw Puzzle pieces that Morph. Then I discover a Casket that claims it holds Crystals located throughout the game, so I thought they were collectibles, only to discover I need them for the final scene. I have a thing about achieving all available achievements so I read them carefully before starting the game. One of the achievements says Make 6 unnecessary moves in the game...what the hot fudge cake does that mean? I played the entire game trying to figure out how to make one unnecessary move, much less 6. Surely I should have achieved the achievement for the simple fact that I completed this worthless game? There are 13 Hidden Object Scenes and 5 Zoom Zone scenes and I actually found some of them to have well-hidden items or interesting interactions. Once again Amax repeated the HOP's twice on every location, which makes them so boring a second time around, and quite frankly it seems lazy to me. There are Interactive Listed Item Finds, Silhouetted Shape Finds, Multiples of the same Object Finds, Matching Pair Finds, Description Finds, Related Item Finds, Fragment Finds, Misplaced Item Finds, and Keywords in Sentence Finds. At least there is a good variety, but there are no alternate mini-games available. I've said this before, I'll say it again if devs would offer a mini-game option in place of the Hidden Object Scenes AND a hidden object scene option in place of the mini-games, wouldn't it suit everyone's tastes and increase sales? There are a whopping 25 Mini-Games, most of which were utterly boring, or simply mindless tasks such as dragging a ball through a gazillion line shapes. I'm going to try very hard to list some of the games I didn't find too boring: 1~Place & align all using directional arrows to direct the moonlight beam. That's about it folks. The Collector's Edition Bonus Chapter takes place immediately after the investigation when the Cardinal asks you to investigate how Saint Germain discovered the Well of Souls and its powers, by "recalling the investigation." This is an average length Bonus Chapter across 8 scene locations with 12 additional mini-games and 6 hidden object scenes. You will pick up the remaining 16 Morphing Jigsaw Puzzle Pieces to complete the collection jigsaw. This Collector's Edition version has 6 Wallpapers, 7 Concept Art Pictures, 5 Screensavers, 8 Movie Video Cutscenes, 4 Music Soundtracks, 12 Achievements, 13 Re-playable Hidden Object Scenes, 13 Re-playable Mini-Games, 52 Morphing Puzzle Pieces, 5 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter, and a Built-in Strategy Guide. HAUNTED LEGENDS SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-The Queen of Spades (December 9-2010) 4.2 2-The Bronze Horseman (September 8-2011) 4.1 3-The Undertaker (November 15-2012) 4.4 4-The Curse of Vox (June 20-2013) 4.0 5-The Stone Guest (November 15-2014) 4.0 6-The Dark Wishes (May 7-2015) 3.7 7-The Secret of Life (November 5-2015) 3.9 8-The Iron Mask (June 30-2016) 4.1 9-Faulty Creatures (December 3-2016) 3.1 10-The Black Hawk (March 9-2017) 3.4 11-The Cursed Gift (August 24-2017) 3.9 12-Monstrous Alchemy (March 24-2018) 3.4 13-Twisted Fate (October 13-2018) 3.0 14-The Call of Despair (May 16-2019) n/a by: Amax Interactive
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from THE PLAGUE OF ST. GERMAIN OPINION: Get prepared for some surprises in this game including one small irritation as well! The only thing worse than the occasional slow pace I experienced playing the demo was the “pièce de résistance,” the dwarf, St. Germain. Surprise! His re-emergence dwarfs any other faults this game may possess. Cleverly, AMAX hid his irritating presence until the very end of the demo. St. Germain is immortal and so is his insidious presence in AMAX games! On the plus side, the game is beautifully illustrated (sans one dastardly dwarf). Although the story is a little strange to me, I would have purchased it. I play games for the activities, so the story most times is inconsequential. However, St. Germain is such an annoying presence with his grunting and insidious presence, it destroyed my desire to continue with the game. The HOP scenes are somewhat creatively designed. There are quite a few mini-HOP scenes in the demo which require searching for a small number of some item. There are also some multiple step ones with searches using two different formats. There is a variety of types including matching, search and replace, lists of items, and silhouette. Most are interactive. The nine (9) minigames from the demo are on the easier side. There is one mini game which can be played in either an “casual” or “hard” mode. It appears that there are quite a few picture puzzles within the game. At the end of the demo there are three consecutive ones each presented in a different format. One involves switching puzzle pieces; a second involves rotating circles to match the picture; and a third is a slat puzzle in which slats are moved up-and-down and sideways to restore an image. Puzzles pieces are also collected throughout the game for a picture puzzle available upon completion of the game. Most are easy to locate within the scenes. Not being a big fan of jigsaw and picture puzzles, this was another feature which made the game less appealing. MECHANICS: • Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. • Ten (10) achievements. • Collect fifty-two (52) morphing puzzles pieces • Receive a casket in which to place crystals • Six (6) wallpapers along with five (5) screensavers, concept art, music and video sequences • Replay thirteen (13) HOP scenes and thirteen (13) minigames SPOILERS: HERE ARE THE MINIGAMES FROM THE DEMO: A. Switch puzzle. Switch 4 horses so each is in the appropriate slot. B. Sequence puzzle. Remove swords attached to 4 shields so none remain. Removing them from one shield affects the other 3. C. Sliding tiles puzzle. Slide tokens on a circular grid until all are placed next to an associated image. D. Tracing puzzle. Move a marble through a symbol without touching the sides. E. Match-3 game. In 10 movies get the specific number of colored drops indicated by removing them by 3’s. Drops can be switched. F. Choice between Casual and Hard. Sequence puzzle. Repeat a sequence give on 4 tokens to knock put an evildoer. 3X Three (3) Consecutive picture puzzles G. Switch puzzle. Switch pieces on a grid to restore an image H. Rotating disks. Rotate disks with parts of an image so that the image is restored. I. Slats puzzle. Move slats vertically and horizontally to restore an image.
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Another game I can't finish. Another game I can't finish. I got as far as the forge in Chapter 4, but it won't let me pour the stuff in the mold. I have tried every which way. And since they, in their infinite wisdom, have decided to do away with people helping out, I am stuck. I guess I'll see if they will give me my money back.
Date published: 2019-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unbelievably Bad Game I found this game to be like so many BFG offerings these days..boring, mindless and repetitive! I also wonder why others want to review the reviews they disagree with? If you like it say so. If you don't like it say so. But the game is what should be commented on. This was just another cookie cutter game. A pick up and put weird pieces in weird places to achieve..whatever?!?
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BORING Don't waste your time money or credits this game is so bad I wish I could have given it a ZERO. I couldnt even get passed the first 5 mins before I uninstalled. This series has had better days I think its time to retire it for good.
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Grunt I loved the first few of these games, and played others, even when I felt they weren't as good. I love the artwork - the music is not unpleasant. The story is pretty cookie cutter, but it's a game. However, I will not put up with that grunting dwarf, ever again.
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from TO SAY I WAS DISAPPOINTED IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT! Haunted Legends The Call of Despair is not the most discouraging game to be released this year but it certainly runs close. Just when I thought that this developer was finally getting it together and was making its way back as a top producer of some great games, today’s game rather dashed that hope on my part. When the first Haunted Legends game was released eight years ago it earned a 4.3 star rating from gamers and it was a hit game. I personally loved that game so I was very disappointed with today’s new Haunted Legends game. I’m only hoping that if this series is to continue, there will be some fresh storylines introduced to keep us enjoying this series in the years ahead. There is not too much to write about this game and I was raised with the adage of if you have nothing good to say then don’t say it. At this point I think I have said all there is to say about a game that exemplifies the meaning of despair. When I played the demo of the game I was surprised to find that it was no better than the beta when there could have been a lot of room for improvement before the final game was released. The good thing about the game is the graphics that are excellent and at times quite beautiful. There is no other developer, IMHO, who can artistically render such beautiful characters in its games. I only wish that great graphics were enough to keep me wanting more but since they aren’t I decided to give this game a pass. Had it not been for the boring and tiresome gameplay I might have taken the plunge and purchased the full game but I was simply afraid to waste money on a game that really didn’t hold any appeal for me. As always, I encourage you to try the demo and decide whether Haunted Legends The Call of Despair is a game that you will enjoy. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I used to love this game series. I have to be fair-I didn't get through the whole demo version. Boring. Back and forth, too many peeks through keyholes and overheard conversations that do not add anything substantive to game play, one puzzle in particular that made absolutely no sense (to me, anyway). Apart from that one puzzle, though, the game is not challenging or fun. I really did used to love the Haunted Legends games, and was excited about this one. But as with the last few games from this series it just did not measure up. Stunning visually but as gran used to say, you can put lipstick on a pig and dress it up, but you can't take it out to dinner. This game gets an unequivocal no from me.
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It Was My Scream of Anguish You Heard In the Night! Once again the cardinal has called in an agent to go on a mission for him. This one is shrouded in greater secrecy than any other. Your only information is to talk with the captain of the Musketeers in the small town of Nulve. You will spend a great deal of time peeking in windows and through cracks and eavesdropping on conversations. All you will learn is that most of the local characters are not very rational or likeable. Good stuff: There are the usual game elements and CE bling, including morphing items to find. The artwork is beautiful although tending toward a gray scale. Bad stuff: Those morphing items all look the same, before and after morphing. If you can't find them, your monitor must be unplugged in another room. There is constant rain in the Demo, suggesting the Devs were just as sad as players will be. The story is very disjointed - {Spoiler Alert} At one point the doctor is outside a grated window/door seeming to ask for help. It looks as though he is dragged away by a loud and angry mob. By the time you get through the grate several puzzles/sets of amulets later, he is calmly walking in his front door and the street is empty. There is more, but each incident, when capped by the late appearance of St Germaine, only muddies the already cloudy waters of this soggy game. Everywhere you go there are multiple amulets, keys, and shapes to collect, each set to open something that will get you parts to another set to get you parts to something else to open to get more pieces. Tired of searching for small items of every description in pairs and small groups? Then step into the forge where you can make one of the three extra caduceus you need to get into the Doctor's house. Usually I have something to say about both the story and the game play. This game defies words. The story made me cringe. There were so many bad moments, I was left with only that scream upon my lips. Even the appearance of St Germaine is laughably sad. You'll know what I mean by the end of the Demo. Please, do not buy blindly. I urge you to play the Demo.
Date published: 2019-05-16
  • y_2019, m_9, d_19, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_29999, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Legends: The Call of Despair Collector's Edition

Can you stop townspeople from turning into crystal in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.