Mystery Case Files: Moths to a Flame Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: Moths to a Flame Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(456.42 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Eipix Entertainment proudly presents the next thrilling case in the series Mystery Case Files!

When a new assignment brings you to the Zenith Museum of Oddities, what was supposed to be an open and shut case spirals into a complex web of deceit. Someone knows about your past, and they’ve prepared a special tribute to all your biggest cases. But what do they want, and what will become of the innocents that stand in their way? You’ll need all your skills to stop the dangerous foe that threatens to use your past against you in this heart-pounding new chapter in the classic hidden-object puzzle adventure game saga!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“Absolutely brilliant! I haven't had this much fun playing any game for a long time. The puzzles were superb, particularly the statue base and the lamppost puzzles, but the multiple Rube Goldberg puzzle was out of this world!”  - beta tester

“Fantastic game! Love the references to earlier games - Ravenhearst, The Dalimar family, Madam Fate and her carnival characters - need to go back and replay the earlier games now!”  - beta tester

  • The Master Detective must figure out who is the Archivist’s last hostage! Help free the other MCF agents from the Archivist’s schemes! Disable the bomb set to destroy the MCF archives.
  • Search for stamps, souvenirs, and morphing objects hidden throughout the game!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and mini-games - and earn even more achievements!
  • Enjoy memorable wallpapers, concept art, videos, and music.
  • Keep your adventure on track with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 821 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Moths to a Flame Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(456.42 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Moths to a Flame Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 136.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good old MCF game, best in its kind I was thrilled to see a new MCF game, and also a bit concerned first... would it be a new story of which I couldn't yet be sure of the quality? For example: Shadow Lake disappointed me somewhat, Broken Hour was beautifully done. But yay! This game re-visits the earlier cases and the atmosphere of all the Ravenhearst games is here again. Coherent story, a madman at play again but better believable than some 'over the top' villains we meet in other games, great puzzles to discover. When I was about half way in the game I thought it was going to end soon but no, it didn't, and the story unfolded further. I enjoyed it thoroughly!
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What more could you ask for? A VERY enjoyable play - this game is extremely well done and pulls you right in and puts you "in" the game - awesome. There are those super clever, multi layer puzzles just like from the old days of MCF - super fun still too and, with a little more assistance if you get stuck. Don't miss this one! It's great!
Date published: 2019-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back to Creepieville! I've been a fan of this series since I found "Dire Grove" back in about 2009. It is an excellent creepy/puzzle/hop game, (in that order:) This is another in the great series. As is usual for me I took off points for the consistently grey/purple/black color theme. I know it fits with the genre, but it gets tiring looking at it after awhile. And also points off for the repeated story line - detective has to figure his way out of a mess caused by a psycho/sociopath. But these were my only quibbles. It still rates 5 stars. This is a great game. I've learned more puzzle skills in this series than any other I think! There is only one collectible in each scene, but they were well done and hard to find, which is good:) Also has a morph in each HOP scene (for newbies, here's a non-spoiler hint. When you first open up a HOP scene. take your time and look around for the morph. If you can't find it, select an obvious item and don't click on that one until you've found the morph. Mostly you will. I think one time I didn't. Anyway here's to another great game!
Date published: 2019-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Radical agent gone wild! Great title for a game--MCF: Moth to a Flame! But Metallica's Moths into Flame, comes to my mind, which fits this rogue agent, who has gone over to the dark side. His very high IQ has made him less strong in common sense, perhaps? We play the Master Detective who must foil the plans of this embittered genius! Sold your soul Built a higher wall Yesterday Now you’re thrown away Same rise and fall Who cares at all? Seduced by fame A moth into the flame I've almost completed the Main Game of this CE version and I'm really digging it! EIPIX devs are ingenious and crazy and talented. Good flow to the game. Great storyline and voiceovers. Awsome grapics and music. Some items are difficult to decipher but the tasks and the mini-games are top shelf as usual. I'm rating this game 5-stars. This game may not be to everyone's liking but I highly recommend it, nevertheless!
Date published: 2019-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I have played from this series. I have never written a review but own close to 500 games. This game is out of the ball park. The graphics are great but most are these days. These guys did a wonderful job on all the puzzles. I loved the storyline it kept me interested. Within 5 minutes I knew I was buying the game and excited about it not just buying one to pass the time.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Avoid The Candle, Little Moths, You Might Get Burned MCF is back in all its former glory! This one ranks up there with the very best, among which I mean RTR, Madame Fate, Dire Grove, and not much else. We play, as ever, as The Master Detective, our nemesis is an Archivist who wanted to work for the MCF organization and faced more rejection than a third-rate novelist at a literary convention. It's enough to make one...evil... We have colleagues in need of rescue but are formidable in their own way, a welcome change from the usual save-the-helpless trope. We have single puzzles, we have HO scenes in abundance, and yes, the Rube Goldberg-style multi-stage puzzles that are the hallmark of the brand. And they're good. Really, really good. Pros: Nearly everything. Excellent graphics, smooth game play, excellent voice acting, a coherent plot with plenty of twists, the usual sly humor and a Master Detective who doesn't take him/herself too seriously. Enough references to past cases to make spot-the-case a secondary joy. None of the puzzles is overly difficult but pieces of many of them are definitely not for beginners. Cons: Where'd the theme go? You know, Dum Dum, Dum Dum, Dum Dum, Da Da Da Da Dum Dum... Yes, OK, we have the indispensible clacky typewriter, but no MCF theme. And apparently we, the Master Detective, no longer get nice notes from the Queen to begin. It isn't much to complain about but it's all I have. Bonus Game: One last taunt from The Archivist - or is it? And one last hostage - or is he? And one glorious finishing puzzle as dessert. Five stars and frankly, I didn't want it to end.
Date published: 2019-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NOT MY CUP OF TEA 30 Minutes in I just couldn't take any more. Too advanced for my brain I guess, what do you expect of a 77 year old. If you like a good challenge this is it. I liked the Moth concept; very cool, Graphics and Sound great as always. Sorry I gave up at the Museum. I give it a 5 star it deserves but it's not my cup of tea.
Date published: 2019-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, MCF gets back on track! i've owned every MCF game (well, the PC & Mac ones), going back to the very first. I think I may be one of the few people who liked Rewind, which was done in the style of those early few games. Moths to a Flame throws back to older games without the retro feel that newer players hated in Rewind. The game references many of the old story lines: Ravenhearst, the Dalimars, and Madame Fate, and characters from within the games about them. The level of the HOG scenes is reasonable. There's very little hunting for tiny objects, which Eipix is good about avoiding. A lot of the puzzles seem to lean towards easier, but not in a bad way. My only complaint about the puzzles is that the end of the main game is a battering ram full of puzzles. Wayyy too many to get dumped on at one time. Speaking of the end -- no spoiler! -- I expected a twist that didn't happen but they definitely set up a direct sequel. The bonus chapter isn't very long and seems kind of tacked on. It doesn't add anything to the overall story. The music is pleasant and appropriate and the artwork is nice, although nothing special. (This isn't a complaint.) Cut scenes are concise enough and don't go on too long. If you've been missing the high quality games we expect in the MCF series, this is a game for you.
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NEVER HAVE I EVER I have never submitted a review before and I have been a member since the first Ravenhurst came out, but this game is awesome and fun. It brings back so many memories yet still makes you think. Did all puzzles except for last in regular game. It's a stinker, may never do but will try. Good going, haven't enjoyed a game so much in a long time
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best MCF game to date Quite simply this game offers all the features you could ask for. Great value for money with hours of engaging play. The Hidden Object scenes are first class. Achievements that are actually achievable! In some games they are almost impossible! Morphing objects to find and souvenirs to hunt down. There is a strong storyline and scenes that are vividly colourful. Give it a go, its well worth it.
Date published: 2019-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best in the series I have played all of the games in the series, this one was one of the best.
Date published: 2019-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YAYYYYYY!!! I don't normally review, and I wouldn't begin to say this is one, but I am having fun with this game! I buy a lot of games, but MCF is the one I wait for. This one has NOT been a disappointment...hurray! I play with no hints, no skips, no help and it has been challenging...GREAT!! And I have thoroughly enjoyed all the gameplay revisiting the MCF history. Way to go! I only wish I could play some of my old favorite MCF games. Ever since windows10 came along, all my old games are lost to me.
Date published: 2019-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game I have all of the MCF games and this one is one that reminded me of one of the older games. I found it enjoyable and entertaining.
Date published: 2019-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of the Best!!! I have been playing MCF games since the first one came out and this is the best one yet! A fun walk down memory lane into a little bit of lots of the best games from the past. However, the puzzles are top notch, much different from any previous edition even some of the HOP were a bit more difficult than usual. I loved revisiting locations I had not seen in many years. If you are a MCF fan, then I certainly recommend this one!! I just hate to wait so long between releases.!!
Date published: 2019-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Done !! Well Done! I was very happy to see some of the MCF quality has returned.. I get that some people are never going to be happy whatever you guys create but this one was a great improvement. I have left “my two cents” on the other games as well and I have expressed my disappointment but you guys brought the quality back up and now I can look forward to MCF games again. Overall, I was quite happy with the game and enjoyed playing it. The game kept my interest … some of the puzzles were definitely thinkers… loved that the game flowed well but the story ??? Graphics and sound were very good. It came very close to reliving some of the fun of the old days of Ravenhearst .. That being said … how about letting that series go and create a new one…. . Let’s see what you creators can come up with.
Date published: 2019-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i be the swede I like mystery case files series the Goldberg puzzle are always a challenge !! I still think the 13th ghoust is the best one cause it has real people in it.
Date published: 2019-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!! just wow! Fantastic MCF game! You've outdone yourselves Eipix team!! I am so impressed by the thought and work that went into this game. The storyline is great, many challenging and new puzzles almost every step of the way. Most are quite challenging some were easy for me but I have been playing HOG's for 9 years now, so I like to think I'm a little more savvy. This is the BEST MCF game to come out since Fate's Carnival. There are characteristics of almost every other MCF game in almost every scene. I am certain that if I were to play this in the most difficult mode it would be more challenging than any other MCF game.I won't go into detail cause I hate to spoil the surprise. The graphics were muted to give it that old feel and look but that is pretty standard for Eipix. Worth every penny (if pennies existed in Canada) of the full price. I have been playing for 6 hours and am still on the main game - just had to give a shout out to the dev's and to encourage any gamer to give it a go. You won't be disappointed! I would have chosen it as my current favorite but it didn't come up in the search.
Date published: 2019-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game!!!!! i was not going to play this one as the last 5-6 in this series were dreadful...this one is great... the puzzles are well thought out, you need to use your brain to solve them..how refreshing!!!!!! i do not go into great detail of any game i think it spoils the gaming fun...that said...this is a wonderful suprise.if you have played this whole series, you will enjoy this one for sure......
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game!! I played the Beta...twice! I haven't bought a game in months because I couldn't find anything that excited me. This game excites me! The puzzles were just challenging enough, the graphics awesome and the fact that there were constantly references and characters from past MCF games was the icing on the cake.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best MCF since Escape From Ravenhearst Great storyline, got my interest from the beginning, took 2 days to finish. Music was classic MCF, and the music in the HO games was super relaxing and beautiful. But best of all, the puzzles were fantastic, no one does a super puzzle like MCF. The very end of the bonus chapter was a bit confusing, did it blow up or did I disarm the bomb? I don't know. Great game Big Fish, cannot wait for the next installment!
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ****About time!!!*** Wow! I am so excited with this game! I am a huge, HUGE fan of MCF games & this is FINALLY a good one! I have been disappointed in most of the later MCF version games that have come out but I am thoroughly enjoying this one. It is fun to visit back to the past(yes, there was a game previously that did this) but this one has all the bells & whistles! Thank you BF for this game! I rarely leave reviews but I had to do it for this! I do not want the game to end & I taking my time & enjoying every minute.
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game I have been waiting for a good game for a while and here it is. I had so much fun playing this one. I played straight through and it took me about five hours. Now I'm sad it's over. Honestly the games have been really boring lately. Will we EVER get another Nancy Drew game or what??? It's been forever and those are what I love to play. I want some good adventure games. I like the point and click ones where you need to click on everything. Until we get some, this game was one of the better games to come out in a long time. Please give us more like this. Enough with the strategy and match three. No offense to anyone that likes those but I can't stand them. Boring!
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This time Eipix offers us a game well thought out, complex, with beautiful images. A quality far superior to their latest games. Bravo. Maybe a new team took the lead ?
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply one of the best casual games I have ever played, in a very long time. I was a bit skeptical at first, seeing it's eipix that has developed, but boy, was I wrong. I have never played a better casual game in a extremely long time. It's on pair, if not better than, with best in this series. The story line, the atmosphere, the minigames and the diversity of it all, is so good. The only slightly letdown, is that some minigames is a tad easy, but as a whole EXTREMELY close to a masterpiece. PROS: Storyline, Atmosphere, Voice acting, diversity of gameplay. A lot of different styles of minigames. CONS: Some minigames slightly on the easy side. All in all 5 out of 5.
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcome back MCF!! I am a loyal MCF fan and was SO excited when I saw this new game had come out and even more so when I watched the trailer and saw that this game incorporates the old case files/games into the gameplay. I also have never written a review but this game forced my hand :) Have only played the demo so far but based on that I have just purchased the full game. Based on the demo: - love that the Master Detective (the player) has the use of a gadget - M.A.C. - something that hasn't been used in previous MCF games. Very cleverly done too. - original storyline with a new villain while incorporating all the old MC files that everyone loves - all scenes are filled with detail, lots to interact with, both purposeful and not (I personally love when you can interact with something for the sake of it - e.g. poke a donut and it appears to get eaten, poke a sunflower and it squirts out water - the more interactive the scenes the better, which is definitely the case in this game - these devs have always been clever with the little details in their games and this game is no exception, everything has a reason and a purpose, nothing is added into the game for the sake of it - Rube Goldberg puzzles!! There's no need to say much more here, these devs are the kings of the rube goldberg puzzle and as usual they are awesomely done here - Great option of custom difficulty level as well as the usual 3 tiered preset difficulty levels - including the option to turn off sparkles which I personally dislike - new atmospheric music, great puns along the way, love the clever play on words when you click on certain things - looks like there's lots of achievements, some of which have 3 levels to them - there are collectible stamps in each scene - hidden object scenes so far are pretty cool including: classic listed item finds with interactions and story clue finds (where a story is told and each sentence refers to an item to be found) - as always with MCF, the voiceovers in this game are great Looking forward to playing the full game, I highly recommend trying this game especially if you like previous MCF games
Date published: 2019-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cleverly done I didn't get tired of playing this game. I thought the first two hops were hard but I liked the hops with morphs in them. The puzzles were the one's I liked. I liked the crow sound when you found a collectible or morph. I liked the secret places I found. The moving spheres that you have to open are wonderful. The museum of oddities are cool like the hairy sea creatures. I had to laugh at some things like the sign that said "Not a secret room". I loved shooting the evil ducks. The hammer with the Fabiano look just made me laugh. I like all the throwbacks to the past MCF games. You collect 40 stamps for pressing hot wax. 19 morphs in the hops. Only 10 items in the Souvenir room. I think they should increase that one. Why only 10? Has 6 chapters + Bonus. Replays on 16 hops, 21 puzzles and 6 music. Art has 6 movies, 8 artwork and 8 wallpapers.
Date published: 2019-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF back at the top I have all the MCF games I must admit though that after Rewind (what was that all about) and the Countesss which was a bit like all the other hog/adventure this is back to the standard we have come to expect. Great visuals, great puzzles. All in all a very very good game.
Date published: 2019-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thanks! So glad that MCFis on the track again. Loved playing it,I think the mix of old and new is briljant. You made my day.
Date published: 2019-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very entertaining I logged in specifically to comment on this game. Mystery Case Files has been my favorite series to play. I've always enjoyed them though I thought they were lacking recently. This game was AMAZING. It's clear that the developers have returned to greatness. The attention to detail is spot-on. Completely enjoyed this game..!
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eipix delivers one of the best games of all time! I have played all the MCF games and this is by far the best one to date. A must play/buy. Everything about this game is fantastic.
Date published: 2019-08-24
  • y_2020, m_9, d_20, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_136
  • loc_en_US, sid_30520, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Moths to a Flame Collector's Edition

The past returns inside the Zenith Museum of Oddities!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.