Mystery Case Files: Black Crown Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files: Black Crown Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(513.91 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Eipix Entertainment proudly brings you the 20th case in the classic Mystery Case Files saga!

When a patient at the Manchester Asylum draws a huge crown covering the walls of her cell, you’re sent to learn what, if anything, it has to do with your past. But when the inmates escape, there’s only one way for you to regain control — find the Black Crown before they do. You’ll need to gather your wits and use all your abilities to learn the identity of “Jane Doe” and solve the mystery of the Black Crown in this new chapter of the classic hidden-object puzzle adventure game series!

  • Help the Voodoo Shop owner in the Bonus Chapter!
  • Replay your favorite HOPs and mini-games and earn achievements!
  • Tons of collectibles, morphing objects, and souvenirs to find!
  • Enjoy exclusive wallpapers, concept art, music, videos, and more!
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1230 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Black Crown Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(513.91 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Black Crown Collector's Edition is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 94.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT GAME! This is such a fun and creative game with an outstanding storyline and great visuals! I love MCF, and this game is no exception. It's super creative, with unusual HOPs, some of which take place over several stages. There are a ton of locations, and they're all unique and well thought out. The storyline is very enjoyable. In terms of collectibles, there is a crab and a morph in every scene. Most of the time they're relatively easy to find, but a couple of them were tough. All in all this is a particularly good game in the series, and I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2019-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PATIENT # 11 HOLDS THE KEY TO THE BLACK CROWN Completed Game approximately 5.5 hours (including completion of all mini-games & CE Bonus Chapter) 29 Main Game Scene Locations +15 Bonus Chapter Difficulty Range: Intermediate Locked away in a tiny, dark cell of the Manchester Asylum is patient #11. She doesn't know who she is or where she's from. She has spoken, she hasn't responded to any treatment, she has made no progress for years, until now. Patient 11 has been obsessively drawing images of the Black Crown all over the walls of her cell while uttering randomly. Patient 11 may be mentally unstable, but she seems to be connected to the Black Crown, the same Mystery Case Files you solved 8 years ago, in Louisiana! Gadgets/Helpers: In Chapter 1, you will use a pocket watch that reacts when a new scene is discovered. You must drag the watch around the scene until it turns green, indicating you have discovered the right location. This gadget is only used 5 times and only in the first chapter. Why didn't they use the Mechanical Moth from the last MCF game? Collectibles & Morphing Objects: There are 42 Hidden Crabs and 42 Morphing Objects, one of each in every scene, including the CE Bonus Chapter. The Crabs are way too big to miss and the Coral is too brightly-colored to blend into the single color hues of most locations. Hidden Object Scenes: There are 17 Hidden Object Scenes +3 in the CE Bonus Chapter. Although there aren't a lot of variances, the scenes were well thought out and located in interesting scenes. They are mostly Listed Item Finds that are multi-layered and pan towards the back with one scene following the next. There are several Interactive List finds, Matching Symbol Finds, Matching Constellation Finds, and Pictured Item Finds as well. There are No Alternate Games Available. Mini-Games: There are 42 Mini-Games +6 in the CE Bonus Chapter, including my beloved Super Puzzles which are Rube Goldberg variations of complex door locks that require solving multiple layers of puzzles to open and proceed to the next chapter, and it's what makes MCF games so unique. below are a few of my personal favorite games: 1-All 3 Rube Goldberg puzzles 2-Drag various angled clock hands to point to every hour on a clock. 3-All versions of Untangle the Ropes games. 4-Trace the lines without repeating a direction. Bonus Chapter (Collector's Edition version only) Jumping jambalaya, Momma Aimee has discovered that Phineas Crown is one determined pirate. Phineas placed 12 segments of his soul within ordinary items and hidden them in the swamps of Louisiana. I loved this 13th Skull revisit to Absolute Voodoo which is an average-length chapter that takes place over 8 familiar Scene Locations. There are 6 Mini-Games and 3 Hidden Object Scenes and you will pick up the final 8 Hidden Crabs, and 8 Morphing Coral. Collector's Edition Extras: 8 Wallpapers, 8 Video Movie Cutscenes, 11 Music, Case Files Journal,15 Achievements, 19 Replayable Puzzles, 20 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 42 Collectible Crabs, 42 Morphing Coral, 20 Souvenirs, 5 Chapters (listed as Chapters 0-4) +Bonus Chapter, and a Built-in Strategy Guide. MYSTERY CASE FILES SERIES LIST Title***Collector's Edition Release Date***Average Rating 1-Huntsville SE only (November 14-2005) 3.6 2-Prime Suspects SE only (April 6-2006) 3.8 3-Ravenhearst SE only (December 15-2006) 3.6 4-Madame Fate SE only (November 7-2007) 4.0 5-Return to Ravenhearst SE only (November 26-2008) 4.2 6-Dire Grove (November 25-2009) 4.7 7-13th Skull (November 25-2010) 4.4 8-Escape From Ravenhearst (November 23-2011) 3.6 9-Shadow Lake (November 20-2012) 2.6 10-Fate's Carnival (November 26-2013) 4.4 11-Dire Grove, Sacred Grove (November 25-2014) 3.6 12-Key to Ravenhearst (October 27-2015) 3.6 13-Ravenhearst Unlocked (November 24-2015) 3.5 14-Broken Hour (November 22-2016) 3.5 15-The Black Veil (March 23-2017) 3.0 16-The Revenant's Hunt (November 21-2017) 3.0 17-Rewind (June 21-2018) 3.4 18-The Countess (November 20-208) 3.1 19-Moths to a Flame (August 22-2019) 3.9 20-Black Crown (November 26-2019) n/a by: Eipix Games
Date published: 2019-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the better MCF games, almost on par with some earlier games I really enjoyed The Black Crown. One of the better MCF games in a very long time. I almost felt like I was playing one of the earlier games under Big Fish, like Thirteen Skulls or Return to Ravenhearst...almost. Is the game scary? No, but it's a good mystery. Some parts kept me guessing up until almost the end. A few of the puzzles were a bit tedious and I ended up skipping them, but that seems to be the case with a lot of games lately. But for the most part I felt most of the puzzles were a decent challenge without being too difficult. Some were very easy, but I wasn't playing on the hardest difficulty level either. The voice acting was a bit dodgy at times, like the actors were just reading the scripts and not really emoting, with the exception of the actress who played patient #11. She was excellent and it's a shame we didn't hear more from her throughout the game. I loved the storyline and the music and I thought the graphics were beautiful. All in all, this is a game I will probably play more than once and it definitely makes me want to go back and play previous MCF games, especially Thirteen Skulls. One thing I don't get is why Eipix changed the Master Detective from female to male. Sometimes I wonder if the current developers actually played the earlier games.
Date published: 2019-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ~~~ONE OF THE BEST MCF EDITIONS IN THE FRANCHISE!!!~~~ This is edition is another epic Mystery Case Files adventure! In this twentieth installment of the iconic Hidden Object series from Big Fish Games and Eipix Entertainment, you are tasked to investigate an urgent call from the infamous Manchester Asylum for the mentally insane. A mysterious patient from room 11 suddenly begins drawing a black crown on the wall and speaks for the first time since she joined the asylum, you know something is up. Exercise your Master Detective muscles once again and solve this brand-new thrilling case in Mystery Case Files: Black Crown! When Big Fish Studios stopped developing the Mystery Case Files franchise in-house, there has been a clear problem of inconsistencies with each release (IMHO). This is until the recent release of Mystery Case Files: Moths to a Flame, which for me puts the franchise back on track of being one of the genre’s absolute best once again. To my surprise, Mystery Case Files: Black Crown continues the franchise in an upward trajectory that should delight long-time fans of the franchise. First, it's worth mentioning that the storyline in Mystery Case Files: Black Crown is both intriguing and thrilling. Mystery Case Files games have always relied on psychological thriller elements, but most of them have been focusing on solving the mystery itself. This sequel, however, perfectly combines well-executed psychological thriller elements with complex case-solving. Thus, the game contains some genuinely creepy moments, plenty of exciting sequences, and sophisticated storytelling techniques that actually make you think. Moreover, the game features references to one of the series’ best Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull, which should serve as a cool Easter Egg for fans but isn't overly-distracting for casual players. A storyline as layered as the one in Mystery Case Files: Black Crown would not work if it does not have equally-clever gameplay to support it. Even for an advanced HOPA player like me, the game still managed to offer both numerous surprises and creative gameplay challenges. The adventure portion is far from straightforward and effectively maintains high suspense level all the way through. Not only does the game includes some of the most imaginative hidden object scenes I have seen in quite awhile, but the puzzles are also impressive and satisfyingly difficult. In addition, the game features a pocket watch as a helpful gadget. This gadget is only used multiple times in the first chapter, which is definitely appreciated since the task associated with it can get repetitive after a while. When it comes to a Mystery Case Files game, genre-leading production is to be expected; especially long time fans. I really think that Mystery Case Files: Black Crown does not disappoint in that regard. The game’s visuals are stunning, which encompass its breathtaking special effects, epic artwork, and spectacular cutscenes. On the audio side, the game is also spot-on. With immersive musical scores and convincing voice-overs, the game really goes the extra mile in making sure that the player is fully engaged from start to finish. I hope folks will really enjoy this memorable edition as much as I did....demo for yourself, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised Cheers!
Date published: 2019-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Game This game had me right from the start! This is an excellent addition to the series. Even if you haven't played other MCF games you will still enjoy this game. It has great atmosphere, clever puzzles etc. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2019-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A TERRIFIC GAME THAT REVISITS ONE OF MY FAVORITE MYSTERY CASE FILES When I first became a member at BFG eons ago, I always looked forward to Thanksgiving and the release of the annual Mystery Case Files game. Although I found most of the games good, only two are my all-time favorites, and one is related to the story of Phineas Crown – a storyline that is revisited with Mystery Case Files: Black Crown. After playing the beta for Black Crown I knew it was a game that I would love. Black Crown is the first MCF game that I have looked forward to in the past several years, and this one is well worth the wait. Kudos to the developer who has done a wonderful job with this game because it is everything I hoped it would be. If there is anything that I dislike about the game it is that in some of the HOS, the items are very tiny and difficult to identify. I have a 34” monitor and I still had difficulty finding some items because they are too small. Most of the HOS were better than the few with minuscule items to find, and those were much more fun to play. One of my favorite HO scenes is early in the game where I had to find matches between the chalk drawings on wall sections with the sketches on paper notes. One of the best things aside from the storyline are the puzzles in the game. I love some of the Rube Goldberg puzzles that are signature to this series. Black Crown has some of my favorite puzzles and contains one that I haven’t seen in years. It is a puzzle where we much place hands on a pocket watch in order to cover every hour on the watch face. I loved this puzzle the first time I ever encountered it in a game, and it is just as much fun today. I have not yet completed the game, but I am almost all the way to the Bonus Chapter that I will play a bit later. What I have played of the Black Crown is wonderful and I think it is one of the best MCF games in several years. If future MCF games are of the same caliber as Black Crown I will once again look forward to the tradition of playing an MCF game during the holiday week. Although I love this game, please try the demo to see if you will enjoy it as well. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2019-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TIME OF ON YOUR SIDE....OR IS IT? I thoroughly enjoyed this game. The puzzles and HOPS were challenging and a little different from the usual fair. Eipix has outdone themselves with this exciting mystery and adventure.
Date published: 2019-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sign in for Duty, Master Detective No visit to Manchester Asylum ever ends well -- and that's just the beginning. A mysterious girl, signs and symbols all over her cell? Eipix revisits an old case with a new and frightening chapter. The intrepid Master Detective may still not believe in pirate curses -- but we sure do! The puzzles are fun. The HOPs are gorgeous. As usual, the soundtrack mingles familiar themes with cool new ones. Indulge, mateys! It's an adventure worth taking!
Date published: 2019-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great 13th Skull Follow-Up A great MCF game and follow-up to 13th skull. The uses for items were excellent, and the visuals and music also seemed like a step up from previous installments. Excited to see what comes next!
Date published: 2019-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Mystery Case Files Ever!!! This game has it all, fantastic graphics, good story line and a nice mix of hidden objects and puzzles.
Date published: 2019-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Black Crown Finally Here! I Am Loving This Game What a wonderful addition to this fabulous MCF series. The 13th Skull was my favorite MCF game. Dire Grove was up there next to it. I was so delighted to find out Black Crown was a continuation of The 13th Skull. Haven't finished the game but every scene, twist and turn are delightfully creative and exciting. Wonderful imaginations for the developers, graphic artists and all who have had a hand in this imaginative game. Thanks, Big Fish for the enjoyable Clues and Hints for Special discounts leading up to the release of Black Crown. Too much fun. I had a great time, searching for clues, figuring out the answers and getting discounts on Collector Edition games.
Date published: 2019-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A CROWNING ACHIEVEMENT FOR EIPIX – ONE OF THE BEST MCF GAMES TO DATE REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 5 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 49 pages Ahoy mateys! Get on board and be prepared to battle the ghost of the cursed pirate, Phineas Crown. Begin the adventure at the Manchester Asylum where the incoherent ramblings and drawings of an anonymous patient have caused concern. Is her bizarre behavior related to one of your previous cases? The cursed pirate, Crown, will lead you and the inhabitants and staff of the asylum to his former residence, the Crown Estate. What evil plan does this black-hearted pirate have in store for you all? Ramble through the secret rooms and passages of his estate to learn about his past, his plans and how to thwart him in his efforts. This is fantastic addition to this series. Although not the best game within the series, it is better than most of the recent ones. It is a great game for those who love tales about pirates or seafaring adventures. The chapters are designated within the game, a nice touch which makes it easier to access the strategy guide when necessary. The game is puzzle intense. I loved rummaging through the Crown Estate. The manor itself is one large puzzle filled with secrets rooms and passageways. Most of the game is action-packed. However, I do have a small complaint about the last chapter. I feel the pace slows somewhat. I attribute this to the lack of activities, back-and-forth movement between scenes and the repetitious HOP scenes with boring lists of items. There are eight (8) sequential scenes with lists of items. This chapter, to me, is significantly different in quality from the previous ones. There are two collectibles, morphing objects and crabs. Most of the scenes have collectibles and there are two within each scene. I found most easy to locate. At the end of the game, collect souvenirs. Souvenirs can only be collected if all the collectibles have been located throughout the game. Nevertheless, the player can return to the scenes to locate the collectibles if they are missed. There are thirty (30) puzzles within the game; nineteen (19) can be replayed at the end of the game. They vary in difficulty. There are four (4) Rube Goldberg puzzles – each of these I counted as one large puzzle consisting of several mini-puzzles. Each of the puzzles within the Rube-Goldberg puzzle can be skipped individually, allowing the player to play the subsequent puzzles if he/she has difficulty with any of the mini-puzzles. Nevertheless, I found most of the mini-puzzles within the Rube-Goldberg puzzle easy. There are twenty (20) HOP scenes and all can be replayed. The ones in the beginning of the game are better designed than those at the end. There are some creatively designed scenes within the game. My favorite scenes include a beautifully designed one with star constellations and another with cryptic clues within the bonus chapter. MECHANICS: • Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. • Fifteen (15) achievements. • Collect forty-two (42) morphing objects • Collect forty-two (42) crabs • Collect twenty (20) souvenirs at the end of the game. You must have all the collectibles to access the souvenirs • Eight (8) wallpapers along with concept art, music and video sequences • Replay nineteen (19) puzzles and twenty (20) HOP scenes BONUS CHAPTER: It is a sequel. You are off to the Louisiana bayous. Momma Aimee, a voodoo specialist, has contacted you. Researching the life of the pirate, Phineas Crown, she found that he stored fragments of his soul within ordinary items. With her death, you must now locate twelve (12) of these items to break an evil curse. With the help of a little voodoo, can you break the curse? I loved this chapter. I found this chapter and the story behind it better than that of the main game. It is worthy of a collector’s edition designation. The chapter includes eight (8) puzzles and three (3) HOP scenes. SPOILERS: HERE ARE A FEW OF THE PUZZLES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Follow the barking dog. Connection puzzle. (1) Connect dots within four (4) grids without retracing your steps. Each figure increases in difficulty 4X B. Assembly puzzle. Using arrows at the top and side of a 5 x 5 grid, move rows and columns so that the images match up with the one given at the right side of each row. C. Sequence puzzle. Remove bars in the proper sequential order. D. Matching puzzle. Look through a telescope and find objects listed on a given map. E. Voodoo magic. Sequence puzzle. Stick the voodoo doll with pins in the proper sequence. F. Rube-Goldberg puzzle. (1) Switch puzzle. Switch shark’s teeth so the teeth on the top and bottom mesh with each other. (2) Rotating rings puzzle. Rotate 4 rings so a pattern is formed to match a given one. (3) Sequence puzzle. Remove all tiles on a fish while removing those tiles with symbols on them in sequential order. (4) Rotating tiles puzzle. Same as #2 (5) Rotating tiles puzzle. Rotate tiles to restore an image of an eel. (6) Rotating rings puzzle. Same as #2 (7) Connection puzzle. Press suction cups on the tentacles of an octopus to create a path through chains. All chains must be visited without retracing steps. BONUS CHAPTER: G. Matching Puzzle. Cut off buttons on a cloth so that none remain. Match up 2 or more buttons either vertically, horizontally or diagonally. H. Match-3 game. Release skulls on a wall by matching 3 or more like tokens to remove each skull.
Date published: 2019-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Case Files: Black Crown Collector's Edition I enjoyed playing this game and I still like to use objects for guidance in this case a stopwatch to help me find locations that are hidden
Date published: 2019-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from de ja vu I am certain I have played this game before it is so familiar, yes it is a good game , I personally think the graphics are a bit hazy I cant seem to get Ravenhurst out of my head as being one of the best of MCF but never the less I will carry on and find the crab morphs and do the puzzles but ???? strange.
Date published: 2019-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Mystery Case to date I had so much fun playing this I was sad Once I completed it it took me about 5 hrs to play it including bonus chapter. The graphics and story line kept me intrigued all the way through and the ending felt right. Lots to do and not a boring moment at all for me.
Date published: 2019-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent addition to the series Excellent addition to the series. Great atmosphere. Great puzzles and hidden object scenes. Great story.
Date published: 2019-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game My minor gripe is the length- it's a bit short. So many games these days are on the short side and it's a shame. I have always loved these games and this one didn't disappoint. Great story line (although I prefer a bit spookier) , excellent graphics and very good puzzles. I also liked the fact that I could go back to the scenes again and find all the morphing objects and other objects- for the first time ever I have found them all and got the achievement! Can't wait for the next one
Date published: 2020-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum I liked this Mystery Case Files game. I've played most of them and this one was just plain fun. LOTS of puzzles, and I skipped some just because I wanted to keep going with the storyline. It kind of morphed from a girl in an asylum to a pirate story, but I liked the pirate story for the good part of the second half of the game, plus the Bonus chapter. Good artwork, not a plethora of neon colors like some games, and had good voices, interesting scenes, and some good and imaginative HOS.
Date published: 2019-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Achievements I played the entire game and it was decent, but one thing that drives me crazy is when I can not get all of the achievements. I missed 2 of them. One in particular is.....find the bug in the main menu, the other is finishing an HO scene without using a hint...now that was fine and I never use hints, but this had to be done in 30 seconds. Being that the full list isn't even shown all at once, I found it impossible to complete. The bug in the main menu... I am not sure if they literally mean a bug or a glitch of some sort, like maybe a misspelling. Oh and one more...turn the doctor's papers more than 3 times. I'm totally clueless on that one. I was even looking for a walkthrough, but I guess it is too early. Can anyone enlighten me on any of these 3 achievements? Thanks so much in advance.
Date published: 2019-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Would Have Been 5 Stars but... ... there was a glitch in one of the Rube Goldberg puzzles that forced me to skip it. I tried & tried, but couldn't get the game pieces to move. I rarely skip puzzles, so this was extremely frustrating for me. Great voiceovers; some of the best. Graphics and sounds were really good. Great game that I recommend. But please bring back the more complicated Rube Goldberg type mini-games that used to be in all the MCF games.
Date published: 2019-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a mutiny if everyone is dead Pirate Captain Phineas Crown is paranoid. Some of his crew have mutiny in mind and his answer is to kill them all. Or it could be that they want to steal all his treasure. Either way, there is no future for the pirate gang. All will die and a curse is placed on their soul. Even those loyal to the Captain have been killed and are cursed. I enjoy MCF games and this one is my favorite so far. And this is the first HOPA that I have wanted to play again in a long time. The mini-games were not brain drainers and the hidden objects were camoflaged well. The story may have been a little weak since there was not much explaining done about the girl and the black crown but it was not a dud by any means. Graphics were excellent. The only graphics I did not like were the swamp graphics. I can't comment on the music as I turned that down. I did not spend any time wondering where to go next in the game. This was a refreshing change from some where it seems the hint button must be used over and over. The morphs and collectibles were easily found. And finding the souvenirs was a piece of cake but I don't think that was meant to be a challenge. Just fun. I enjoyed this game and had fun with it, but not every reviewer here did, so please try the demo.
Date published: 2019-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Missed the Mark There is no doubt of recognizing the team work effort for producing this game but gee MCF you failed to recognize the richness of what made 13th Skull the all time best game. Let me give you the clues. 13th Skull gave those who played a snapshot of local culture. One could enjoy being immersed and set back and laugh with the locals dialect. I haven't eaten Gumbo since. Snarky flashes added to the humor. The storyline in 13th Skulls was excellent. Suggest MCF that you play 13th Skulls again and soak in the locals--- consider some day a game that captures the genuine richness of diversity in America.
Date published: 2019-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made in comparison to many of the other released games over past few years Since I just play for fun, I didn't personally have a problem that the HOPs and puzzles were fairly easy. Per my title, this is one of the better made games in the hidden object genre to debut in the last 3 - 4 years. It's clear members of the production team care enough to create decent length to the whole game, a decently coherent story, and HOPs / puzzles that were not the same-old (IMHO). If all you're looking for is a game that's not shoddy without a ridiculous storyline (seemingly a tall order these days), this one will suit you.
Date published: 2019-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can We Talk? Mystery Case Files was my first favorite series. I felt I'd discovered gold when I downloaded my first one in 2011. Naturally I came back and purchased earlier MCF games. This new MCF game takes me back to the golden years of the MCF series. You will play as the detective called in to investigate when a "Jane Doe" confounds the staff of the mental institution where she is confined by drawing a black crown on the wall of her cell. Good news: Good puzzles and HOPs with some of those multifaceted puzzles that are unique to this series as well as collectible crabs and morphing objects among the CE bling. Bad news: I'm still confused as to why the drawings of a black crown by an obscure unremarkable patient in a mental institution that looks more like a prison should lead to our detective character being called in to consult. Perhaps if there had been more story foundation, it might have made things clearer. As it was, I got more story information out of reviews and the BFG blurb. The collectible crabs stood out in each scene. I never saw the morphing objects change shape - I picked the most out-of-place item in each scene and clicked on it. Bottom line: It is a new and better MCF game than quite a few of the games sent out since I found my first one several hundred games ago. I'm onboard for this Thanksgiving treat from Eipix. Please try the Demo for yourself as tastes vary greatly. And Happy Thanksgiving!
Date published: 2019-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pirate 'R' us. Good game. I like the first part with the end part a little weird to me. The search for items was not to over the top. There are better Mystery Case Files games with this one in the upper middle zone. Bonus part of the game is like it should be in a Collector's Edition with one being able to look for items missed in the games, Pirate lovers will like this game others might use a discount of course this is my opinion .
Date published: 2019-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of fun! For a change this game as really fun to play, it kept moving and story line did not drag too much. Colors were bright and realistic over all "FUN"
Date published: 2019-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Moths To A Flame Post Credits Scene Explained Apart from its repetitive hidden objects, being forced to fast travel back and forth from map location to location just for one item for its player to then be able to move on with the story, and lousy bonus game. Mystery Case Files Black Crown is slightly better than previous MCF sequels in recent years; even though this game just like its Eipix and Elephant Games predecessors will still sadly never live to BFG's classic originals such as 13th Skull and Ravenhearst trilogy. However the mysterious Patient 11 should make a return as the Master Detective's unexpected sidekick in the next installment; due to how her character overall was all but underused. Play to find out!
Date published: 2019-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Follow-Up To 13th Skull I always enjoy it when an MCF game refers back to characters in previous releases. This is the first one referring back to 13th Skull, and it was a good sequel. I won't go into great detail about the game, as there are other posters who do a fantastic job, but I will say what made me give it a 4 star rating instead of 5 stars. 1) There was no cheekiness that the MCF series usually includes. 13th Skull was very cheeky, and I did miss having that in this sequel. 2) The Rube Goldberg door puzzles were not as interesting and complicated as in previous MCF games, and there weren't as many. I would love to see these puzzles go back to being whacky like they were in Return to Ravenhearst and especially Madame Fate. My all time fave was the yodeler that climbed the mountain and then fell off to flush the toilet. 3) The beginning of Black Crown was a little slow for me. I didn't really get into it in the beginning, but it did pick up pace and interest once we got out of the asylum. The asylum could have been so much more interesting, like it was in Escape from Ravenhearst (I think that's the one with the asylum, but I'm not sure). There could have been more detail in the individual cells, tying each cell to some of the people we met along the way in 13th Skull. That was a missed opportunity. 4) It did bug me that the bonus chapter concept of leaving pieces of soul in objects was a bit of a rip-off of the Harry Potter horcrux concept. Overall, though, this is an enjoyable, quality game. Perhaps in a later game, we will see Magnolia, with the help of the Master Detective, going around her town searching for her mysteriously disappearing neighbors. After all, SPOILER, Phineas did leave behind one gold tooth.
Date published: 2019-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's amazing at the begining till the middle The story line was amazing from the very beginning till the middle . And then it turned out to be different from what I expected . But it is fun , kept me going . the puzzles are amazing . Well done guys . The riddles were too much fun ! I loved them . Thank you
Date published: 2019-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yep! Play!! Finally a good that has kept my interest and gave me a lot of enjoyment. One of Mystery Case Files better games.
Date published: 2019-12-16
  • y_2020, m_1, d_26, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_94
  • loc_en_US, sid_30832, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Black Crown Collector's Edition

A visit to Manchester Asylum takes a dangerous turn into madness!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.