Faraway Planets Collector's Edition

Faraway Planets Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Time Management

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(1.28 GB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Board the shuttle and embark on a space exploration adventure like no other! Join an intrepid explorer on his star-bound adventure, but you’ll have your work cut out for you as the shipmates have some challenging personality quirks. Don’t let that get in the way of this explorer’s dreams and complete fun new time management levels in a sci-fi setting!

  • A celestial journey to explore new worlds
  • 50+ Time Management missions
  • Take on assignments and make new discoveries
  • Help a space explorer achieve his wildest dreams

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 2276 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Faraway Planets Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(1.28 GB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Faraway Planets Collector's Edition is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun, learning and rewarding This is not your usual run as fast as you can, to get the stuff you need, to finish in time game. But it does have all the classic aspects of all Time Management games, only you have to think and plan of the best way to get what you need and complete the tasks in time. Or you can do the old trial and error way, also. What is unique about this game is that it actually congratulates the player and fulfills a need for self actualization. So this is a great game for children and adults. I like it for that reason and that you have to think about what you are doing and you are learning about the planets needs, also. It is a very well put together game and a lot of fun. Its an easy buy for me.
Date published: 2020-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FAR ? _ ? OUT! I've played thousands of games over the years but I've never played a game quite like this futuristic Time Management masterpiece! I've always been a sci-fi fan so this game attracted me like a hypnotic laser-beam and even though it doesn't have a Strategy Guide included, I was eager to earn my position aboard the SS (space ship) Sparrow under the command of the not-so-infamous Captain John Evans. I knew this game would have amazing graphics the moment I saw the download size (1.28 GB) but they exceeded my expectations, on every aspect for that matter! There are 66 Levels starting with planet Earth and beyond... planet Clark, Efremov, Sheckley, Asimor, Wells, Gibson, and Asimov. There's even an Additional "Missing" Chapter to complete additional missions. Each planet has Researcher Artifacts, including the Artifact of Evans and Pratt. You can play in a Relaxed Mode which still allows you to earn all 3-Stars and gives you Unlimited Time, and a help feature once per level or mission. The Explorer Mode is a normal mode that awards you with 1-3 Stars depending on how long it takes you to complete the level, you still have unlimited time to complete your mission, you just may not earn all 3 stars. Expert Mode is an all-or-nothing, Limited Time mode requiring you to complete the mission with all 3 Stars or bust! This is definitely a Strategy-based game, one that I had difficulty earning all three stars on the first, and sometimes, second or third-time-around, so kudos to anyone who can complete these missions in the Expert mode, lol. Nowadays, I look for TM games that have unique tasks or unusual goals because I've played so many cookie-cutter versions, I've fixed a million bridges, gathered a billion berries, fruit baskets and loaves of bread, filled-in tons of potholes, built or repaired enough sawmills to annihilate an entire Rainforest or two, and mined so many gold mines that there couldn't possibly be any gold left in the world. No worries here folks, you'll be recycling metal scrap heaps, creating Robots in the Control Center, building wind-powered Generators, shooting down artilleries, flying through asteroid fields, refueling spaceships, opening resource caches, and paying people to deliver various supplies. You will still be tasked with building houses (aka futuristic explorer's tents) for income, but building those houses require Metal, Mines, and Money, none of which is an easy feat. Often times, you'll need to build a Metal Factory to manufacture the required supplies, demolish the factory, build a Crystal Factory in its place, generate crystals and then turn around and recycle it, before being able to build the required housing. Once you figure out what "supplies" are required to build or repair various buildings, the game gets easier and you'll be able to figure out the series of events or plans of attack to get from point A to point B. Once Crystal & Metal factories have been constructed or repaired, you have to order Crystals and Metal in increments of 25-50-100 or 250 units or credits. I found it beneficial to take notes of how much metal & crystals were required for each task so that when I replayed the level, I knew exactly how much to manufacture so I wasn't wasting my time or money (managing my time & money!) Collector's Edition Extras: 21 Futuristic Music Soundtracks, Wallpapers (not as impressive as one would expect from a game with graphics this amazing??) 66 Captain's Logbook (level recap pics) Hidden Chapter and/or Missions. There is no Strategy Guide which was slightly disappointing, but in the end, it wasn't a deal-breaker for this sci-fi fan!
Date published: 2020-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Out Of This World Fun This is a lovely TM game in a futuristic setting where robots and scientists help you prepare for space exploration. But first, as a newly hired roughneck, you must prove yourself before you're assigned your first space mission. Ecology is the name of the game where you recycle metal scraps and power up wind turbines, etc to provide all that you need to make your space traveling dreams into reality. This is a gathering resource type of TM game that has unique tasks with new layouts and quests for each level. There's a great storyline that builds as you progress making it enjoyable and leaves me eager to see what unfolds next. There three modes of play including a relaxed setting. The sound effects and graphics are spot on with a smooth gameplay with no glitches or loading problems. I'm finding this game to be enjoyable and I highly recommend for a nice escape from the drudgery of earthly life. Cheers!
Date published: 2020-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Far out fun! This is the best TM games--and one of the best in general--that I have played! The story and characters are engaging and funny. The game play is challenging and changes constantly. I found that I had to play certain levels a couple of times before I figured out the optimal strategy, and this was really a satisfying challenge, rather than just an exercise to get 3 stars (or even 2!). If you are new to TM games this will be a challenge, but it is well worth it!
Date published: 2020-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathing New Life Into TM..... Faraway Planets is very engaging and offers a welcome departure from the traditional TM model. You are exploring the galaxy!! The possibilities are endless and the adventure has only just begun....
Date published: 2020-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like this game; not sure why it's a collectors edition I thoroughly enjoy this game. Very challenging in the upper levels! Good story line. I just don't get why it's a Collectors Edition.
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eco planet fun. Takes a little training. I have only done the demo and got through one planet, which had me doing tasks such as building wind power turbines and recycling trash all in a very new style of game screen than I am used to. I was total rubbish at first. Once I got the hang of how much things cost like the resource buildings and the workers and what I got back from demolition etc. I got a bit better. (There are 3 levels of play including relax ) The first thing I noticed was how peaceful the default soundtrack was (babbling brook) which took a bit of stress away lol. There is other music in the extras, as well as a log book reminding you of what the features are..and your adventure, some wallpapers, and credits. However there are no extra levels, but there ARE 66 levels spread over 8 different planet missions. Will there be that many in the SE? Who knows? I kept tossing up between 5 and 4 stars as I encountered one thing, (like no strategy guide)..but then a good tutorial..and then wondering what on earth was under something..could I build there? Do I open those boxes..(yes because they have gold in them!) Then I thought nothing collectable either..but then stumbled across an artifact which I guess I will need for my achievements?...so back and forth with the rating.etc etc Its probably is a 5 star game..but I decided I cant award that because of no tutorial. I also came across a level requirement where it said '5 workers tents', and I did that..THEN noticed it had +1 in on the end of it and so was not crossed off and also meaning I had to demolish a building to make 6...and it was too late! (repeat!) So watch out for that. I think that is actually a development fault in the 'making of".? You will build resource buildings (metal and crystals), dig heap mounds (free stuff)..and hire workers for crystals (doesn't seem to be a limit). You will be asked to build things and also to 'save up' a certain amount of either cash or metal or crystals. So in that respect a standard TM requirement. I think the setting, which therefore makes the tasks quite novel really makes this game stand out. I just need much more training at it and I am sure it will really good. Is it worth the CE price? Once again, it will be a personal choice. There is no guide, its adequate but not huge in level size, so no not really IMHO..but I just bet I give in and buy it lol! It runs smoothly, it is something new, and it can actually be peaceful with the 'babbling brook' music on. I do recommend it as a game because it may be standard TM but the tasks and settings are at least something new and novel to work with. Try the demo, be patient with yourself in this strange TM land, follow the tutorial for a bit (you can skip later)...and see if you think it is worth CE price.
Date published: 2020-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting game CE worthy ? First thing I would advise is to put this game on relax to play the demo as it needs a bit of thinking and to get the most out of the demo best on relax. It is youur usual collect and build and it makes you think is this your normal game but then it has something in it that makes you want this game. What I did not like is for a TM game it takes up a massive 2gb plus on your hard drive and at the moment I can't see why? You need to build and demolish on a regular basis to get to your targets and when you get off the first planet you need to assign workers to gold mines etc. There is no strategy guide and it just says 50 + levels so it is a bit confusing as to what you actually get extra in this.? I still think it is worth 4 stars though but not 5. Time will tell . As I say interesting and same but different if that makes any sense
Date published: 2020-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from About time we had a sci-fi themed game First off, for you 64 bit mac users, this will run on your machine. It seems to hang on exiting the game and some of the input seems a bit laggy sometimes, but it does work. You'll find it also takes a good few seconds to start up as well. I'm not sure if that's every time you start as i went through the demo time in one session. Buying it is another question. If it was 64 bit properly then I'd probably go for it. I dislike time management games in general but this one would be an exception as I like the space/planet visiting theme. The story is UGH and the tutorial pop-ups just annoying but you can skip that and get on with the game, which basically works just like most of these types of games. Collectors edition features are a joke. Rubbish wallpapers and the usual stuff like music tracks and some logs which, I assume, you need to unlock with game progress. I never got far enough to look into these. BFG needs a wishlist system on their account so i could keep an eye on games like this and buy them when they have been updated for modern OS'. Should you buy it? I would if you like the sci-fi theme and are still using a previous OS that runs the game probably better. Other than that, maybe wait and hope it gets resubmitted for 64 bit properly.
Date published: 2020-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unique and Fun :-) It's nice to see a fresh-faced themed TM. I mostly enjoyed the levels with special tasks to do like loading parcels and doing tasks/clearing obstacles so that a transport of rescued people could get through to their rescue ship ... amongst many other special tasks. Some more of the levels I feel could have been jazzed up as obviously the developers had the skills as shown in their more interesting/complex levels. Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing play with a difference.
Date published: 2020-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good I really liked the futuristic setting, space ships, robot workers, etc. That made this different from other games like it. And the game play and graphics were done very well. But it could be a little too slow and repetitive for me. It's the same basic thing over and over. The upper levels do provide a challenge, and most of the time, I liked that part. But a few got a little too difficult, where there's no hint as to what you're supposed to do. I'm probably a little hard to please, but if I have to replay a level four and five and six times, I'm bored and moving on. So, a walkthrough or hint section included in the game would've been nice. I'll also admit I hated having to tear down the exact thing you have to build...only to have to build it again later, just because you needed parts (or money...or both). To me, that's such a waste of time. So overall, I gave this 3 stars.
Date published: 2020-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'm sorry I bought it. The game is really good up to a point, I got to a level that I can't finish so looked for the strategy guide( as it's a CE) but no guide exists so basically you pay for a CE and get a standard game! I think that it's a waste of money.
Date published: 2020-03-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Faraway Planets Collector's Edition I normally like playing city simulators but I found this one too slow to play I don't like playing games through this developer
Date published: 2020-03-08
  • y_2020, m_10, d_18, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_30845, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Faraway Planets Collector's Edition

Board the shuttle and embark on a space exploration adventure like no other in an exciting new time management game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.