Ominous Objects: The Cursed Guards Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Ominous Objects: The Cursed Guards Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(468.78 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was selected for its exceptional quality and overwhelmingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Daily Magic Productions proudly presents the newest addition to the Ominous Objects series!

You've been summoned by a duchess to help her husband the duke. He's become increasingly obsessed with collecting a set of historical armor. But his interest takes a deadly turn when the armors' previous owners return from the dead to finish what they began centuries ago, putting the whole city in danger! Solve the case with your fluffy companion Mr. Jenkins in this intriguing hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“What a great game! I liked everything about it, and that's not praise I give lightly. Finally some puzzles that challenged me but weren't impossibly fiddly, and a story that was a little different and fresh. Wonderful job!”  - Molly, beta tester

“Wow, Wow and Triple Wow!!! This game is phenomenal! It is truly one of the best games. The storyline holds your interest and the graphics are great. The hidden object scenes and games are ones I have never seen before which is a BIG plus!”  - Joey, beta tester


  • Learn more about the Cursed Guards in the bonus chapter
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!
  • Find collectible cards and morphing objects!
  • Enjoy the soundtrack, exclusive concept art, wallpapers, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1089 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Ominous Objects: The Cursed Guards Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(468.78 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Ominous Objects: The Cursed Guards Collector's Edition is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from O This was great game and a great storyline. I've enjoyed the Ominous Objects series. Graphics were great and I loved the option of the match game. Only problem I had was in the match a number of pairs of items, the game locked up and I had to uninstall and reinstall the game. Could have been me or the game.
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A nice balance of challenge and enjoyment. The graphics, music, background and effects sounds, as well as the dialog, are all very well rendered. The story line is refreshingly well developed, considering that most of its elements may be found in a myriad of other games. The chubby, Siamese cat assistant is just another in a long line of such —although I am rather fond of Elf. The HO sequences present a reasonable challenge, but shouldn't have you clicking on the hint button too often. The mini-games —of which I have said, many times, I am not a big fan— were also reasonably challenging and, quite often, were in keeping with the overall theme of the game. All in all, this is an interest-keeping and enjoyable game. As always, I recommend that you play the demo and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Curses! Still a nice story... Hi all! As always, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story line to those who do a much better job than I can. I think this is #5 in this series. I have all of the others, but not all are the CE versions. The graphics in this one are quite good, and very clear with nice eye and mouth movements. Colors are very bright, clear and true. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo and the scene fit my large screen very well. Animation is done very well, although, some movements seem to be disengaged from the body, e.g. Queen's hat rocked back and forth like she was wearing a bad wig in the wind...weird. Didn't notice that with any other character. Voice overs are age and character appropriate and well done. I did find it annoying that we had to click after each sentence to move to the next one...just talk already. I really like the sinister sound to the cursed guards. Music is well done and not just a few notes played over and over. The music was almost too soothing for the time period. Again, Mr. Jenkins is here to help out in high or tight areas and is constantly grooming himself, except when he is needed to help out. When needed, he will meow, do his job and then go back to grooming. He is very quiet. We have occasional bright lights, but mostly when the guards appear and disappear. It is not overly bright and not a bright flash. HOPs are somewhat boring for me. We had the storybook type highlighted words and lists. Some of the scenes were a bit cluttered, but are not too difficult to find. We have an annoying clunking sound when we click on something we shouldn't, but not a game changer. You can switch to a match 3 if you wish. I normally don't care much for these, but this one is a little different than most and is a little challenging. Games were not difficult, but some did take a little time to complete. I do like that we can choose between easy and hard. Hint system is very helpful and it does transport you to longer locations, which is a big time saver. There is a jump map that identifies where a missed morphing object is, so you can go back and pick it up. Did not care for the screen jumping every time I moved the cursor. Collectibles have a little challenge. Actually, the challenge is remembering to get them. You need to find 40 morphing items, which are cats of various colors and in various positions, e.g. sitting, standing, laying. They morph quickly but are not hard to spot. You also need to find 14 collectible cards, which I found in close up scenes. They are fairly large and easy to spot, you just need to remember to pick them up. When I beta tested this one in December, I think the title was different, but same game. I liked the story and how nicely it flowed. Very easy to follow. This is why I am going to add this one to my collection. I do not give 5 stars easily, a game must be exceptional in all areas, but this one was not. I gave it a 4.25 for the reasons listed in my review. I think this one will appeal to most all levels of players. It has a little bit of everything. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FOUR CURSED KNIGHTS TERRIFY A FAMILY WHILE PLANNING TO BRING BACK THEIR KING AND RULE THE WORLD This is a solid 4 star game to me, with the exception of the storyline, which I found to be very well done and anxious to find out it ends. It seems there are four sets of cursed armor that were made years ago, donned by 4 knights who want their King to come back to life. They terrify a family hunting for the son who's blood they need to bring the king back. Your job is to investigate and discover the secret to defeating them to save the family and the town. While I'm not a fan of using pets or creatures to 'help' me out, Mr. Jenkins, the cat, was not used very much in the demo, so it wasn't too much of a distraction. There were only two HOPs in the demo , no challenge there, and there may have been one too many 'story boards' for me. All in all a pretty enjoyable game. Thanks, Mia :)
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from what would king arthur do ? not a bad game like I say it depends on what you like .
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Oh Feathers of flame and poison This had the makings of a really great game and would have gain more stars except for the green fountain of goo once turned of made a awful constant sound throughout the rest of the demo no matter what area u went to u could not get away from that sound. Next matter that lost stars was the music was repetitive and drove me nuts. How about a selection of music or only occasional music. Things I like is Mr. Jenkins, the story line, Morphing objects, collect cards, Kind of hard HO"s and Puzzles, Decent Jump map, Decent characters, Nice game flow, good use of inventory, and critter action.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Daily Magic: Good Job! Daily Magic did a fine job on The Cursed Guards. Found the puzzles challenging and different. Everyone wants different, right? Here's game that's different and, obviously, Developers knocked themselves out presenting everything game players have asked with all the bells, whistles and then some. Surprised that there was challenge, yet, I lean towards even more competitive but that's me. Liked very much the ability to switch to a match-3 and also the morphing objects' puzzle. Well done! Thank you, Daily Magic! Enjoy!
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My Early Reservations I'm still on the first hour, but I'm about to quit. This game is gorgeous to look at and has some unusual puzzles. But the voice acting is absolutely horrible; I can't stand to listen to it. The acting itself is bad, and the fake accents are painful. Parts of the plot don't make any sense: like supposedly this German duke has just passed the "throne" down to his son without actually dying? I can't suspend my disbelief, so I'm passing on this one.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's ok... This game had great graphics, interesting HOPs and puzzles and the usual various play modes. Having chosen 'custom' mode it's disappointing to find that theres no option to turn off helpful messages/black bar tips. So, the hand holding was excessive. My main irritation was the worst attempt at an 'English' accent ever, and 'that' cat 'Mr Jenkins' that doesn't stop miaowing. I could only take 30 minutes of the trial before exiting. I know some will like this game, but it's not for me.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Anomalies and Anachronisms Abound Leia is back with faithful cat, Mr. Jenkins, at her side as she comes to the aid of the Duke and Duchess. The Duke has just passed the throne to his son. (Since when do Dukes have thrones? And why is his son referred to as the king?) The Duke is busy collecting four sets of armor that when brought together unleash four evil knights bent on resurrecting their equally evil king. You ride in in your horse drawn coach, fix the wiring on a spotlight, climb a pole in your floor length dress, and then crawl through an acid puddle, still presumably in that long dress, to get to the city gates. And that is the most sense you'll get out of this game! Accents and VO's were lamentable, graphics will arbitrarily start shaking as you interact with a scene or puzzle, puzzles and HOPs were absolutely no challenge, nothing was new or original and what there was made little sense. The story was not bad, but everything else left me wishing someone had gone back to the drawing board before releasing this new Ominous Objects game. Someone pointed out that those five star reviews were from people with a need for approval who think they will have larger cheering sections if they have the first reviews on the list. Gosh, I hope that's true - I'd hate to think they really liked this turkey! Try the Demo for yourself. Do not be fooled by real reviewer imitators!
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not like the previous ones in the series I rarely give reviews but felt the need on this one. I urge you to try the game before buying, regardless of who you look to for reviews! I couldn't make it through the entire demo. No clue how this received 5 stars from anyone. Some of the actions and parts of the storyline had me scratching my head on the logic. I did like the sound, but most scenes are dark making it difficult to see items needed for either regular play or HO - found myself squinting almost the entire time. As for game play, there is a LOT of back and forth, with revisiting again and again for yet another single item. Thankfully there is a jump map. The game has a lot of hand-holding, so it is very easy, almost no thought is needed. Not for me as CE or SE.
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sorry, I couldn't get past the demo I don't care how good a story may be, this is a supposed to be a game. If all I wanted was a good story, I would read a good book. Not only is this story premise done to death, gameplay was terrible and annoying, not to mention all the hand-holding. In fact, they don't even hold your hand much, the game does all the work for you. The graphics were terrible. great detail but all washed out in this haze which made it very hard on the eyes. The characters were weird looking in that the movement of them was off. For example, one of the early main characters would speak and her head moved but not her hair. All the storybook so-called HO scenes were aggravating as they ruined the flow of the game, were not well done, and took forever to get through. And there were so many of them just in the demo. I had to force myself to finish, hoping it would get better. It did not. The cursor changes when you mouse over the scene so you don't even have to really look for anything on your own - and this is the theme throughout the whole game. I buy a game to play myself, not have someone play it for me. Yes, you have a cat helper who is non-intrusive and only used sparingly but what I can't get past is that if you have never played a game in this series, you have no idea how he wound up on your inventory bar right from the beginning. He is never explained, he was just there. You play one whole chapter for the demo and it ended very anti-climatic. As far as CE worthy, I didn't bother even looking since I don't feel it is SE worthy. I do appreciate all the work that goes into these games but I would rather wait for a great one then settle on these half-baked ones coming out of late. I am convinced these same people always giving 5 stars across the board, even supposed "experts", don't play the games. This was not a difficult game in the least, just an annoying one. A 5 star game should be the exception, not the norm, and it should be in totality, not just the story. Sorry, that is just my opinion and why I decided to start doing reviews.
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What ugly graphics... [based on demo] I haven't gotten past the demo, and not even that, completely. The graphics were just horrible and I don't have time to loose. Especially when there are beautiful crafted games, out there... Sorry team.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The only thing Ominous are the 5 stars Just finished the demo and I am as frustrated as ever. If I have to look at another newspaper or letter or piece of paper lying around I will scream. Usually you might look at maybe 4-5 of these in the whole story but 2-3 in each scene (little exaggeration but not much) is a little much. The story line goes nowhere fast. First you as the detective, or good friend or world renowned sleuth or whatever you are, is abandoned by the coach driver then is pushed into a ravine by a spirit then almost falls back in when rope breaks but is miraculously saved by the person she is supposed to help and all in the first few minutes of game play. What amazes me in all these games is the hero/heroine falls but never gets hurt. For example, one of the lead characters has a wall fall on her and traps her legs but does she scream in pain? No, she nonchalantly sits there waiting for you to free her. And when you do and she stands, her clothes and hair and everything is still perfect. The graphics in this one are about average for this caliber of game and did not jump out at me as great. Colors aren't too bad because there is a nice mix of light and dark. HO's and puzzles/mini games need work though. Despite what some may say the graphics on the games and HO's are extremely difficult for me to see. If it wasn't for the hint I would still be on the first one. Then again, some of them are so easy you wonder why they were even put in. This next item has to be one of my biggest pet peeves in a game. That is the constant back and forth doing and getting things to go back and do something else and on and on and on. That's as frustrating as the paper. The lead characters are, of course, women which I have no objection to except for the fact I am male and I would like to see more male LEADS and not just the ones that cause all the trouble. Given a choice at the beginning of the game would be nice. Even though there are some 5 star reviews, I don't happen to agree and don't recommend this one at all unless this type of game interests you. Play the demo before you decide and don't let reviews sway your decision. Buy or don't buy based on your playing. Have fun!
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from What happened??? Didn't even finish the demo. I have liked other games in the series but found this one dull. I wasn't interested in the story line at all, it just didn't seem to 'fit' with the setting. There was lots of backwards and forwards which annoyed me, and the characters were just not really believable. I will pass.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from More tedious than ominous... I have enjoyed games from this series, but this one left me bored and frustrated. The good: Artwork was fine; helper cat was cute and not always being needed; most HOPs were well done, puzzles were mostly fun (think I skipped one); morphs were not too easy, not too hard to spot, and were in pretty much every scene. The bad: The intrusive Goals side bar that pops out and just hangs there after you complete any task!!! Too much running around with nothing to show for it; too much having to converse with characters; and, frankly, the storyline didn't do a thing for me. I think new players and young players might enjoy this if they can deal with all the running around rather than feel like they are actually making progress...those players who prefer to be engaged and moving forward are likely to be exasperated with the pace. If you have enjoyed previous games from this series, be sure to try the demo and not just buy it based on the past as, other than the cat, this bears little resemblance.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best I played about 20 minutes of the demo and can now understand why the low ratings. The screen shifts left and right. Not so much your looking at 2 screens but its annoying and distracting. Its a good challenge and normally I like these games but not this one. Cat was cute. Map was helpful of it I used and morphing objects to find were a challenge but not difficult. I really think the shifty screen will be the downfall of the game. It wont bother some but a lot wont like it. Download the demo first before purchasing...seriously dont waste money unless you like playing a few minutes of the demo and the screen doesnt bother you.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the Worst Game I've Ever Played... ...but pretty close! I was tempted to give this game only one star, but decided it's not quite that bad. The characters are okay, colors (dark, but fitting for the atmosphere) and artwork are pretty good, but as far as game play goes, it's just NOT fun. I only played about about 10 minutes before I bailed. I didn't stay around long enough to know if the story line worked, but the 4 different colored (burning?) horses were enough to make me think it does not. What is it with the morphing objects, lately? They seem to have a theme, and it's not good. Spoiler alert...every time you see a cat, it's a morphing object, so that takes all the challenge after the second scene!! I REALLY hope something good comes out soon, or I'm going to be rethinking my BFG membership...this has certainly not been worth the cost, lately! As always, try the demo for yourself...you may need a nap!
Date published: 2017-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from wow this was a really bad game..... uh.....what happened to this series?????so many things to NOT like....floating game screen,multiple tasks to get a single screw....back and forth and back and forth....lots. i am shocked at any 5 star rating......play at your on risk.
Date published: 2017-04-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Storyline for snails. Gameplay for children. Anachronisms everywhere. Ominous Objects: The Cursed Guards in yet another in a long line of cookie cutter HOPA games with unhidden object scenes, puzzles appropriate for kindergartners, and a storyline that moves at a snail’s pace and is filled with anachronisms. It’s not remotely a five-star game. Most of the puzzles require no intellect, intuition, or problem-solving skills. A 12-piece jigsaw. Moving metal rods to climb a pole. Spotting the loose end of a tangled rope and clicking the sections to untangle it. Using the mouse to click/drag on the tabs of a pop-up theater, when only one tab at a time is available. Tedious, unchallenging, and not fun. The HO scenes varied in presentation, but the objects to be found were all in plain sight. Find pieces of rope. Find capitalized words in the narrative. Find and replace in the scene. Find parts of an ornate cover to a hidden cache. A zoom box find and use in the scene. But nothing was hidden! You can play Match-3 instead, which I don’t consider an improvement. Collect easy-to-find playing cards and blatantly obvious morphing objects. While there is a bonus chapter, you can’t replay HO scenes or puzzles, and the dev’s portfolio is pretty thin. Still graphics were rendered well and in a beautiful palette, but animation, especially of characters, was humorously stilted and not lifelike. I disliked the constant motion of the screen; even some of the zoom boxes shook and shuddered while I interacted with them. The music randomly stopped and started, leaving vast silences where my actions provided the only sound. And I’m not sure what accent the voiceover actors were trying for…all of them? Lastly, the anachronisms can’t be ignored. Duke and Duchess are wearing Victorian clothing. My character arrives in a horse-drawn carriage. The city has a smithy. But there’s a multi-watt electric spotlight at the city gates, and its sparking wires are coated in colored PVC. Nope.
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful I have all the games in this series and liked them all. This one is downright awful. It has a story line that is all over the place. I usually love games from this developer. I'm sorry I bought this game, no less the collectors edition. I don't ever leave a game unplayed, so I'm struggling to finish it but at this point could not care at all about the ending. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2017-05-31
  • y_2020, m_11, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_26357, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Ominous Objects: The Cursed Guards Collector's Edition

Mr. Jenkins is back to help you uncover the mystery of the haunted armor!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.