Surface: Virtual Detective
Exclusive

Surface: Virtual Detective

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(318.21 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Elephant Games, the studio that created Mystery Trackers and Haunted Hotel proudly present their latest hidden-object puzzle adventure in the innovative Surface series!

The Virtual Detective Agency is now hiring! Secure your ranking as a top detective in the world’s premiere virtual reality space, sponsored by the Capsule Nexus 2000 – the most realistic full-dive virtual reality device. We’re looking for a few good sleuths to investigate the cause behind the growing numbers of missing players who have become comatose in the real world. Apply today!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1557 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Surface: Virtual Detective

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(318.21 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Surface: Virtual Detective is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 17.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surface series game :) 4 stars because story is creepy. I played in hard mode without skips and it was what it said...... no hints, pointer does not change when I come over something what I need etc.! In many games hard mode isn't hard mode or what it said it is. I had problem solving code with blue plates I think in beginning somewhere. That paper which should help me was not help at all. So I press info button, but instructions was not helpful either. Red x's on paper was just misleading. Info was something like "red x show places where plate can't be placed", but there was not any other places. That was moment when I changed on easy mode to use hints or some other help because I wanted to understand, but everything was the same, so I changed back on hard. After some time I figured out what developers thinking and solve that code :). I didn't won't to skip, but explanation on info button and that paper with red x's wasn't ANY help at all for that puzzle. Those red x's was just nice red color on that paper :). Anyway, nice creative game. You can choose between 2 ends.
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from what a little treasure i really enjoyed this game - i loved the interaction with the computer at the start shame that it didn't continue through the game. Also loved being able to customerize the player. I skipped some of the puzzles (not really a puzzle person particularly when the puzzles were nothing to achieve in the game.
Date published: 2020-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Innovative story and a glimpse of the future This is one of the better HO adventure games. It's science fiction and space age kind of vibe, but appropos of our current times. The special effects for this game are excellent and movie-like. Graphics for interior scenes are excellent, but somewhat unsophisticated for the characters. The setting ranges from futuristic to contemporary to medieval. HOPs and puzzles are varied and never boring. This is a nice change from haunted houses with dank interiors. Thoroughly enjoyable game from start to finish.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Beautiful, but Confusing I am a fan of the Surface games, and while I have not by any means played them all, of the ones I have played, this is one of the worst. The environment is absolutely beautiful as always, and the storyline was good, but the challenges were terrible. The variety was good, I liked some of the more unique challenges, but the "instructions" were a joke and made no sense and were rarely even helpful. If I had not bought the collector's edition, there is no way I would have made it through the game. Many of the challenges were impossible to solve without the strategy guide. Even with the guide, often I didn't understand the puzzle, I just made it look like the solution picture. Last and possibly least... While the story started out interesting, it did not make much sense at the end. Still a fan of Surface and am looking forward to their next game, but I hope they improve their hints and instructions.
Date published: 2018-06-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Virtual Reality? More Like Virtual Boredom I bought this game on sale without a trial. What a mistake. I was expecting a great sci-fi game with futuristic overtones and what i got was a mash-up of the same old stuff that populates the BF website lately. I'm not going to regale you with the gameplay or the story line, but rather explain why this game is indicative of the reason I've gone from purchasing 15-20 games a month to less than 5 or 6. Why, oh why, is it that every HOPA game has to have a demonic entity, regardless of the genre? Love and romance? Gotta have a demon/witch/spirit. Fantasy? Gotta have one. Murder mystery? Yep. Sci-fi? Yep, yep, and triple yep. There seems to be a pattern here. Until this changes, I'm keeping my money in my pocket. Don't get me wrong. I've been a gamer a long time and I've played and enjoyed my share of spooky, creepy, demon-filled games. But the games are all starting to feel the same, each one a carbon copy of the other. I. Am. Bored. To. Bits. I've come to the conclusion that if I want to play the same game, why not play one I've already purchased? I'm just as entertained, maybe more so.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sure am Glad I'm Not in VR This is posted after FiNALLY completing the whole game. I made a really bad mistake in purchasing this game. It was not fun in the slightest to me. From the story, to the puzzles, to the .. well, the whole game was horrid. How might you ask did I purchase such a horrid game. I decided to check it out. I do not recall playing the demo, but it said I had 29 minutes left. I looked at the reviews and there was nothing posted. That usually means I like a game and would purchase it later. I guess I disliked the demo so badly I just didn't post anything, because I cannot seem to find anything good to say about this game. Perhaps VR is not my thing. Graphics were acceptable and the sound was excellent including voice overs and the music. Fx went along with the action in the game. These were the worse mini games I have ever played. Way past my abilities and patience. I couldn't even understand the instructions. If any game needed a substitute for mini games this is one. If you are one who love to agonize over completing a puzzle then you are going to love this game. The hidden objects were okay. There were things listed or in the silhouettes I had no idea what they were. The saving grace was the map which did show places where something was to be done and would take you there. There is also the custom setting, which I am so thankful for, which allowed me to set the hint and skip buttons to the quickest time. There are others who will tell you the story much better than I, because other than to tell you a monster took over VR and you have to release a little girl and escape virtual reality, there isn't much I can tell you. If this is what the VR world is like in real life, I'm certainly glad I didn't get one for Christmas. Perhaps my age has something to do with it. I have several of the Surface games and this one doesn't hold a candle to the others. As always, play the demo. As I said if you like to puzzle yourself all day, then you are going to love this game. I know the developers put a lot of work into this game and I hate to shoot one down, but this is not my cup of tea. I will say it is different than the usual ghosts, goblins and witches we have been getting lately. Give the demo a try and perhaps you will find it more enjoyable than I did.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I have all the other Surface games This one was too creepy for me.
Date published: 2016-12-30
  • y_2020, m_10, d_26, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_26056, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Surface: Virtual Detective

Investigate a virtual reality program that’s turning some players comatose.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.