Royal Detective: Borrowed Life Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Royal Detective: Borrowed Life Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(234.45 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Elephant Games presents the next chilling installment of the Royal Detective series!

You’ve been summoned to the sleepy town of Dorfield to investigate the mysterious disappearance of a famous local sculptor. His wife claims that his “living” statues are to blame, but what is really going on? Uncover the truth, before it’s too late, in this sensational hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Challenge yourself to live as a statue in the bonus game!
  • Are you quick enough to find all of the morphing objects?
  • Check out fun screensavers, concept art, and more!
  • Never get lost again with the strategy guide.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 685 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Royal Detective: Borrowed Life Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(234.45 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Royal Detective: Borrowed Life Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A small army of Statues are after u! What to you do?! With a pretty unique concept, you'll get to -well- instill logic back to the statues and after that -in the bonus game- be a heroin and fix your rocky material. Throughout the game, you get to collect 12 talismans and 28 morphing items. On the downside, the game could use some touch-ups on its artwork, plus It consists of some pretty absurd puzzles. But most of the puzzles are just ok. The pretty unique feature of this game, is that it actually holds very few HOG scenes... And that isn't necessarily a bad thing, but a unique, for sure.
Date published: 2017-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sticks and Stones Wow I bet they would break their bed when laying down their head. This was a really great game. The open cut scene was intriguing, Good Characters, Smooth game play, Nice inventory and inventory use, Morphing objects, Critter Action, and a descent jump map. I really like the puzzles but because they were a little hard on some I had to skip one so I could get to the end of the demo. When I buy the game I will try to solve it on my own time. Goes on the to buy list near the top middle.
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great story so far... Just finished playing the demo and am interested enough in the story to want to know what comes next. The graphics are well done and pleasing to me, so are the music and sound effects -- they fit the story well and contribute to an overall "atmosphere" that made me want to keep playing. Game play was smooth and I didn't encounter any glitches. Worth the price to me to buy it on a sale day. On the negative side, there were too many puzzles for my liking, some I didn't even want to bother with. Nothing much new here but it's very well put together, is good entertainment so far. I recommend you give this game a try and see for yourself.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did that statue just move! Hi all! Well, we have #4 in this series. Naturally, I have the other 3 and thoroughly enjoyed every one of them. As always, I review on the game play and leave the story line to others. I was at the end of my review when my computer decided to take a vacation and tossed me out. Hopefully, I remember everything I had written. That said, the graphics in this addition are very nice and very clear. Animation was very smooth and very well done. Colors are bright and true. Voices are well done and are age and character appropriate, except for Tristan. I thought his voice was about 15 years younger than he looked. Sound FX aren't many, which make the game a little too quiet. Music is soothing and unobtrusive, until something is happening or about to happen and then it picks up. HOPs are a combination of interactive lists, silhouettes and highlighted word search. The scenes are fairly clear and items are not difficult to find. You are not overrun with HOPs, but have enough to break things up a bit. I found that some of the puzzles were challenging and I needed to use more brain power than usual. Nothing too difficult, but they did take some time to complete. Hint system is very helpful and it does transport to longer locations. You do a lot of back tracking, so this saves a lot of time. The game flows very well, so you don't really get tired of running back and forth. Because of this, I did not find the need to use the map. Collectibles were not many, but nicely done. We need to find 28 morphing items. These morph quickly and are different shapes, so be on the lookout. I did not run across any that were too small to see. We also have 12 talismans of various shapes. These are not to small either, but can blend well into the background. Normally, I only review on the game play, but I really liked this story line. Not so much because of the story, but the characters that are used. Something different for a change. However, the thought of statues coming to life does creep me out a bit. This game has a lot of good qualities, nice HOPs, challenging puzzles and interesting story. I think most all levels of players will find this one fun. Yes, I am adding this to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the review.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful game. Enjoyable pastime. Beautiful game. Enjoyable pastime. Even though elements and puzzles are familiar, I like this game. The sound effects and music are pleasant and the graphics are gorgeous. An enjoyable way to spend some time. The demo is very short. Definitely worth a purchase.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Game is OK! Here is the thing the game for what it is both in story line and creative content is well done, no argument there. Here is my rub the game is short in length, not challenging at all meaning a knuckle head with a dunce cap on would find they suddenly found genius, that's right, no challenge for a heavy duty HOG player. Young players may like the game. The game has one of those sweet messages for kids centering on teaching, passing on kindness -- for an old woman like myself I want intrigue -- like a little murder, gore well you get the picture.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LEARN THE COLD STONE TRUTH ABOUT THE DEARLY DEPARTEED OVERVIEW: Is death the end? Face the stone-cold truth about the dearly departed in this 4-star game. You, as the royal detective, are off to investigate a case of a missing sculptor, Tristan. Tristan is a master sculptor of animated statues – living statues which are cold stone replicas of the deceased. When Tristan ends up missing, his wife, Olivia, engages you to locate him. There is revolt brewing by these statues who are now being rejected by those who commissioned them. They feel cold, unloved and alone. They blame their creator for the lack of love in their lives. However, Tristan may have more trouble brewing for him besides the revolt of these stone statues. He may be getting the cold shoulder from “Olivia” as well. Does this game breathe some new life into the series? In my opinion – no. It is a clone of the previous games in the series; however, it is a game which flows smoothly and is easy to navigate. I played the demo and found nothing new or exciting in this game except for one of the puzzles. This game should appeal to beginners, those who like nonchallenging games, children, and might even appeal to expert gamers as well. It has a unique story; however, I think the story behind the game would have been better with a sci-fi robotic theme. The graphics are colorful and bright in appearance. There are not many collectibles, only morphing objects and talismans which are easy to locate. You can replay the HOP scenes and puzzles from the game. There are 3 chapters plus two parts to the Bonus chapter. It seems the Bonus game has you living as a statue. No thank you. I don’t think I want to be frozen in time sitting on a pedestal. This game might appeal to some; however, this will be a pass for me. HOP SCENES: The scenes in the demo are thematic and include the usual ones seen in most HOP games. Most of them are somewhat interactive. They include the usual storybook sequences to further the story with items listed in BOLD letters, silhouette, and lists of items. PUZZLES: The puzzles are the best part of the game and some are creatively designed. Except for one puzzle, they are all easy within the demo. There is a switch puzzle to recreate a picture. There is one sequence puzzle involving musical notes, a logic puzzle involving an owl, and a slider puzzle to open a door. There are a couple of matching puzzles – in one match up colored gems to open a purse and in another choose pictures which combine symbols listed on the top and side of a cabinet. FAVORITE PUZZLE: There is a logic puzzle which is somewhat creative and different from others we have seen in the past. It has three sequences and each one increases in difficulty. In the puzzle, you use a piano keyboard to create given patterns on a square. By toggling the keys, you must select those which recreate the pattern. This requires some logic because you must end up with no additional nor missing highlighted squares in the final product. Excellent puzzle! LEVELS: Casual, Detective, Super, Custom Hints and Skips: 15 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the beginning of the game. 19 Achievements Collect 28 Morphing objects and 12 talismans. Replay 13 HOP scenes and 13 Puzzles 14 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art, 3 Screensavers, 5 Soundtracks HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: (A) Storybook sequence. (B) Silhouette. (C) List of items PUZZLES: Puzzle Rating: (1) Extremely easy 2) Easy (3) A little difficult or time consuming (4) Moderately difficult (5) Difficult A. Switch puzzle. Switch and rotates pieces to recreate a picture. Rating: 2 B. Matching. Match up 5 sets of colored tokens to open a purse. Rating: 1 C. Assembly/Logic puzzle. Using four (4) revolving handles which turn both clockwise and counterclockwise, restore the image of an owl. Turning one ring affects the others. Rating: 2 D. Matching puzzle. Place pictures which combine the elements displayed on the top and sides of the rows and columns of a cabinet until all slots are filled with the correct picture. Rating: 1 E. Sequence puzzle. Press musical notes in proper sequence. Rating: 1 F. Logic puzzle. A rather unique puzzle in which you replicate a pattern using patterns illustrated on a keyboard. You must toggle on and off the squares to match the pattern. 3X Excellent. A new and creative puzzle. Rating: 3. Increases in difficulty G. Slider puzzle. Slide tiles along a path to match them up with a related picture underneath. Rating: 2 H. Sequence puzzle. Press 4 rays on a door so that they fill in the door indentation. Rating: 1
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty in places 2017 game. Completed game. PLUSES -bright sunshine and flowers and gardens -nothing really bad happens to anyone -a good game to play a bit at a time while you're waiting for something better to be released MINUSES -not great graphics, as if everything has been thrown together, glued and pasted -too sedate -characters - I couldn't connect with them at all
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This game did nothing for me I really did not enjoy this game. It was short, uninteresting and there was nothing memorable about it. It's too bad, because the concept is great.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as expected I like this series a lot, but found this game disappointing. It was just way too linear, puzzles and HOs too easy. Certainly not CE worthy in my opinion. That said I did finish the demo and did like the storyline, so will wait for the SE and purchase with a free game code.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing I was really disappointed with this game. Usually, Elephant Games are well thought out and great to play. This one left me bored and not happy at all. The opening graphics look great but that's where it ends. Get into the game and it's the same old 'find this to open that to get something to open something else' junk. That seems to be what all the developers are going to. They can't come up with anything new so they just waste time going back and forth. The HOs are not very innovative and tend to be boring and then there's the old "find the right sequence" thing which is a real drag. Someone out there has to have some new ideas. The only reason I gave this 3 stars was because of the graphics. They are better than most of the games i've played lately. Being a serious HO person, I can't recommend this game but some of you may like it. If so, then enjoy!!
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Well. . .It IS a new game!!! Today's offering is VERY pretty to look at and the storyline - although done in a few other games - is intriguing. However, after playing approximately 45 of the 90 minutes demo, I had to back out. The game had a very good flow to it and, again, a new and interesting take on the storyline of living statues. Unfortunately, the game rolled along TOO easy. It was 'bam, bam, bam' at placing the collected items where each needed to go, and no challenge in the hidden object games OR the mini-games. Maybe further into the game the challenge picks up, but because of the easiness as shown in the demo, I'm not so sure this game's ready for me!!! :-o I don't recall playing the demos of the prior 3 releases of this series; however, one of the above reviewers stated that the first one was the best. Therefore, I will demo that one and - if it offers more of a challenge - will consider it instead. Hey, don't want to pass up this weekend's sale on something, now do we???? Otherwise, for those that choose to "try and buy", do enjoy!!
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Red or Green Eyes! I do wish someone would come up with more original storylines than statues that are dead loved ones come to life?! As with humans their are good statues, they have green eyes, and evil statues, they have red eyes. There seems to always be a broken ladder to fix, tools that are not put together, fixing bridges and putting out fires. Thank goodness the bonus chapter made all the statues nice with green eyes, and they lived happily ever after? Whatever.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from LET'S TOPPLE THE STATUES AND BURY THE SERIES Royal Detective Borrowed Life is game four in a once great series that should have gone to the game graveyard after Legend of the Golem was released. By contrast the first game, Lord of Statues had 272 reviews where Legend of the Golem had only 42. Perhaps it would have been beneficial for BFG and the developer to look at the difference in the review numbers and then decide to let the series go. The developer of this series is one of my favorite and they have created terrific games in the past so they are definitely capable of producing a quality product but, unfortunately, Borrowed Life is not one of them. The graphics are computer generated and lack the depth that comes with hand-drawn artwork. I don’t care for the style of the game and even though some scenes are fairly slick others are rather misty and washed out. Aside from an unbelievable storyline the gameplay was very tedious and boring. The game length of only three chapters consisted of finding bits and pieces of items in order to progress in the game. I was so sick of finding five items to open one thing only to find that I might need two more in order to complete something else. Yes, there are two bonus chapters but by the time I finished the original game I had no interest in the bonus chapters. The HOS, although varied in style, lacked imagination and seemed rather boring. I am an old school HO lover and prefer finding items from a list rather than finding matching pairs hidden among the leaves on a tree. I am not a fan of the storybook type, nor do I like scenes where I must match tiles to specific sections of a graphic particularly when what I should find is hidden in shadow or unidentifiable. The puzzles were a bit better than the HOS, with some even being difficult for me to complete. Even though the puzzles and HOS are even in total number it seemed like I could make no progress in the game until I solved a puzzle. In the end, I can only hope that the developer with decide to scrap the series and use their talents to come up with something new and refreshing. If the trend of sequel after sequel continues, I am one gamer who may look elsewhere to find something far more stimulating to play. Please try the demo because you might find that Borrowed Life is a game that you will enjoy.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Confusion Reins! Sculptor makes living statues to replace dead loved ones for the people in his town. Tristan, the sculptor, is now missing and his wife, Olivia, shows up at your door with a pigeon to ask for your help. The pigeon is to bring her word when you find Tristan. So I'm confused, not just by the story, but by the reviews. How can you be "surprised" by a statue moving when the entire game is built on that premise? I'm also bewildered about a game that has one reviewer giving stars for graphics and another saying it’s great for beginners and children. Say what!?! OK, let's just try to move on. Good stuff: Lots of orange and yellow and red scenes, all the usual game elements, and some CE bling. Bad stuff: I know I'm singing to the choir here but - SPOILER ALERT - Tristan is locked behind a door that requires multiple steps in two locations to open and he presumably put himself there. How did he hide all the lock pieces and puzzle bits before he closed the door? And when Olivia arrives to greet her missing hubby, why is she holding a knife and rushing to attack a STONE statue? I am flummoxed by the lapses in judgment and the required actions in this game. I can't recommend what I won't purchase, but I can urge you to try this demo for yourself. Please, BEFORE you decide to buy the game.)
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from An otherwise exellent game ruined COMPLETLEY by appalling "trial'n'error" mingame Sorry, but for me this game is unplayable, due to the FIRST minigame; the appalling Owl minigame, which is in the horrible "trial'n'error" categori, where it's PURE guesswork regarding solving. And that's simply put stupid. Unfortunately, i had encouontered the same, stupid type, of minigame (clock puzzle) in Elephant Games last game, "Grim Tales: Graywitch Collectors Edition". And that was ALSO in the beginning of the game. Horrible, and it makes me look stupid, eventhough it's the minigame which is at fault here. And I do not skip games this early. Too bad because it seemed pretty good, in all other regards.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Meet the new game...same as the old game. Royal Detective: Lord of Statues remains one of my favorites games nearly five years after its release. I just replayed it a few months ago, and the 216 five-star ratings it initially got, in my opinion, still stand today. The sequel, Queen of Shadows, while not as excellent, was still an enjoyable game with an engaging storyline and the same lush, photorealistic graphics, although the neon colors were starting to creep in. Legend of the Golem is where this series began to fall apart. Princess was no longer part of the storyline, gameplay became repetitive, and the graphics were drenched in toxic colors and unnatural light. Borrowed Life is the zombie from beyond the grave, a lame attempt to revive a series that died with the last episode. The storyline is inane. A sculptor makes living statues to replace loved ones who have died? Yikes. And these statues, realizing they’re not human, form a rebellious group to hunt down and murder their creator. Oh, brother. If they’re not human and can’t love, how can they hate and be vengeful? I hit five puzzles and two HO scenes in the 33 minutes I played and, frankly, the gameplay in Borrowed Life would insult beginners with its childish simplicity. • Jigsaw - swap and rotate the pieces • Matching Pairs - five of them • HO - find the highlighted words in the narrative (very few interactive items) • Jigsaw - rotate concentric circles, moving one affects others • Symbols - swap labels on the drawers of an apothecary cabinets so that each drawer’s label matches the symbols of its row and column • HO - silhouettes (very few interactive items) • Trial & Error - guess the order in which to press the colored notes (and this is where I quit in disgust) Then there were all the usual suspects for which the Royal Detective was completely unprepared. Fortunately, the necessary tool, part, key, or shaped amulet was nearly always a step or two away. There were nails needing to be pried up, cabinets and boxes needing shaped keys, something rusty that oil magically cleared up, two items stuck in cracks, and so on. Gameplay was completely predictable. The graphics… Look, I can write another paragraph or you can do what I did. Open the Lord of Statues page in another tab and click on the 2nd screenshot. Amazing, right? Now scroll up and click on the 2nd screenshot for Borrowed Life. Ok, now click back and forth between the two tabs. Need I say more? What happened to the pachyderm’s signature photoreal graphics style? And, again, we’ve been given a tiny space for our inventory with only six items available at once, and the arrows only move one item at a time. Yet there are acres of space along the bottom of the screen that aren’t in use. When this tiny inventory has 20 items in it, many of them plus items, it’s beyond annoying to click back and forth one item at a time to look for one thing. Make the inventory panel wider, and make the arrows move a page at a time. It’s not rocket science, but it is good game design. I note that this is the third game the pachyderm has released since the New Year, and it’s only been nine days since their last release. No doubt in my mind that’s part of the problem. How many times can they recycle the exact same gameplay? I’m not buying it.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Many Puzzles/Mini Games!!!!!!!!!!!! My review is based on playing the demo only. There are simply too many annoying puzzles/mini games to make this game enjoyable. Plus, the skip button takes too long to charge. Perhaps one of these days Big Fish will present a HIDDEN OBJECT GAME wherein the HOS actually outnumber the puzzles/mini games. Until they do, I am not making any purchases. I do believe it may be time to cancel my Big Fish membership.
Date published: 2017-02-12
  • y_2020, m_5, d_25, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_26112, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Royal Detective: Borrowed Life Collector's Edition

Can you stop these stone-cold conspirators in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.