Mortimer Beckett and the Book of Gold Collector's Edition

Mortimer Beckett and the Book of Gold Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(252.35 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Have you heard about the mysterious Book of Gold? A tome of many secrets, it’s already brought an unlikely couple together on a quest to find it - the introverted thinker Mortimer, and the extroverted, spontaneous Kate. But there’s many more twists to come. Help Mortimer and Kate on their quest to find the legendary Book of Gold!

  • Brainteasing puzzles and challenging riddles
  • Use tools and reveal clues like a detective
  • Enjoy 60 story levels and 18 timed challenges
  • Explore 30 locations and test your wits
  • Earn artifacts for Mortimer's private collection

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 539 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mortimer Beckett and the Book of Gold Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(252.35 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mortimer Beckett and the Book of Gold Collector's Edition is rated 2.2 out of 5 by 83.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 4 Stars as a SE This game is perfect for a free game coupon that's about to expire, but to pay a CE price for it? No way.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Painfully boring I play lots of HOGs and time management. I like to move fast and I like the mystery of trying to find things, or the challenge of figuring out the mini games. None of that is in this game. I kept thinking my hour demo was up because it seemed like I played for hours and hours. There isn't much in the way of instructions so you kind of figure stuff out as you go along. But on the other hand, there are so many arrows saying to click here and there are sparkles that say click on this. Each level is about the same. You have to find a wrench that's broken into three silver parts. Then you find a screwdriver the same way, then a knife. And using those three tools you found, go to the sparklies and click. That's pretty much it. One of the levels was completely stupid. The guy inherits a museum. His female friend falls through the floor. She has to collect a few tools to get out of the basement of the museum. Imagine my surprise when she floods the lower level of the basement so she can float up to the next floor. Well, I guess she just ruined the museum. I know it's just a game and characters are always doing dumb stuff. But that was the icing on the pointless cake for me. This is a collectors edition? I can't imagine how much worse the standard version must be!
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sloooooow and boring! I honestly don't get what the other views were so excited about? This game is boring and very slow. Clicking on pieces to form the object of your search is mindless. There is no mystery, excitement or fun in this game at all. Maybe if I were a young child I would find it entertaining.??
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Maybe I was Playing A Different Game? Mortimer, a cute cartoon character, has inherited his uncle's decrepit museum. He came to Snuggford to see what he had acquired. Meanwhile a local miss had decided the town was utterly boring and she was leaving. Simultaneously a shady sheik was coming to search for a Golden Book that Mortimer's uncle had in his museum. And a game ensues. Good stuff: The cartoons are cute. The map pops up as you finish each level, so you can click on the next one. There are cute little mice to find. There is a hint and a skip, both in the same button. There is one level of game play. the puzzles are also basic. There are "bonus" levels on the map which, if finished before the clock runs out, earn you diamonds to buy items with. There is no SG because there is no need for one. Each level is a single bit of the story. You could not possibly get lost, but just in case, Mortimer will make observations and they will repeat each time you go over that part of the screen. Bad stuff: There is absolutely nothing here that shouts CE to me and much that screams children's game. The animation is more than basic, the dialogue is all read on screen, and the game keeps telling you to click to continue to the next speech bubble. Mortimer has been around since 2007, and little has changed. Please play the Demo. If you are a Mortimer fan, you may enjoy this. If you are an adult, move on.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unfulfilled Expectations After so long, I was excited to see a new MB game. The previous games are charming & engaging. I thought for sure this one would be even better. I was wrong. From the absolutely horrid opening song to the cheesy animation, this game is an utter disappointment. It neither charms nor engages me. I kept hoping it would get better but gave up 10 minutes into the demo.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring I didn't find this game at all interesting. It's challenges weren't interesting and it's mini games were much the same. Disappointed.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Basic I downloaded the demo, and only played about 30 mins of it due to its poor graphics, basic gameplay & average puzzles.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from HOW DISAPPOINTING Really disappointed with this game. I love Mortimer but this is nothing like the Mortimer of old. I have all the previous Mortimer games and my friend and I enjoy playing them together. We actually USE OUR BRAINS to solve the puzzles, no hints and no map showing us where to go, just brain power! Probably won't buy this one - sorry.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very disappointing I like the style of the previous games in the series and I was waiting for the next one and to my surprise, the developers changed everything! Didn't like the gameplay, slow and boring. Please bring back the old Mortimer! I couldn't even finish the trial!
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not your Mortimer Beckett you knew The original Beckett games were fun and set to a more adult level. This new one is more like Candyland for preschoolers.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT MY MORTIMER Was thrilled to see a new Mortimer Becket game after all this time, then I was very disappointed. I love the original MB series of games and have replayed them many times as they were fun. This new version of Mortimer is terrible to say the least and is in no way worthy of being called a collectors edition. I do hope a new Mortimer game comes out in the future but with a lot less reading and more like the old Mortimer games. Will not be adding this to my collection.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mortimer Beckett needs help I agree with the other reviews, I never leave reviews, however this game was a big disappointment. I was so looking forward to a new Mortimer Beckett, i was hoping more in the lines of Delicious games, or other Playhouse games, however it wasn't that at all.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Collector's Edition.............NOT Might have been half decent but NO strategy guide? You have to go to the dev's web site? Should have saved my $$$$
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Mortimer Beckett game This game is extremely disappointing. Compared to the other 4 games, this one is cheaply made, with no graphics and minimal challenges. After waiting for a long time for a new Mortimer Beckett, I think the makers of this game should be ashamed. Apparently they had little or no budget to create a decent game. WHAT A WASTE!
Date published: 2018-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is no Mortimer Beckett I have played the first four Mortimer Beckett games so many times that I practically have them memorized. If they had called this game something else I still would think it was very childish but it is a disgrace to the original games. If you know Mortimer like i know Mortimer, you won't recognize him here.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mortimer Beckett and the Book of Gold "Collectors Addition" I was very disappointed in this game. I have loved the Mortimer Beckett games in the past. this one is not worth the money and definitely not a collectors addition.
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WHAT A LET DOWN!!! I've played all of the games in this series and this one is nothing like the others. There was no real challenge in the games and I didn't like the new character, MB is better on his own. Overall, I thought this game was rather boring. Please, don't waste your money on it, go for something better!
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What happened to my Mortimer? Wow, I am so sorry to see the old adventure game Mortimer being turned into a character from a popular time management game. Gone are the clever puzzles, the adventure story and using some of your own logic. Mortimer is no longer a smart, eccentric scientist. He's been turned into a gawky and bungling sort of guy. * Definitely not collector's edition material and not worth the cost; especially since the game is on the short side * Dialogue rambles on and on and is not very well written. * Since this is a hybrid game, you have to find Carl the mouse in every scene. Honestly, couldn't they come up with something different? * The hidden object scenes involve fragments of items which are usually poorly drawn and can be hard to recognize and locate at times. Colors are bright and sort of bleed into each other. * Graphics are cartoon-like and the puzzles are easy. There are sparkles everywhere telling you what your tasks are. This would probably be a great game for kids, if they're kids who like to read a lot of dialogue. I played the game on another site, so I'm extremely happy I didn't have to pay for it.
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just Awful My review will be short.....just DON'T! Kindergarten graphics
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Suxs with a Upper Case 'S' Such a disappointment when compared to the previous games. Wish I had read the poorer reviews, would have saved myself 20 bucks. Beware, Mortimer fans!
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Mortimer What in the world have you done to Mortimer? I own every Mortimer Beckett game and love each and every one, and have played each and every one multiple times. But not this one, I played the Demo and hated it, could not stand the child like charters and the movements took all the fun out of playing the game for me. I played the game for about 20 minutes and that was all I could handle, I turned it off and about cried, as I was so excited about a new Mortimer game being out and this one was the biggest let down of a game sequel I have ever played. How could you do it? Sorry I can not recommend this game
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from S__L__O__W! This slow moving game just couldn't keep my attention.
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This game wasn't what I expect from a CE... I actually liked this game BUT there was no way of turning off the 'sparkles'. If there had been and the UI was more user friendly I may have bought it. As it was, it didn't run well on the Mac, no instructions as to what to do (I figured it out as I went along), and HO pieces almost impossible to find. The concept was excellent, the actual game play was let down by no option of doing away with sparkles. I play games to challenge myself a bit - adding sparkles to every move makes it 'childs play'.
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Where did Mortimer go? Has nothing in common with the previous games. Quality is juvenile and cartoonish. Characters are flat and dialogue is at best adequate. It is a good thing I bought this on sale. Have no idea why this would have been rated as a Collectors edition. No strategy guide or instructions. I did find a walkthrough on the original site... If one has not played the previous games, then possibly they might like this one, My seven year old grandson would be bored to tears.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never change a winning game Oh dear, where should I start? 1. In my opinion, a TM-level concept does NOT work for a HO game (same applies to Carl, the mouse...). I felt like stumbling from one 30 sec level to the next. And all accompanied by... 2. a once funny and likeable main character who now only talks to himself and is totally clueless. 3. The Mortimer games where set in their own world. Why mix it with the Snuggford games? Don't get me wrong, Delicious, Fabulous and Heart's Medicine are among my favourite game series, but I don't want to play only the Snuggford games. I don't understand, why a different game that already had an interesting world had to be mixed with them. 4. My comment about the game world applies to the graphic style as well. It is nice as always in Snuggford games, but not Mortimer anymore. Again the game was changed without need. I played the first 4 or 5 levels, felt happy that I downloaded the demo version first this time and deleted it. I hope there will be a real Mortimer sequel since I liked the original games very much. Now I need a trip to Spooky Manor to forget about that Book of Gold again.
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed! This game is so unlike the MB games I have played. I don't like it at all. Go back to the old MB!
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't If you liked the other Mortimer Beckett games you'll be really disappointed in this - completely different, really basic. Too bad
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why did they ruin such a good game? I have no idea why someone would mess about with such a clever game, obviously the developers had no idea of the saying "If it ain't broke don't fix it " Ok the first game was straight forward HO'S but after that it was perfect . It may have looked childish but the humour was perfect for an adult to enjoy as well." The collectors Edition"! who thought that up there was NOTHING remotely special about it I played 10 minutes and knew it was not going to improve
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Have the developers ever played a Mortimer Beckett Game? The cartoon style is different, flatter, with fewer eyecatchers. The level of snark is good, but oh, so longwinded. Why, yes, it IS a fractured HOG, but there are fewer things to find and my goodness, what is the point of a challenge level that wants you to remember quickly where you found the fragments in the thing you just finished. No fun for me. This is entirely too much like a socalled HOG that is 9 puzzles to 1 HOG. Boo.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a massive disappointment! When I saw a new Mortimer Beckett game I was delighted, but within a minute of starting the demo my excitement disappeared. I stuck it out for 15 minutes in the hopes that it would improve, but it seemed to go downhill instead...this game is awful and nothing like the previous entertaining games in the series.
Date published: 2018-01-03
  • y_2022, m_1, d_21, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_83
  • loc_en_US, sid_27717, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mortimer Beckett and the Book of Gold Collector's Edition

Ready to solve a gripping mystery? Tackle ingenious riddles in this hidden object puzzle adventure!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.