Edge of Reality: Lost Secrets of the Forest Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Edge of Reality: Lost Secrets of the Forest Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(520.41 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Friendly Fox needs an expert like you in this stunning addition to the Edge of Reality series!

It’s been 20 years since your last visit to Redwood National Park, but your love of nature has made you an expert in the field. So, when strange human-shaped plants start appearing across the park, it’s up to you to uncover their source! But there’s much more to this mystery than just fantastical fauna. Between rumors of illegal logging, an order of owl-clad protectors, and a recent series of disappearances, it’s going to take all your skills to win over new animal friends and save the day! Do you have what it takes? Find out in this enthralling Hidden-Object Puzzle adventure!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version.

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Play as a Park Director to battle dark forces in the Bonus Chapter!
  • Complete your menagerie of Animals, collect every Morphing Object, and rack up all the Achievements!
  • Enjoy exclusive Concept Art, Screensavers, Wallpapers, and Original Music!
  • Don’t get lost in the woods without the detailed Strategy Guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1300 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Edge of Reality: Lost Secrets of the Forest Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(520.41 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Edge of Reality: Lost Secrets of the Forest Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Protect our forests This one is a bit different than the other Edge of Reality games. Another reviewer said it reminded her of Enigmatis and I agree. Game play was easy with clear puzzle directions and very easy HOS. Story was different but interesting. I love the collectibles in FF games. They put a lot of effort into their games and it shows. Color is clear and sound is great. No complaints from me. Not quite a 5 star game, but close to it. I recommend.
Date published: 2022-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVED THE STORY-REMINDED ME OF ENIGMATIS Completed Game approximately 5.5 hours (including completion of all mini-games & CE Bonus Chapter) 19 Scene Locations +7 CE Bonus Chapter Difficulty Range: Beginner-Intermediate One of Amanda's favorite childhood memories was their family trip to The Redwood Forest to visit her Great Aunt Tina who always had amazing stories to tell her about Magical Forest Critters. Now Amanda is returning to the forest as a renowned Biologist to investigate plants that look exactly like humans! Amanda will gain more knowledge than she ever thought possible, as she uncovers corruption at the Redwood Forest! I absolutely loved this story which reminded me a lot of the Enigmatis series from yesteryear! Friendly Fox knows how to create a wonderful fantasy filled with magic and mystery...perhaps better than any other developer and although the gameplay was fairly easy, I enjoyed this game and loved the morphs & collectibles far more than any game the big D has offered in the last few years! Collectibles/Morphing Objects: (CE version only) Each scene has 2 of those infamous 4Friends Opaque Collectibles that are really well-blended into the scenery and one of my personal favorite collectibles overall. (my all-time favorite CE feature are non-linear morphs from the original DP series) There is an available pull-out Tab on the left side that tells you how many morphs & collectibles remain in each scene, a feature I for one appreciate. There are 52 Opaque Forest Animals which unlocks a new Animal of the Forest when you find 5-15-28-40-52 Opaque Animals in the game. My only complaint is that they repeated the same animals, I wish they had used their wonderful imaginations to create several different animals to search for, which in turn would unlock more forest critters! Each scene also has two Morphing Objects, some of which are very well-hidden and challenging to spot at first glance, others morphed into objects that seemed out of place so they were easily spotted. Gadget/Helper: Grey the Australian Shepherd is your Helper and he is used 5 times in the Main Chapter to dig dirt or fetch objects. He sits quietly in the Inventory Bar and isn't annoying at any point...he's also adorable! Friendly Fox loves their Amulets and this game is no exception. When you encounter a magical Forest critter you must first befriend him by feeding him or helping him in various manners. After befriending him you will use your Amulet to scan the scene for 5-6 Fragments which allows you to read the animal's mind as you watch a short video explaining what the animal endured. After the video you will receive that animal's power: SPOILER ALERT (animal/powers) Dog-sense of smell Skunk-odor Magical Deer-flight Falcon-sight Magical Coyote-fire Bear-strength Hidden Object Scenes: There are 13 Hidden Object Scenes +6 in the CE Bonus Chapter many of which are smaller zoom zone HOs requiring you to match identical objects, and of course, there are several HO scenes associated with the Amulet Gadget. Although some of the scenes are duplicated, the type of HO varies each time and some of the variations are quite fun and all of them are very colorful. There are several Interactive List Finds, and Keywords in Sentence Finds as well as Replacing Items into the Scene, Fill in the Blanks by dragging the correct object to each sentence, Pictured or Silhouetted Shape Finds, and Multiples of the Same type. Mini-Games: There are 12 Mini-Games +5 in the CE Bonus Chapter. Most of the puzzles have been offered a hundred times before, but they aren't necessarily bad puzzles, just nothing new. The infamous games include a game of Cups where you keep track of the cup containing a cat toy, Navigate thru a forest maze using directional arrows while finding and using objects to overcome obstacles, Drop 2 boltcutters to the bottom at the same time, Connect dots to replicate a pattern, Move tokens to matching slots along a track, Sort colored liquids in test tubes, Synchronize 2 radio waves, Light all fuses with the specified number of connections, to name a few. I did enjoy the puzzle where you had to rotate bulbs with different colored bases and place them correctly by following tangled wire paths. Bonus Chapter: (CE version only) The new director is faced with her first major disaster when a Cyclone threatens the Redwood Forest inhabitants and visitors. Can she save the creatures and the humans in time? The BC spans 7 additional scene locations with 5 mini-games and 6 Hidden Object Scenes. You will complete your Opaque Animal Collection and Morphing Objects (2 per scene of each) which will unlock the final 2 Animals of the forest. Collector's Edition Version Extra's: 10 Wallpapers, 13 Concept Art Pictures, 5 Screensavers, 5 Music Soundtracks, 17 Movie Video Cutscenes, 15 Achievements (some are available in 3 category progressions) 17 Replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 13 Replayable Mini-Games, 52 Opaque animals (2 per scene) 52 Morphing Objects (2 per scene) 4 Main Chapters +Bonus Chapter and a Built-In Strategy Guide. Come join the Woodsey Family at my new forum at thewoodsforum.boards.net
Date published: 2022-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Adventure Game Graphics are very good. Overall, the game is good and interesting. You have a jump map to navigate with and it shows if you have objects to find. Some indicated actions will be HOPs. Some solutions are quirky and illogical. If one item doesn't work, try them all. There is 2 easter egg to find, morphing objects and semi-transparent animals. Some animals are difficult to find. Hops can be tricky. Most puzzles can be solved without brain strain, 2 are difficult but I got through. Of course you have a detailed guide and a good variety of the advanced customizations as in most of the more current adventure games. Orchestrated music is mellow.
Date published: 2022-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed this game! I loved the storyline, the music, the graphics, everything about this game! It was really fun and enjoyable and the plot was new and refreshing.
Date published: 2022-01-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Serious Topic. Will It Go Unnoticed In A Game? Animals suffer every day and lose their homes, nature is destroyed at an alarming rate. It is a strong theme for this story. I like that this sad fact is presented in a game that can get the attention of people who may not be aware of or care about the destruction, hopefully realizing it is truth, not fiction. I enjoyed the story putting a spotlight on the dilemma, but I didn't care for the cartoonish and fantasy elements included, finding them to be a distraction from the serious matter presented here. I know it is just a game but loving animals and nature and being concerned with the losses, I don't know how enjoyable the game will be for me. Friendly Fox always does a great job with their games so maybe it will turn out to be great. The demo had many of those tasks that I dislike, to uncover needed items. I'm always wishing for more action, fewer tasks. But I did make it into the forest to begin investigating the mystery. I was irritated that the demo shorted me of 17 minutes and I was unable to go back in to complete. The pace of the game was speedy because there was no difficulty finding anything I needed and I was happy to let Gray dig up the buried stuff, no makeshift shovels or tools this time. My demo ended with Great Auntie revealing her identity as one of the mysterious bird creatures. I thought the graphics could have been better although color was good. Characters were well depicted, good voice-overs and lip sync. I played mostly in Casual Mode but there was too much help. I found the other difficulty levels aren't much different in challenge from one another so I stayed with Casual to hasten the demo. I don't like gadgets so the glasses were a nuisance to me, but Gray was a useful companion. I enjoy animal helpers. I enjoyed the interactive HOPs which involved a lot of flora and fauna. They were easy to accomplish, none stood out in creative design in the demo, they were the standard list type and a little storybook style. The puzzles were more entertaining, Casual and Hard Mode were available, Hard was of average challenge to me. I felt the number of HOPs and mini-games was just right, many times I pass up a game with a huge amount of puzzles. There were 2 collectibles in each scene. The animals were easier to find than the morphs, all were in darkened areas, the handy sidebar kept count so none were missed. I always appreciate this feature. No violent action or monsters to contend with which is nice for a change. It may not be a lengthy game, these days a CE is commonly short in spite of extra content. For me, a good story and quality mini-games matter more than the fluff. I rarely buy them anymore because the value just isn't there. In my opinion, quality CEs are now hard to come by. The demo was okay, providing easy gameplay and lots of narrative about the events and causes that are at hand in Redwood National Park. Hopefully our expert investigative work will pay off and the mystery will be solved. Let's hope for a positive ending. Try it out, it's a good storyline, suitable for all ages and skill levels. The game ran with no tech issues.
Date published: 2022-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GIVE A HOOT DON'T POLLUTE REVIEW BASED UPON THE ENTIRE GAME 4 Chapters Plus a Bonus Chapter – Strategy Guide: 69 pages Give a hoot and don’t pollute as you join Amanda Jones’ trek through Redwood Forest. As Amanda, you have been asked to investigate plants which look like humans and contain human DNA. However, as you investigate, you discover this forest is on the brink of ecological disaster. With the help of owl-clad Children of the Forest and a sheriff, search for culprits involved in illegal logging of the majestic sequoias, and poachers stealing the magical animals from the forest. And, hopefully, you can return those vegetative humans back into their human form. And this game proves it is not easy being green! Just ask Kermit the Frog, the human plants in this game, or any ecologist! This is a fantastic game for HOP lovers, ecologists, and animal lovers! This game has more HOP scenes than mini-games. It is chock full of flora and fauna and the activities are thematic, with trees and animals galore. I did not especially care for this game. The story did not interest me. However, although the story was not to my taste, it is a creatively designed game. There are two collectibles, morphing objects and animals. I found the animals well-hidden in scenes. There are two of each type of collectible in each scene. The animals collected are exchanged for five (5) forest animals and opens an additional HOP scene upon completion of the game. This HOP scene can be replayed with new lists of items each time. There are two gimmicks in the game, glasses, and Gray the dog. The player receives a pair of glasses which are used upon locating an animal. Using the glasses, the player searches for fragments which combine to create an item which provides a narrative to further the storyline. At the end of the narrative, the player receives an animal power such as falcon vision or bear strength. There are five (5) scenes like this in the game. The other gimmick, Gray the dog, is not used that often. He sits in the inventory and is used to dig up buried items. MECHANICS: • Four (4) levels of play including a customized version. • 15 achievements. • Collect 52 animals which unlock 5 animals in the forest and another HOP scene which can be played with a series of lists. • Collect 52 morphing objects. • 10 wallpapers and 5 screensavers along with concept art, music, and video sequences • Gimmicky glasses use with animals you locate throughout the game. • Helper Gray the Dog – used to dig up inventory items • Replay 17 HOP scenes and 13 mini games BONUS CHAPTER: It is a sequel. You, as Amanda Jones, are the new park director. You have restored the beauty of the park. However, a storm is brewing, a typhoon. You must save your Aunt Tina and her group who are unaware of the impending storm. I found this chapter equal in quality to the main game. There are six (6) HOP scenes and five (5) mini-games. I found it a nice addition to the game and provides a nice ending to the game. Continue to collect the collectibles within the chapter. HOP SCENES: There are nineteen (19) scenes in the game, seventeen (17) of which can be replayed upon completion of the game. The scenes consist of standard lists of items, matching and silhouette. However, there are also scenes in which items are placed into the scene in the proper location and scenes with a narrative containing items in highlighted letters which are to be located in various formats.. I found most blasé and nondescript. They are the same as those found in most games. I did not find any which I would consider exceptional in design. MINI-GAMES: For me, the best part of this game are the mini-games! There are seventeen (17) mini-puzzles, thirteen (13) of which can be replayed upon completion of the game. Surprisingly, this developer has included more puzzles which can be played in two different levels of difficulty – casual and hard. I am happy to see this developer providing this option for those who want a little more challenge in playing a game. SPOILERS: HERE ARE SOME OF THE MNI-GAMES AFTER THE DEMO: A. Casual/ Hard. Assembly puzzle. Move colored liquids between test tubes so that each tube contains liquid of the same color. Transfer liquid between the tubes. There are 2 extra tubes to store liquid in. B. Alignment puzzle. Using knobs on a monitor, synchronize 3 sine waves on the monitor. C. Casual/ Hard. Connection puzzle. Light up fuses on a diamond-shaped grid according to the numbers near them. The fuses lit surrounding each number should match the number D. Casual Hard. Knight Chess Puzzle. Use buttons with directions on them to pass a target through all cells. The movements are the same “L” shaped moves made by a knight in a chess game. BONUS CHAPTER: E. Maze puzzle. Get out of a forest through the limited vision of a telescope, locating items to help you overcome obstacles F. Checkers puzzle. Exchange the position of 3 red flames on the left and 3 blue flames on the right. Flames can jump over each other to a free space or move to a free space.
Date published: 2022-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice but not great game There are some excellent descriptions of this game and the gameplay, so I'm going to skip that part, because what grabbed me as a former Californian, is that the Federal and State Redwood Parks have little in common with the fictitious version in this game. No guy in an office runs it/them and there would be countless agencies and people, both on a state and national level making sure nothing illegal was going on, including of all things, logging. I mean, they know how many trees there are - no one could creep in and do logging. Totem poles are a feature of this version of the Park, but in reality totem poles were made by Native American tribes north of California. There were also no tipis, seen as toy souvenirs in one scene - those were the Plains people. And, pretty obviously, there are no high speed train lines in any part of the Parks, especially given the terrain. All that said, it's a very pretty game, although I found the gameplay to be fairly formulaic and not super interesting. I thought, at least through the demo, that it's a nice game, but the story line was, even as a fantasy, unconvincing. I haven't decided if it's a buy for me, it depends on if I have run through other things to play. I would recommend but with a lot of reservations.
Date published: 2022-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from score 3.5 good but not great i like the series and this game was OK - lots of talk very little puzzles and hidden objects. pleased that the dog was brought back but he really didn't do much. the "glasses" were ok - part of the series which was good to see it continued. one thing that is very annoying with lots of these new games is that the main character doesn't talk - well she did talk (bonus) however i am assuming that the policeman had an eye piece in because never saw on phone in his hand. I know it is only a little thing but i do like consistency and reality as much as possible in these fantasy games. try before you purchasing - happy gaming :)
Date published: 2022-01-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Based on Demo Very colorful, nice scenes. There is a lot of reading, cut scenes to work through. Trying to make a statement in this game. There are challenges you need to work through, items to find on each scene. You do have a helper for some items. It looked very interesting based on the intro to the game. It is, however, sort of basic, good for a beginner maybe? Was a bit disappointed but overall a good game.
Date published: 2022-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy HOGs The HOGS are just too easy. Story line made sense. I don't really care for the storyline though. I prefer harder HOGS.
Date published: 2022-01-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from yuck Sic of gadgets and helpers and leave your causes at home we don¨t need them in games.
Date published: 2022-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very short You can finish this game in a couple of hours. Not worth it. I like games that last much longer than this.
Date published: 2022-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun Game .. but too short This one seemed shorter than most, especially since it's double the credits. It's too bad because I really liked it, it just makes me wary of buying other games by this developer in the future. I could have stopped at the end of the trial and been just as pleased.
Date published: 2022-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Edge of Reality of the past I bought it based on my enjoyment of the past games. I regret it. This is not the series I know and love.
Date published: 2022-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Preaching in an HOA game The graphics are excellent the level of the challenge is good. That being said the in your face message is off putting. Now I an a stanch advocate for environmental protection but really this is way to much. EVERY conversation with one the "order" members is I protect the animals and the forest. They actually have the order members glow a little. {sigh} You will be much more effective by not being a ..... You get the picture. If you don't mind the overt politics feel free but if you are like me I play HOA's to put politics and preaching away for awhile.
Date published: 2022-01-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from dreadful this is based on the very slow and boring demo.....this game is a mess.....too easy, gadgets..animal helpers again and a cram down your throat message.....i am shocked..this game maker is most of the time right on....not this game.... if you love, gadgets, animal helpers...and a very slow game...well this is the game for you...good luck.
Date published: 2022-01-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring ... I couldn't make it through the demo. I did 45 mins then quit. the story fails to engage. It's quite draggy and slow. I was bored within 10 minutes but kept at it hoping it would get bet better. The premise is unique, but the execution is overly preachy. As usual the artwork is great and the VO actors did a good job. Just not for me.
Date published: 2022-02-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Truly Pathetic Maybe it's because I just finished an old school game before I started on this one? No - it was terrible and I haven't come across one so bad in quite some time. Pathetic storyline, terrible voice actors and only OK graphics. I expect more when I pay for a game and really wish I could ask for a refund..... Don't bother - it's rubbish.
Date published: 2022-02-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Edge of Reality: Lost Secrets of the Forest Might be a fun game to try if it would execute!
Date published: 2022-01-15
  • y_2022, m_6, d_29, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_33021, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Edge of Reality: Lost Secrets of the Forest Collector's Edition

Can you save Redwood National Park before it’s too late?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.