Return to Mysterious Island

Return to Mysterious Island

PC

Adventure

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

(Large File: 913.86 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Sorry, no trial version available.

1st Runner-Up Best Adventure Game of 2007
Return to Mysterious Island follows Mina, a strong young woman stranded on the shores of a wild and apparently uninhabited island. As she explores her new surroundings, she uncovers artifacts, living spaces and technologies left behind by the people who came before her to this uncharted island. She soon becomes aware of a figure in the shadows who, seemingly aware of her troubles, offers her assistance for a price.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 6.0
  • Hard Drive: 1054 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Return to Mysterious Island

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

(Large File: 913.86 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Sorry, no trial version available.

Customer Reviews
Return to Mysterious Island is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnificent! Seldomly have I played a game this excellent. It lasted for weeks the first time around and since then I have played it at least half a dozen times. The storyline is captivating, the riddles are hard but manegable and you actually learn a thing or two along the way.
Date published: 2012-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my perfect game . i loved everything about ths game,it was fun combining things,mina is kate walker from syberia,thats my all time fave game .so it was like listening to a long lost friend.must play it again soon.
Date published: 2012-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and charming island survival game Kheops studios is one of my favourite adventure game developers and this game is a large part of the reason for that. It is fun and charming with challenging enough puzzles that fit the island survival theme perfectly. Parts of the story are loosely based on Jules Verne's Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea but more importantly the game is about surviving on an uninhabited island. While there are no other humans on the island, you are not alone and much of the games charm comes from interacting with a non-human companion. Much of the gameplay is inspired by the survival theme of the story but there are also sci-fi elements to the game, inspired by Jules Verne's book. The graphics depicting the game environments are very good. However, there are no animated cutscenes. Instead story progression is presented using black and white drawings. While a bit lifeless, this format is entirely adequate for this kind of game. The puzzles are mostly inspired by the survival theme of the story and many of them are crafting puzzles that require you to create useful items by combining items that you find on the island. Puzzles always feel well integrated with the story and offer an adequate level of challenge. Most importantly they are a lot of fun to solve. All in all, this is a very enjoyable game with a pleasant story with a lot of charm and fun crafting puzzles. I would recommend it to anyone who likes adventure games, and in particular if you have been looking for a game with somwhat MacGyver like gameplay.
Date published: 2012-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A love, hate relationship with this one! This one is so different than any other adv game I have played. Have to admit, at first I hated it.....at times I just had to walk away, only to find myself running back because I just had to figure it out. It would frustrate me to no end!!! I loved it, I hated it......Clearly BRILLIANT. Not a game that you could rush through, be ready to put on your thinking cap and spend some time. Cant wait to start 2:-)
Date published: 2012-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging and Visually Pleasing! I love long games, as I get very addicted and want to find more clues and pieces to the story. This was a great game that I really enjoyed. The graphics are fantastic and allow you in each setting to view a full 360 degrees of your surrounding. This is not your standard HOG game, not only do you find objects you also have to mix objects together to make things and use items on the island to help you do that. The game is challenging at times as some items are well hidden and you will not be able to move on until you find the right objects to use together and they may be anywhere on the island, which I enjoyed. It presents great strategy, storyline, visuals and fun all wrapped up in one game. I would strongly recommend to everyone.
Date published: 2012-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game My kind of game. Being 68 years old I need games like this to prove (to myself) that I am still able to solve all the puzzles and problems that the heroine in the game( Mina) had to face. Well worth the money, great fun, beautiful graphics and mind teasing puzzles and situations. Loved it.
Date published: 2012-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh Please Big Fish Can You Get More Like This!? SO FUN! So NOT a HOG! Would someone please tell me why Big Fish insists on 'recommending' HOGs to me when THESE are the games I buy?! This is a great example of a quality large-file-adventure-NOT-hidden-object game. Like Nancy Drew, Nostradamus, Secrets of DaVinci, Syberia, etc. I DO NOT want to find 20 kites, I want to figure out how to make one out of cloth, tendons, and reeds, lol! But seriously, I was about to cancel my big fish subscription because I thought I had exhausted all the cool large file games and then I happened to try this one. It has the beautiful Myst-type setting, and the game is relaxing and fun. For those who can't figure out how to combine the right items and are stuck - combine EVERYTHING - One of the options has to work! I loved the scenery, the monkeys, and the items board. You can even take things apart to re-use items. It cracks me up how these characters supposedly lug a carcass, dynamite, a dive suit, and 20 other items around! I recommend this game and I really wish these games had a separate catagory from HOGs!
Date published: 2012-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Adventure full of Fun and Excitement Perfect game for all, who love adventure games. The character you're about to play is stranded on mysterious island and has to solve her own situation as well as some secrets on the island to be rescued. Some riddles are easy to solve, others are quite tricky. Superb graphics, full of details. You will be caught by the setting and once you play you feel like beeing stranded on the island yourself. The game has a sequel in the game "Retourn to mysterious island: Minas Fate".
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Fun I really like this Game. I have always been a fan of adventure role playing games. The 360 view was a bit difficult to get used to, and once you turn the camera speed down in the option menu it becomes easier to get used to. While the game is not linear there are some things that will disappear if you don't complete them. In one session of game play i found the Black Pearl and it stayed in my inventory but in another i found it later and then it disappeared. When you complete other tasks differently the results are different. One you figure out how to get across the bridge... how you deal with the angry monkey makes a difference in what happens later... very complex games and interesting story line GREAT GAME! Definitely in my top 10!
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jules Verne Gets A Big Boost From Kheops! Jules Verne, the great French Novelist, got a very big boost from Kheops Productions as that great company enhanced and added to Verne's original novel written in 1874, entitled: "L'Ile Mysterieuse." In the novel, five men were stranded, whereas, in the Kheops game, only a brave girl named Mina was stranded. The men managed to tame an orangatan that they named Jup, and Mina tamed and tended to a wounded monkey that she called Jep. The men learned to fend for themselves, as did Mina, who did exactly what the men did. She managed to make fire, pottery, bricks, nitroglycerin, iron, and even produced electricity. She was stranded in the South Pacific on an island whose locale remained a mystery. It was Lincoln Island, the same designation as in the book, and she and Jep lived in a cliff cave named "Granite House." This game became more and more gripping as the player progressed, and great battles and struggles ensued in a very sci-fi way. The game is of medium difficulty and is non-linear. The graphics are excellent, and both visual and sound surprises abound. This is one of the best games I have ever played, and I am now beginning to play the sequel: "Return to Mysterious Island 2: Mina's Fate." This is a "MUST BUY!" This was
Date published: 2012-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I’ll Return Again. Love This No HOG Adventure Game! I’m close to a decade behind everyone on playing this game but WOW.. Based on one completed game. This is a great story that sticks with you throughout the game. You always know what your mission is. Big kudos on story-line development! Minimal Game play info: Yes: I saved dozens of times to consult a walkthrough but it didn’t take away from the game. Oddly it was the (small stuff) I needed help with not the puzzles! This May Help If You Haven’t Played or Gave Up: I wish I had known that you do not need every single item listed in those walkthrough’s to advance depending on how you choose to play it! Example: I used my 3 wicks right away and thought I needed another to finish. Nope…. I spent hours trying to find a wick reading walkthrough’s to no avail so I just gave up and tried moving on. Turned out that I never needed it because of the way I had played it; this holds true for many other items as well. I had countless objects left I didn't need. :-) But pick up everything since you just don't know. My advice is if you absolutely can’t find an item.. Try moving on! There are so many way’s to play and finish this game that the replay value is nearly endless! It’s really a great game I only wish there were dozens that play like this in here. I’m an adventure-lover HOG hater which presents a challenge for me with BFG, finding what I like. Needless to say this was perfect for me! More like this, please!!
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game - A lot of challenges - Things to learn such as how to make tools with different current components It is a very good story and takes time to play. I enjoyed and recommend.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game for those who are new to the genre This game has a great story, graphics and sound. It's a good one to start on if you're new to adventure games (what bf calls Large File) because the puzzles are intuitive.
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would you care for some Jules Verne? I love "The Mysterious Island". It was my favourite book for years from when I was about 9. I wanted to do all of that survivalist stuff. And now finally finally I got to! There are loads of beautiful scenes and environments to explore and while there are very few conventional puzzles, your grey cells are well excercised as you try to figure out how to make something from almost nothing and combine the items in your inventory the right way. Another wonderful thing is that for every problem there are at least two different solutions. For example, making fire. And getting gunpowder. And getting rid of the monkeys or the huge fish in the water etc etc. Like real life, and not linear either, like many other Adventure games. What was slightly unbelievable was the monkey and his incredible talents. But oh well, it's a game. :) What I loved the most was that it was the actual "Mysterious Island" and we got to explore all the famous places, like Granite House (I was slightly disappointed, but then again it had been derelict for about 150 years...) and the windmill and even Nautilus itself. The fact that the island was supposed to have been blown up in a massive volcanic eruption, was nicely explained away, as was the weird effect I thought was bad graphics in the beginning. And you can see real illustrations from the book, and even the map of Lincoln Island! Eeeee! Controls are quite easy if you have played any Kheops games before, I have - Destination: Treasure Island and Echo: Secret of the Lost Cavern. Basically you can play the whole game with just your mouse. This one isn't a long game, but there is plenty to do and it's fun. And there is a sequel! This game also has a point system, which I have only seen in Nostradamus: The Last Prophecy before, and it was quite fun. Every time you collect 100 points, you get some concept art to look at in the gallery.. I managed to get 295 points by the end. I have heard rumours that max. is 395... I must have missed loads of stuff even with the occasional help of a walkthrough! The only problem I have is that I don't really like the 360. It makes my head ache. I usually put it on slow level, where possible, but in this game, even slow was too fast and blurry. Apart from that, definitely one to get if you like Large File and Adventure games.
Date published: 2013-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent. It's one of my favorites Both "Return to Mysterious Island" games where superb!!! Large file but keep you entertained for long time.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top 5! This is in my top 5 games to play! It's a MUST purchase!
Date published: 2012-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game I really enjoyed this game. Good puzzles, great graphics, fun gameplay
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oldie but Goodie I was worried that going back to a game created almost 15 years ago would even be compatible with today's PCs, but YAY! it was. A bit overwhelming at first to figure out the navigation and overall "rules" of the game, but so worth it! The variety of item combinations allowed makes for a truly absorbing game. So glad I found this little nugget! [especially in a time when it seems the bulk of HOPA games being produced are watered down, hand-holding versions produced for novice masses who don't mind if there's no real imagination required]
Date published: 2021-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game! Love love love it! Had no idea what sort of game it was at first, then when I started, it took me back to my old days of playing Myst (which I miss). I have no idea what "category" this game is, I guess adventure?, but loved it! At first I was thinking the game was too hard for me and I would never get through it, then when it was over, I thought "That was too short! I want more!" The sound effects are most excellent -- some really kept me on edge and others were quite soothing. Great game!
Date published: 2021-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging game. I really enjoyed this game, had to put the thinking cap on and think about what was going on. I didn't use any help, so the game was a challenge. Looking forward to playing the next one. If you like Nancy Drew games, you will like this one!
Date published: 2021-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very well done old-fashioned adventure game! No HOG's here, folks! Just old-school exploring, searching, experimenting, (and sometimes cursing) fun! Return to Mysterious Island offers you a very good storyline coupled with great voice acting, nice visuals, pleasing music and some pretty darn difficult puzzles. I consider myself an expert gamer and it took me much longer than it should have just to get off the darn beach and start exploring the actual island. And I admire that! For me, the game ran incredibly smooth, transitioning from scene to scene very quickly. I soon found this to be a very important positive as sometimes you'll find yourself running all over the island trying to find the one item missing in your inventory. The scenes themselves are beautifully rendered, so you never really get sick of visiting them multiple times. I especially enjoyed the ending where you are required to answer riddles - presented by a deadly robot - by choosing one object displayed amongst many in the Captains Room. It reminded me of the riddle contest in Stephen Kings 'The Dark Tower'. If you enjoy challenging adventure games that require experimentation, patience, and lots of exploration, this game is for you! If you liked this game and are looking for something similar: Nostradamus: The Last Prophecy Syberia
Date published: 2012-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very good challenging adventure game Kheops was the developer of this game. So it has the same interface as echo secret of the lost cavern. Once I got the hang of this game it was easy to slip into the other one. So if you like one you should like the other game. You are alone, shipwrecked on an island and you spend the game exploring it and trying to find a way of it. You come across some animals some are helpful some are not. That side of it, is fun. It is a vast island and you can explore different paths. It's not really non linear as you do have to do some things in a certain order. I did find this a challenging game. The backpack has 'pages' which you quickly fill up with the numerous items you find. The goal is to find the correct combination to make certain things you need. Sometimes it was combining 5 or more items. This bit of the game, wasn't as good as sometimes you could never guess the combination. But mostly this was enjoyable and you can earn a hint (don't want to give to much away) to make it easier. The adventure side was really fun, I loved exploring the different sides/aspects of the island and the interactions you had to do. I played this for weeks it took me ages. The puzzles when you came across them, were nice and hard. There was a lot of wandering around trying to figure out what to do next, but that's fun of adventure games! This is a game that requires a lot of time, and patience but you are rewarded with a challenging, great game. If you are new to adventure games, I don't think this is the one I would start with. It is hard in places. I have windows 7 nvidia card, and I could play this game.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for me One day in the distant future, I might finish this game. But not now. Some players really like this game But I am still on the beach, have everything collected and I Keep Getting dizzy - Too much going around in a circle. I would rather go from place to place... This is too confusing And Not for me. For those of you who enjoy this - good for you. --But not me. I can not remember how many times I have begun this game and had to quit - too dizzy..... Was a waste of my money........
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 360 game not for me! My sole purpose of writing this review is to warn people who can't stomach 360 games. I knew I had a problem with the constant movement, but I was fooled by some reviews that said you can change the motion to "slow" from the options. Indeed you can, but at least for me that didn't make any difference. I didn't notice much difference from the "normal" speed, and though I tried to move at a snail's pace, after awhile I was nauseous to a point that I can't make myself have another go. Pity because it's probably a great game otherwise!
Date published: 2013-07-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from More frustrating than enjoyable. I downloaded this game because of the rave reviews that this game had. To each his/her own, I guess. I like adventure games, but I couldn't finish this one. To proceed in the game, you have to make combinations in your inventory. Some that you would never even guess or that don't really make that much sense. I had to refer to a walkthrough during a lot of the gameplay; so much, that I couldn't just enjoy the game.
Date published: 2013-12-16
  • y_2021, m_6, d_12, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_1701, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Return to Mysterious Island

Use your survival skills to uncover artifacts, solve ancient technologies, and explore the Mysterious Island.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.