Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove™ Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove™ Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(188.44 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Learn more about the Collector's Edition

Be the first to play Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove with this special Collector’s Edition.
Use your wits and Hidden Object and Adventure game talent to follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students in Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove!
Experience all the exclusive Collector’s Edition extras including bonus “Easter egg” levels and puzzles that reveal secrets related to both past and future Mystery Case Files episodes. The integrated Deluxe Strategy Guide also includes extra video outtakes, concept art, screenshots, and desktop wallpapers.
The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay that reveals MCF “secrets”
  • A new Challenge and Achievement system
  • Collect over 50 hidden objects that continually change shape
  • A Deluxe Strategy Guide, integrated into the game
  • Check out our Blog Walkthrough

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1280 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 605 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove™ Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(188.44 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove™ Collector's Edition is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 120.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dire Grove great hidden object game! This game have been great fun to play! Great story line, love the live action, kept the game interesting. Keep making more live action games if possible, we need more games like this.
Date published: 2013-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely done I purchased this game some time ago and had to buy a new computer so I had to re-start. Loved the graphics and the sound effects, the suspense of the story line. Loved the fact it wasn't too hard to get to the strategy guide which was fairly clear and consise. Was hard to make myself stop playing which has kept me up past 2 nights playing. I can hardly wait until I can replay it.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my all-time favorite I love this game and highly recommend it. It was my first BFG purchase and it got me completely hooked! This is one of the few games where I leave the music volume up. Great story, great attention to detail. It took me many hours to play, which was fine by me.
Date published: 2012-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fab Out of all the games I have tried, this is without doubt the best one..... I am now gutted because I have not been able to find one like it thats any good, that has real footage ect.... I have tried MCF shadow lake, the newest one with leah Thompson.... big disapointment.....
Date published: 2012-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite This was my favorite and first. Began my interest in the games, but have yet to find one as good!
Date published: 2012-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game! Another MCF hit! This game drew me in and freaked me out! I really needed the strategy guide with this game, and even then I found myself going to the forum for answers when I was stumped. It is so worth getting the CE, if only for the strategy guide. I loved the music, it's haunting. The HOS are standard, not interactive, and the games are challenging.
Date published: 2012-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Casual Game It's not new, but this is hands-down my favorite casual game - fun, genuinely spooky, with not only a great story to develop through game-play but interesting snippets of backstory to discover, puzzles that are still entertaining and tricky after several replays, and a snowy, icy landscape so well-drawn it gives me shivers in midsummer. The one potential strike against it is that the bonus game is accessed as a reward for achievements rather than game completion, which annoyed me no end at first but has proven to add to its replayability. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding in every way one of my favorites so far, besides graphics so amazing that i felt like i was there walking around in the snow, the search was so interesting and the clues so clever. I cannot wait to play it again but i have about 30 to play first that i have not tried yet. Bigfish has such amazing games. I recommend this game highly, it was a fantastic challenge to the end and i recommend big fish which has such great games and take such good care of their customers.
Date published: 2012-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best MCF games! If you're wanting to play a spooky game with some drama or scares, this is for you. It had me jumping in my seat a few times. I really enjoyed this game. In the game, you're called in to find 4 missing people. And as you continue the game, you collect VHS tapes that show you what happened to the 4, from the start until you came in. It helps explain a few things, and it adds to the scare factor a bit. The HOS are great. The graphics are wonderful and I love the use of live footage as well. The story is amazing and spooky.
Date published: 2012-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mystery case files: dire grove collectors edition I'm going to make this quick and simple! My all time fave game and i love anything with snow in it:)
Date published: 2012-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great!! Great storyline, graphics, music. I have played this game over and over and enjoy it everytime. Wonder when we can expect another great MCF!
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The top game Mystery now this game had me going for days, i put it down then picked it up, because im not a loser. LOL i was lost firtst then i found what i was looking for and i dreamt of places that the objects couldve been, so much funnnnn.
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best HOG This is the best HOG I have ever played. In fact, I didn't sleep, I just kept playing, and once it was over, I wanted to go back in time and experience it anew. I can't even compare other games to Dire Grove, otherwise I'd stop enjoying HOGging.
Date published: 2012-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game Ever Simply the best game ever, Great story, superb graphics. Absolutely loved it. More like this one please.
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game play with most likely the best story line yet! Enjoyed this game right from the start. Spent hours of great fun and thought to finish the game. There wasn't any wrong in the game, no hang-ups or errors to my knowledge. Have played many times over, too.
Date published: 2012-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dire Grove i've had this game a few years and lost count how many times i have played it. i love it. it is 1 of the best hidden objects games around HOWEVER, it WILL NOT WORK with Windows 10.
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game, Not compatible with Windows 10 I love this game, it is spooky and fun. If you don't have Windows 10 get it. but I really came here to tell you what they won't. the game refuses to play on Windows 10. They won't tell you this ever! Just give you a credit and send you away, never to address this problem again.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorites. Visuals are stunning, sounds are creepy, and the story is very good. Lots of bonuses in collectors edition(including a Benny Hill style tour of Big Fish studios!)
Date published: 2015-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Outstanding!! I usually play a very popular MMORPG, but after 7 years of being a subscriber I became very bored with the whole thing. I was looking for something different; a new type of challenge, and I discovered HOGs. I didn't realize they were so popular! I am very new to HOGS - this is only the third one I have played, and haven't gotten that far into the game. That being said, I wouldn't recommend this one for a beginner. Right now I find the game to be a bit "rough going". I find the morphing objects to be quite a challenge; they don't ever look "out of place", and I've discovered that I have to look VERY CAREFULLY in order to find them. Additionally, since the genre is new to me, I don't exactly know what I am doing either. But what I've just said is all on me - it's not a criticism about the game at all! In fact if you ARE a beginner (and even though this game can be intimidating for a "newbie"), I would strongly suggest that you buy the game anyway! Install it and check it out! You won't be disappointed! The graphics are great, the videos add to the ambiance of the game and can be a bit on the spooky side (they remind me of the film "The Blair Witch Project")... but that just makes the game all the more entertaining! I find this game to be a lot more interactive than the other HOGs I have recently played which makes the game much more enjoyable (*Spoiler alert! If you decide to play this game, click on the squirrel that's by the tree of the first building you come to OR if you find yourself in the upstairs bathroom of the very same building, pull on the tank chain and see what happens!). Yes... I am a beginner. But I don't regret the fact that I invested in this game. I can already tell that it's well worth having and I can see myself playing it a number of times. If you are an experienced HOG player, buy this game! If you are new to HOGs, buy this game! If you have never played a HOG before, buy this game! You can always come back to it later. This game definitely deserves five stars!
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my Favorite Games in the MCF series PLUS = When I originally bought the Standard version of this game, I did not realize that the morphing objects were only in the CE version. The morphing objects and additional game play really make the CE better than the Standard edition game (in my opinion). This is one of the few games that I would recommend purchasing the CE version instead of the SE because of the additional content and activities. I was immersed in the story from the opening cutscenes. This is one of the few games that also gave me a True Fright! (the first time I found a student, that freaked me out - I won't say more because I don't want to spoil it for anyone who has not played the game!# The game was challenging but playable. I did get stuck a few times and had to use the Strategy Guide to figure out my next move. The snow scenes and the graphics in this game are some of the best I have ever played/seen #and I actually felt cold when it was snowing!) MINUS = One of the few games that have no Minus components, in my opinion
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unnerving and spooky - in a good way! If you want something to creep you out slightly in a nervous giggly kind of way - this is it. Spooky, absorbing, atmospheric, engaging story line, excellent level of puzzle difficulty and variety, good and convincing actors. I was playing this game in a dark room, with headphones on, curled up in a sleeping bag. And Oh My Goodness - I was sOoOooOo happy to be unnerved by the startling visuals, smart use of music and sound, and the tense story line which slowly revealed itself in "Blair-Witch" style video clips that are found during the game. As whiney and loathing of MCF's 13th Skull and use of actors essentially destroying the game play pace, I am nigh on the opposite with happiness oozing out of me for Dire Grove's excellent use of actors and clips in order to give more color to the story line. It felt natural to the game, unlike having it hammered over your head in 13th skull. (Why does that other game bother me so?!) If you like this game, then avoid 13th Skull. I say this because it seems that in game reviews, there are 2 different camps when it comes to these MCF games and if you like the play-ability of this one, you will likely dislike the other, and vice versa. Neither camp is right or wrong, it is pure preference of gamer style. So I would strongly recommend you try the demo first to make your own mind up. For those of you about to embark on a trip to Dire Grove - wrap up warm and good luck. You're going to need it.... <evil laugh: Mwuahahaha >
Date published: 2012-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A true Masterpiece! THe standard for MCF and HOG games! This game is so good, that it goes beyond the level where something is so good that there are no words to describe it! The fun factor, creepy factor, winter scenery/artwork, definitely the music, and the actors are all so perfect! Even had the pleasure of chatting with the actress, Lauren Dobbins Webb, who played Susan in the game! I have easily made this THE standard for which all games must be held accountable to, and it's something that EVERYONE needs to experience. Also, you need to give the few extra dollars for the Collector's Edition. So many great extras and levels that really add to! YES, IT'S THAT GOOD!! Thanks Big Fish for this wonderful experience!
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful!!!! Dire Grove was a wonderful experience for me as a mystery loving girl of 16. I was thoroughly intrigued by the graphics, the beautiful setting which really got you into the atmosphere. The story line was imaginative yet not far fetched. The challenges were not hard but they needed some thinking all the same. I was kept on edge and finished the game in 5 hours straight because once I started it, I couldn't let go of it. Thanks goes to the producers of course!
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new ALL-TIME Favorite! You can't go wrong with this game!!Loved it!!What a great and exciting storyline. A mixture of thriller/horror movie but with the option to stop, run the other way or don't go into the room for now.The spooky visuals excited by the eerie music draws you into the game; occasionally prompting you to leave all the lights on in your house. Once again the real actor movies gave the game the life that it has! The hidden objects puzzles were alluring and well done. Not too easy but not too hard ensuring you don't lose the pace. Believe me when I say, you will not be disappointed by this game! Hopefully a part 2 will be out soon (hint, hint)?
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove I purchased this game some time ago and love it! In fact I go back and replay it time after time. By now I am getting pretty good at it!!! It is challenging, great graphics and the puzzles are pretty awesome. I have tried other Mystery Case Files in the series but think that this is the best by far. Great atmosphere and interesting storyline. Try it....hope you like it too!
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got Me Hooked on MCF This was one of the first HOGs I ever purchased and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I found it challenging but not frustrating and the story kept me interested. After this I had to try the other offerings from MCF, but this is still my favourite.
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, Imaginative, Realistic, Captivating, & Challenging Mystery The Author(s) of this game Have_Got_It_Going_On. Realistic graphics bring you right to Dire Grove making me feel like a real detective. Who cares where it was filmed? I'm right there enjoying the awesome blizzard. The music and sound graphics are real-time realistic; not too haunting to where it gets me to clicking the menu, quit & delete buttons to get away. Getting stuck isn't so bad because who really wants a good story to end? I don't mind admitting it . . . I'm stuck! I'll just leave off by the roaring fireplace and will be back to try again later - thank you very much! It takes quite a storyline and a challenge to keep me coming back for more. I'll be back to play this game, repeat it ("IF" I make it through the first time around), And any other MCF games. Big Fish & MCF? Thank you for the good entertainment.
Date published: 2012-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME Game, A MUST have This is an awesome game! The graphics, top notch, great sound effects. The VHS tapes were the perfect touch. I have already played the game twice. Also playing for perfect games without hints and the mini game addition is cool. This game is on my ipad and my laptop! Each time you play, it changes. I have since purchased 6 more hidden object games, including The Malgrave Incident for wii! A Great BUY!!!!
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my most favorite ever! I've been playing MCF games for a long time now, and this one is one of my most favorite. It has a great story, and beautiful visual and sound quality. The game length is great, I like that it takes a long time to finish the game. I love the interactive areas of the game, rather than just constantly doing hidden object scenes. The real video is awesome too, well done!
Date published: 2012-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still My Favorite I can't say enough nice things about this game, and it remains my favorite. The graphics are so real you forget it's a game. The level of challenge on the puzzles is just right, somewhat difficult..but you can solve them without the guide if you take your time and think it through. The music is nice in the backgound and doesn't distract you. Please present more games like this!!
Date published: 2012-02-05
  • y_2021, m_7, d_29, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.18
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_120
  • loc_en_US, sid_5200, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files®: Dire Grove™ Collector's Edition

Use your Hidden Object skills to follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students in Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.