Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind

Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(317.63 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Alex Hunter thought the case of the missing professor would be an easy paycheck. But his investigation has proven to be anything but simple. With hours of captivating game time, a richly detailed world, and a storyline inspired by classic detective novels, Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind will thrill casual game fans looking for their next great adventure!

  • Rich, atmospheric world
  • Sherlock Holmes-style story
  • Cleverly designed puzzles
  • Challenging hidden object scenes

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1190 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(317.63 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 120.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The real Adventure game BG has been putting all the HOGs into adventure category and they are usually generic and boring in terms of game play. This is the real adventure type of game where you have to think and problem solve along the way. It also involves logical thinking! Really enjoyed this solid game play and would recommend to anyone who prefers adventure game.
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game! I really enjoyed this game. It had a map and a strategy guide, It gives you the opportunity to collect signs to play a bonus chapter and then you get to go to the secret room and play even more! It took me about 8 hours to play the game which I like. I would love to see more Alex Hunter games in the future. Enjoy!
Date published: 2015-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Good One- I'll tell you why. This will be a very short but sweet review. There's really nothing here you haven't seen before gamewise, but the presentation is wonderful. The graphics (art) are painterly with pronounced but soft color. A look I can't recall recently. And you get a map and a walk through...and a bonus chapter, all in the basic non collector game. Great value, great game. Grab it.
Date published: 2015-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game ! I have owned this game for over a year and just now played it. What a surprise, great game! It also had a bonus level and hidden symbols to find in some scenes. Graphics were good and very interesting. It was a long game and the bonus level was completely new scenes and also long. Sure wish this developer made more games.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has it all. It's hard to believe this isn't a CE game. It is worthy of any collectors' editions. Over half the games are quite challenging, so be warned or look forward.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Fantastic What can I say, I absolutely loved this, a wonderfully executed Adventure Game with a good balance of HOS. I am not one for too many of those, but the ones in this game are done very well indeed. The Story, Graphics and general way the story flows is great, it has good length too. For anyone who loves point and click adventure, with puzzles and a HOS mixed in I urge you to give this a go! The Hint button works well, and you have a map that indicates areas that have something to do, and it allows you to jump there. All elements are here to make this a true one-off. I wish there were a sequel.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game, my new favourite Really liked that it had a story line, had a variety of puzzles, hidden object games and use of implements and finding a symbol. Liked also it had a map for fast travel. I chose the easiest level and it still challenged me and took quite some time to finish the game. Great value. When will you build another one like this please?
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Are you sure this isn't an CE? Totally worth your $$ Excellent SE game, wish they were all like this. Fantastic length and has a bonus game that is longer than most CE games. This games length of play shames most CE games!!! Thank you for that and making my $$ feel well spent. I also loved the click of the cursor in this game, had a smooth and easy play. The only gripe I have is when I had to shoot the skeletons, I was definitely not missing and it kept saying I missed when I didn't, that was annoying so I skipped it, if it actually worked right I would have loved that part. Lots of places to go, easy jump map that made the game fun and smooth play. Lots of thing to get and do, good puzzles but way too many HOPS as usual, grrrrr. Wish they had at least offered Mahjong as an alternative, then it would have been even better. Graphics were mostly clear, except some hops (not surprising), good artwork. Creative game. Definitely recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ridiculously fun I don't remember the last time that I had this much fun playing a game! There are some games you can tell that developers really care about and have fun with. This is one of those. So many great details. Interactive elements that have no purpose other than to amuse you. A very fluid timeline that doesn't make sense (it's the Victorian era, but in the 1920s, and with surveillance cameras & modern fire extinguishers!), but rather than coming off sloppy, it just adds to the charm. And there are consequences for things that other games ignore (you take a car jack from a random car on the street & come back later to find the driver upset that some stole his car jack!) The mini-games meanwhile, are varied and get very tricky as the game goes on. There were some minor issues -- why can't we lock the inventory open? Why is there just one difficulty setting? -- but with more bonus content than many CEs (including a full bonus chapter!), this is an SE game you can't miss.
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A CE AT AN SE PRICE I will not review the storyline, as I'm sure there isn't anything I can add to this topic that hasn't already been covered by other reviewers. For me, the storyline is not vital to a game. The actual HOS and puzzles are the meat for me. This is a little gem that has all the bells and whistles of a CE but is priced as an SE. It has a bonus chapter plus a secret room, wallpapers, music, sketches, achievements, secret symbols, a built-in strategy guide which includes the locations of all the secret symbols, and a jump map. What more could you ask for? I thought about giving this game a 4 star rating because of the huge amount of back and forth the game requires, but I talked myself out of it because of the jump map. Quite early in the game I gave up on trying to remember where I needed to go and how to get there. I just clicked on the map icon and went to the next active location. Of course, by doing this, I failed to gain one of the achievements, but this reduced my frustration level and allowed me to enjoy the game. My pet peeve with games is this unnecessary running back and forth between scenes. If there isn't a good jump map included, the game is a bust for me. The HOS were good but not too hard. They included HOS within HOS as well as interactive items. The puzzles were challenging and I skipped several, There was a good number of HOS and a good mix between puzzles and HOS. The game is very long and adding the bonus chapter and secret room makes it an excellent buy at $6.99. If you get it for a coupon, you've won the jackpot. The main game is actually in two parts. The first part is in the real world, the second part in a fantasy world. The bonus chapter fits nicely into the main game as a continuation of busting the bad guys. This game is a steal and any HOG lover should have it in their collection.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! Not only does this game have outstanding graphics, but more importantly the flow makes sense. So many games have no flow which makes it very difficult to figure out what needs doing. This one is logical and relatively easy to follow. I think the biggest challenge is the sheer number of different scenes. Every time I thought I was coming to the end another door would open on a whole new area to explore! It was wonderful and intriguing. One of the best values I've purchased. Great fun and thanks to the designers and developers.
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the only game I played twice I have purchased over 30 Hidden Object games and this is my fave. Great graphics. Great game. The puzzles in this game are diverse and you never know what level you will get, some are simple and some so complex and mind boggling. The storyline is full and there is a lot of attention to details in the characters. Not a single glitch or hiccup, perfection. I would love more from this great team.
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jewel Of A Game This game is a secret Jewel. I bought it last year and finally am playing it. near the end of the game now and it it a wonderful game. For those who do not know how to make a dark game where the color palate give you eye strain take a look at this game. Though I had to have hand holding to find some items it dark corners. It did not irritate the eyes and my nerves and the game is so good it was forgivable. This game has almost everything. Jump map, collectable symbols which some are hard to find. Nice puzzles and great graphics with good characters. Love this game and glad I own it and it will direct me to find more of this makers game which I bet I already own some.
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this one far exceeds most collector addtions to date..!! Very seldom do I review. This game is simply amazing!!! Serious players will love this one. The graphics are stunning. The gameplay is long ( very long ) and to boot some serious puzzles. I can usually fly through most puzzles but not this game. It took some long and hard thinking. This one is a keeper, one I will play again which is very rare. I file most of them. This game should be a collectors edition, in fact most developers could learn a great deal from a game of this caliber. Just download it. No regrets here. You can learn more about the storyline on previous reviews. Enjoy!!!
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alex Hunter is my new hero! This game "Lords" it over all the others! Sorry, I couldn't resist. It has a very long playtime, challenging puzzles, plenty of HOG, and a bonus chapter that was just as good as the game itself. This is the same developer that created the "Weird Park" games and I loved them too! I can't wait for the next Alex Hunter installment.
Date published: 2014-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Fantastic Game Truly one of the very best hidden objects/adventure/collectible games I have every played. So many rooms to investigate. You think you are close to the end and then viola....another room with more rooms. The ever ready bunny couldn't outlast this one. Then there is a bonus game to play that is just amazing. When you are finished and you have collected 25 of the 35 "symbols", you can open a "secret" room where you located information about each of the characters....except Alex himself. I really, really hope that more games that surround Alex will emerge. It is a true detective game....so glad that it does NOT involved witches, voodoo and the evil occult! I highly, highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from By far my favorite BFG game to date This game had it all from the story line to the graphics to the sound track to the extras usually only found in CE games. This game kept me glued for hours at the time. If you consider yourself a beginner, intermediate or expert this game is for all. Keep games like this one coming BFG.
Date published: 2014-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Loved this game. It was challenging. Finally, there is a game out there that made me THINK!! Hope for more!
Date published: 2014-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best value game seen in a long time The game was great, loved it. A good variety of mini games and hidden objects scenes. It is a CE game at a standard price you have extra game play, as well as a map and strategy guide with secret symbol searches, Very impressed looking forward to the next game release.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, long game, better than a lot of CE's Fantastic game! Detailled, great graphics. VO's good, music appropriate. The map is a fantastic feature, it's a jump-map and indicates where there are things to do and also if you have found the collectible in a room. Story is good and keeps you interested the whole game long, and that is a LONG time!! I played about 8 hours. The game is devided in about 6 chapters in the main game and 4 in the bonusgame (yes!!! in a SE!!) There are collectibles, achievements and a secret room if you have found enough collectibles. This game has the total package. This is how a game nowadays should be! Other dev's could learn something from this game. KUDOS to these dev's, they did an awesome job! Keep up the good work, can't wait until your next game comes out! Have fun everyone!
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fun! What a lot of fun. Great graphics, brainwork ..all over good fun..Enjoy..
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deserves all of the accolades BFG sends me game suggestions regularly and I download several but don't buy because they aren't top notch games. When I get one from this developer, I always check it out because they make great games. Bought this within 15 minutes of playing the trial. Not only is it a great whodunit story, it's a CE-length with strategy guide game for SE game price so its a great value. I'll get hours of good gaming from this choice and I highly recommend it. The HOS and puzzles are intermediate level, the storyline keeps you interested, graphics are as good as they typically are, and there is fine attention to details. This developer is particularly clever with creating clever locks. Most other reviewers have given good game details so I'll suffice it to say you can't go wrong here.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Story and Adventure Wow, what a refreshing change to play a game like this! Interesting story, great graphics and sound, music is wonderful, light on HOs. I tried this game based on reading the favorite reviews of a BF contributor. I bought it after 15 minutes of play. It's a very long game, I've been playing on and off for 3 days a couple of hours each day and I don't think I'm even halfway through. It keeps my attention, I can't wait to see what happens next! Thanks Developers! Encore! Encore!
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alex Hunter - Lord of the mind OMG I loved this game! It is a SE but has a extra bonus game and S.guide. Even the length was more like a CE version. Different puzzles and some made you stop and think which was great. HOG's were also interactive. Hint was good if needed. Good storyline and I loved the Sherlock Holmes type background music, which almost made the game feel a bit quirky and made it really feel like you were part of an adventure. Totally recommended by me.
Date published: 2014-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A CE for the price of an SE I normally don't do reviews, and this one will be short as all the other reviews give the facts needed to know. While a bit glitchy, this is a really superb game! It has all the earmarks of a CE, such as a walkthrough guide, a bonus chapter, achievements, and special characters to find. I am just starting the Bonus Chapter, and I believe I've found something like 21 or so out of the 35 special characters, so assume there will be quite a few in the bonus chapter. This game has a map that will jump, also which shows where there are actions to do and special characters not yet collected. Puzzles are fun and HOS are interactive with little hidden places to find a few things also. This is a hot buy IMHO.
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fantastic game! Finally a really fantastic game! So fantastic that I want to play it little by little in order not to end it to soon.....The graphics and the music and the story are just top of the line. I've never enjoyd a game so much. Really challenging puzles too. I love it and recomend it from my heart!
Date published: 2013-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH Okay now! Many of the higher priced Collector's Edition game developers could learn a thing or two. More reasonably priced games like Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind, please! A Standard Edition with many extras usually found in a Collector's Edition and the game is VERY WELL DONE! You are the much sought Detective, Mr. Hunter hired to find a missing person. Rich colors, splendid voice overs and a map that shows locations of the 35 secret symbols needed to collect in order to play the Bonus Chapter. Yes, Bonus Chapter. Music is appropriate and blends well with game. Hidden objects and puzzles are, thankfully, not so easy and enjoyable. Achievements are do-able since I seem to never get all of them any where! Bah! Humbug! Oh, that's a different game. Totally buying this one BFG friends! A breath of fresh air! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a CE in a SE! GREAT GAME...well, for me anyway...I haven't had so much fun playing a game like this in a long time. It seems to never end and I was able to get it for free! I am playing the bonus game now, and it goes on and on....more areas to explore than some regular CE games have. I am just loving this game. I am not one to explain all the ins and outs of a game...just play the trial and see if you like it...I was hooked right away....it is just my style...and I enjoy all the HOS in this one. Well...I am going back to play some more now. Hope you enjoy this as much as I am!!!
Date published: 2013-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game! This is one of the best BF games I've played. Everything about it is top notch. Production: The artwork is very good and the character movements and VOs are some of the best I have seen. Other developers should take lessons from these guys. The music is good and fits the story. There are collectibles that open a secret room. There is a button (feet) that if clicked has a guide and shows the location of all collectibles. Story: A good, old detective story without a single evil witch to overcome or any cute critters to help you. What a joy! The story is interesting and is well told. There is a good journal. Game play: Very well designed game. The HOS are all reasonable and have IA. The puzzles vary from easy to difficult or at least time consuming. There are some arcade-type mini games. There is an IA map that shows where action is needed and where there are collectibles. The HINT button points you in the right direction. Lot's of action and numerous locations leads to a lengthy game. I highly recommend this game; it's an absolute joy.
Date published: 2013-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A game where we get to actually use our brain! What a concept. One word: phenomenal. Actually, many more words; this is a lengthy review. This brilliant gem of an SE is actually more CE worthy than...well, let's just say I'm having fun gaming again. A LOT of fun. The developers did a fantastic job with this brilliant detective game that takes us back into the era of horse-drawn carriages and rotund and gruff Police Captains that can't be buggered by having to deal with you, the brilliant detective for hire. Much to my surprise, embedded within this SE are what we usually find as the extra filling for CE games. We have collectibles, achievements, a bonus chapter, a secret room, etc. We also have an in-game Strategy Guide, a journal and a jump-map. WOW and thanks! This game looks to be a LONG one so players will definitely get what they paid for plus; well...A LOT more. There is no way I can finish this in one sitting unless I want cramps. Graphics are superb; they are beautifully and realistically rendered and combined with the fantastic ambient sound-effects (like a bird bathing and splashing in a water puddle for example) really pulls you into the atmosphere of the game. The tiniest of details are not over looked here which goes to show just how much effort and hard work actually went into this game. Incredible. As for the storyline itself; superb. I immediately felt like Sherlock Holmes and ran off to get my detective hat and my trusty pipe before settling right in to this game. I'm having such a blast playing that it was difficult to pull myself away long enough to write this review. The voice-overs are very well done (thank you voice-actors for not grating on my nerves; you were excellent) and the lips of the person talking synch about as much as they possibly can (love that). There are several characters you will meet; each unique with their own set of 'quirks.' I've only scratched the surface and I've been playing for awhile now. As far as the technical nitty-gritty. Aspect correction is available for wide-screens (should be standard for every game these days) and for those that get annoyed by large black bars, you will be pleased. Aspect ratio, when I activated it on my wide-screen, has VERY tiny and thin black "lines" on the top and bottom as opposed to the 'bars' on the sides of the screen, And like I stressed; they are barely noticeable. For the purposes of reviewing, I had to click that button a few times to even see them. Standard volume controls, option to turn off custom cursor and two modes of play which is all that is really needed for this particular game. Casual mode: you get a tutorial, have less hidden symbols to find, and objects and puzzles are easier. Expert mode: expert gamers will be pleased. No tutorial, no help, more hidden symbols to find and harder to locate items as well as more difficult puzzles. Even in casual mode however, you will not get an abundance of hand-holding which is where using ones' brain comes in. Expert mode: you are on your own as it should be. WIN-WIN-WIN. I saved the best for last. Ready? No overuse of cute, furry, cuddly, dress me up and overall maddening stuff crammed into this game!!! NONE! It is a detective game; heavy on adventure, lighter on the HO's and puzzles yet still enough to please both HO fans, puzzle fans, and adventure gamers. It is the perfectly balanced HOPA. And...you get to use your brain; there is no zoning out and just clicking your way through this. I don't want to give the wrong impression either. It is not ridiculously difficult either. With some logical thinking and having fun exploring around, game-play runs smooth with no frustration. And remember, if you do get stuck, there is always the built-in SG to help you. So: no cuteness, excellent detective game, CE extras without the added price tag, excellent quality in all possible aspects, very good length, use of ones' brain, hard-work and creative effort on the part of the developers as in no cookie-cutter short-cuts or skimping on details. So why are you still reading this? Demo as soon as possible, buy the game (I'm betting you will want to within 10 minutes of demo time) and consider yourself properly entertained for quite some time. Happy gaming fishies and EXCELLENT work developers. Thank you for putting so much effort into your game; it shows. So, now I'm putting my detective hat back on, picking up my trusty pipe and proudly announcing that the "Game is, once again, afoot!" I'm eager to get back to solving this crime. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-12-18
  • y_2020, m_2, d_22, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_120
  • loc_en_US, sid_20212, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind

Stop a madman from taking over a city using a mind control device!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.