Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind

Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(317.63 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Alex Hunter thought the case of the missing professor would be an easy paycheck. But his investigation has proven to be anything but simple. With hours of captivating game time, a richly detailed world, and a storyline inspired by classic detective novels, Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind will thrill casual game fans looking for their next great adventure!

  • Rich, atmospheric world
  • Sherlock Holmes-style story
  • Cleverly designed puzzles
  • Challenging hidden object scenes

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1190 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(317.63 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 119.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I cannot say enough good things about this game This game is outstanding. How this is not a CE I will never understand, as it blows away many so-called special edition games. Absolutely fantastic storyline and gameplay. No critcisms.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The real Adventure game BG has been putting all the HOGs into adventure category and they are usually generic and boring in terms of game play. This is the real adventure type of game where you have to think and problem solve along the way. It also involves logical thinking! Really enjoyed this solid game play and would recommend to anyone who prefers adventure game.
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game! I really enjoyed this game. It had a map and a strategy guide, It gives you the opportunity to collect signs to play a bonus chapter and then you get to go to the secret room and play even more! It took me about 8 hours to play the game which I like. I would love to see more Alex Hunter games in the future. Enjoy!
Date published: 2015-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Good One- I'll tell you why. This will be a very short but sweet review. There's really nothing here you haven't seen before gamewise, but the presentation is wonderful. The graphics (art) are painterly with pronounced but soft color. A look I can't recall recently. And you get a map and a walk through...and a bonus chapter, all in the basic non collector game. Great value, great game. Grab it.
Date published: 2015-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game ! I have owned this game for over a year and just now played it. What a surprise, great game! It also had a bonus level and hidden symbols to find in some scenes. Graphics were good and very interesting. It was a long game and the bonus level was completely new scenes and also long. Sure wish this developer made more games.
Date published: 2015-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has it all. It's hard to believe this isn't a CE game. It is worthy of any collectors' editions. Over half the games are quite challenging, so be warned or look forward.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Fantastic What can I say, I absolutely loved this, a wonderfully executed Adventure Game with a good balance of HOS. I am not one for too many of those, but the ones in this game are done very well indeed. The Story, Graphics and general way the story flows is great, it has good length too. For anyone who loves point and click adventure, with puzzles and a HOS mixed in I urge you to give this a go! The Hint button works well, and you have a map that indicates areas that have something to do, and it allows you to jump there. All elements are here to make this a true one-off. I wish there were a sequel.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game, my new favourite Really liked that it had a story line, had a variety of puzzles, hidden object games and use of implements and finding a symbol. Liked also it had a map for fast travel. I chose the easiest level and it still challenged me and took quite some time to finish the game. Great value. When will you build another one like this please?
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Are you sure this isn't an CE? Totally worth your $$ Excellent SE game, wish they were all like this. Fantastic length and has a bonus game that is longer than most CE games. This games length of play shames most CE games!!! Thank you for that and making my $$ feel well spent. I also loved the click of the cursor in this game, had a smooth and easy play. The only gripe I have is when I had to shoot the skeletons, I was definitely not missing and it kept saying I missed when I didn't, that was annoying so I skipped it, if it actually worked right I would have loved that part. Lots of places to go, easy jump map that made the game fun and smooth play. Lots of thing to get and do, good puzzles but way too many HOPS as usual, grrrrr. Wish they had at least offered Mahjong as an alternative, then it would have been even better. Graphics were mostly clear, except some hops (not surprising), good artwork. Creative game. Definitely recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ridiculously fun I don't remember the last time that I had this much fun playing a game! There are some games you can tell that developers really care about and have fun with. This is one of those. So many great details. Interactive elements that have no purpose other than to amuse you. A very fluid timeline that doesn't make sense (it's the Victorian era, but in the 1920s, and with surveillance cameras & modern fire extinguishers!), but rather than coming off sloppy, it just adds to the charm. And there are consequences for things that other games ignore (you take a car jack from a random car on the street & come back later to find the driver upset that some stole his car jack!) The mini-games meanwhile, are varied and get very tricky as the game goes on. There were some minor issues -- why can't we lock the inventory open? Why is there just one difficulty setting? -- but with more bonus content than many CEs (including a full bonus chapter!), this is an SE game you can't miss.
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Lord, YES!! I gravitate toward CEs rather than SEs almost exclusively and have let many free game certificates expire as a result. Determined not to let this happen again, I sought the advice of reviewers I trust. If JusttheFacts, Nilosh, Dancemom and Stevesan like a game, chances are good I will as well. BINGO. 3 of the 4 reviewed this game and so I jumped on it. This game is over a year old and my experience is that HOGs do not typically age well. Games from years past generally seem well past their expiry date. Consequently, I was concerned about getting Alex Hunter. There was no need for concern. The game is fun. The visual and sound quality are great. Visually, the colors are deep reds and browns and befit a mystery. Aurally, the voiceovers and background music are perfect for this game. I always think background music is important because it sets the tone...quietly, usually unscrutinized...as if, well, in the background! In Alex Hunter the ambience is crystallized by the music. The game is challenging: Hidden object scenes are deceptively difficult and in each one you'll find yourself working hard to discover one or two of the listed items. The games, a pleasant combination of old and new, are also challenging. At the beginning of the game, the narrator, Alex Lord himself, shares an idea that this caper would be easily solved earning a tidy paycheck for little work. I expected much the same of the game: not much of a challenge and nothing notable. I was WRONG. This game is not flashy. It's kinda like comfort food: it doesn't overwhelm the senses. Instead, it makes you feel at home, bundled up, as with a good mystery novel on a cold rainy day, that you can't quite put down. That's what my idea of entertainment is and I don't think I can give a higher recommendation. Above and beyond the quality of the game there is the consideration of value. While sold as an SE, all that separates it from being a CE is a bonus chapter. Lord of the Mind has collectibles, achievements and an interactive map. There are no morphing items, but so what (have you noticed a disappointing trend lately: basically giving away the morphing items by switching to the "hand cursor" when you scroll over them. Doing this eliminates any real challenge making it a :who cares" NON-FEATURE!!). In sum, this game is far more CE than SE, so from a value perspective it's offering great game for little cost. To me, FUN, HIGH QUALITY AND A GREAT VALUE PROPOSITION found together in a Hidden Object Game add up to an unbeatable combination. I think you'll find this to be the case with Alex Hunter, Lord of the Mind and so I strongly recommend it for your gaming pleasure.
Date published: 2015-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best HO game I ever played! Great graphics (2D), great story, very, very long story. Lots of HO scenes, puzzles are more than challenging, No way could you ask for more in a game this reasonably priced!
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Play This Game! I have nothing bad to say about this game. The graphics were stunning the HOS and puzzles were good. Though it is sold as an SE, It even has a bonus chapter and it's good! This is the best game I have played in a long time. I bought it after the first ten minutes of the demo. It is one of those games you want to keep playing and are sad when it eventually ends.
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CE at the SE price! So much to do, great graphics. Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind Review based on completed game, bonus game, and secret room PREFACE… I find this dev puts out a consistently good game with original, often dark story lines that are engaging. Why is the story line important? Because without it, we're just going through the motions for absolutely no reason. In Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind, what begins as a simple missing person case gradually becomes a conspiracy of the highest order. ONCE UPON A TIME... You, of course, are Alex Hunter, private detective. A professor's daughter comes to you for help because her father is missing and the police have no leads. You think it'll be an easy paycheck. But the plot thickens and continues to do so throughout your investigation. PLAY THE GAME... You won't get bored with the variety of activities in this game. In adventure mode, there are many, many areas to explore and a multitude of objects to discover. There are a TON of HO scenes, all interactive list, and each is visited twice. Puzzles abound as well, and range from quite simple to tortuously complex. My only complaints are that there are a lot of retreads in the puzzles, I'd prefer more of a mix in the HOs, and the use of shaped objects as keys is getting old. I'd love to see more of the kinds of locks we used to see in MCF! SIGHTSEEING… The graphics are splendid, crisp and clear with plenty of color and lots of detail. Animation is really done well, realistic, and with amazing reflections and textures. NPCs are posers that do lip synch. SOUND WAVES… The music is orchestral and moody, quite fitting. Voiceovers are extremely professional, and even fit into the timeframe of the game, sounding like voices from old movies. Environmental sounds could have been more prevalent. (That last may be my personal preference, as I play a lot of adventure games.) TOOLBOX… The map is interactive: it transports, shows active areas, shows your location, and lets you know where the collectible symbols are (and whether you've found them). There is a journal, and it's actually necessary. You find a lot of different codes. WORKING THINGS THROUGH… (new category about game mechanics) The inventory doesn't lock open, unfortunately. All tools are located along the bottom of the screen. Zoom boxes close automatically, unless they contain something to read. Navigation is intuitive. EXTRA, EXTRA… Yes, I know it's not billed as a CE, but guess what? It's a CE. There's a bonus adventure, a strategy guide, collectibles that open a secret room, performance achievements, and the developer's portfolio of sights and sounds. THE LAST WORD… I definitely recommend this game, as well as these other excellent games by the same dev: Eternal Journey: New Atlantis the Stray Souls series The Lake House: Children of Silence the Twisted Lands series
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the greats Somehow I stumbled onto that game and got it as a game credit. This is a great game, one of the great ones, so much fun, interesting story, great Ho, Hard puzzles, I had a fabulous time playing it and it came coming more doors to open and more fun...
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good game ubiquitous puzzles and keys but fun to play..
Date published: 2015-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game I loved it, some hours of pleasure
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A CE AT AN SE PRICE I will not review the storyline, as I'm sure there isn't anything I can add to this topic that hasn't already been covered by other reviewers. For me, the storyline is not vital to a game. The actual HOS and puzzles are the meat for me. This is a little gem that has all the bells and whistles of a CE but is priced as an SE. It has a bonus chapter plus a secret room, wallpapers, music, sketches, achievements, secret symbols, a built-in strategy guide which includes the locations of all the secret symbols, and a jump map. What more could you ask for? I thought about giving this game a 4 star rating because of the huge amount of back and forth the game requires, but I talked myself out of it because of the jump map. Quite early in the game I gave up on trying to remember where I needed to go and how to get there. I just clicked on the map icon and went to the next active location. Of course, by doing this, I failed to gain one of the achievements, but this reduced my frustration level and allowed me to enjoy the game. My pet peeve with games is this unnecessary running back and forth between scenes. If there isn't a good jump map included, the game is a bust for me. The HOS were good but not too hard. They included HOS within HOS as well as interactive items. The puzzles were challenging and I skipped several, There was a good number of HOS and a good mix between puzzles and HOS. The game is very long and adding the bonus chapter and secret room makes it an excellent buy at $6.99. If you get it for a coupon, you've won the jackpot. The main game is actually in two parts. The first part is in the real world, the second part in a fantasy world. The bonus chapter fits nicely into the main game as a continuation of busting the bad guys. This game is a steal and any HOG lover should have it in their collection.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! Not only does this game have outstanding graphics, but more importantly the flow makes sense. So many games have no flow which makes it very difficult to figure out what needs doing. This one is logical and relatively easy to follow. I think the biggest challenge is the sheer number of different scenes. Every time I thought I was coming to the end another door would open on a whole new area to explore! It was wonderful and intriguing. One of the best values I've purchased. Great fun and thanks to the designers and developers.
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the only game I played twice I have purchased over 30 Hidden Object games and this is my fave. Great graphics. Great game. The puzzles in this game are diverse and you never know what level you will get, some are simple and some so complex and mind boggling. The storyline is full and there is a lot of attention to details in the characters. Not a single glitch or hiccup, perfection. I would love more from this great team.
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! This is one of the best games I've played and I've played many! It has all the bells & whistles of a CE at SE price. When is ended (I thought), I was so disappointed and felt It had been a little short. Then I checked bonus content and sure enough quite a bit more. I was still disappointed when in ended but only because I had enjoyed playing so much. I have hundreds of HO games but this is in the top five list.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I want more ... More like this - a game made for adults that makes you think a bit and not too frustrating Some of the best graphics I have seen on a game of this type. The 'roaches crawling over the walls and other moving and reacting elements bring the scenes to life. The atmosphere in some settings was genuinely creepy.There is plenty to do in each area, unlike some games where there are always only three or four things to find or interact with. The Map is really helpful if you get stuck as to where to go next. I like it as there is a lot of help if you need it but it's structured in such a way that you don't need to see it if you don't want to use it. The music is pretty good too and fits the atmosphere of the settings. I haven't finished it yet (i'm doing it slowly as I don't want it to end, I'm enjoying it so much.) Super value for money. Some of the other developers could learn a lot from this game. Wholeheartedly recommended.
Date published: 2014-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jewel Of A Game This game is a secret Jewel. I bought it last year and finally am playing it. near the end of the game now and it it a wonderful game. For those who do not know how to make a dark game where the color palate give you eye strain take a look at this game. Though I had to have hand holding to find some items it dark corners. It did not irritate the eyes and my nerves and the game is so good it was forgivable. This game has almost everything. Jump map, collectable symbols which some are hard to find. Nice puzzles and great graphics with good characters. Love this game and glad I own it and it will direct me to find more of this makers game which I bet I already own some.
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant game! This is one to enjoy, do not rush to finish it.
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised this was not a collectors game but played like one. I REALLY enjoyed this game, some of the tasks made me smile because of their originality, and it just kept going and going. I liked the cut scenes, not realistic but in tune with the story, like reading an illustrated book. Thank you for such an enjoyable game!
Date published: 2014-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Gem I have played well over 200 games with Big Fish. I play on hardest levels. I rarely post a review, as there are so many reviewers out there. But this time I have got to say this game was totally worth the money. The game has and interactive map, decent puzzles and HOS, and items that you can find to open an extra room. All this for a SE game. Wonderful Experience.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great ride The scenes are wonderfully crisp, beautiful to look at and play. The length of the game and bonus material is fantastic. The built in walk through a special treat. Just a fabulous all around game! Don't miss this one.
Date published: 2014-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this one far exceeds most collector addtions to date..!! Very seldom do I review. This game is simply amazing!!! Serious players will love this one. The graphics are stunning. The gameplay is long ( very long ) and to boot some serious puzzles. I can usually fly through most puzzles but not this game. It took some long and hard thinking. This one is a keeper, one I will play again which is very rare. I file most of them. This game should be a collectors edition, in fact most developers could learn a great deal from a game of this caliber. Just download it. No regrets here. You can learn more about the storyline on previous reviews. Enjoy!!!
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant! Amazing details with a challenging and fun atmosphere! A few areas are more complicated than most, and it was annoying going back to certain areas but the hint button can easily solve that issue. Story line is amazing as it unfolds as you play it, and the use of interacting with the objects you pick up is also a great feature as well. Purchased the game because I was hooked!
Date published: 2014-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One word: perfect! Well, pretty much everything has been said about this game. For me, this was hands down the best game I've played in a long time! I do not have anything to critcize at all! Gameplay is long, you have achievements, extras and bonus play, a well-crafted story, beautiful graphics and music, clever puzzles, bright HOGs etc. etc. And best of all - you get all this in a SE! Wow! This is definitely a game I will replay soon; it was so much fun and I'd definitely buy a sequel (even a CE one!). Developers, look at this game if you want to do it right!
Date published: 2014-06-15
  • y_2019, m_9, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_119
  • loc_en_US, sid_20212, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind

Stop a madman from taking over a city using a mind control device!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.