Nancy Drew: Message in a Haunted Mansion

Nancy Drew: Message in a Haunted Mansion

PC

Adventure

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

(Large File: 358.98 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Sorry, no trial version available.

You, as Nancy Drew, are invited to assist in the renovation of a Victorian mansion in Nancy Drew®: Message in a Haunted Mansion! According to legend, a fortune in long-lost gold is hidden somewhere on the property and someone is determined to find it. In a house full of trap doors and secret tunnels, breaking glass and suspicious fires, one misstep means Nancy won't stand a ghost of a chance! Find the treasure using your Hidden Object skills!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 485 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nancy Drew: Message in a Haunted Mansion

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

(Large File: 358.98 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Sorry, no trial version available.

Customer Reviews
Nancy Drew: Message in a Haunted Mansion is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 29.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Message in a Haunted Mansion This is a beautiful and fascinating game for a person who likes a relaxing pastime to tune out the rest of the world. The music and visuals are excellent. I can't go into details without giving away too much information. In one of the bedrooms, the song playing is so hauntingly beautiful that I've replayed the game many times to reminisce. This game is spellbinding.
Date published: 2012-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of Nancy's first hits. The title may lead players to think the Mansion is loaded with ghosts lurking in creepy corners and sinister basements. Not at all. The spookiness is limited to such things as a faint sound or something moving briefly somewhere. There is nothing frightening here and the game is perfectly suitable for younger players..... as well as adults. Message in a Haunted Mansion is an older game, Nancy's third investigation actually. It has this lovely old fashioned atmosphere that emanates from those cozy Victorian style houses built early in the century, and the scent of leather and persian carpets. The graphics convey this old fashioned ambiance quite successfully with a chinese bedroom full of red, tapestries, and antiques, a library with its collection of old books that have sustained the assaults of time, a nicely decorated kitchen, corridors and stairwells. The action takes place in this closed-up surrounding, from room to room until the conclusion. Rose, the tenant of this house, wants to convert it into a B & B. Much to her worry, a series of unfortunate events and accidents puts a stop to her plans. Up to Nancy to elucidate the enigma. Which she actually does with brio, as always. One thing I like in the Nancy Drew series, and this one is no exception, is how you intereact with the various characters, dialoguing with them, thereby obtaining important clues and some direction and learning a little about the background story of the house and its inhabitants. But in all her conversations, Nancy has to be careful and diplomatic lest Rose might take umbrage and dismiss her. But if something goes awry there is always a "Try Again" in the form of a Second Chance Button. Inevitably, Nancy has to solve intriguing puzzles; they all are nicely integrated in the storyline, require only common sense, but no puzzle is triggered unless she has gathered all the clues pertaining to it. These puzzles are classics and based on logic. Nothing far-fetched, nothing out of this world, nothing left to the trial and error method, no place for random. Some are trickier than most, although perfectly solvable, and make you think deeply, others a lot easier. Details have been pushed quite far to contribute to the rendering of an oldish and semi-eerie atmosphere: floors crack, stairs creak, doors squeak on their hinges; you hear muffled voices, footsteps and rain. Like in another of her investigations, Nancy can set the time on her clock as certain tasks can only be performed at specific times. Nice feature. Saying the game is easy would be wrong. It's very challenging, non-linear, and extremely immersive. The story is solid, engrossing with a fair degree of complexity, and a good ending. Finally, the professionalism of the developers also transpires in the quality of the voice-overs, the well-worded dialogs, and the right sounds at the right moments. A superb adventure, not overly difficult, ideal as an introduction to the world of Nancy Drew for those who do not know her yet
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love MHM The graphics and sound were advanced for such an early game of the series. Will remain one of my favorite ND games.
Date published: 2011-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MHM - earliest game on BigFish MHM is the third game in the Nancy Drew series and the first on BigFish. You, as Nancy Drew, have to investigate accidents and bad luck in an old San Francisco mansion. Is it haunted or is someone from the team trying to scare the owners away? MHM was the second ND game I played, and I found it slightly less challenging than my first, which was CUR (but that is a hard one!) and a bit similar. It is, obviously, slightly simpler game, however, it does have its moments and the characters and mystery are as good as in any other ND game. If you like Nancy Drew, you will like this one, too. tuskel, sincerely
Date published: 2011-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE NANCY DREW: MESSAGE IN A HAUNTED MANSION I find this game to be very enjoyable, and not as hard as some of Nancy Drew's other games. I will be buying another game from her very soon.....
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game but bad visuals This game was pretty fun! Pros Very creepy atmosphere Not too many puzzles Fun characters to interact with Cons Its very hard to move around because the sign used to move around is the same sign as "look at item" so its confusing I know its old but the graphics for the characters was very bad. One "slide" puzzle at the end was very challenging All and all a creepy nancy drew I would reccomend to anyone who can get over bad graphics and hard puzzles.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wow! This was my first Nancy Drew game. I was pleasantly surprised at the level of challenge. In a way I feel sorry because it has nearly ruined all of the current BFG adventure/HO games for me. As I started a current game that received a 5 star rating from the board, I felt bored to tears. You find something, and use it in the next scene... No such thing in a ND game! In fact perhaps the tutorial should have prompted to take notes. Having to go back to find things again made the game considerably longer than necessary, but then again some might enjoy a long game. The only negatives for me were obviously the old interface - also the greenish blue background is IMO a horrible color, but I was able to get past that. The hint system of calling a friend or colleague was very good, but I wish if they had nothing to say, you'd get a voice message. I felt silly calling someone to say hello and goodbye. The puzzles were hard enough at Junior Level, and they were unskippable. IMO there were a couple of glitches - for instance Hannah had just advised me not to mention a secret room to Rose over the phone - but as I went to talk to Rose my lines were to tell her about it anyway. Also the notes on the music sheet found on the attic - the second note is an high e, but on the piano you have to press the lower e... Anyway, all in all this was an excellent game and an eye-opener for me. I was genuinely spooked a few times! I can't wait to play more ND games. In fact I just made good of a 50% sale and bought a buch of them!
Date published: 2013-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not impossible Some of these ND games are ridiculous. No one would think to do some of the stuff you require and need a walkthrough on alot of them but this one was actually very interesting. I am always forgetting to "go to sleep" . You will like this one.
Date published: 2013-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very interesting story, but the game is a little short. First off, this was not the first Nancy Drew adventure game I've played, but it was the first of the classic ones. This time, Nancy is invited to a mansion in San Francisco to "help" out with renovations, but something shady is going on at the mansion, not only with the people that are there, but something else is also wandering in the hallways... In the center of all this is a very mysterious poem: "Listen, my child, to this story of dreams..." "Nancy Drew: Message in a Haunted Mansion", was a very enthralling and interesting game to play. The environment wasn't great nor was it bad, but then again, to explore, you only have a few rooms in the mansion. The puzzles weren't "unsolvable" so, in an adventure game and in a Nancy Drew game that is de-fi-ni-te-ly a giant plus! Pros: - The graphics are great, really! The décor of the house is amazing too, with a lot of things to look at; - The characters artwork is good, too; - The voice-overs, overall, are not the best, but are still pretty good, especially Abby's; - Uncovering the mystery of the mansion was what I loved most about this game, definitely. Finding out, from bits of paper here and there, the background of the building was amazing and the story is very well thought off. Not many questions are left unanswered; - Nice puzzles. Not many, since most of them appear by the end of the game, but nice nonetheless. Not too hard or too easy; - The music was fantastic! It's a shame that, since you end up finding out that everything it's not quite what it seems, the mysterious music doesn't fit the bill anymore and seems out of place. But it is really great, one way or the other; - The "second chance" option is definitely very useful and a "Nancy lifesaver" when you screwed up and didn't saved. That chandelier... Cons: - To check out on your journal (that is how I would now if the story was progressing), I had to always come back to Nancy's room. Although you don't have that many places to visit in the mansion, it was always tiring to keep going back for it; - One thing that makes the gameplay confusing and a bit frustrating is that the cursor is always the same for everything. And although when it came to pick up objects or to zoom it didn't bother me, when you could move to another place it did. Thus, I wouldn't know if a certain place was to be zoomed in or if it was to move forward, backwards and so on... In the hallways I would always go around in circles since I would click and I didn't know if I was going left or right or whatever. Quite frustrating, really; - The game is quite short. I played it through in one night and I usually take a lot of time to finish these games; Overall, "Nancy Drew: Message in a Haunted Mansion" seemed like a promising game by its title, but it turns out that the mansion is not so haunted after all and you find that out pretty soon. I think that ruined the "mystery" way too soon. The story is completely different from what I was expecting but I still did like it since it's very well constructed and unfolded as you progress throughout the game. A great story, a great setting, a very interesting and enthralling game. A great adventure, no doubt. Shame about the lenght, though.
Date published: 2013-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's fun AND scary "Message in a Haunted Mansion" is the first scary Nancy Drew game. The fact that you're stuck in a haunted house with a saboteur is pretty frightening. This isn't the scariest Nancy Drew game, but it's enough to keep you awake at night.
Date published: 2012-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An early attempt, but not bad at all. I'm not going to wax lyrical about the sound and music, however brilliant it may be, because others have done that. I see quite a few positive reviews, so I wanted to list some of the things that put me off a little. The camera - in this early ND game, you play with a small screen, almost half taken up by your dialogue and item boxes. Also, the 'move' and 'look closer' actions have the same mouse icon. Which takes getting used to. Not a lot of puzzles throughout, really just a couple at the end. It feels like you're not solving anything for long periods, just gathering a heck of a lot of clues towards your final puzzles, which does make the game feel less meaty. You also don't get help or instructions on these puzzles, but that's not too bad as long as you paid attention to the clues. You have to re-unlock and re-unstick the doors and panels every time. You do get into the swing of this, though, and have your key or crowbar at the ready as you approach. It's just irksome. Now that I've said that, however, check out the star-rating. 4. It could have been a 5 but for those niggles. This game played very enjoyably. Granted, not a lot of thinking required puzzle-wise, but a decent plot and something interesting to do to while away a little time. A pleasant way to spend an evening. While not as invigorating as others in the series, I'm still going to say that if you're a fan of the series, or just want a more relaxed, point-and-click, talk-and-explore type mystery solver, this one will fit the bill quite nicely.
Date published: 2012-02-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from TERRIBLE COMPARED TO NEW GAMES VERY SLOW AND DISJOINTED - MOVING AROUND THE HOUSE IS CONFUSING AND LOST INTEREST ALMOST IMMEDIATELY. THIS IS JUST MY OPINION, OTHERS MAY ENJOY.
Date published: 2019-08-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not my favorite So you're supposed to be helping with renovations but there are only 2 things you are asked to do...it didn't make sense. Maybe it's because it's an older game? Just didn't like it. When I finished I really wasn't all that happy.
Date published: 2018-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good game for Nancy Drew newbies but a little boring... I found this game a bit boring at first, but I am glad I gave it a chance and took the time to complete it, since it did become more interesting as it moved along. Some of the more experienced Nancy Drew players may find it too easy, but as someone who is new to the series I found this game to be the right level of challenge. I did have to refer to a walkthrough a little bit, but for the most part, I was able to figure it out myself. I've only played 5 Nancy Drew games, so I am not an expert on the series, but compared to the other games I have played so far, I did not find the characters I interacted with very interesting. That probably has to do with why the story did not grip me right away, and why I had to play the game for a while before my interest was piqued. What is going on in Nancy's present day is juxtaposed with a historical story that is related to the mansion you are exploring, and I found the history more interesting than the present day. I think that wanting to know more about these past events, which is revealed as you play, maintained my interest in the game, and I always have a desire to know who the culprit is, so that kept me going as well. The culprit ended up being rather predictable, but since this game isn't very hard, I guess that isn't surprising. I think this is a good game to play if you are new to Nancy Drew and want to gain some experience playing these kinds of games, but I think more experienced adventure gamers will find it too easy and might get bored.
Date published: 2014-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Message in a Haunted Mansion The biggest problem: its an old game. If you can get past that, then your good to go. Characters are average, setting is good, with an average fear factor. The plot is simple but good. Its not horribly long, and its not that hard either. Don't get it if this is your first Nancy Drew game.
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from LEAVE THE MANSION NOW! (said title giving message) Review based upon completion of the game in Junior Detective mode. This is the third Nancy Drew game, released way back when in 2000, and is loosely based upon the book of the same name, according to Wikipedia (I haven't read the book). Nancy is summoned to San Francisco by the Drew housekeeper to help an old friend of hers renovating an old B&B. And solve some accidents that occurred there too. Helping out are Bess & George, Hannah Gruen and Emily Foxworth via phone. By the way, did you notice that the last 4 digits of B&G's number spell out "HINT" and Hannah's digits spell "DREW"? The Good: + 3 phone contacts (that are actually all helpful for a change) + 4 people to talk to + Lani does a good job as usual (although she sounds a bit strange in the introduction, epilogue and tutorial) + also, as usual, face animations are top notch + subtle scares (actually the guy screaming at the "Message" in the Let's play video was scarier than the entire game *g*) + two Easter eggs (found through the Wiki article) The Neutral: o you have to take down a lot of notes (Hint: especially the Chinese symbols and the zodiac!) The Bad: - the labyrinth game became tedious - graphics are VERY old compared to today's standards Bottom Line: As one of the first ND games you will have to live with the old interface, not much support with taking hints and outdated graphics. If you can look past that it's still a good game in the series. I can recommend it for beginners as it's not that complicated and there are several walkthroughs and videos available around the net.
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2.5 rounding up. I'm comparing it with other ND games. I’m rating this in comparison to the other ND games I've played and playing this game today! Plot – You are asked to come to a B&B in San Francisco that is about to open and investigate why strange accidents keeps happening. It is fun poking around an old home and see what secrets it has. This is not a bad game by any means and I enjoyed it, but compared to the other ND games it’s short, slightly easier than some others, and got only one location. Even the first ND game had 3 locations and seemed a bit longer. I’m playing through the later ones in order and now playing through the earliest ones in order as well. The early games have this HUGE interface taking up half the screen and to advance the game you have to set your alarm clock. In this game everyone has a schedule and is in a certain place at a certain time so you use the alarm clock to either be able to talk to them or snoop when they are not there. There is a “I” button on the right of the interface which gives you basic tips. On the left is a “ND” logo and when you click on it, it gives you the current in game time. Like all ND game this isn’t a 360 game and you can’t skip puzzles. There are no achievements like in the later games. You can play junior or senior level, and the only difference is some of the puzzles are harder in senior mode. There is a second chance in ND games but if you make a mistake you automatically go back to just before the wrong choice so you can have a do over. In early ND games the load and save is in the same page and it’s very tricky. Highlight the save button, hit it then hit the line to write about the save and then save again. To load, highlight load screen at the left. If you have never played a ND game before, talk to everyone, here it’s four people. If you are stuck you can phone your friends and even in senior mode this option is open to you but phone them anyway as they have information. You also need to have a paper and pencil with ND games to record things you come across, any poems, or symbols etc as you need that information to decipher other puzzles in the game. While I enjoyed it, if you are only going to be playing one or two ND games this is not the one I would recommend and would only recommend it to true lovers of ND games or those that can get easily lost and want a very ‘contained’ game and don’t mind that it’s quite short. I played the big fish version on windows 7 and had no glitches (once I figured out the save button!) Spoiler as to a hint for one puzzle – There is a maze in this game and I am useless at them, if you hit the “M” key on your keyboard it brings up an interactive map in the interface to show you where you are.
Date published: 2012-09-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Skip and go for the newer games Having played all of the new Nancy Drew games, I thought I would go back and try this old one. Even in Junior mode I had to use a walkthrough and "phone a friend" a few times as it's not very intuitive. The visuals are dated and the characters can't move, so you have to use the alarm clock repeatedly to talk to them at certain times otherwise you can't progress. I enjoyed the research and mythology that went into the back story, but gameplay was slow and frustrating. It would be great if HER updates these older games as it would be fun to exit the building as in the newer games, which don't imprison you!
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Great Compared to Newer Games As this is one of the oldest Nancy Drew games, I might be willing to cut it more slack, however there are some really bad features that even in an older game could have been done better. First off, the navigation was just weird from start to finish; it is awkward to get around at all and made much worse by the fact that moving left or right and turning around are all done with arrows, but moving ahead is done with the magnifying glass lit up in red, which is usually only for interacting with places and things but in this game is used for both; it's beyond me why they didn't just use an arrow for going straight ahead as well. And then there's the Save function; only about 8 slots so you can't save as often as you might like, and the whole Save/Load process is somewhat confusing. I did a Save after the most complicated puzzle and when I tried to place it in one of the old slots something went wrong and I lost about 1 1/2 hours of game play. All in all, it is quite a short game, which actually didn't bother me that much as I didn't find it all that entertaining. I think if it were one of the first Nancy Drew games I played I might have enjoyed it more, but playing it after almost all the other games in the series left me less than impressed. Glad they vastly improved these games as I have really enjoyed most of them. I would recommend to try it first but of course there are no demos for the ND series (my pet peeve with HerInteractive!)
Date published: 2017-04-11
  • y_2019, m_9, d_20, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_6467, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nancy Drew: Message in a Haunted Mansion

In a house full of trap doors and secret tunnels and suspicious fires, one misstep means Nancy won't stand a ghost of a chance!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.