Doors of the Mind: Inner Mysteries

Doors of the Mind: Inner Mysteries

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(189.33 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The nightmares began when my father passed away. I haven

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 228 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Doors of the Mind: Inner Mysteries

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(189.33 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Doors of the Mind: Inner Mysteries is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 39.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I thoroughly enjoyed this game because of the intriguing story and straight forward game play This is one of the few games I have played lately that really kept my interest to the end and was enjoyable to play. The story is simple and engaging with puzzles and HOS that compliment the story and actually make sense. The game is short by today's standards but I felt that the story was sufficient to keep me interested so it didn't have that short feeling. The game is geared toward beginners and intermediate with puzzles that are entertaining and the hidden objects are not so obscure as to not be found. The story was complete and the ending made sense and did leave the door open for a sequel. Unfortunately, I have not found one. If one does come along I will be there to buy it.
Date published: 2014-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Step into the Inner Mysteries of your Mind I picked this title up mainly because it made me think of The Outer Limits, or The Twilight Zone. While the story is not science fiction like those series, the manner of story telling is. I liked this game. I think the biggest flaw in the game is that it was too short. I believe we completed this title under 3 hours. If the gameplay was extended another 2 hours, that would be an improvement. With that being said, the gameplay did balance out well with the story telling and advancing the story. The hidden object scenes were fun and the puzzles were OK. I am a sucker for effects, and I loved the effect the programmers used when the character was entering a door. I would recommend this title, the buyer just needs to know what to expect of this purchase though. While short, I thought the story was solid, and was still a fun time.
Date published: 2011-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER IF LONGER WITH TWISTS GAMEPLAY: Most of the game is made up of HOS: Scenes are somewhat but not overly crowded. Click on a word and you’ll see a silhouette briefly. Items are not always proportionate (ex: a comb could be half the length of a door). Besides the HOS, there are “put everything in its place” puzzles. If you can’t figure out where something goes, move the cursor around until it changes to a hand. Something will go there. STORYLINE: Hazel undergoes hypnotherapy to discover why she has been having terrible nightmares since her father died (her mother passed away under mysterious circumstances when Hazel was 5). She has little memory of her mother. She goes back to the family mansion and finds that her mother was shot and she and her father moved out suddenly. She discovers that her father was in tremendous debt and selling off many assets. Why not sell the mansion instead of letting it decay into ruin? THE REST: Music unobtrusive. Good animation and sound effects. Abrupt but satisfactory ending. Rather short game, so you might want to wait for a sale or coupon – I would not pay full price even though I liked it a lot. The premise to the storyline was such that a much longer game could have been developed using the mind and its workings by adding twists and turns to the story. That and the length would be the shortcomings. I have a 27” monitor and was able to play on the entire screen and still get crisp delineation of objects.
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just wish it had lasted longer Like others have already said, this is a very short game but I liked it very much. It's a straight hidden object game but with some variation from the norm which I found to be different and fun. Sometimes you're given pictures to put back into the scene, other times you're shown pictures of what to find in the scenes but they may be completely different in their appearance or orientation. That was a real challenge and I found it refreshing. The nightmarish scenes are hauntingly beautiful and appropriate for the storyline, which was interesting and concluded satisfactorily. The only thing "wrong" with the game is its short length. It can be played in one sitting. Advanced players who need the challenge of a long story with hours of gameplay best avoid this one altogether because you won't get it. Although the hint and skip buttons fill quickly, the puzzles are all doable without having to skip. This game is definitely geared towards those who crave a short easy game played during a lazy afternoon. Sometimes I like these myself as a breather between the harder games that are more taxing. Since I knew this to be a short game, I purchased it on a less than half off sale. It's a good game to use a free game coupon on if you have one that's expiring soon and don't know what else to get.
Date published: 2013-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Doors of the Mind: Inner Mysteries This game was a pleasant surprise. I was expecting a boring outdated game, but instead I found the game to be entertaining with an unusual perspective connecting your dreams to reality. Hazel has been having nightmares since the death of her father so she seeks the help of a dream therapist. The doctor put's Hazel into a hypnotic trance and tells her to return to the mansion where she lived until her mother died. What her inner mind discovers in that mansion is the truth.....the shocking truth! Each room of the mansion has a Hidden Object Scene. Most of them are list finds but there are also silhouetted shapes as well as returning items you have found into the scene where they belong logically. There are several mini games, again I was impressed, all of them are fun! My favorite games were "Spot the Difference" where you have a split screen with mirrored images, and you click on 10 differences you spot from one picture to the other. I have played games before that dealt with an anguished person seeking medical help for recurrent nightmares, but the manner in which they tie the nightmares into the HOS in this game were very interesting. Keep an open mind and try it for yourself, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kind of fun I actually liked this game, and the whole storyline. I would recommend it based on the HOs and the eerie music. Ha! I love spooky stories, and this one did it for me because of the scenes when she visits the mansion.
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quirky and atmospheric This is old and clunky with poor graphics but it has a good atmosphere, good environmental sound effects and an overall nice, cosy feel to it, despite the story being quite dark. It has a mixture of HOS and puzzley type scenes, where you have to find objects, put objects in certain places and do tasks. There aren't hints in some of the puzzley scenes, but there are rechargable hints in all the HOS. There is a skip button for mini games. There are also a couple of spot the difference style puzzles, of which I am not a fan. A short game but a fun little one.
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3½ stars...If you're a HO fan, this one's for you. QUICK & DIRTY OVERVIEW • engaging storyline • tons of well-done HO scenes • some minimal puzzles that aren't too hard • beautiful, realistic graphics • quite a short game LONGER, MORE DETAILED REVIEW Helen is having nightmares about the mansion she lived in as a child, so she visits a hypnotherapist to uncover the secrets of her past and overcome her fears. While it begins as a fairly basic storyline, the intrigue lies in the memories Helen regains, which propels you forward to uncover the truth. Each section of the game consists of three doorways to Helen's past. The left and right rooms can be explored immediately, but you'll need one item from each room to open the central doorway. Along the way, you'll discover clues that will lead you to the truth. The HO scenes are beautifully rendered…and actually challenging, since the objects are hidden. Some are camouflaged by background scenery, others by a non-specific description, and still others by being over- or under-sized, or defying gravity. The presentations include list, silhouette, find and use, and replace given objects in the scene. These HO scenes actually take time! The puzzles are fairly basic and not difficult. I encountered standard and rotating rings jigsaws, rotate to swap tokens to their correct spots, find the differences, and other familiar, fairly easy, puzzles. Production was a mixed bag. Still graphics were beautifully rendered; the realism pulled you into the scene. There was some in-game animation that was done well. Characters were more cartoonish and animated in a stop motion fashion, while the cutscenes were a series of stills. I didn't play with music, so I won't comment on it. There are no voiceovers. The major downside to this game is its length. There are allegedly five days to the storyline, and I was halfway through Day Five when the demo ended. For this reason alone, I can't recommend it unless it's a really good sale. (Note: I had no technical difficulties playing this game with Mac OS 10.11.) SHORT & SWEET CONCLUSION It's not for me, since I'm not a huge fan of one HO scene after another, but if you are, you'll find these much more challenging than the 30-second HO scenes of today. Give the demo a try; you might like it.
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from doors of the mind Vey enjoyable game! I prefer C/E and wish there would have been one with this just because I'm spoiled with the help the ease of help with the strategy guide. I would play it again.
Date published: 2013-10-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hokey and way too short NIce switch from the endless, often silly occult-themed HOS games here to a psychological theme. Also liked the convention of having to go through various doors to solve puzzles and collect clues. But that also quickly became very same-y, as the entire game was structured in that manner. Pretty lousy graphics, too -- often just photos of objects distorted and then pasted everywhere, which sometimes made them very difficult to find without adding much pleasure to it. Another major disappointment is that the gameplay allowed for hardly any movement through scenes, but stayed very, very flat as you were simply presented with HOS or static psychologist office scenes. The only really fun part was in the several times you were required to use objects in order to solve something further. Finally, the notion that I as the main character was supposed to be "losing my mind" was so poorly executed it became laughable (not scary or disturbing as intended). I'm supposedly terribly shaken as layers of repressed memory unfold, but I go back THE VERY NEXT DAY to encounter more and all my "doctor" does is pretend to be concerned. Nor did the gameplay itself either intensify or get much stranger as things progressed. Just a cheesy game all around, I'm afraid.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Way Too Short Game seemed really good - I loved playing it, but I was finished in 1 hour? What a letdown..... I wish Big Fish would give a ball park of how long a game is - maybe beginner would be 3 hours, intermediate 2 hours and expert 1 hour. Didn't feel like I got my $6.99 worth. Sorry - wanted to give a good review but not worth the money.
Date published: 2012-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun...but not that much. If you REALLY love a lot of actual hidden object scenes, then you will probably like this. The story line and the way this plays, ties together very well. It's digging through this woman's nightmares so the HOS are quite confusing since they are supposed to be a representation of said nightmares and are mostly a jumble of stuff. Overall, I am recommending this game only because it has oodles of HOS and the story line was not half bad with a few good puzzlers. Oh, just to warn some, there is one HOS where there was a lot of flashing going on that kind of made me dizzy and I know someone suffering from epilepsy might have trouble with that.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great story, way too short! I finished this game in the one hour demo! If you're thinking of buying this game be careful. It's not going to give you hours of gameplay. I loved the story and how it was played out. The hidden object scenes were a little too easy and made the game move along very quickly.
Date published: 2012-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not many levels after the free hour I was disappointed that once I had purchased this game after trialing the free one, it only took me a couple of hours to finish it. Quite disappointing
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Finished this game in a few hours Overall was an ok game, but way too short and puzzles were not very challenging. Not worth the money, in my opinion.
Date published: 2011-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No exploring, only puzzles... The description of this game sounded interesting and the story was good, but the game was a bit simple and boring. I only finished it at all b/c it was relatively short. I like games with lots of exploring, walking from scene to scene, trying to figure out what to do next. This was NOT that type of game. It was basically scene after scene of HOS and other simple puzzles/ I never needed a hint or even directions for how to complete a puzzle. The HOS did have some small variations to mix it up a little, but not enough. Unfortunately, i would not recommend this game - unless you are looking for only puzzles and no walking around and exploring/ collecting items.
Date published: 2013-05-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from an average game Not a long game. It is a HO game but not much of a story line. J
Date published: 2012-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HARD to SAY I read the reviews and then started playing. Back when they first started making these games it would have been nice. HOS, Differences, Puzzles and all where quite easy. A child or newbee would love this game. There are 5 levels, of which I was in the 3rd, and didn't finish the trial. Not for me, but, someone will like it. Especially at this low price. Enjoy...
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Short but Fun For a kicked back day, this short game was perfect. The story was interesting but what I liked most was the different kinds of ways to do a hidden object picture. The game has a few puzzles and they are on the easy side. However, for $2.99 it was well worth a day of escaping life.
Date published: 2012-07-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Got lost Maybe I should try this game in a few months, but I was getting confused and not for sure what to do next. Graphics were nice and the game place is good. Just did not keep my interest.....
Date published: 2011-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Dr. is creepy This game was not a challenge to me at all. The hidden objects were all easy to locate. The items that needed to be placed to create the scene were also easy to complete. Same with the puzzles. This game didn't take me more than 2 1/2 hours to complete. I flew through it extremely fast. I honestly believe this game would be perfect for someone that wants to kill a few hours or a beginner. Again, the Dr. gave me the creeps sitting in the dark like that!
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too short I enjoyed the story line of this game which is why I decided to purchase after the trial period had finished. I liked the hidden object aspect of the game, but the puzzles were incredibly easy and were no challenge whatsoever. My biggest disappointment though was that, after paying for the full version, there was really not more more to it and I completed it very quickly. I feel I might just as well have saved my money and just played the free hour because that was most of the game anyway. I would recommend this game but you will play most of it in the trial hour.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quick Playtime Extremely short playtime.The only redeeming feature was the somewhat different spin on the standard HOS. I played with the sound off, as I was listening to an audio book while playing. Okay game, but only if purchased on sale or with a free game credit. Not up to the usual SE standards.
Date published: 2013-02-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad but TOO short This review is based on the demo.According to the walkthrough there is 5 days to this game. I was into Day 5 before the hour was up this will give you an idea how short it is. For some of you it could take a bit longer. It was an ok game not for me but give it a try if you want I would .
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mediocre game It was okay to play in Demo mode--I wouldn't buy it though, I can't imagine wanting to play it more than once.
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too short and uninspiring This review is based on the full version of the game, which I have just completed. I liked: ~the idea behind the game, which is interesting and its a pity it wasnt more developed. I didnt like: ~the graphics which were gloomy and seemed almost blurry in places. This made the HO scenes a strain on the eyes. ~the storyline was undeveloped and too simple to be satisfying. ~the overall length was far too short. Overall, this game was far too short and not enough of a challenge- too much of the same thing over and over to be enjoyable. I cant recommend it, as I feel there are far better, longer games out there at the same price.
Date published: 2012-05-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Way too short Beware, if you want something that will challenge you for more than a couple of hours, don't get this game. It only has 5 levels. Definitely not worth the money when there are other games on offer that are far more challenging for the same price.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Basic. This is a very basic hidden object game. Has story line which could have been expanded on in each scene but they give a list of objects to find in each room and you find them. No time limit. no penalty for multiple missed clicks.
Date published: 2014-07-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of Time and Money this game is super short...5 levels...could do it in less than 90 minutes...got stuck at the clock at the end...went to the forum and seems like tons of people had the same problem with that part...would be mad if i had not gotten this as the $2.99 deal...graphics were ok, story was ok, h/o were ok...but it's length and glitches left me unsatisfied
Date published: 2018-03-10
  • y_2020, m_11, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_39
  • loc_en_US, sid_6207, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Doors of the Mind: Inner Mysteries

The nightmares began when my father passed away. I haven

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.