Midnight Mysteries: Salem Witch Trials

Midnight Mysteries: Salem Witch Trials

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(100.50 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The famed writer Nathaniel Hawthorne has died during a freak snow storm, and his ghost has come to you, asking for help. Travel back and forth in time from the scene of the author’s demise to the 17th century, where a town is going mad with rumors of witchcraft and a woman is facing the gallows. Unravel the secrets of Salem’s accused witches and solve the death of Hawthorne in Midnight Mysteries: Salem Witch Trials, a fun Hidden Object game.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 479 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Midnight Mysteries: Salem Witch Trials

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(100.50 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Midnight Mysteries: Salem Witch Trials is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 59.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Midnight Mysteries Strikes Gold Again Stealing the plot from the movie Anonymous was ingenious. Although I don't like re-writing or questioning historical facts the game tapped into those emotions which made for a more entertaining experience. You know when something is good when you can't stop thinking about it and want to play. Overall, Midnight Mysteries are the better Hidden Object Games (HOG) out there, the Native American connection was lame.
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorites. One of my favorites. I also enjoyed Hidden Mysteries: Salem Secrets.
Date published: 2012-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Salem Witch Trials Love this game. Awesome. I like that we can choose the conversation with the characters. Loved it that we can interact with spirits and ghosts. Loved it that I can learn about American history. This game is great. Don't miss it!
Date published: 2012-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a good bit of historical fact mixed with conjecture in this fascinating game in this hidden object puzzle thriller, American writer Nathaniel Hawthorne has supposedly died during a freak snow storm. was he murdered? since you are a detective with a particular affinity for ghosts and time travel, Hawthorne's ghost is asking you for help to unearth the cause of his death and to expose the secrets of Salem’s witches. graphics: wonderful. beautifully detailed. splendiferous blend of hidden objects scenes and puzzles, combined with a mystery thriller storyline. hidden object scenes are refreshingly neat -- almost no junk piles here! some of the hidden objects must be assembled before they can be crossed off the search list or before they can be added to your object inventory. some of your inventory items languish for quite some time before they are used. there is no click penalty. puzzles are varied and some are challenging since the instructions for what to do are minimal. music and sound effects: there is no music that i recall but the developers did make good use of ambient sounds (wind and calling crows, for example), there are special sound effects that accompany ravens and clovers and there is the sound of a quietly ticking watch in the background too. storyline: fantastical tale but the basic facts are well-researched. for example, it's true that Hawthorne really did live in Salem (and his family were active in the witch "trials"), Hawthorne and US president Franklin Pierce were friends, it's also true that they met whilst attending Bowdoin College, and Hawthorne really did die in the month of May whilst traveling with Pierce. the developers' alternative idea about the cause of Hawthorne’s death is tightly plotted and includes enough historical detail to make their story truly captivating -- and it made me dig a bit to better learn about Hawthorne’s life and the actual facts known about these events. a really engaging way to get people interested in history. also includes time travel, which i usually find tedious, but the developers use it well in this game to develop their story. gameplay: there's no hand-holding in this game: no strategy guide is included (although i don't think it necessary to this game, you can purchase it separately). there is a journal and a map, and hints are available in the form of ravens (click on a raven in a scene and you are awarded one hint, which is added to your hint meter). you also need to click on clovers during the game to unlock an unlimited hidden object mode, a "must" for HO fans. there is no sluggishness at all during the game, nor during scene transitions. an interesting feature is the meter that shows the percent of the game played thus far -- this is the first time i've seen this. my interaction: one hour demo. (the game has only one mode of play.) this is the second midnight mysteries game i've played and like the first, it's just wonderful; historical fiction with cute little innovations here and there. this game series has caught my attention and probably is my favourite series in the HOPA genre offered here at Big Fish. i've added this game to my "must purchase" list. i think you will also enjoy this game -- and you should check out the entire midnight mysteries series!
Date published: 2012-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from midnight mysterys:salem witch trial love the game :) the storyline is great..i disliked nothing about the game,i recommend to all people who love hidden object games to give this game a try,you wont regret it :)x
Date published: 2012-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great series I love all the Midnight Mystery games and this is no exception. I love collecting the clovers just for the fun of it. The graphics are great, the story engaging. I love the fact that you can combine two inventory items to make a whole thing, for example two halves of a map or two parts of a tool. My only complaint I have with this game, like with all the others in this series, is the way the hint system works. The raven doesn't actually tell you what to do next if you get stuck. Instead you need to place one of your inventory items on the raven and he'll tell you where to use it. Not always very helpful, especially if you have to use it at a location you haven't been to yet. Because of this, I've had to resort to the walk through a couple of times, which I don't like to do. The puzzles are not too hard, which is just as well, because there are next to no instructions on what to do. There are no penalties for overclicking either, which is good. Some items in HO scenes are hidden, so you have to keep a close eye on your cursor to watch it change when there is a box or drawer to open etc. Because of the limited hint system, this is a fairly long game and suited to people who like to work things out for themselves.
Date published: 2012-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freaking Awesome The overall plot was excellent from how you first meet Hawthorn to how Salem village plays its part is awesome and the graphics and story are mind blowing
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from midnight mysteries hidden objects,i love all these games just wish i could afford to play them longer
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another winner for Midnight Mysteries! This is a well rounded game and good for any level of player. Plenty of HOS and puzzles, quite good graphics, although no VOs, just a little light reading and you're good to go. The story line was catchy from the start and it is a game I intened to play again. The map is not s helpful as some in othe games but at least you have a sense of where you are going anyway.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Ghost: Hawthorne Review based on the complete game. This is the second game in a series of now 4 games, preceded by a story about Edgar Allen Poe. This time it's about a man named Hawthorne, which I - unfortunately - do not know. But everything that made Poe a great game is back. You are approached by a ghost, who drags you into the story. The trademark raven is back. The lantern is back. Graphics are very good and clear, the story intriguing. In addition to the completion of the story you can collect items and finish achievements. Bottom Line: A very good installment of this series; you will get a CE version for the price of a normal game. (If you count achievements as CE material.)
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Game in this Series I thoroughly enjoyed this game. It was a great follow up to the first Midnight Mysteries (Poe). I've also played the third (Mark Twain). Great series. The graphics are good, the play is fun, and the story is interesting.
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a brill game Been playing hidden/object adventure games for a year now. played some great games dire grove, 13th skull, but to name a few. And i can say this game is up there with the best. Not to hard and not that easy, just right to keep you there. 13th skull was a great game, but far to easy, this game gets you thinking. every thing about this game is perfect, stunning artwork. I could talk all night about this game, give it ago you will be glad you did.
Date published: 2012-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply awesome This has to be my favorite of the series. It was quite long, that is because I take my time looking around, reading the story and hunt for them clovers.The graphics are very clear and beautiful. There is a whole lot to do and I got stuck sometimes, but reading the journal, helped out. You have to really problem solve and I like to interact with most of the ghosts, because in the end I set them free. There were also a few moments that had me jump, particularly the one...can't tell you, not to ruin your moment. Just when you think that's it, you are surprised where the map leads you. Surprise! Loved it ,
Date published: 2012-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Ghost Story If you like a good ghost story, you will like this game. As in other "Midnight Mystery" games, you are a detective who has to solve a crime commited in the past, . In doing so, the souls of the victims are able to finally rest in peace. There are a few h.o. scenes, and some in between puzzles to solve which are not so hard they make you frustrated. There are a few times when "things" jump out at you, catching you off gaurd, which makes the game more fun, and plenty of ghostly activity, along with a great story line. The game has definite replayability, especially if you dont find all the ravens and clovers in the first round. There is also a bonus to work for, which I wont tell you about and ruin your fun . The sound effects are very good and fitting for this game, the music is dramatic and also fitting. Good scenes, good grapics, very nicely made game.
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting story, fun challenges, variety Salem Witch Trials is the best HO game I've played. The gore is kept to a minimum; you meet historical figures; the interstitial games are challenging but not irritatingly so; the graphics are good and the music isn't annoying. My only complaint is that it's a pain to return items to inventory, but that's the only negative I experienced. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good game very interesting history subjects. Found it a good investigation game. though the sound was aggravating at times. glad the game had adjusting.
Date published: 2012-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definite Repeat Playability This game is one of my favorites. The graphics are great and the soundtrack fits the game wonderfully. I love how you are taken back in time during the 1800s and also in a couple of Hawthorne's novels. Not only are you trying to find out what happened to Hawthorne, but you pick up mysteries along the way and eventually save a life. Another interesting factor is that in this game, Nathaniel Hawthorne is a friend of former President Franklin Pierce and the time period is during the Lincoln administration. It would be interesting to know if Hawthorne's and Pierce's friendship in the game has some historical fact to it or if it was just a fictional pairing for the story. All in all, this is a great game with repeat playability due to the awards that can be won throughout the game. It's also interesting that there is a bonus HO game that can be played after collecting 50 clovers during the regular game play. For that reason, I'm playing the game for a third time. Each time, the HO scenes are a little different. The puzzles aren't that difficult, but they aren't easy either. While you can pretty much play the game without a walkthrough, it does become helpful when trying to find all the clovers.
Date published: 2011-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I really enjoyed both of the Midnight Mysteries that are available, and even bought one for my iPad so I could enjoy it on the go. Great graphics, a storyline that isn't boring, and you don't drown in HO scenes (sorry but I like games that offer an array of puzzles and searching for items). Wish we could get the Edgar Allen Poe version for the Mac, that would be perfect!!!
Date published: 2011-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging Game Overall this was a very good game with challenging puzzles and a decent story line. The only thing that threw me was the time-line of the story which just seemed to jump all over the place with no notice. Sometimes it was difficult to follow the sequence of events in the story. Good graphics.
Date published: 2011-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! Midnight Mysteries: Salem Witch Trials is a hidden object adventure game. You play an author/detective who has an affinity with ghosts. This time, it's Nathaniel Hawthorne who comes to ask your help for his case. It's a fun game, where you travel back in time and talk to ghosts to solve the case. The graphics are dark, and just beautiful in this game, especially the cut scenes. The gameplay is straightforward. There is a special place in your inventory where you can combine two objects to make a new object. There are achievements in the game for completing certain objectives. An unlimited hidden object mode is opened if you collect enough clovers. (I haven't tried that mode yet.) I liked the puzzles in this game. The game took me over three hours to complete. Definitely worth taking a look at.
Date published: 2011-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Adventure Game This was a great game!! Way more adventure than just hidden objects which is what I like best. Also, the puzzles were challenging but not to hard. Highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2011-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game This is still one of my favorite HO games. The story is complex and engaging, moving back and forth in time, and the puzzles are challenging but not too hard. I also liked the additional challenge of being able to combine objects in the inventory to make things. Definitely recommended!
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite in the series! Hands down, this is my favorite Midnight Mysteries game. The first one (Edgar Allen Poe Conspiracy) was great, but this game is really when the series found its footing. I've played this one twice and will definitely go back for more in the future (I want to get all of the awards!). Gameplay is smooth, transitioning is natural. Definitely well-written, like the graphics, and hope that there are more in the future!
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from another good one in the series I have liked all the series I have played. This one reminded me of things about Hawthorne I had either forgotten - or the writers made up! Anyway, much better than I had expected since Salem and witches can be so overdone.
Date published: 2015-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from COULDN'T KEEP ALL THE CHARACTERS STRAIGHT The storyline in this game wasn't easy for me to follow. I actually played the game completely through twice and understood the story a little better after the end of the second game, but I'm still not sure who all the players were and what their significance was. I played through twice because I didn't find all the cloverleafs the first time to open the unlimited mode. Well, I think I did even worse the second time around. So I was unable to unlock the unlimited mode, which was disappointing for me. It would have added a lot to the value of the game, as well as the length of it. Not sure I am going to waste my time playing again just to see if I get any better at it. I didn't find all the ravens, either, so I missed that achievement also. In fact, I didn't get very many of the achievements at all. Needless to say, this game was challenging,
Date published: 2014-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another good game in the series This game is similar to others in the Midnight Mysteries series. In this game you are trying to help Nathaniel Hawthorne, you meet Franklin Pierce, and you right a wrong that happened during the Salem witch trials. Hidden objects are all over the place, either just lying there in a location waiting to be found, or in many hidden object scenes. Sometimes you need objects in order to continue, and you might have to backtrack a little in order to find these objects. The raven, as usual, offers hints if you need them, taking time to recharge after each use. Besides the listed hidden objects, you also need to look for hidden ravens in order to get more hints. Each scene usually has one or more clovers, also, and if you find 50 of them this opens the Unlimited part of the game. The only drawback to the game is that some of the hidden object scenes are a jumbled mess or else very dark. Other than that I enjoyed this game very much!
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spooks galore in Salem, Massachusetts This is the 2nd of the 'Midnight Mysteries' and it's where the devs really found their feet and this spooky historical adventure series took off. The hint system leaves much to be desired but the ghostly atmosphere and haunted real-life characters are here in bucketloads. And it has the great sense of time and place which characterise all the games in this series. The devs did their homework on this one and it shows. The story concerns the supernatural and historical links between Nathaniel Hawthorne the 19th century American author, the Salem Witch Trials of the 1690s, and a fictional Salem family featured in Hawthorne's novel 'The House of the Seven Gables'. I spent some time mid-game reading up on the web about these three strands and this helped enormously to understand what was going on, since I hadn't previously known anything about Hawthorne or that one of his ancestors was involved in the witch trials. There's quite a bit of time-travelling to meet all the different ghosts, but the game manages to tie up the story strands pretty nicely by the end so it has a very satisying conclusion. Classic HO scenes are relatively few & far between and they're well-drawn, bright and uncluttered; individual items can be quite small but they're not a pain to find. One of the best things is that there are tons of objects to be discovered and used, some needing to be joined together to make a useful tool for your ghost hunt - really fun and a nice creative challenge. The many puzzles are very varied and entertaining; some easy & others more challenging. There's a bit of narrative help to get you started on each, but basically it's up to you. Very few have a reset button but you can skip all of them. General gameplay is highly atmospheric and intriguing, with just the right amount of challenge. No voice-overs so you need to read the numerous short conversations with all the ghosts you meet, but I found this adds to the creepy atmosphere. The graphics, music and sound effects are excellent. I had a display problem on my Windows 8 widescreen as the game launched in a small central window, but doing Alt+Tab out of the game and back again solved this. The hint system's pretty lousy as it only lets you select an inventory item & it'll show you where you can use it. #Thankfully the devs changed this in subsequent games in the series.# I do love collecting the beautiful ravens which top up your hints. The Journal records what's happened so far but doesn't give explicit pointers to what you should do next, and the map's just a simple drawing of Salem village with no jump function. There's no other in-game help, so I confess I had to crib a couple of times from the BFG walkthrough when I got stuck. I think the game deserves 4 stars #that bad hint system lets it down#. It's entertaining, intriguing and involving, and the use of real-life historical characters gives the game a gravitas and substance that I haven't come across elsewhere. I found I cared for the characters and their plight. I'll definitely be playing this one again to understand all the various strands and enjoy the spectral flavour of the game some more.
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Complex Story; Challenging Gameplay This game is probably best for those who are A) into literature and possibly self-described history buffs B) lovers of stories that have multiple, complex lines. While I do appreciate these elements, I'm used to HOG stories that are a little less...complicated. Thankfully, the journal you keep in-game is pretty detailed, so of course you can always go back and get your bearings. The journal acted as my saving grace, for the story would change abruptly at the drop of a hat and there were multiple characters to keep tabs on. I have never seen so many characters in one HOG. Things got really hairy when fiction started intertwining with the game's reality. But, it's a matter of taste: Some people like this type of complexity, others, not so much. I'm of the latter, and I think an engaging story does not necessarily have to be so involved. But enough about that... Graphics are excellent; the sound effects and music are appropriate and contributed very well to the atmosphere. Certain scenes are highly immersive, and I admit that this game is one of the first that had me jumpy at times. But, I also use earbuds so every thunder clap and crash of lightning can be very startling. HO scenes include aid in the form of a trusty raven to guide you along: Throughout the game you can collect ravens to go towards your hint button quota. When you call on your raven for help in an HO, you're shown a silhouette of the item in question. During puzzles the raven becomes your standard skip button. Outside of puzzles and HO scenes, the raven can also help you with discerning were your inventory items go. These hints were sometimes elusive, so I found myself relying on them less and less; it was better for me to just exit the game and check out the walkthrough, personally. One weird element: When you're finished in an HO scene, the game does not automatically back you out. At first this was confusing for a moment because I thought there was more to do. Alas, no, I was simply done and had to let it go! We're so used to HO games closing that scene for us, so I had this weird unshakeable feeling of incompletion the first couple times this happened. Even later on in the game, I still had this nagging feeling of "what if" there was something I left unfinished but I knew this wasn't the case. The achievements are a nice touch, and I especially enjoyed searching for the four-leaf clovers in order to unlock the achievement of Unlimited HO scenes at the end of the game. I wanted to kick myself, however, when I found that I collected all but one (I believe there are 63 clovers total, but only 50 are needed to unlock the Unlimited HO scenes). Even though my only qualms are the complicated story line and the raven system, I still found myself staying awake long into the night to wrap-up this game. I say play this if you are looking to be challenged with minimal hand-holding, and enjoy an in-depth story with many facets, twists and turns.
Date published: 2013-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from After Midnight We're Gonna Chug-a-lug and Shout!!! This was among the first games I purchased when starting to play Hidden Object online. It was very fun the first time because this was all so new. It was very fun this time because, although there have been clear strides in the genre since Salem Witch, the game is just flat out fun. This is not a sentimental scoring. There are aspects which make this game very attractive: collectibles. There are two: ravens and clovers. About 30 of the former and 65? of the latter. They are well-placed, not disguised but blend in so well with the surroundings that they do disappear and that makes their acquisition all the more fun. I liked this the first time. I loved it the second. Among collectibles even NOW, this is about as good as it gets. These alone could account for a 5 in the fun category. The visuals are great. The "set design" is well done. Great artwork. Audio is non-existent save background music which, though played over and over again non-stop, is not boring, intrusive or annoying. There are no voice overs. Instead there's the cloud/balloon method of communication. I wasn't disappointed by it. It's not a five because this area of online games has probably evolved the most. Level of challenge: it wasn't over-taxing. Here's a twist: it's not a CE, in fact I don't think there is a CE. There is no guide. What guidance there is is more or less included in the journal. This is all you get. Unless I missed it completely, there wasn't even a way to figure out what exactly to do with puzzles. It was hit and miss. And if you invest a little bit of energy you'll be rewarded with great, fun puzzles, the completion of which is very satisfying. The story line is complex and, really, has less to do with witches than with human rights!!! There are no moralistic statements, but it's clear there was a suspect class and it's witches and they handle the subject matter well. Again, NOT just because this was among my first games played, I highly recommend it. It was more fun the second time around. This is NOT a game for a 10 year old. It's not easy. It is a challenge. And, IT IS FUN!!! If, somehow, you don't have it already, get it. I'm nearly certain you will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2013-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A ghostly adventure with witchcraft overtones Find out who killed a famed writer who was supposedly killed in a freak snow storm and who has come to you to help him find out who is responsible for his demise. Uncover mad rumors of witchcraft and ghosts to unravel the secrets of the Salem witch trials. The dialogue consists of the questioning the characters with pre determined dialogue and speaking to the ghosts to help you get the gist of the games progress. This is not too excessive. Most scenes are quite dark but clear, often punctuated with flashes of colour and lots of noise when various points are triggered during the game. The puzzles, most of which are quite ingenious and very challenging but with very limited if any at all help makes them that much harder to solve. Others are reasonably easy.The hidden objects are mostly surprisingly easy to find in the gloom but some are a bit more difficult. Find more crows to get more hints and collect clovers to unlock the bonus game. Well worth the money as it is a intriguing, interesting and challenging game.
Date published: 2013-02-03
  • y_2017, m_12, d_9, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_59
  • loc_en_US, sid_6873, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Midnight Mysteries: Salem Witch Trials

Famed writer Nathaniel Hawthorne has died during a freak storm, and his spirit comes to you for help!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.