Classic Adventures: The Great Gatsby

Classic Adventures: The Great Gatsby

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(92.89 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Join Nick Carraway as you explore the mansions and bungalows of Long Island, the parlors of New York City, and the heart and soul of the Roaring Twenties. Attend extravagant parties and lush gatherings as you dance the Charleston with a happy couple harboring scintillating secrets. Sip bootleg gin with a mysterious millionaire desperate to bring the passions of the past into the present in Great Gatsby, a fun Hidden Object game.

  • Gorgeous scenes
  • Variety of minigames
  • Bring this novel to life!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 99 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Classic Adventures: The Great Gatsby

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(92.89 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Classic Adventures: The Great Gatsby is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 45.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE MOST WONDERFUL GAME EVER!!!!!!!........ the most wonderful game ever!!! you really feel like your there. i love the jazz music, it feels like your watching a movie.
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT GAME CLASSIC ADVENTURES: THE GREAT GATSBY was a very fun game to me. It has a very good storyline, quite challenging, and the visual quality was good compared to other games I have played. It lasted longer than a lot of games which was enjoyable.
Date published: 2014-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Adventures: The Great Gatsby I'm always thrilled when I play a game with "out of the box thinking" and this certainly fills that niche! The problem with this game is that they did such a fantastic job with the hidden object scenes that you don't get into the story, in fact, I tended to tune out the characters voices so much that I can't even tell you what the story is truly about. However, I can tell you all about the out of the box features starting at the very beginning. Some of the scenes are scrolling HOS where you have to spot 5 of the same items such as clocks, stars and bottles as the screen scrolls by. If you don't find all items the first time you can opt to replay the scene as often as you want until you find the items. Each HOS has a list of items to find, some of which are really well hidden. Each scene has hidden letters that aren't on the list and when you find all the letters it will spell a complete word. If you can't find all of the letters you can choose to guess at the word by typing in the word, but it must be spelled correctly, and if you are correct the location of the letters are revealed. Each scene has one hidden book, of different colors and sizes that will go into your library. The library is where you store your books, and trophies that you earn and with the points you earn from the HOS, you can purchase furniture, art, lighting, plants and even a dog, cat, bird and parrot! This game claims that you don't have to search for hidden objects to complete the game, the hidden objects simply earn you points to furnish your library, to me this makes no sense, are you just going to listen to characters make a few comments to each other, what's the point of the game? There are some really fun mini games such as making 4 gin martinis with the correct ingredients in the correct order and my personal favorite was using the keyboard to correctly type words as they were falling down, you have to spell the word correctly, type the word exactly (using caps etc) and finish typing the word before it reaches your typewriter. I haven't seen this game in a HOS before, extremely fast paces and fun, I could have done that for hours, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fell in love with the story all over again! Wonderful storyline and graphics.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great book, great game! This game is so addictive! And what a pleasure it is that they stayed true to the time and place of the book they based this game on. Refreshing is one word I would use, as well as inventive. The style of the game is truly an interactive novel, as much as any game I have played. Give it a try!
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun HOG! This game is super fun.. not only a combination of HOG scenes, but also typing game and learning about the novel. It's a great way to learn more about this classic literature. The shop feature is great, too. I am glad that this game challenges our knowledge in writing and vocabularies. One flaw is that the items can be difficult to find and blend with background color. Other than that, this game is long and definitely worth your money.
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from enjoyed it enjoyed it. would like to see more like it.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Experience the roaring 20's in the millenium Fitzgerald's novel is one of my favorites. Now I must include this HO game as my game of the year! My review is based on the trial but it's loaded with surprises. If you're not familiar with the story, don't worry, the game will fill you in on important subjects that coincide with the game as you progress. Impressive graphic quality that won't disappoint. The most challenging is the search within the HO's for hidden letters to spell out mystery words in which you earn points in order to reimburse for items you can use to decor your personal library. I've always been fascinated about 1920's time period and this game will transport you to ballroom parties, women and men in exquisite party attire who are entertaining as well as mysterious. Ah, I've recommended games in the past as 'must haves' but if you're down to your last few bucks you definitely must spend it on this gem. Gotta go, I just purchased the full version and it's ready for play!
Date published: 2012-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly good! I'd forgotten how good a game this was since I've played so many others since the last time. It wasn't until I read the reviews here that reminded me how much I enjoyed it so I went back and saw what I originally loved about it. The game follows the book and movie faithfully and there's so much to do here besides just looking for hidden objects that makes the game fun. Looking for the book in each scene as well as the hidden letters, which aren't so hidden, but are needed to spell out the secret word that's part of the story, makes the gameplay interesting as well as the typing game and driving through city streets to catch objects as they pass through the viewing area. Each of these is a separate minigame within the larger game of the hidden object scenes which make up the story, and all of these make for enjoyable gameplay. Although the graphics are hand drawn, they are clear and appropriate for the time period which adds to the challenge. And when you've earned enough money from the minigames, you can purchase items to furnish your library which is an additional thing to like about this game. During the years when I was busy playing only adventure games, I'd abandoned the Great Gatsby and regretted buying it because it was "just another hidden object game" that I'd outgrown. I'm glad I read these reviews because you stirred my interest in it again and the game has so much more going for it than just the hidden object scenes. It's so different from other kinds of games and has become one of my favorites. I'm just surprised the developer hasn't created more games from classic literature since this one is from the Classic Adventures collection. Is the Great Gatsby the first in this series and was there supposed to be more forthcoming? This is a wonderful way to introduce classic books to the gaming environment and I hate to think that this golden opportunity didn't pan out for the devs. Yes, the book may be boring and probably not the best choice for a first game but there's so many books out there so why can't the collection be continued? I love period pieces so I enjoyed seeing how the costumes and everything else looked in the movie and how exact they were replicated in this game. Very well done.
Date published: 2012-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from relaxing and entertaining game not to hard to play and also informative
Date published: 2012-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game I really enjoyed this game so much so I finished it in one setting. The storyline kept me interested and I don't usualy listen to storylines. The hidden objects were hard but not too hard. I found the hidden words to be a great additive something that I had not seen before, but wish more games had it. The only bad thing about the game was it was too short.
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Adventure The Great Gatsby This is the best. Why is there any more like this. Please Please find more. I love it. I have not seen any other as great
Date published: 2012-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All that FOOD!! yum yum I really enjoyed everything about this game. Not only the word search and typing skills but the historical factor storyline from F.Scott Fitzgeralds fantastic novel. Sad ending but what can one expect with all that money causing loneliness, boredom and jealosy. I would recommend this game to anyone who wishes a challenge other than finding secret objects. It was terrific!!
Date published: 2012-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refreshing Lots of things going on but not overwhelming. It's a little Wheel of Fortune and money to buy prizes . A little like Gardenscapes. Trophies to win. Finding hidden words letter by letter. Finding hidden books. The graphics are fun and not grotesque. I get so bored with all the graves, and gruesome and dark. I've only played a couple of vignettes but I really have enjoyed it. I'm pretty sure I will buy this game. I tried half dozen times to read the book. Even with Robert Redford, I could not maintain interest in the movie. I don't know how closely this follows the book but I am really enjoying this game. Lots of HO's. It's really fun. Easy to follow.
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect perfect perfect! Please, we want more games like this!!! a great adaptation of the book and movie, the atmosphere, art, period, lifestyle, not only classic, but CLASSY! WOW, I would have bought them all if there were more such classy and classic games:)
Date published: 2012-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gatsby is Great After finishing "The Great Gatsby," I'm looking to read the book (skimmed it in high school, but I have a new appreciation) and hoping the folks who published this game will develop another based on classic lit. I really enjoyed the bright graphics, the music and the way the designers inventiveness developed HOS in the context of the book. I also want to put in a plea...I really wish the folks at MCF had given a look to this game when they wanted to develop variants on HOS's. Their morphing scenes failed in their last grim and gross outing. But in Gatsby HOS are varied by making them move and adding them to video cut scenes. The HO scenes were challenging enough, while not being frustrating and the additional hunts for books and such added to the general positive feel of he game. I continue to be tired and depressed by dark, rainy, gross HOGs and hope more like Gatsby will be forthcoming.
Date published: 2012-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT...WONDERFUL...TERRIFIC This is a wonderful HO game. All the scenes, music, and characters are period appropriate. If you haven't read the book, the story unfolds as you go. There are also different mini games than I have seen in other games. I will play this again & again.
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game Totally enjoyed the game. Items were era-appropriate and I really enjoyed the piano music. This game is mostly Hidden Object, but some of the H0 scenes are completely different than anything I have ever played. There's nothing like being in a moving car and having to find items on the fly. Some of the items, in the H0 scenes are really small, but the clarity of the scenes made it a little easier. The "puzzle" games were unique. Type words as they drop from above and find a set number of items while the scenes are changing. There are trophies to be earned, books to find, and a room to decorate. The voice-overs were excellent and made the story more enjoyable. I would really like to see more games like this.
Date published: 2012-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different. Defintely enjoyable. A real plus!
Date published: 2012-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great visuals and variety I played the hour demo. I liked that there were a variety of things to do at each scene - HOGS; finding words; book search and that it was not timed. I am big fan of books and parables turned into good games and this is a good game! Of course the 1st purchase for my library was the cat! This game is definitely on my "to but" list.
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Great Gatsby Definitely Delivers: Lots Of Variety Here! This review is based on the whole game. I'll start off by saying I've never read the Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald nor did I know any of the plot either before playing this game but after playing this game it sure makes me want to read it though. This game is set in the 1920's which I give a huge kudos here to the developers as I believe they did an awesome job making the game era-appropriate. The graphics while some areas a little dark which I believe was to set the mood of these scenes are by far one of the best I've ever come across in a game. I also really enjoyed the music to this game as it was also era-appropriate and the 1st person narrator was also a very well done along with the other voice overs in this game. I'll also rate this by far one of the best I've ever come across in a game. This game is a straight HOG (hidden object game) with a lot of story which the voices and text can be turned off at any time. Most of the items I found pretty easily however a few were cleverly hidden into the scene. I also really enjoyed the "drive by" HOGS the car going down the road as some are found in the car and some on the side of the road. Don't worry if you miss any as it will come back around again. The hint also charges up pretty quick however there is a "bad click" penalty which I encountered a couple of times. Seems to be a "hit and miss" though as I clicked wrong a couple of times and at the end of each scene didn't list any "bad clicks." You also lose points for the "bad clicks." While this game is not timed however the faster you find the items the more bonus points you earn which there is also several ways of earning bonus points which you can buy stuff to decorate your library along with many different trophies you can earn: There are "transition scenes" - find so many clocks for example which you can replay if you wish if you don't find them all. Find the books: As there is one book in each of the HOG scenes. The secret word: You find the letters in the HOG scenes which some are cleverly hidden. Once you find one it will put it in the box down at the bottom of the screen. You can also try to guess the word and if done so correctly more bonus points and it will automatically add the letters into the box once you guess the word. If you guess it incorrectly which I did on one of them, you do have a chance to try again. Also if you read the credits at the end will also add to your library. There are a few mini-games like replacing a flat tire on a car, locket puzzles, type-the-falling-words tasks, etc. There are quite a few of the typing tasks, but the SKIP button is immediately available for those who are not able to type fast. As for the game length: For me definitely long enough as I got 5 to 6 hours out of it. I'll also go on to say while I've come across quite a few really great games I'm usually not one for replaying a game cause once I've played it, I've played it but this game does have replay ability just in case you don't earn all the trophies you can go back to try again which I didn't earn them all but earned most of the them. Overall, oh lets forget the 5 stars. I give this a 10 as I can sure tell that the developer of this game sure took a lot of time and thought in putting this game together especially making it "era-appropriate." A HUGE kudos to them. Thanks Big Fish for an AWESOME game here. I sure hope to see more like this one with all the variety this had to offer especially considering this is a standard version game as this would easily be worthy of a collectors edition in my opinion.
Date published: 2012-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adore this game HOG....learned a little about the book...Beautiful graphics, music...truly love playing this game over and over again! Nice story that flows easy. Game is relaxing and very pleasing to play!
Date published: 2011-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect blend of art and sound This game brings the feel and sound of the book,The Great Gatsby, to life. I really enjoyed the music: the 1st person narrator was as good as any large screen movie I have ever heard. The atmosphere of the decadent 20's is right in front of you and as a bonus you get all these neat puzzles and games. I want more like this.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Adventures:The Great Gatsby Delivers Let me preface this review by saying that I have never read The Great Gatsby, nor did I know any of the plot before playing. Based on the novel by F. Scott Fitzgerald, this game is a period piece set in the 1920's. The developers did a very good job making sure that everything was era-appropriate, which helped to make the game more immersive. You will gain trophies as you progress through the game for things like collecting 500 hidden items, finishing a game level without a hint, using a hint before you've found any objects on the scene (oh yes, there is a dunce cap ) The game is NOT timed, but you do have the option of collecting points, which can be used to "buy" items to customize your library. Any trophies you collect will also be displayed in your library. This game is a straight HOG with a lot of story interspersed. Despite this, the game can be as immersive as you wish, for you can turn off the voiced (and visual) dialogue at any time. There are triggers during HOG scenes where text will appear at the top of the screen and voices of characters will begin. You may be 1/4 or 1/2 way through the scene before you hit the right item. It was jolting at first, but I soon became used to the sudden interruptions and actually looked forward to them so that I could learn more of the story. You get points for each item you find, and if you "stagger" the items (find as many items on the screen as possible before you start clicking), you'll get a lot of bonus points. The fast-click bonus is a plus for me, as it gives me incentive to really use my memory to remember where everything is. There are two optional "mini-games" embedded in the hidden object scenes: - Find the Books - Find one book in each scene. Each book you find will give you bonus points and will be displayed on a bookshelf in your library. - Find the Secret Word: Collect letters in the scene to spell out the secret word. When you click on a letter, it will go to a word box on the bottom right of the screen. Finding letters gets you extra points. When you think you know the word, you can try to guess it, and doing so (correctly) will get you even more bonus points. Also, if you can guess early, it will remove all of the letters from the scene and give you the points for those, as well. The hidden objects start out pretty easy - especially the letters for the secret word. As you go forward through the game, however, items and letters get more and more cleverly hidden. At times during gameplay, there are interactive cutscenes. There is narration and changing backgrounds to move the story along, but during these scenes, you have another optional "mini-game" to play: Find x-number of x-item during the scenes to get extra points. You can replay the "transition" scenes if you happened to miss any of the items, but this is also optional. There are a few mini-games like replacing a flat tire on a car, locket puzzles, type-the-falling-words tasks, etc. There are quite a few of the typing tasks, but the SKIP button is immediately available for those who are not able to type fast. Something I really liked about the game were the options. You have three sound bars you can adjust: SFX/Ambience (Clicking noise/background noises like birds chirping), Music and Voices. Now we get to the good stuff: The graphics. The coloration, art style and overall visuals really helped set the tone for the era. Very appropriate. The thing I appreciated the most about the game is that the graphics aren't "static". The scenes are not simple frozen scenes in time. There are nuances of light that play about the scenes that are so beautifully and skillfully done that you don't really notice them unless you are paying attention. This is not the usual "beam of light through the window with dust motes" kind of movement, it's minute changes that bring the scenes to life without distracting the eye. My favorite effect was on the hydrangea bushes on the outside scenes. Two more notes about graphics: First, this game has implemented a type of moving hidden object scene I've never seen before. You have a car and typical hidden object scene in the foreground, with the street and some more objects to find passing by as you are driving. Fast clicking isn't needed, as you can see them coming. Second, you will revisit scenes in this game... but the scenes never look the same. Not only do the hidden objects move around each time the scene loads, but there are daytime and nighttime views! The artists and developers really did a fantastic job keeping the scenes fresh and interesting. The story progresses well, is interesting and complete, and yet still leaves questions that make you want to read the book.
Date published: 2011-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great HO's game This was a short game, but it is challenging and had different mini-games which I liked.
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Classic Come To Life! I was pleasantly surprised by this game. I enjoyed being "read" a classic novel whilst playing a game and I had fun decorating my library. The HO scenes can be a little tough, but there's the hint button. I liked collecting the books, and the words were fairly easy to guess once you collected a few letters. It's a good game for when you want to take things slow and easy. By the way, the profanity didn't bother me (it was only one word). This really isn't a game oriented towards children anyway, given that there's extra-marital affairs and murder involved.
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pushing up 'daisies', old sport? If you're not going to turn the voices off or read the text be aware there is one cuss word toward the end and profanity is used as well, which should not have been used in this game. I'm certainly not a prude when it comes to these matters but I'd keep this game away from the kiddies. I'm sure they've heard unpleasant language in their lifetimes but using God's name in vain, whether you believe in Him or not, is a no-no in my book for any reason. I'm sorry folks but that's my opinion. It's possible my review may not be used, even so, those words could have been omitted. The odd thing is the narrator was reading the typed text and missed reading the word 'thereabout.' I've seen the both movies--the one with Robert Redford and the other with Leonardo DiCaprio, and this game was very much true to the story. The gameplay was excellent. Except there were a few times when I tried using objects for some scenes and the mouse just wasn't cutting it. The drive-by scenes, for instance, I'd see the item, click on it and nothing happened and after trying that several times, I had to actually come to that scene and hit the hint button I order for it to work. Glitch in the system for sure. Toward the end trying to use the pool was working so I had to skip that part. I was disappointed in that. The game was very unusual and very, very clever, indeed! I give it a 5-star for that and the artwork was good--color sketches basically. Lots of junk piles to be sure but more tedious in finding the items than those park rangers games I've played. I especially loved guessing the word for each scene. Very good, devs! Very enjoyable game to say the least, but not perfect. So I'm giving it a 4.50 star rating You can opt to turn off anything you want but I think there should have been a warning about language. The music is awesome except turn the end I had to turn it off because it was repeated so much. I still can hear the tunes in my head and I was even whistling to them from time to time when playing the game. The acting was so-so, not the greatest but okay. I still recommend the game and because of the subject matter, it should only be for grown-ups. I do enjoy reading the text and listening to the dialogue very much. The game was well-done otherwise. Really innovative tasks which I enjoyed thoroughly. Good job,, devs!
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A refreshing retro time game Oh how wonderful to have a HOG that isn't full of gore, evil, bloodshedding creepiness. The storyline gives one play to follow instead of being a straightforward HOG, but doesn't overwhelm or distract. Nice voiceovers, though I don't generally take it off mute, this one was pleasant. Visuals decent, but certainly not as advanced as some games.Not a lot of bells or whistles, but still a worthy game where you can take your time, or plan your strategy for extra points, or "money", which is spent on decorating a living area. Wish I could give it an extra half star based on the lack of "urgly" evil.
Date published: 2014-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impressive and entertaining game I must admit that even though I have heard of the Great Gatsby, I am not familiar with the story, have not read the book nor have I seen the movie, but having said that I thought that this game was an impressive and entertaining game. You are challenged with exploring cities like Long Island, New York and other places during the Roaring Twenties era. This included parties and gatherings where you dance the charleston and sip bootleg booze with a mysterious millionaire.The dialogue consists of frequent conversations with different characters which is tolerable and the music is of the era but does get a bit monotonous at times, playing the same tune over and over again. The graphics are quite clear bright and colourful. The puzzles are quite straight forward with typing words of a letter and other mini games. The hidden objects are many and varied. Your standard list of items to be found is the main feature but in every scene if you can locate a hidden book and find the hidden letters to a mystery word, more points will be gained to enhance the library with lots of trimmings and will earn more achievement awards. Several ingenious challenges require you to find hidden objects from a moving car. Quite a unique and impressive game, I liked it.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from different swing on a HOG Very different take on a hidden object game. Loved finding the letters to guess the mystery word, The more items you find, the more points you win for decorating your own place. Storyline was good but the music was wonderful. Old 1930-1940's sounds and different each scene. I was surprised when the Demo was over. That's how into the game I was. Kept my attention for the full hour.
Date published: 2012-08-23
  • y_2018, m_12, d_9, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_7109, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Classic Adventures: The Great Gatsby

F. Scott Fitzgerald’s Jazz Age is in full swing in this decadent adventure. Bring this legendary American novel to life!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.