Shaolin Mystery: Tale of the Jade Dragon Staff

Shaolin Mystery: Tale of the Jade Dragon Staff

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(232.93 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Travel across ancient China and help Yu as she searches for the mythical Jade Dragon Staff. Save your wrongly imprisoned friend in this fun and exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. Explore fantastic locations, meet monks, speak to spirits, and much more as you embark on this epic adventure through beautiful China.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 245 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Shaolin Mystery: Tale of the Jade Dragon Staff

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(232.93 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Shaolin Mystery: Tale of the Jade Dragon Staff is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 66.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An All-Around Great Game! This is an all-around wonderful game! The music was very soothing and the look of the game was amazing. I liked the Asian theme and also the more fantastical levels of play. The story was great too, plus your character helps others along the way!
Date published: 2012-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved by the Girl and Staff Played complete game. A delightful game with soothing oriental music. The object was to find pieces of a staff so that the rightful ruler (your longtime friend) could claim the throne before he's killed. Pieces of the staff were found in 7 chapters of colorful, beautiful and vivid graphics. Each chapter was in a different location and each had a logical conclusion. Throughout the game, there are several amusing animations complete with sound, such as a donkey that snorts and stamps its foot and shaking haystacks. So feel free to click on any interesting animals, flowers, etc. since there isn’t any penalty for misclicks – you never know what will happen. Lots of straight HOGs with only a few objects being on the small side. There were also a number of circles for which you find and drop pieces into the circle. Several hours of gameplay (but I do take my time when looking at such gorgeous scenery). The only negative I found was that the dialogue between chapters which told the story was too fast and there was no time to look at the accompanying sketches. This is one game for which I would have liked to control the dialogue speed by actually having to click on the “next” button to proceed with the storyline. There is a “replay” option for the dialogue, but I still felt like I had to speed read and speed hear (is there such a thing?). From the ending, the sequel should be rather interesting. Now on to the Shaolin Terra Cotta soldiers.
Date published: 2012-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a DD find! I demoed this game when it was offered as a DD recently and promptly bought it. It's a real sleeper. Things I like about the game: * the graphics are lovely; some have complained that objects are too small but not that many and the HOS are challenging without being impossible and there is some interaction * the music is very pleasant playing softly in the background and adds to the overall effect of the game * the underwater scenes are particularly beautiful and there is so much to look at throughout the game * I found some of the puzzles to be quite challenging * the cut scenes have voiceover and fill in the storyline * each chapter is complete unto itself and makes a logical stopping point so you don't have to worry about returning to the game and forgetting where to backtrack to; there is to-ing and fro-ing but only within each chapter This game is not going to be a brain-buster and might not appeal to more hard-core gamers, but if you are looking for a pleasant diversion and like visually stimulating scenes and an escape from the current run of supernatural scariness, this game is worth a try.
Date published: 2012-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG! To Think I Almost Didn't Play This Awesome Game This review is for the whole game. The story: You take on the role of Yu and travel across ancient China to search for the mythical Jade Dragon Staff and help save her friend who has been wrongly imprisoned. 7 chapters 1 play mode that does have sparkles to it. Also brings up a "magnify glass" for areas of interest. There is some voice over to this game. No map or journal however down at the bottom of the screen it will list your task, how many and how many have been completed. Ho scenes: Some are found by word list. They are not interactive however may have to "move something" to get to a few of them. You also find some by circle placement (pieces of the items). I didn't find these to be on the Sanford & Son junk pile side. Most pretty easy to locate however some are obscure, small and blended into the scene pretty good. The hint is also helpful outside of HO scenes. Also quick on ready for use. Under a minute. Along with the skip for puzzles. Puzzles/Mini games: Quite a few different kinds of puzzles. Some I found pretty easy and some I skipped. My overall impression of the game: Wow! To think I almost didn't play this but I saw it was listed as the daily deal so I thought I'd "give it a whirl." I'm SO GLAD I did. Oh and what a deal it is for $2.99. WOW! I was drawn into this game immediately with the opening cut scene and held my interest to the end. Just WOW! I can sure tell there was some time and thought put into this game. Usually the sparkles kinda annoy me in most games but not this one. The graphics I'd consider one of the best I've come across in a game along with the voice over. Just superb here. Very well done. Also several cut scenes throughout the game. I also LOVED that it tells you what chapter you're one. I found this game to just have so much to do and places to go. Just about everything was fitting to the "traveling across China" along with the music. A very nice variety here of how to find things to help you move forward in the game. I also really enjoyed the story and so glad it's going to be continued and hopefully don't have to wait too long. Overall I definitely give this 5 stars. By far one of the best I've played. Thanks Big Fish and developer for an awesome game here. This ROCKS! As always definitely give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2012-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect, mid-level game A great game for folks who want a little challenge but don't want to work too hard at their play. Interesting story and great graphics. Background music relaxing. The puzzles and ho scenes are challenging but all resolved with a little effort. It's the perfect match - not too easy but not too hard. I didn't have to skip any of the puzzles, but I did work on a few a bit. One of the few games that seems the right length. Not too short, but the story didn't drag out either. Great game all the way around.
Date published: 2012-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful game! I don't know why I didn't demo this game when it first came out, but when I downloaded it to try as the DD, I discovered that I hadn't tried it before. I was glad as it gave me the opportunity to try this game for the full demo time. Turns out I didn't need that much time. I was sold almost immediately. Beautiful graphics, neat storyline - you are a member of a resistance group in ancient China and are shocked to discover that your childhood friend is in fact the true Emperor, and is now sentenced to die by his usurper Uncle.. It is your task to find the Jade Dragon Staff in order to prove his right to the throne. Game play was smooth on my computer - which was such a refreshing change after so many slow-moving, jerky games that have vexed me lately. Colors are bright, and the graphics crisp and clean. Game play is a mixture of hos and frogs, enough of both to keep it interesting. The puzzles range from easy to medium difficulty so far. I am thoroughly enjoying this game, and the only complaint I can make is that the music became very repetitious after a while. For me, this game was a terrific bargain as the Daily Deal.
Date published: 2012-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Visually lovely & Fun Game I love oriental...so I loved this game...Beautiful scenery..music was even nice...Challenging, but not frustrating..good length..Clear graphics..HO scenes were so pretty I didn't want them to end ! A pleasure to play..
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! This game is in my 100 favorites list! After I bought 450 games and played 280 so far (I play them by purchased date when I have time after work, home, and school duties). It's not an easy task to choose because majority of Big Fish Games are amazing but I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this one!!! The story, graphics, and level of challenge are superb!
Date published: 2011-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great game! Just right for me! The colors/artwork are very bright and nice! It had the right number of mini puzzles and it was not hard but not too easy.. I would say just right.. I wish the adventure was longer but am waiting for a part 2 or something similar.. I love Asian culture so I was very happy to see this one and re-activated my membership so I can purchase it.
Date published: 2011-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best HOG/Adventure games I agree with everything the previous reviewers said. An excellent game, enjoyable to play, good plot, great environments; plus it was nice that it is so long because you don't want it to end
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Loved This Game This was a HOG but also more of an adventure game. I really like that in a game. The game was pretty long, just when I thought it was over...boom another chapter. Totally worth the money. ps: I have played this game 4 times in the past year because it is one of my favorites.
Date published: 2011-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful!! The fact that this game was made by a Chinese company, made it full of Chinese details and with correct pronounciation of names in Chinese. I feel like I am in a kungfu movie, where we go through ancient Chinese villages and confront the emperor, which is awesome. There is no map, but it's not used if there is little backtracking. The HOG games are bit of piles but they're true to the orient so it was great! The cut scenes voice over is the only one that could be improved. There is this bass sound and the woman who narrates it, talk very fast. However other than this, I found this game flawless. So glad I bought this one!
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Engaging Tale that is a Feast for the Eyes. This is the third game by Digital Quarter that I've played. The other two, Mystery Age: The Imperial Staff, and Mystery Age: The Dark Priests, were also beautiful, well-crafted games. In Shaolin Mystery, the graphics are equally beautiful, with little animated touches throughout, but it also has a more mature story than the other two which I quite liked, and it had a satisfying ending. All three ran flawlessly on my older PC, and were a good length.
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game! This game is easy to follow with a cute story and understandable tasks. It has beautiful graphics and music, too. It deserves all the five star ratings!
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eye Candy OMG, the art is stunning! Probably the most beautiful of the 160 games I own, many of which also have beautiful art. Best of the best.
Date published: 2011-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MASTERFULLY DEVELOPED HOG, FROG, ADVENTURE!! A breath of fresh air!! Exquisite artwork and story line. As a Lover of Mah Jong, the music is superb to hear while playing as well as enjoying the skill and talent of this game's magnificent artists! BRAVO!! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2012-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shaolin Mystery: Tale of the Jade Dragon Staff Absolutely mesmerizing game! The graphics and story line are flawless. One of the best I have played Qbee
Date published: 2012-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Linney This game was just the right challenge for me and was just beautifully executed in every way. Thank you game designers!!
Date published: 2011-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great game! I love this peaceful, easy, exotic adventure game and I can't wait to find more like it! Everything ties together. It's really a delight to play!
Date published: 2013-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Hidden Object Game! This was a terrifically challenging game. The story line itself compelled me to keep going. I love the interactions with items that you need. Many things I needed I actually stumbled across by sheer accident, which made it that much more fun! If you like adventure, I highly recommend this game. Now to try the second one!
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game I really enjoyed this game. I love the music and the graphics were awesome. I think the voice of the woman talking could have been more with the theme of the game.
Date published: 2012-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delightful This game was quite long. I found the hidden object scenes to be very clear and quite fair. There were maybe three words in all that were not familiar to me but i googled them and immediately found a familiar synonym (e.g. "horseshoe crab"). There were lots and lots of mini-games, some elementary, some quite difficult (for me). It was not always easy to figure out what to do next, but since there is a good walk-through available this is not, to me, that big of an issue. Besides, in retrospect, it all made perfect sense within the context of the story, which I found imaginative in the details even though the broad outlines were not unusual The music was very charming and fit the story although it got a little repetitive. The sound effects were good, and quite varied. But, for me, what set this game well above the average were the delightful graphics, especially for the underwater level and the final level with the flying snails and the floating trees. It was quite simply a pleasure to play and I was very sorry to see the end. So I just bought Shaolin Mystery: Revenge of the Terracotta Warriors!
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game with a Few Annoyances This game was fun to play, but there were a few annoyances. The game begins with the arrest of your childhood friend and you have to find a way to rescue him. The graphics are very nice, the cut scenes and voice overs are well done, the music was somewhat annoying (I muted it). There are two types of HOS - one is finding objects on a list, the other is finding objects to create a needed objects. The HOS scenes were well done for the most part, a couple of them were really dark. The mini games were hit and miss. Some of them were fun to play and worked well and some of them were confusing and there didn't seem to be a solution. I used the skip button on the games that didn't seem to work properly. There wasn't a journal or map. A map wasn't needed, but a journal would have been nice. There is a task list, which was helpful. If you can overlook the annoyances, this is a fun game to play.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Absorbing The game starts off full of eastern promise. The HO's are different in that you have to locate an area which when found opens a circle surrounded by smaller circles. In each circle is an object to be found in the scene location and not in a junkyard. When all the pieces have been found they form an item to be used in the current location or in a different location. The Storey line is original. A friend goes looking for her childhood boy friend that she helps to escape from prison and she has to enter into various realms in order to track him down. This turns out to be quite a task as he turns out to be the rightful Emperor. The graphics are clear and of a high palette. The various scenes are beautifully drawn with an authentic air of the orient. I cannot comment on the music as I always mute this, mainly because of the repetitive nature. The voice over has an American accent; this should have been an authentic oriental voice to match the game play. The puzzles are not too hard and, in the main, interesting and there are quite a few of these. As the game progresses it reverts to HO's of the point, and click in the junkyard, which then start coming fast and furious. Great pity. True there are still some of the HO's with circles. It is as if the writers of the game ran out of ideas and used a plethora of the more boring type of HOs to lengthen the game and to save some brainpower. I would have given the game 31/2 stars as a result of all the point and click Hos but this will have to be 4 stars. Without all the point and click it would have been 5 stars. Notwithstanding the slight criticism above I would still recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun, garden-variety game but nothing too memorable FEATURES: * Causal and expert difficulty settings [] * Task menu [x] * Diary entries [ ] * Hint meter [x] * Penalty for too much wrong or too fast clicking [] * Voice-acting [x] THE GOOD: * Nice “exotic” Oriental images * Decent length * Task menu is always a plus THE BAD: * Mediocre voice-acting that sounds like it was done from a home studio
Date published: 2013-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Common malady This game suffers from an unfortunate malady common to so many BF games -- excessive cutesiness. But at least it wasn't cutesy-gothic, which is like having cotton candy for breakfast. As a game it was solid -- good controls, good length, fabulous graphics, and immersion in another culture (at least in the beginning) which I seem to crave. But it could have been so much more. When I look at that dark landscape before the game actually begins, I become wistful of what the game could have been if the writers had been on a more creative streak. Moody, atmospheric, mystical. (Just please, not gothic.) So, a chalenge to the game writers: please try again, and do it right. China, Japan, Thailand, India, any place that can evoke that mood.
Date published: 2013-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Game! Shaolin Mystery: Tale of the Jade Dragon Staff is a hidden object/fragmented object adventure game. The story centers around finding the pieces of the Jade Dragon Staff, and returning the rightful emperor to the throne. This is a truly beautiful game. The artwork is exquisite. The music is also beautiful, and very soothing. The gameplay is fun, and there's not a lot of backtracking compared to some games, because each chapter takes you to a new area of the game. I liked the mix of hidden object and fragmented object scenes. I also liked that the game tells you how many tasks you need to complete in a given area. The game was a little longer than average, taking about four hours for me to complete. The puzzles were a little on the easy side for me. But a few of them were unique.
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Uncomplicated Game This is a beautiful, relaxing game that has much to offer. The scenes are lovely, very well drawn and colorful. It takes you to a vast variety of locations and has several types of hidden object challenges in addition to clever puzzles and logic tasks. My only complaint is the voice that tells the story races through the dialogue in an emotionless monotone which is a shame because the story is a good one. Fortunately the music is soothing and very appropriate to the oriental theme. While it is not the most challenging game out there it is a lot of fun. I would especially recommend it to beginning players but advanced players will be charmed as well.
Date published: 2012-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game This was pretty good. Once I figured out that you have to click all over, it was easy to see where to go next. The puzzles were varied but not difficult, in fact, almost too easy. The graphics were very well done and the music was soothing and apropos for the game theme. It is a nice long playing game. The hidden object scenes are good - some things stand out, some you really have to look for. The ending was ok, but there looks like there will be a sequel. All in all, a good game.
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A relaxing game to play I usually prefer more adventure and puzzles than HOS, but despite this game being primarily HOS I really enjoyed it. As other reviewers have said, the graphics are lovely and a welcome departure from 'spooky scenes' in most games. I don't usually play with the sound on but did with this game as it is really relaxing to listen to. The storyline is good and the level of challenge is easy to medium but sometimes you don't want to think to much..lol. All in all a pleasant change and well worth a bonus voucher.
Date published: 2012-03-23
  • y_2020, m_11, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_7299, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Shaolin Mystery: Tale of the Jade Dragon Staff

Travel across ancient China and help Yu as she searches for the mythical Jade Dragon Staff. Save your wrongly imprisoned friend!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.