Twisted Lands: Shadow Town

Twisted Lands: Shadow Town

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(246.11 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Gather items, solve puzzles and make spine-chilling discoveries as you explore a deserted island in Twisted Lands: Shadow Town! Why does your heart beat faster when you peer into a dark room? What makes the hair on your neck bristle when something invisible whispers in your ear? Dive into the emotion of fear, and find out, in this spooky Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 269 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Twisted Lands: Shadow Town

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(246.11 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Twisted Lands: Shadow Town is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this game! This Sci Fi game has great everything-- audio, music, graphics, storyline... Puzzles are moderately challenging, HOS are fairly easy. There is a lot of fog, though, and you come across numerous areas that have several options of where to go- left, right, straight... In casual mode, the hint button is wonderful for the maze-like areas. Didn't have to use the walk-through once. Only used the hint button for the fog, and another tunnel maze later in the game. So next time I play, it will be the hardest level. maybe... Might play the medium level one more time first. Spoiler Alert! The end reminded me a little of Abyss. But with a much darker ending.
Date published: 2012-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Twisted Lands; Twisted Fun! Not what I expected AT ALL! Excellent game! This game took me about 4-5 hours to complete (and that all depends on how you play) but it was well worth the money! The game starts off somewhat boring but very quickly grabs you and reels you in. The whole story really had me wanting to know more and see exactly what was going to happen next- its not what you expect!! The graphics were pretty nice- I've seen better but at least it wasn't extremely dark to where you couldn't see where the hidden objects were. The HOSs were done very well, no 'junk' thrown in there for filler- everything was pretty much meant to be in the scene. There is a lot of back and forth but I enjoy that sort of thing so that didn't bother me too much. If you get stuck or can't figure out where to go next the hint button will guide you to where you need to be. I am VERY excited to play Twisted Lands: Insomniac, I got Insomniac as a bonus game when I bought another game and after reading all the reviews I immediately bought Shadow Town to play before Insomniac. I'm very much anticipating Insomniac because Shadow Town was excellent and it can only get better from here!!
Date published: 2012-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game with a twist This was one of the most interesting games I have ever played. What happens at the end left me with my mouth wide open. I very much enjoyed this game and did not find it either too hard or too easy. There were times when I had to use the hint but not too often. I can't wait to play the sequel and have already bought it too without even playing the trial. This was because I am so interested in finding out what happens next. Way to go developers, you did an awesome job on this storyline. Love it.
Date published: 2012-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD GAME. i like this better than the sequel, i had it when i had an ordinary pc, but have to rebuy all my old favourites again, so i'd recommend this game. no point in telling you all about it, because i think this spoils it for the propective buyer, and theres many renditions of this game already. i give it the 5 * treatment, happy gaming.
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Older Games are Better Games - Wish I Bought the CE! Seems older HOG games were much better since developers had not bent to the demands of gamers who complain for more "entertainment" rather than a test of skills. Immersive, spooky story line with awesome music that keeps gamers coming back for more. Journal was helpful as was hint system. Walkthrough not needed. There is walking involved as interactive maps were not the mainstay at time of development. However, the spooky atmosphere keeps gamer wondering if someone or "something" is going to jump out at any moment, thus, increasing game suspense. The story takes shape and totally evolves. This is a game that will last through time as one of the greats!!! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game Wow, this game is awesome! The graphics are excellent, the cut scenes are great, the HOS and mini games are fun, the story was mysterious and fun. As you work your way through the game you run across various journals and newspaper clippings that fill in the back story, which was great. The hint button is helpful if you're stuck. The ending was a bit of a shock, but I'm looking forward to playing the sequel. I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2012-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice I loved this game. I did not purchase a collectors edition, and it was not too difficult to play throug, although it was challenging enough. I absolutely loved the surprise ending.
Date published: 2012-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Twisted, that's for sure The storyline of Twisted Lands: Shadow Town is excellent. For the first time I had no clue how it's gonna end and when I find out I just couldn't believe it! That was really amazing experience. I also liked wandering around the town and finding my way through the woods covered with fog. The game was rather challanging. There's a lot things to pick up and use in the logical way and several interesting puzzles. That's what I love in adventure games in general. My only reservation is the graphics in the movies. Everything was fuzzy and not in the good way. It's a shame because it could be a perfect HOPA game. So close...
Date published: 2012-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT GAME!!!!! This is an amazing game, the graphics the story line, puzzles, etc. However even I watched the videos at the end twice (the Intro and the Epilogue ones) I'm still wondering what really happened to our main character. Did I miss something that was in the CE and was missing in the SE? Any way...it's a MUST to buy!!!
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! This is a fun HOAG with tons of puzzles! This game is really long and that is a good thing. You must remember where you have seen items in the environment so that you will know where to go when you collect their missing counterparts. I enjoyed this game so much that i plan to purchase the other two Twisted Lands games too!
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SURPRISE ENDING Very unexpected, surprise ending. Although sometimes the bonus play in a CE will continue the theme of the game and reveal more information, I have read the reviews for the CE for this game, and this is not so. Therefore, you are left with the weird ending with no explanation. This game seriously needed an interactive map, which, again, is not in the CE. There was so much going back and forth that there was no way I could remember where something was that needed to be done. Thankfully, the hint button worked great in pointing my way through the game. This game has lots of HOS that were pretty cluttered and dark. The length of the game was pretty long, but if you didn't have to go back and forth so much, it could have been a lot sorter, and less frustrating. Don't know whether to recommend or not, so I won't do either.
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shipwreck fun Not much of a storyline, you have been shipwrecked on an uncharted island that was inhabited over a 100yrs ago but now there is no one to be found. There are no VOs, the graphics are cartoonish and grainy in the cut scenes. The HOS are a good challenge and crisp compared to other scenes. The puzzles are of a good variety. There is no map, just a journal and a LOT of back and forth so be ready to put that memory of yours to the test! The end leaves it wide open for the sequel and enough curiosity to want to play it to hopefully get the rest of the story and find closure.
Date published: 2012-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't Go On First Impressions First time I tried this game, I gave up almost before I started. There is too much time spent on the (irritating) lead in and I found the gameplay annoyingly hard to follow at first. However, I'm here to say I was wrong. After playing and enjoying the sequel, Insomniac, I gave this one another try. It's actually very well done, and I have no hesitation in recommending it. The intro doesn't really lead you to expect the superb artwork that follows. HO scenes are uncluttered yet challenging and relevant. Music very atmospheric although it got on my nerves after a while. I enjoyed the focus being on HO rather than puzzles as I'm not much at them. The adventure stuff was a little difficult to follow and I needed to use hint to point me to the next task more often than usual, but it did follow a logical sequence in line with the story. My only criticism (other than the 'film' segments, which I never took to) is that there is too many clicks involved in getting from the scene where you find the tool and the scene where you use it. To and froing is okay by me usually, but it tried my patience here. In the game's defense, part of its governing logic and theme is being trapped in mazes, so there is a reason for it. The ending was satisfying even though you never really find out what was going on. More on this is available in the sequel, where much of this game's story makes more sense. Great games to play back-to-back.
Date published: 2011-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the money Not a bad game. Lots of going back and forth. I turned off the music. I'm liking voice overs now. Can be challenging in spots but the hint button works great. Try the sequel.
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Twisted Land: Shadow Town I Bought the game based on the review. I really liked the game.I did not remember that I had tried the game before where I had not get it. It is a very easy game where the hint button is used a lot because there is no SG. You do not loose your hint unless it is for a task or when you are in the HOS. The HOS are easy to do. The mini games too. The ending is surprising but there is a movie option where you can replay and it help. The graphics are not as crisps as you have with newest games but they are good. I enjoyed the game to the point where I played from the start tto the finish with not many interruptions. This is new for me. So I reccommend this game. Enjoy.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from HAZY AND WHAT"S WITH THE ENDING (OR NON-ENDING)? Moody with a lot of fog. Lots of places and things to do. Found myself using the W/T just to find out where to go next so I wasn’t wandering around forever looking for something I could do. Could have used an interactive map, especially considering the number of scenes encountered with heavy fog and barely visible trees and the length of some of the traveling. Other games have made the graphics fairly clear even though there was fog around; not this game. The HOS are frequently (but not always) somewhat difficult to delineate objects. Fog appears in many of them, making objects indistinct, while other HOS are in shadows around dilapidated surroundings (broken bricks, chain link fence) that obscure the items. Interesting how some of us think the HOS are hazy while others think they are crisp and clear. Faces frequently spin out at you from your cursor when the hand or magnifying glass indicate you can do something there. The ending was abrupt and I’m confused. I looked in the forum – she’s knifed him, she’s shot him – but my version has nothing like that. The submersible is empty but ready to go. Neither she nor he is around. Maybe there’s more than one version out there. I have the SE. Despite the above, I liked the game and I guess it’s time I play Insomniac, which I’ve had for some time.
Date published: 2012-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A game that gave me nightmares This game gave me nightmares soon after I started playing it. It wasn't the graphics but the storyline. The diary entries creep into your head and fester there. It got to a point where I wouldn't play this game at night because I knew it'd be inviting another sleepless night! The things I disliked about the game are the backtracking and the portions of a room that remain active even though you are done interacting with them; makes you think there's something else to investigate or an item to pick up even though there's none. There's no map here but the geography is easy enough to remember. The hint button recharges quickly and the puzzles are challenging enough for me (i had to skip a few, in fact), All in all, this game convinced me to try the other games in this series.
Date published: 2012-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad, but glad I didn't pay full price The HOS were great, but the cutscenes were clunky & the animation was second rate. The characters looked like bad CG from the early 90's. There is a lot of unnecessary info lying around. I found the puzzles challenging enough that I actually skipped a couple. The story sometimes goes out of its way to shock the player, which at one point creeped me out in a bad way. The ending is also disappointing. Bought it during the Presidents Day sale, & glad I didn't pay full price. Buyer beware.
Date published: 2012-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good game but ... This is a good game in many ways. Long playing time Music enhances the atmosphere More HO'S than puzzles but not interactive Graphics clear but drab I especially liked the woods and tunnels (play the game to figure that out) Lots of locations This game doesn't hold your hand, you have to think about where to go next and how to use your inventory. My one issue with this game is the storyline - ending didn't really explain what happened. This is a good game to get on sale. It's worth your time.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Storyline doesn't spell it out for you...and I like that TITLE—Twisted Lands: Shadow Town VERSION—Standard Edition (full game) DEVELOPER—Alawar GENRE—Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure (supernatural) STORYLINE—As you're showing your girlfriend Angel the latest in your illegally acquired treasure trove of underwater artifacts, you fall overboard. After a time, you make landfall on a deserted island where you find your boat…but Angel is nowhere to be found. There's a cruise ship here, and a town. Both hint of mass disappearances and strange happenings. Uncover the mystery of Shadow Town! OVERVIEW—After reading the reviews, I was prepared to dislike this game, but was pleasantly surprised. Perhaps the modern generation isn't used to subtlety, because this game had it in spades. I enjoyed how enigmas were hinted at, but much was left to the imagination because, frankly, my imagination is much better at frightening me than mere graphics (cf-Alfred Hitchcock). GAMEPLAY—Mainly a mix of adventure and HO scenes; there aren't many puzzles or mini-games. You'll find a LOT of items, but the inventory is very responsive. HOs do repeat, but items within them do not. INTERFACE—Journal: Yes, and you'll need it as it stores clues as well as tracking your progress. Map: None, and that's this game only real downfall, as there is a LOT of backtracking. Hints: Cool "shattered glass" effect locates items in HOs and guides you outside of them. Specials: None. Strategy Guide: N/A. TECHNICAL—No issues. GRAPHICS—Despite the foggy nature of the island, and the painterly style of the graphics, I found the HO scenes crisp and the items easily identifiable. And my eyesight is not great. In certain scenes, the fog does obscure details, but it's intentional. CUTSCENES—Done in stillframe series style. MUSIC—Dramatic and orchestral, but not at all intrusive. SOUND—Ambient and game sounds appropriate and not annoying. VOICEOVER—None. SUMMARY—While Shadow Town does not have the bells and whistles of other games, I felt it worth my money and time because the storyline was compelling. It left just enough to the imagination to lure me through the game and to whet my appetite for the sequel without being a disappointing ending. In fact, the twist surprised me and, while it did leave some questions unanswered, it was clear that those questions were being left open deliberately for a sequel. I recommend this game and I'm looking forward to playing Insomniac.
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Twisted. Yup. This is a good challenging game, although it has a LOT of navigation. I longed for an interactive "map" to go back and forth, but then I would have missed all the fun wandering around in the fog. Right. Actually the hint system is good as it doesn't have to recharge when you are just seeking which direction to go next. The final cut scene must have been where they came up with the "Twisted" title. It left me scratching my head. Twice.
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from OK HIDDEN OBJECT GAME TOO MUCH BACK AND FORTH!!!!!!!!!!!! NOT ENOUGH HIDDEN OBJETS
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game One of the first HO games i played. It's a good easy start get you introduced to the type of game. good puzzles.
Date published: 2013-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Play Time! There are loads of playtime in this game, and a storyline that has you trying to save your girlfriend from something sinister and reptilian. The graphics aren't my favorites, and the music is the same throughout, but overall, it was worth my money.
Date published: 2012-10-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Twisted Lands Shadow Town I got into this game right off the bat. Graphics & music were fine; HOS & puzzles were just right. By the time I got to the end, I was ready for a big reveal and was so disappointed! I was left with a million questions with no answers. I guess I was spoiled with MCF RTF...I've bought several games after that and none have come close to comparing.
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Regular Game Has Horrible Ending I worked so long to get to that ending... it was a real disappointment! I guess it might have been better concluded in the Collector's Edition, but I'm not spending extra to find out. Decent puzzles, OK storyline until the end. Wouldn't play again.
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from CONFUSING & REPEATING HOS If you like visiting the same location again & again & again & looking through the same objects each time, this game is for you. The story could have been creepier since you have to wander through fog many times, I kept expecting someone or thing to jump out at me for a scare but no such luck, The story about the main character was confusing. The people who were there are missing for some reason, which was not made clear. And the ending left me hanging. Did she make it home? What happened to the BF after leaving the boat? Graphics were really good & most puzzles had a bit of challenge to them. I would recommend this game because I was not sure where it was going, which was intriguing but my questions were not answered. Still, it wasn't that bad & I think most people will enjoy the creepfest.
Date published: 2012-08-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A good beginning to a great story I played this game because it was recommended by other reviewers to play this game first before playing Twisted Lands: Insomniac, which I was very excited to play. I posted a review in the collectors edition before I played the rest of the series, which after playing those games, I have changed my views on this game. Let me explain, as that was pretty vague. At first I didn't like this game very much, but when you play all three games, Twisted Lands: Shadow Town, Twisted Lands: Insomniac, and Twisted Lands: Origins, in consecutive order, it all makes sense, it all flows together. There were aspects of this game I did not like, actually more aspects I didn't like than those I did. I like a HOPA games where there is a good balance between story line, mini games, and HO's. In Shadow Town, I was highly disappointed with the lack of mini games, and the quantity of HO's. They repeat the same HO scenes far too frequently. In addition there is way too much back and forth and back and forth and back and forth for my taste.but that's just my humble opinion. HOWEVER, that being said, this game is a must play if you plan to play Insomniac. Insomniac and Origins are far better games and will be getting fantastic reviews from me. You NEED to play this game first. It is just that simple. I almost didn't finish this game before moving on, but I am so glad I did, bear with it, finish it, then play the other two in succession, you will be happy you did! I was.
Date published: 2012-09-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Twisted Lands:Shadow Town This game is hard to describe. You do a lot of chasing back and forth, but with the hint button to tell you where to go it is easy. A good game for HOG lovers as the are plenty of them. Few mini puzzles of which I skipped most of them. The story is hard to follow and doesn't make much sense --especially the ending. It is a good pastime, but I wouldn't want to pay full price for it.
Date published: 2012-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lackluster end This game plays great for the free demo, but as you get further into the game it was like the designers got tired. HO scenes are recycled and in areas you wouldn't necessarily revisit, and there was no logic to where you had to go to continue. There was a lot of back and forth traveling between scenes towards the end. Scenes were interesting and graphics were good though.
Date published: 2012-08-10
  • y_2020, m_9, d_29, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_7841, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Twisted Lands: Shadow Town

Gather items, solve puzzles and make spine-chilling discoveries as you explore a deserted island in Twisted Lands: Shadow Town!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.