Haunted Halls: Green Hills Sanitarium Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Haunted Halls: Green Hills Sanitarium Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(189.16 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Explore a decrepit mental asylum and find your missing boyfriend in Haunted Halls – Green Hills Sanitarium! After hearing about some wrong doings at the asylum, your boyfriend, Tim, takes off to conduct an investigation of his own. As Tim dives deeper and deeper into the mystery, his letters to you abruptly stop coming. Set off to the Haunted Halls and find him in this incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Built in Strategy Guide
  • Stunning Soundtrack
  • Wonderful Wallpapers
  • Striking Screensavers

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 529 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Halls: Green Hills Sanitarium Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(189.16 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Haunted Halls: Green Hills Sanitarium Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 45.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant!!! Absolutely love this game! only 10 mins in and already hooked! Love the other haunted halls just as much as this and can't decide between the 2!...love the adventure and storyline and just enough hidden object scenes which don't get repetitive after a while. Spooky scenes with the light switched off just add to feel of this fantastic game. :-)
Date published: 2012-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FIRST CLASS GAME While saving people from their fears, you can enjoy many good, interesting and new puzzles, with good level of challenging. The graphics are excellent, frightening and tense environment, great music. Fears are very well featured in its characters. Super recommend!
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WONDERFUL GAME COMPLETED LENGTH: Over 4 challenging, enjoyable hours at casual play STORY/GAMEPLAY: Visit Dr. Blackmore’s Green Hills Sanitarium, the last hope for the desperately psychiatrically helpless. Save 10 patients before you are able to save your friend, who failed to save the patients and instead became Dr. Blackmore’s victim himself. Good challenge throughout. Many locations, including outbuildings, and lots to do. An interactive map would have been helpful, so remember what is in each room and where that room is located so you don’t get hopelessly lost. Each patient has an interesting story surrounding the circumstances of their stay as you help them overcome their fears which have imprisoned them in Green Hills. Music is sometimes relaxing and other times as uproariously noisy as a theme park filled with kids. The HOS are rather busy but very detailed, so you shouldn’t have much of a problem finding the objects. Puzzles are widely varied and are neither mind-boggling nor simplistic. They are well done. Extremely good production values. You usually can figure out what to do, but if you get help, the hint button tells you if nothing is to be done in a location or points to where you can do something (which can be very helpful later in the game when there are several locations open). I don’t recall where this particular game is in the series, but it doesn’t matter whether you’ve played them. It is a stand-alone game with the promise of more to come. I recommend this game, as well as the other Haunted Halls, Green Hill games if you like a challenging game.
Date published: 2013-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favs The collectors edition is probably one of my favorites games thus far. Neat visuals and fun bonus game. It had a fun, creepy feel to it and love the idea of it being set in a sanitarium.
Date published: 2011-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Fun Game!! This game is one of the best I have ever played. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Good Game I really enjoyed this game its pretty cool the way that it pulls you into the story fairly quickly. It is another one of those love storys but there is just enough of doing so many different things that you don't have time to feel like you have been pulled into another one of those games. There is enough things to keep you busy and just enough bouncing you from one site to another. It is a long game of course I am talking the CE, I rather enjoy these kind of games so I usually get the CE. Anyway it is interesteing, great scenes, good music, and good story line. I do recommend this one for sure.
Date published: 2012-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the better games offered. Excellent, and challenging game.
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game This game has a little bit of everything. Hidden objects, strategy, puzzles, etc. Great game.
Date published: 2011-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant HOG Brilliant graphics. A brilliant and funny storyline, I did laugh out loud at some scenes. This game mixes perfectly horror and humor and speaks to my dark side. I will recommend this to any HOG lover.
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from haunted halls green hills sanitarium I love this game I play it over and over plus I also have the other two games that are the continuation of this game
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Psychological thriller worth the cliche Psychological thriller is a term we hear to describe countless movies and games. Its basically means that said game/movie has something to do with insanity and is generally creepy/scary/thrilling/whatever. Haunted halls is psychological thriller. And its a great one. The game is good and has the perfect difficulty, challenging but not so hard you constantly walk around wondering what on earth your supposed to be doing. The storyline is good, if you'll excuse the cliche of a boyfriend being held captive by an evil psychiatrist/doctor. Bravo
Date published: 2013-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Eerily Haunting Great Game The Idea behind looking around a haunted Sanitarium delighted me straight away, the story progression is great, as everything about the game, the end sequence left me wanting more... So I'm really looking forward to playing the next Haunted Hills Game...
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this game! I really loved playing this game, loved the storyline where I'm the girlfriend trying to save her boyfriend from a monster crazy scientist! I very much liked the scenes, puzzles, HOS's, etc. I'll probably buy the sequel, as well.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this game! I love this type of HO game! Creepy and fun, good graphics, good story...it just doesn't get any better than this! I hope they make more of this type of game, I will buy every last one!
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game this was such a good game I brought it immediately after the trial. Scary and fun!
Date published: 2012-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Haunted Halls: Green Hills Sanitarium Collector's Edition A bit on the gloomy side, but pretty interesting. Plot: Your boyfriend, Tim, disappeared after going to investigate strange goings-on at an abandoned asylum. You follow him, only to learn the place isn't so abandoned after all--the nefarious Dr. Blackmore is still there, conducting cruel experiments on people with various phobias. You have to save all the other patients before you can rescue Tim--but will you be able to get to him in time? I'm a bit of a sucker for asylum-themed games. This one was a bit murkier and the animation a bit more awkward than I'd like, but the plot was pretty interesting, in that during your searches you find case files for each patient, along with diagnosis (these go into your journal#, and you have to use these to gain access to the patients' thoughts and fears; the torturous situation each patient is stuck in reflects those fears. #For example, a man with a fear of heights needs to be rescued from a stuck ski lift.# When a game's plot is "compartmentalized" in such a way, with various little worlds you need to explore for each individual, it just makes gameplay so much easier for me. Plus, I love the feeling of going in and rescuing one person, then another, in succession. Everything nice and neat. The worlds in which the phobias manifest themselves were quite intriguing to explore, as well. A few quibbles: The diagnoses given to the patients are on the iffy side #one was something like bipolar disorder brought on by some kind of trauma, and manifesting as a fear of water...huh?#, but perhaps if one doesn't have a lot of knowledge of psychology, this can be overlooked; it's just a game, after all. The strategy guide was decent, though I needed to skip a few games, and once in a while had no idea what to do next; nothing that had me tearing my hair out in frustration, however. Aesthetically, there were some downsides. I've already mentioned the rather murky graphics #which go with the setting#; but there was also the annoyingly repetitive music. The same track kept repeating itself endlessly, and could get REALLY irritating while browsing the #noninteractive# hidden object scenes. Some of the sound effects were jarring and bothersome too, especially in the bonus chapter; at times they would distress me so much I'd flee a scene just to avoid having to keep hearing them. One particularly annoying sound effect was how, whenever you scroll over a doorway leading to another scene, it makes a loud door opening noise, whether you click on it or not; and it's quite easy to accidentally scroll over those areas. There were no voiceovers. I'd suggest the collector's edition over the standard edition, as BOTH the main game and the bonus chapter are cliffhangers! #Literal cliffhangers, as well as plot-related cliffhangers, such as, what's the deal with Dr. Blackmore, anyway?--you won't find out in this game.# So going without the bonus chapter could make things confusing, considering that the next game in the series #"Haunted Halls: Fears From Childhood Collector's Edition"# picks up right where this game leaves off. The bonus chapter is rather short, and it was kind of irksome that it's a cliffhanger, but it is a series of games, after all. The CE also comes with the expected music tracks, wallpapers, screensaver, and concept art. All in all, not the most fantastic game in the world, but a pretty decent one nonetheless. I obtained my copy of "Haunted Halls: Green Hills Sanitarium Collector's Edition" on CD-ROM through an online retailer. The game folder takes up 510MB on my hard drive. I ran this game on Windows 7 with no problems.
Date published: 2015-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A solid and interesting game I've played this game twice already and I really liked it both times. Its an interesting take in HOGs storylines because you have to help the patients of the Sanitarium with their fears. Here are the pros: - Nice, clean visuals, pleasant to look at; - The music didn't annoy me (which is saying much, considering its from ERS Studio...); - It felt great to help the patients with their fears and it was fun, too; - Considering the insight they give you on their patients and the way the story was built, I felt compassionate for them (my favorite was the one in the stamp room) ; - I thought that the addition of the "Medical Charts" was really nice and you could learn more about the people you were helping; - For once, the hidden objects scenes on this game didn't bothered me. There was a significant amount of them, but I played them just fine and it was really easy to spot the items; - The storyline was well achieved and I actually liked the main character (the one we play as); - This game was actually creepy at times!; - The main game was really long, but it was worth it; - The bonus chapter was just the right length, not short at all and you got to finally know who was that boy who had been following you around; The cons: - Just one. I felt that every single time I clicked on a close-up of any area, a new entry would be added to the "Notes". I felt frustrated with this because there were a lot of entries that were useless and there were way too many of them; Overall, "Haunted Halls: Green Hills Sanitarium" was a great and solid game, and although I liked it a lot, it brings nothing new or worthwhile to the genre. And that's why I think its easily forgettable.
Date published: 2013-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SE or CE? Info to Help You Decide You’re out to save the day…or at least your boyfriend/husband. You investigate a rundown, but not abandoned asylum. You must help 10 patients overcome their fears; they in turn provide you with items when combined will save your boyfriend/husband. Messy, messy, messy. Lots of clutter about, and that’s not just the HO. Lots of things to shuffle through and sort out. HO are junk heaps, items are very well hidden, no interactions just click and pick. No click penalty. Puzzles are variations of pipe, repeating colored lights etc. HO’s are in abundance here, fairly spaced out until towards the end of the game when it seems you have 3 in a row here, 3 more there. There’s still lots of adventure/investigation and thinking required. Hint fills very quickly. No choice of game mode, there are sparkles. Music is very pleasant…but you won’t hear it unless you turn down/off the sound effects. The sound effects are very haunting (no pun)..clanking and slamming, children…everything. No voice overs (except intro). There are chapters and you can’t access some areas until you trigger them by an action. There is little to and fro. Graphics are “dirty”, not really dark but “dingy” (?) and a little blurry, matches the theme but not difficult to see. There is text to read, but not a bad amount and the print is quite large (white text on black/dark gray background). There is a strategy guide, extras include bonus play (almost 95 % HO), music, wallpaper, screen saver and concept art. No spoiler, but unless the above is important to you, I’d recommend the SE over the CE. If you want to know what happened to the boy, only the CE will tell you. Length of play is great, maybe 8+ hours, less than 1 hour for bonus play (no skips, some hints in HO). From the cover it is not the type of game that I would choose. It was on the Olympic Special, a CE for $6.99 so why not. I tried to set the mood, played in a dark room by myself; music was low, sound effects high. It’s not scary, it just sets a certain gloomy, haunted, creepy mood….fun!
Date published: 2012-08-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Sanitarium I really liked this game. I am so glad that I bought the CE. I really liked the story. I couldn't wate to open the next door to see what was next. The extra game play is needed to understand what the next game will be about. This is the first game that I bought the CE & the SE. I also played this game twice & kept it on my computer. I guess that shows how good this game really is. I hope you will enjoy this game as much as I do.
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wow! A Well Put Together Game Worth The Money There's no doubt that a lot of work went into this game. Once again I found myself having a hard time coming up for air due to an overwhelming need to help all the patients. LOL This game has excellent length, is a lot of fun without being "funny" and is a challenge from the beginning all the way through. A few of the HOS had objects harder to find but not impossible. And the bonus story is actually a lead in to the next in this series. So if you're thinking of getting part 2 I strongly suggest you play this game first. Great game!
Date published: 2011-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good creepy game. This is a IHOG and on occasion a FRog. Loaded fine. This is a big file. Separate controls for sound/music. Cursor choice. It ran fine for me with no glitches. Game is not linear in the standard sense. You are free to roam around as your world expands. Graphics are fairly clear and crisp though at times due to ambience such as fog you will look a little harder. No dark rooms. Little touches of movement in the scenery contribute to a "live" feel. Music is very subtle and in the background. Sound effects are well done and really add to the feel of the game. HOG items are for the most part very obvious but just when you think it's easy, one will randomly come along and really stump you. This happened fairly far into the game for me and then there was some tough ones. Well hidden. Hint takes only a short time to refill and are endless. Click penalty only occurs with very rapid clicking. The cursor falls into pieces and then comes back together. I had to do this intentionally to make it happen. Mini games play into the story and some of them are really quite original and imaginative. Nice mix of easy and challenging. This is a large environment game and you will do a percentage of back and forth. You are usually rewarded with a HOG that has re-appeared in a past location. Or a puzzle you can now solve that was passed by. Length for me was 5 1/2 hours including bonus scene. The story line is just perfect for Halloween release as it has a creepy vibe playing on fear. It held my interest as I wanted to see what was going to come up next. Even the Bonus chapter followed along the main theme by continuing the story. I want to add that the version I had was slow to change scenes. Not real slow but longer than I was use to. Once I got into the rhythm of the game this wasn't a problem for me.
Date published: 2011-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from On Edge Kind of Game This game was one of most challenging I have played in a long time. I enjoyed the "freedom" of wandering around however I did get frustrated when I ran out of ideas of what to do next. The graphics are great and story is unique. I would not recommend this game to first time players of HOGs. I believe they would be frustrated and not want to try another HOG in the future.
Date published: 2011-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unique in every way.... I thoroughly appreciated this game because the developers went out of the box yet not over the top. It was bazaar and a bit macabre without being too offensive (as some games have been of late).... though toward the end it rather fizzled a bit and I had to come back at a later date to finish it. Overall a must try..... enjoyed it~~!!!
Date published: 2011-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game, except... This is a great game with very challenging puzzles and exceptional graphics. Only two problems. HO scenes one after another and most of them are very dark. Many times even when the hint points to an item, it's pitch black and still can not be seen. Some other items are very tiny.
Date published: 2013-07-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Falls short If aggravation factor was an option for rating, I would give it 5 stars. I found myself grumbling at the many HO scenes. Many objects were hidden behind other objects, others were just tiny pictures of the objects hidden in shadows and my biggest pet peeve....I'm asked to find a rope. I find it only to discover that it's not THAT rope they want me to find. Grrrrr I also strongly suggest that you do not pay for the CE. You do not get an interactive map with the CE, although it is not a game with tons of different scenes to cover. The Bonus content is not worth the extra $. The bonus game is VERY short and simple, just loaded with more HO scenes. There are no achievements to work for. No morphing object extras or anything like that. The story line is good and freeing each person from their fear is a fun concept. I just feel like it falls short in general and wish I had just got the standard version and saved some of those free game tokens.
Date published: 2013-09-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from LOTS, and I mean lots, of HO scenes I did like the storyline, it was a bit different. That being said, I thought there were too many! HOS's. (And I really like HOS's). It seemed like they were using them in place of finding things to use-it seemed a little lazy to me. Towards the end, they were non stop. Some of them were not too clear and/ or dark and made finding the objects very difficult. A lot of running around, but not too confusing. The graphics were ok, a bit simplistic. Good length. (I played the SE version.) Sometimes the things to use seemed kindof weird. Otherwise, a middle of the road game. I wouldn't NOT recommend it, but not too sure I would recommend it either-
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An OK HOG, but a bit boring This was a rather run-of-the-mill HOG which was reasonably fun to play despite not being imaginative or fresh. One HOS did have stamps with hidden items which were part of the stamp or just hidden among them. Otherwise most of the HOS were OK. Toward the end a couple fell into the tiny item hidden in a black area where it could not been seen even using the hint. One of particular note was the red pit with the skull wearing a pirate hat. I’d advise random clicking as the best way to get half way done and then use the hint extensively. Most of the items will be invisible even when “found” by the hint. Probably 85% of the HOS items are visible taking all of the HOS together. The puzzles were mainly long and boring affairs which were best skipped. They were not really hard, just boring. Overall, this was about an average HOG which showed some problems near the end where the team putting it together must have been quite rushed; it showed. Although this was a CE, I erased the game without playing the extras. I was bored with the game.
Date published: 2012-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good creepy game if you are under 16yrs old. This game was not very creepy. The visuals and audio were nothing to scream about. A lot of HOG and back and forth in this game. Some of the items that I accumulated I needed to use but had no clue how (some made no logical/common sense to me) and I had a hard time figuring out what I had to do next or where I needed to go. The patients had no voices which was ok with me since I’m not a big fan of the voice over’s. I didn’t understand why when you helped the patients they stayed in their rooms and didn’t leave the Sanitarium? I would have booked it out of that crazy place. Overall the game was “okay” and if you are a young kid you will enjoy this game. I would also like to note getting the SE is all you need. CE is a waste of monies imo.
Date published: 2012-09-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from INSANE SANITORIUM OK game. Very easy to play. No modes of play. You have a notebook. No voiceovers, accomplishment board or morphing objects. There were sparkles all the way through, including the bonus. I hate sparkles cause it makes it too easy to play but I had no way to turn them off. There were so many HOGs - every turn you made. If you like HOGs then you will enjoy this game. They were very clear and easy to accomplish. The mini games were easy, with a couple of medium. I didn't need to refer to the Strategy Guide. I used the help button once and it filled very quickly afterwards - impressive. Overall, probably a good game to play on rainy day.
Date published: 2013-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good but not the best- see full review for details I got this game wanting to try other things than my already routine fantasy-sci-fi games. From the other reviews I thought it would be amazing, but I was a little bit taken by surprise in a not so pleasant way. STORY: Classic horror story. Your boyfriend goes missing and you go at the sanitarium and try to save him. Before saving him you have to save all the other patients in the building. They are all trapped by their phobias, your boyfriend having a special disorder being afraid of losing you. There's an evil doctor frankenstein-like, that you have to defeat. The ending was a little bit unpredictable to me. Guess it will be continued in a part 2 of the game. GAMEPLAY: You have the super-common journal that is helpful only when you have to stock information. There's no map, which is a little bit annoying cause you have to run all over the place for items, from the begging to the end. You have plenty of hints that you surely need. The scene changing is pretty heavy and some things don't make any logical sense. I thank the developers for including nice strategy guide for the times i got stuck, and they were plenty. HOG&PUZZLES: Pretty difficult hidden object scenes. Had to solve some of them in 2 with my husband. The items are very tiny, transparent, or blended using unnatural colors that aren't usually used in real life for those objects. A lot of them were words that I never heard about, but probably that's just me, since I'm still adapting to english language. The puzzles were of medium difficulty, All can be done without using the skip button with patience. GRAPHICS&SOUND: The graphics of this game were beautiful indeed. The colors are not vibrant, they used a lot of browns and greens to create the creepy asylum feeling. The animations are rare, and they only occur in some scenes. The characters had no voice over. The music disturbed me. I prefer getting into the game and playing that character as good as I can, so I had to turn the music off. It was loud and it was suited only for the intense action. The sound effects are creepy indeed, disgusting in some parts, but oh well, that's why they are called creepy games. EXTRAS: After the main game ended so abruptly, I hoped everything would be solved in the bonus chapter. I was wrong. You go again to find your boyfriend, have few new areas to explore and do some minor tasks around. It's decent lenght as well, but the end was weird. I guess they need to continue the story. You also have the music, which is better outside the game when you're actually not playing. The wallpapers are included as usual and you have some raw concept art that make excellent study materials for those ho have art as a hobby. Time: about 5-6 hours it's a pretty big game I enjoyed it but it also frustrated me. It felt like a grandpa of today's new hidden objects games. The developers have way better stuff on the market than this. They are professionals so i really think they could have done better
Date published: 2012-08-12
  • y_2019, m_10, d_16, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_7888, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Halls: Green Hills Sanitarium Collector's Edition

Explore a decrepit mental asylum and find your missing boyfriend in Haunted Halls – Green Hills Sanitarium!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.