Fear For Sale: Mystery of McInroy Manor

Fear For Sale: Mystery of McInroy Manor

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(143.34 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Emma Roberts has been tasked with writing a story about an old haunted manor for Fear for Sale Magazine. The estate has been locked up for years, but a sizable donation from Emma’s editor has opened up the home for exploration. Unravel the tale of the demise of the McInroy family, and set their souls free in Fear for Sale – Mystery of McInroy Manor, a dark and mysterious Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 645 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Language
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Fear For Sale: Mystery of McInroy Manor

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(143.34 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Fear For Sale: Mystery of McInroy Manor is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 69.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great game! I enjoyed this game alot, for 2.99 at that. Fellow fishies don't be afraid of the lower priced games. I go into the trial a little bit., I know if I'll like it right away then I grab the great price. This one was really fun, only had to use it's walkthrough a couple times and it is nice and long. Give it a try even at 6.99,really worth it.
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a pleasant suprise! Entertaining and fun, spooky storey line with just the right mix of hidden object and mini games. Bought this one as a daily deal so it was a win win situation. Thanks Big Fish!
Date published: 2011-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game Interesting Story I liked this game first of all for its ambiance. I enjoy hearing frogs ribbiting and water falling etc, where appropriate, and the music was apt. The graphics were great, very clear, although I do get tired of everything always being so dirty and rusty in HO games, and this is guilty too. I liked the way a HO scene then became a regular scene once HO was done. I also liked the way you couldn't go back to a scene once all action there was complete. This saves so much toing and froing when you're a bit lost. I didn't find the game too challenging, just the right amount of thinking and spotting required. The story was interesting too, with some surprising twists. All in all, definitely a good buy.
Date published: 2011-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game! I loved it! This was a very interesting storyline! It also involved much thinking to solve the various puzzles. Yet it was relaxing to come home to after a busy day of work!!! I was sad when I got to the end; I just wanted it to go on forever! As an adult I was challenged, but my 10 year old son finished it before I did! Highly recommend this game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2011-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Disguised Love Story I really enjoyed this game! And to think I had it for months before I got around to it....due to buying many games on sale! And interestingly, I was just sent the next installment of Fear For Sale: Sunnyvale Story, for beta testing. So I look forward to playing that too! This game flowed very smooth for me...I would say just the right level of difficulty/challenge for an intermediate player....hope you like it as well. Happy gaming...and you have just got to love BFG, they are the best company. I had bought so many games on sale that I can play a new one each day to get me through the holidays, being a chronic pain person my games are very important to me since I don't watch TV! (sorry to ramble on!) BE SURE TO TRY THIS GAME...ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE A ROMANTIC AT HEART!
Date published: 2011-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fear For Sale: Mystery of McInroy Manor SE The editors of the Fear For Sale magazine have paid a hefty price for exclusive rights to investigate this haunted manor. The magazine has sent their best investigative journalist, Emma Roberts, who has a ghostly encounter within minutes of her arrival! Lady Averill greets Emma at the front gates, pleading with her to rid the grounds of the evil presence that binds her and all the other spirits roaming the grounds. The first thing Emma must do, is find out what happened that fateful night nearly a century ago when police discovered Lord and Lady McInroy dead, as well as all their servants! I've always been a huge fan of the Fear For Sale series, but for whatever reason, I overlooked this first episode, as well as the Sunnyvale, so I can't wait to find out more about the McInroy family! For an older game, the graphics are still pretty decent, which would have been over the top in it's heyday. There aren't any frills, no Morphs or Collectibles, but the storyline makes up for it. The Collector's Edition has 8 Achievements to earn, but most of them are done as percentages, for example, each HOS you complete without a hint will keep tabs such as 6/31 HOS completed without using a hint. The Hidden Object Scenes are just simple listed items with no interactions required, some items are multiples such as 3 fish, 2 crosses etc. The scenes are dark enough to be creepy, but bright enough to make items recognizable. The Mini Games are entertaining, such as turning several tokens with different shaped connectors, to allow the electrical current to flow freely from one end to the other. The Collector's Edition has 8 Achievements, Screensavers, Wallpapers, 31 Hidden Object Scenes, 15 Puzzles, Music, Concept Art, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very good game. The Mystery of McInroy Manor was a pretty good HOG. It had several very good HOS and a couple that were just too dark. The game is light on puzzles, which pleases me since I dislike and usually skip all puzzles. The story line was actually interesting, unlike many of this genre. I actually wanted to know how it would end.
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great older title! This was a fun game. The puzzle made sense the HOPs were old school, but still good. Tricky enough to be challenging, but not hard enough to be frustrating. The plot was good, not amazing, but it made sense in the very least. The extra game play while not necessary for the plot was treated with the same care as the rest of the game and its puzzles also made sense. Overall a great older title suitable for kids and adults! :)
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dont judge the game by its cover! I wasnt too sure about this game so downloaded it 1st before buying and boy was i surprised. Took a little while to get into it but i couldnt wait to find out what would happen next. HO scene were a bit hard for me but apart from that i really enjoyed it :)
Date published: 2012-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Haunted Mansion Classic! I have to admit...I didn't care for this game to begin with. It came out in 2010, so there is no map or customization and the HO scenes put quite a strain on my aging peepers, but the more I played the game, the more I liked it! This is the first in the "Fear For Sale" series about a journalist that has access to spooky places (a dream job, in my opinion). Despite the crude graphics, I found myself getting drawn into the story. If you're like me and you can't pass on a haunted house story, just give it a try!
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What lurks at McInroy Manor that caused the death of an entire family and servants? And what is the Watchman's secret? Your editor of Fear For Sale magazine has given you, Emma Roberts, Investigative Reporter, the assignment to investigate the rumors and sightings at McInroy Manor. He has paid a small fortune so that you may gain access to the Manor and he wants a story so here you are. When you arrive at the gates of the Manor, a ghost of a woman appears and tells you the grounds and manor have an evil presence that binds her and the others to the Manor and that you need to learn the truth and set them free. When the ghost disappears, the Watchman of the Manor suddenly appears and tells you no one is allowed here and to leave. Showing him your press badge, he acknowledges that you can enter and gives you a key to the Manor's front door and that you are to restrict your investigation only to the Manor. He also tells you that the place is haunted by the ghosts of the McInroy family and their servants who all died mysteriously. From a photo you dug up in the magazine's archieves, you recognize the Watchman to be the spitting image of a family friend, Dr. Berk, but of course, it can't be him as this all happened 80 years ago so you assume it must be his son. Apparently McInroy was suspected of killing his family and servants and committing sucide but other police reports also suggested that Dr. Berk may have been involved in someway. Heading to the front door, you see an evil presence that causes a statue to animate and block one of the paths and obviously does not want you here. There were rumors of demon summoning by McInroy in hopes of bringing his wife back so your investigation has much to explore and dangers to face. A journal is provided that keeps track of the story as it unfolds and clues found. There is no map but when there is nothing left to be done in a scene, the hint button provides a directional arrow to keep you going in the right direction. There is some limited backtracking and inventory items are used within a few screnes usually. Graphics are good but the evil presence appears to have been drawn by a very young person with little imagination and is more comical then scary. Music was ok but repetitive and got old after a while. There are no voices, only text, but at least you have time to read it. Background sounds include indistinct whisperings that become annoying after a while as does the thunder. Hidden object scenes are of the usual junk pile list type with some interaction with objects, however, there were no text color to indicate those requiring interaction. Only by passing your curosr over an object and having it change did you find them. Some objects are very small and partially hidden behind other objects. There are a lot of locked door puzzles and well as the usual type of puzzles frequently found in these games. The game provides a better than usual story with a satisfying ending and some twists that make it more interesting and is probably worth spending some time with if you like mystery type plots.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kept me Busy I bought this without the trial, through the bundle offer, and because I enjoyed the other Fear game I already had. I have to say, I got my money's worth. The fun factor was a bit hard to judge, because part of it is really fun and even exciting, but the running around took a lot of the fun out of it. This game definitely needed a map. Graphics are top notch, but the hidden objects are dark and hard to see at times. I had to use the hint several times to clear the scene. The hint button is useful outside the hidden objects, but it is slower than molasses in January refilling. Use sparingly if possible. The music, while repetitive varies enough not to be boring and does add something to the story. It is a Hidden Object game and if you like HOGs you are going to love this. There is one after another, but very few mini games, which is fine with me because I don't care for them. The game was very challenging in that you need to get around the estate constantly and the hidden objects are just that hidden. Some of these were extremely difficult for me, but I survived and we defeated the evil demon. The story goes along with all these games. The demon comes and posses somebody and you have to get their souls released. Pretty standard stuff. But even though you can tell there are going to be more games of this theme, it does end. That is a plus in my book. All in all if you like hidden objects, you are going to love this game. I really liked it and I feel I got my money's worth. Another winner for Elefun and I recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable game, worth playing It did not have especially crisp graphics and the HOS were also grainy, but the story was interesting, the characters were fairly well developed and the mini games were quite challenging. It was a good length and I would have needed a walkthrough a few times but the hint button led me around quite nicely, so I didn't have to use it. It is a decent and fun game without any annoying qualities (other than the NO map) but the locations were not all that far apart, so it was not really bad at all. I call it above average fun. :)
Date published: 2013-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from enjoyable Fun game. You do have to keep up with all the items you get and then remember where they go because you are always going all over the place. Not bad for HO. May not be for a beginner.
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from McINROY MANOR - A GHOSTLY TALE Based on complete game, casual mode. Average length. Storyline was fluid, with a mild creepy sensation (creepy caretaker and ghostly apparitions appearing frequently). Hints available in the HOS or to direct where you should head next in the gameplay; they recharged slowly (about 80 seconds). I did have to think a few times about where to go or what to do next. Visual effects were solid; the best effects were at the end. The HOS were fairly sized, not too dark, clear and well defined, although they were somewhat dreary. Puzzles were the usual suspects – nothing very difficult. Music itself was okay – not creepy although the storyline could easily lend itself to suspenseful music. Sound effects: see “Cons.” Cons: • An interactive map would have been nice instead of traipsing forward 4 times, then back 3. • Everytime you picked something up, there was a very annoying huff. But I enjoyed the rain sound and other effects, so didn’t want to turn off all the sound. • A nitpick: Clicking outside of a closeup screen did not close it automatically; you had to physically close it (clicking on the “X”).
Date published: 2012-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great hidden object game This review is based on the full game, which I just completed. I found this game a little longer than other HO games I have played (non collector editions), and the hidden object scenes were also a bit more challenging. The story is based on a journalist sent to a haunted manor to investigate the reason behind the hauntings. It certainly kept me playing til the end, as I wanted to know what was going on! I liked the length and general feel of the game- it was atmospheric, but not overly creepy. I didnt like some of the puzzles, which were over-easy or illogical (like needing another tool to do something you could do easily with something you already have), and there was a lot of walking around. Overall, I did enjoy this game and would recommend it for most people, although- as the game deals with ghosts and other supernatural themes- it might be a little scary for young kids.
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fear for Sale: Mystery of McInroy Manor Okay, another haunted house. But our character as a writer for an article about the haunted house? that's rather refreshing, don't you think?? The storyline aside, the graphic is not bad. I don't really like the character that looks like they are pasted on the scene but luckily they don't appear much. The game is manageable, not too difficult for a beginner like me, with lots of places to see and look, and basically you can use the tools you find almost immediately. It's not the super awesome game out there, but I still think it is worth the try :)
Date published: 2012-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy but fun This was a pretty decent game. the HOS are nicely done with some easy objects and some cleverly hidden ones. Graphics are sharp and attactive. Music is fine and not annoying. The background sounds add to the fun but don't distract. The mini-puzzles are not too frequent and are very easy so I wouldn't recommend this for an advanced player. There is quite a bit of moving back and forth between scenes using objects you've collected to keep the game moving forward. This didn't bother me as the objects needed and the locations you used them in were logical and made sense. Plus this was the only real challenge to this game - trying to remember where to use certain inventory items. The hints are excellent. Either they tell you there is nothing left to do in a particular area or they point you in the right direction. Unlike many other games they do truly help. I found this game to be relaxing and fun but not overly challenging. The diary was helpful. If you like voice-overs this is not the game for you as you needed to read instead of listen to what the ghosts had to say. I actually prefer this as many of the voice overs are poorly acted and cheesy. I would recommend this game for a beginner or intermediate who wants a relatively easy game to enjoy without stress.
Date published: 2012-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good catch of the week The visual quality was a little poor, but not so much that it would annoy me. Characters were a little poorly composed but the story was decent enough and I got a few scares along the way. I found the finding of the objects challenging enough but the puzzles way to easy, but it isn't the fastest game I ever finished so I'm happy with that. Would I ever pay full price for a game like this? No, but for a catch of the week it was great.
Date published: 2012-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining Hidden Object Game Enjoyable game, with an interesting story, lovely clear graphics, & spooky ambience. A good combination of hidden object scenes & puzzles, although the puzzles sometimes were a little easy. The game has sparkles, which is a big negative for some, but I found them fairly unobtrusive. Just a note, there are many comments in the forum about small & dark graphics, but I didn't find this at all, & had no problems on my laptop.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game PLUS = I enjoyed the interactive nature of the game, very non-linear, I was wandering all over the place to find items and finally got them all. Had to use the walkthrough a few times to help me figure out what I was doing. But this game will have great replay value for me, each time I play I will figure out my own way through trying not to have to use the walkthrough at all. MINUS = The graphics were fairly good, but a little hard to see in some of the Hidden Object scenes
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A solid effort. Managed to complete this game in an evening without getting too stuck or needing a walkthrough, so a great game for beginners and intermediate although experts might not find it challenging enough. Turn the music off to enjoy the effects............the rain, croaking frogs, thunder etc really add to the atmosphere of the game. Storyline seemed a little rushed, personally i would have liked it to have lasted longer and taken a bit more to piece the story together. Graphics were lovely and the hidden objects fairly straightforward to find. There were not many mini games (which i love) or other puzzles really so i personally wouldnt replay this one, but if you can get it reduced or free by using one of your credits then its a fun way to spend an evening.
Date published: 2012-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Hidden Object Game I enjoyed the game play but the only problem was that the graphics were on the dark side so had a hard time seeing them. It was a chalenge and storyline was different. Think when I play it again, will be easier. Puzzles were good too.
Date published: 2012-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great atmosphere! Sound FX were great, occasional thunder, frogs and other little touches were great. I didn't mind the graphics at all, on the contrary, I enjoyed a little bit more old-school aesthetics they employed. The storyline was actually great - I found it pretty engaging, along with the lovely, moody vibe the entire game had. A little bit too much back-and-forths for my taste that probably affected the overall rating. Apart from that, I quite enjoyed it!
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like it !! I Like this game but somehow some of the Visual things could be more qualified I think. Example : That Demon and his speaking style :-) Anyway... I Like it ! Thank you Big Fish.
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fear for Sale are all Great Games All Fear for Sale games are fun and pretty easy to play. There are endless hints which recharge quickly. Love the direction hint availability. I wish there had been a map.
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Hidden Object game I was trying to avoid a HO game with dark/supernatural themes because it seems that is all there is. I was unable to find one that looked any good, so to get my HO fix, I tried this one based on the reviews and screenshots. I'm quite pleased with this game, although I wish it had been a bit longer. The story isn't going to blow your mind. It's interesting enough to keep your attention, though. The graphics are very nicely done. There are no cheesy voice overs, thank heavens! All interaction is text based, which I love. I'd rather read than listen to bad voice-acting any day. The music was nice, appropriate for the setting without being so redundant that it got on my nerves. The sound FX are nice as well. It was a little difficult to remember where I left off every time quit and came back to the game, but the journal in the UI made it very easy to refresh my memory. The puzzles were not very difficult, but the HO scenes were good. Hints are effective, and I ended up using them once in a while. Overall I enjoyed this game a lot. So much that I wished it had been a bit longer. I have no reservations about trying another game in this series.
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Great! I really, really liked this game. Lots of HOS's, good scene changes, good story, and mysterious music. Nothing drags in this game. The only reason it's not a great game is that the graphics are a wee bit murky, but that just adds to the challenge in this game. I'm playing it for the second time, and liking it better than the first time around!
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent! Fear for sale has a very interesting story! The more I play, the more I'm attracted to it! The story makes me continue to play the game! For me, I think the puzzles are a bit easy. I can easily do them well without reading guide much. The scenes are not too dark to find the objects, but the objects are hidden very well! The music is good, and brings the mood well. Overall, I'm satisfied with the game and the ending!
Date published: 2012-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Artistic HO Game Scenes I could have lingered in HOS alone just for excellent artful detail. A nice flowing game with special attention to graphics and sound effects, in my opinion. I loved the twilight/dusk tones in graphics and minimal travel scene to scene made game play really pleasant. Good HO game after a long day!
Date published: 2012-04-05
  • y_2020, m_12, d_3, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_8609, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fear For Sale: Mystery of McInroy Manor

Emma Roberts has been tasked with writing a story about an old haunted manor. Help her explore the McInroy Estate!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.