A Girl in the City

A Girl in the City

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(87.05 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

With her journalism degree in her pocket, Laura leaves her small-town home to take a bite out of the Big Apple! She dreams of becoming a freelance journalist with a major New York women’s magazine, but the road is long and fraught with pitfalls! Help out a Girl in the City in this fun Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

  • Awesome locations
  • Stunning puzzles
  • Set out to conquer New York!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 111 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

A Girl in the City

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(87.05 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
A Girl in the City is rated 2.7 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Same Ole Same Ole I really wanted to like this game, unfortunately the only thing I actually enjoyed were the mini games. The hidden objects aren't "hidden" they are just microscopic. There are hidden stars that you can find in each scene to refill the hint button but there is a maximum of 6 so basically when you play the mini games you are supposed to receive 2 clues or hints but if you have 6 hints already, you get nothing. There are several mini games to play such as a game of sliders and blocks where you have to move pizza's of different shapes in order to slide the selected larger pizza into the oven.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eh... A lovely game to blow some time, but definitely not intense enough to get you really involved. Simple puzzles, simple mini games. Annoying music. There are some glitches in the HOS, so be aware!
Date published: 2012-10-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay for a DD Very short. Cute story. Easy HO and Minigames. Okay for 2.99 but not for more.
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from BORING I didn't find it hard to figure out, just found it boring. Would be a great entry level game for beginners to HOGS. Mini games are ok. They give you options to play different ways or skip altogether. I, personally, don't like games that give you a couple of items at a time to find. I prefer the whole list at the start. Not a bad game overall
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was a great game up until.... It asked for me to find a black handkerchief and the item in the picture was a red one. That was enough to make me not buy the game. If it weren't for that, and who knows what other errors there might be, I would have given it an excellent on fun factor and recommended it.
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OLD FASHION HOG This game for me was like the very first hog games you played..everything right there in the open ..just click and click..no challenge at all ..the graphics are clear..music ok..but it is very laid back....it's not a buy for me even as a DD but you should at least check it out for your self..smiles to you
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute H.O. Puzzle Adventure Game This game has clear crisp graphics, challenging minipuzzles, different h.o. scenes. A very bland storyline and a boring repetitive soundtrack that was so bad I shut the sound off. it is okay for a $2.99 special or with a free game coupon but not a credit.
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Credits To this Game :) this game was very good and i give credits to this game with open heart <3 :D
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Programmer needed to do more research NYC's E-W roads are "Streets" not "Avenues". The N-S roads are correctly labelled "Avenues". This was slightly annoying for one very familiar with the Big Apple but did not detract from the game.
Date published: 2012-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty typical HdO game This is a typical HdO game. It may be one of their better works, but it is still low-quality. The dialogue is stilted English, and the graphics are not high quality. Some items are hard to find, while others are just "given" to the player. Some items are mislabeled as well. If you like the HdO brand/series, you may enjoy this game. However, if you are not a fan of the brand, this is just another game to avoid.
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could have been an ok game but... Based on the demo alone, this game is quite boring and slow paced, with one dimensional characters, and a cheesy plot. It could have been at least worth the DD price, if the HOs hadn't been microscopic. (I guess that's what the devs consider adding challenge to this game, and why I knocked off a star from just being okay.) The graphics are outdated, and a bit cartoonish. No VO, so there is a lot of reading of instructions, and you are required to click through all dialog. The puzzles can be kind of complex, and there are a ton of instructions, as there are so many moves that you can make to complete each puzzle. The sound effects can get really annoying...such as a whole bunch of people yammering in a busy restaurant. I guess the devs thought that it would add to the games atmosphere, but I found it grating on the nerves. All in all, not even worth the DD price.
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Much Talking This is a good game spoilt by too many captions between scenes, I would not buy it because of this
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ho hum!!! This was another romantic type girlie game. Laura, a qualified journalist tries her luck in the big city to find a job, a career and romance. The graphics were reasonable and colourful, the dialogue, not too bad, the music, bearable and the hidden objects were reasonably easy to find, except a few which were a bit small. The puzzles were the same old, same old, not much variation, not much challenge and almost all the same type of puzzle with subtle differences, same concept with variatons in locations and items. This game did not inspire me nor did it excite me, as a matter of fact, I found it quite boring and not for me.
Date published: 2012-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cant figure it out... This game was very strange...i don't have the patience to try and figure games out...I don't mind a challenge when i know what it is I'm supposed to do.
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Short Short Short The game was okay enough, not hard at all, very easy. But it only took me a hour and a bit to finish it, was very dissappointed for the money.
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor quality. Save your money HO items extremely Small. Poor picture quality, Items poorly described. Ex. headphones called semi-helmets (?) Moving to the next level, objects to be found fail to appear at the bottom of the screen and you cannot continue the game. If you're from NYC you'll have a tough time finding the avenues as they mean streets when they ask you to find avenues. There are no 49th or 50something avenues in the city. Save your money even if it's on sale !
Date published: 2016-02-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The worst game I've played From the reviews I read, I thought this would be just what I like. Instead I deleted the game after playing for an hour -- an the only reason I stuck with it that long was because I hoped it would get better. Objects are often hard to see because of the slant of the view, which foreshortens and distorts the item (like the key in the fashion editor's office). Other objects are incorrectly named, for example "quill pen' for fountain pen or "towel rack" for a crumpled up towel. The story is uninteresting. The animation of the main character's facial expressions (limited to a smile and a frown) is so lame it's comical. There are so many good games out there, don't waste your time with this one.
Date published: 2015-07-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hated it This game is going back at least six years with awful graphics, storyline didn't have any thought at all and everything about this game was terrible. It's also an HDO game but I thought I would give the game a try as it's only fair to developers to give them a chance, unfortunately it's the last time I will ever download another hdo game.
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do Not Buy This Game...Please... A Girl in the City is short, boring, the hidden objects are not hidden. This is just a bad game. Sometimes I like to play harmless little games like Barn Yarn. They are cute, have a good storyline, and I can watch tv or talk on the phone while playing them. Those games are cute. Right now I am playing Easter games because it's the season after all... A Girl in the City is not cute. It just left a bad taste in my mouth. I am going to delete it so I don't have to see the name in my list of games. If I could have given it less than one star I would have. The "story" is ridiculous. Laura goes to New York. Several times she "passes out" for no apparent reason. Instead of going to a doctor, she just carries on with the next scene. Many of the people she interacts with are shadows, they don't ever rate a drawing. Laura's outfit never changes, no matter where she is supposed to be. I found this unsuitable for children due to the references to consuming liquor, even though we must assume that Laura is over 21 since she has a journalism degree. Thank goodness I didn't pay for it. It was still overpriced. It would have been overpriced if they paid me to play it...sigh... I have been on Bigfish for a long time and I think this is the worst game I ever accidentally got. I kept thinking it had to get better, but it never did. Shame on whoever put this thing together. May they have to play it over and over, and over, for eternity. Ugh.
Date published: 2013-03-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Huge disappointment! I love BF games but this was is the worst I've seen. The graphics were terrible... everything was in plain sight. I didn't spend more than 5mins into the game before exiting and deleting. I saw it was on sale the other day so I got it w/o trying it first.... big mistake! If you were a beginner or like simplicity then I'd suggest this game for you but if you like a challenge then I don't recommend.
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from READ FORUM MEMBERS' STATEMENTS Personally, I will NEVER again buy ANY game from these particular game developers and MANY of us in the forum will not as well. The game is too complicated with FAR TOO limited number of hints, with EXTREMELY small objects to find, and with mini-games that DEMAND speed as well as accuracy to complete with TOO MANY occurrences of having to do repeats.
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not a fun game Do not waste your money on this game
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Puzzle and Hidden Object I cannot understand how to play this game. It is too complicated. I need directions in order to continue the game.
Date published: 2012-03-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from RUBBISH !!! This game is just rubbish, I would not play the whole game if they paid me too!!!!
Date published: 2012-03-26
  • y_2019, m_11, d_19, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_9185, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

A Girl in the City

With her journalism degree in her pocket, Laura leaves her small-town home to take a bite out of the Big Apple!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.