Escape from Thunder Island

Escape from Thunder Island

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(174.99 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Join the more-brave-than-brilliant aviatrix Rita James on a quest to rescue her kidnapped father in Escape from Thunder Island! Rita and her small crew land on the dangerous island city of Zenadoo, a place filled with jungle killers, flesh-eating monsters and never-before-seen bloodthirsty beasts of the Underworld! Take on this Hidden Object Adventure game and save Rita’s father!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 206 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Escape from Thunder Island

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(174.99 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Escape from Thunder Island is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Nice Enjoyable Game ... Nice Graphics, Sounds & Story ... Surprisingly Big Game For Such A Small Download ... And Well Worth The Deal Of The Day Asking Price ...
Date published: 2013-09-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from VERY ENJOYABLE GAME This game was a nice change from a lot of the doom and gloom, dark games that seem so prevalent. It included a token search option that, supposedly, would provide additional play if you were able to find 80 of them throughout the game. I'm pretty sure I didn't meet this requirement, as the game ended with no further action. I may decide to play it again, just to see if I can hit the mark. It has a map, which comes in very handy when trying to figure out what to do next. The hint button was good, particularly when used in conjunction with the map. I wish I had figured out the map sooner, as it would have saved some time by reducing the need to go back and forth between locations. I did have to refer to the walk through a few times. My biggest complaint is the many puzzle mini games that were very hard to do. The dark, subdued colors, mostly brown and tan, blended together and the border offered few clues. The subject of the puzzles did not seem to have any connection to the game. Here the hint button helped a lot, as it was specific to the mini game, and I used it a lot. All in all, a good, enjoyable game.
Date published: 2012-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pulp fiction HOG! The story and cut scenes are straight out of pulp fiction (the genre, not the movie), which I enjoyed. I also loved the humour in the hovers/tooltips throughout the game, and the running gag of the monkey constantly having to save the completely oblivious humans. The hidden object scene graphics were pretty ugly, but not in a way that bothered me, if that makes sense. The location graphics looked pretty good, though. The game is organized into chapters of 5-10 locations each. I appreciated that there were variations on the hidden object scenes, including find X of a certain type of object. I also liked that sometimes there were riddles in the word lists, instead of just the name of the object. You can refer to the map to see which locations still have actions to take (hidden object scene, puzzle, inventory item, etc.). The map goes a step further than other games as you can hover over locations and it gives you a more specific hint about what needs to be done there. It's essentially a built-in strategy guide. The puzzles were actually pretty fun, though nothing too difficult. In many ways this game was pretty average, but the fun pulp fiction story and feel bumped it up to 4 stars for me.
Date published: 2012-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What a nice game Quirky sense of humor for storyline and cutscenes. Nice entertaining casual game. Minipuzzles not hard, so if you're looking for mindnumbing grind to puzzles this ones not for you. It's a crazy, fun relaxing story and game if you just want an easy play with nice storyline.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A nice game for beginners This is the prequel game to Rita James and the Race to Shangri La. This is a cute game, not overly taxing. Casual players will enjoy it. It does contain HOGs but the story line and other puzzles are distracting enough that you won't mind the HOGs if you don't particularly like them.
Date published: 2012-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Escape From Thunder Island Not a bad storyline, but the tasks are tedious, and repetitive, to make matters worse, the items are so tiny they aren't recognizable. Your airplane crashed on Thunder Island where your father was heading an expedition. You scour the island searching for missing puzzle pieces, cogs, gems, tools and other items that will help you progress. Items buried require you to dig them up with a shovel, or use the machete to whack down jungle weeds, a slingshot to knock down items to high to reach, but after several times this task becomes annoying. The Hidden Object Scenes are list finds, some are multiple finds and there is one item that requires an interaction of putting all parts together by clicking and dragging parts to the main item until complete. Again most of the items are teeny tiny and you have no idea what the item is, other items are only partially shown on the edges of the screen. There are Mini Games that are pretty simple such as putting tiles together to complete an image, or figuring out patterns through trial and error. There are 80 gold coins scattered about the island that will unlock a reward but it doesn't say what the reward actually is. So far this is the best of the Escape series, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-05-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pros and Cons to This Game I wanted to love this game, but ended up liking it...most of the time. You are on a mission to rescue your father who is stranded on a deserted island with a volcano ready to erupt. Pros - Voice overs were well done. Most of the cut scenes were entertaining. The monkey, who is your side kick, was a very entertaining. The first third or so of the game was excellent. The ending was satisfying. Most of the mini games were fun. Cons - The iHOS were really bad - they were dark, most of the items were small, some were almost off the screen. After collecting the required number of coins throughout the game, the "bonus" was an extra "scene" at the end of the credits. The scene was short and not worth the effort of finding the coins. The game grew more tedious the longer it went. There was no skip button for the mini games. The inventory tray is a mess. When you click through the inventory, it loops around, so you never reach the end. This is a long game and you have to use the hint button at least once or twice in every iHOS. The graphics in the cut scenes are cartoonish, but well done. About half way through the game, the tone seemed to change....or maybe I was just tired of the abundance of "find the puzzle pieces and make a picture" mini games. I played to the end, but am not sure why. I would recommend this game as long as you could get it on sale or as a BOGO. The first third or so of the game was really fun.
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better! I had to keep forcing myself to play the game. It has a good story; but, the graphics were difficult to focus on. The hint button isn't that helpful in telling you where you need to go next. You know what you need to do, but no directions. The puzzles don't have any directions and difficult to figure out. Plus, there is no skipping the puzzles. Very frustrating when you don't know know what to do.
Date published: 2013-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SEARCH IN THE LOST CITY OF ZENADOO YOU GET: Automatic widescreen 3 volume controls Map showing current objectives GOOD: Sound effects are very good - you hear realistic waves crashing, etc. Voice overs are also very good Lots of HOS Good ratio of HOS to puzzles Sense of humor with Marbles the monkey Getting a reward for finding all 80 coins NOT SO GOOD: HOS are average - but there are frequently very tiny items to find that are hidden too well (like ants against brown backgrounds) Inventory tray is too large - it holds so many things and when you try to cycle to the beginning or end of the tray, the objects just keep recycling. If you need 5 planks, the tray could be made a lot less large by putting all 5 planks together instead of each plank having its own space. Other reviewers have told the story, so I won't repeat it. This might be a good game for HOG newbies or for those who just want to relax and play.
Date published: 2013-09-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Flawed, spunky game has its attractions This is not a great game. It's a "buy it on sale" or "buy it when you've played everything else" game. Having said that, it has its points. The pros are about the approach to the story and characters. The cons are, unfortunately, about game play. The characters and story are interesting and engaging. There is a sense of humor here which is rare. Chapters are separated by old Flash Gordon-style cliffhangers, complete with "tune in next time" title cards, and the adventure is fairly rollicking. Characters are drawn in somewhat crude, but lively, comic book style and include a daring pied-faced monkey with an eyepatch. And for those (like my husband) who hate that in most HOGs tools disappear after one use- what a treat! You get to keep using your tools throughout the game. Why throw away a perfectly good crowbar? You just know it will come in handy again. There are also bonus objects to find, which I enjoy. The game is, unfortunately, inconsistent in most respects. The "luck" theme in the story is heavily played in the beginning, and then dropped suddenly. The graphics are cartoony in cut-scenes and not in game play scenes. There are a few annoying bits of illogic- a puzzle piece "embedded in stone" comes free not with a crowbar but with a shovel, for instance. Items are sometimes misclued, but generally not too badly. And the worst offense for most players, I think- HOS are often murky, dark, and rather fuzzy. This will be a breaking point for many, but I found that if I just accepted that I would use a hint or two for just about every HOS, it wasn't too bad. The story and style compensated for these drawbacks fairly well. In short: I recommend it, but not highly.
Date published: 2012-10-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK game, but cartoonish Enjoyed the game, but did not like that it had too many cut-scenes, I want to play the game not watch it! Enjoyed the monkey w/ the pirates eye patch always to the rescue! A little too cartoonish for me, I prefer more detailed graphics. I wish I had tried the demo first
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What a pity! It starts so well, but ... The cutscene in the beginning is cute and interesting. The drawings are well done, animation is very good, and music is really great! 1st chapter: Plane Crash: the protagonist, along with a little monkey (with a pirate eye patch), begins the adventure. Some scenes are funny and it has ironic and amusing comments. - Several pieces of a puzzle to find - most often by digging. - Many HOS - interactive and good challenging ! - Many places to go, lots to do ... you go back and forth, gathering material (most often using machete) to help overcome obstacles. - Don't forget to collect golden coins to unlock reward! 2nd Chapter: Surprise....!!?? No !!! Is almost the same ! - to dig pieces for another very similar puzzle - use a machete to get what you need - HOS - very similar scenes too. and...keep collecting coins .... Even the scenario is similar ! So...I had enough ! But, recommend it because of the 1st chapter.
Date published: 2012-01-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Entertaining Good storyline, relaxing and with bright grafic and
Date published: 2011-11-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from If you are color blind, skip this game Since most people skim these reviews, let me start right off and reapeat the title, skip this game if you are color blind. Like me, a certain percentage of the population can't discern colors well and that makes this game impossible. It is a pet peeve of mine that too many game developers make games whose puzzles are dependent on colors. So I really hate this part of the game. It was created by the people who brought us the Tex Murphy adventure games of the 90's so I really wanted try this one and really wanted to like it. The story line is fun, the characters are a hoot and the voice acting is terrific. The music is another huge plus. But the errors in ths game are just lazy. There are places where you are required to see symbols on the walls, but the lighting is so bad, no one can see them. That kind of poor design is just a sign that the company didn't put in enough time to beta test and leaves me feeling like this was a throw away game in an attempt to raise funds for the next Tex Murhpy. It has it's good points, but way too much frustration to make it fun.
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Escape From Thunder Island This game was just not for me. I was bored from the beginning as there was no plot! I even left the game 2 times and still could not find any interest. Graphics were very good, sound was good, but there was no fun factor for me. Some of the HO itemes in scenes were very difficult to find. I do not recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-06-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from this game could be better if they only made it better, which they didn't. I played this game for a few just to get frustrated, if I play a game and I feel frustrated and it's not because I have a mosquito buzzing in my room it's because the game was not well thought off while being created! This game lacks imagination and performance. Hidden objects are small and at times hard to find. First scene there were 3 insects I had to find and guess what, they were nowhere to be found, they waited and I wasn't fast enough so they took off! Hint recharges, not fast enough to get over the frustration of looking for objects that are well hidden and don't want to be discovered! They really took this hidden objects idea and pushed it to the limit in this game. Hidden you say? how about camouflaged! ah! see if you can find them now! Needless to say but I'll say it anyway, I do not recommend this game. I of course uninstalled it not even gonna finish the demo if I wanted to look for microscopic objects I would be a scientist working in a lab.
Date published: 2012-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This Game Has Too Many Issues. This review is based on 20 minutes of the demo. First the music volume was extremely loud. Of course I went immediately to options and turned down the volumes. However when I pressed play and logged in the volumes all returned to their extremely loud sound. I turned it down again. I only mention this because I take these same steps with every game I play and never has this happened. Secondly I never saw any of the 2 cut scenes -- I could hear the volume but not see the characters. I kept clicking on the screen and skipped all the dialogue. I have no idea what the story is about. Items to pick up are very small. Please play the demo and read some reviews. This is a no buy for me and I don't recommend it,
Date published: 2014-10-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rubbish I detest producers who insultingly penalises if you click too many times ie: 3 or more, the hog scenes are dark and far from clear in the first place, and i had to click many times to eventually click off an item, cant be putting up with that! also its really old technology, stilted, and not much fun. 7 minutes of this game was enough for me, and i certainly do not recommend this rubbish. The Producers take Note!, many dislike this penalising when one needs to click at a thing more than once to capture the object, especially if theyve poor eyesight!!! DONT penalise, its archaic to do so
Date published: 2013-09-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from need big glasses the hidden objects are hard to find you need big glasses if they Everything is small, and the recharge doesn't charge fast enough. even my son got bored with it after 5 minutes cause he had a hard time finding the objects. Anyone got a magafine glass so I can see what I'm looking for
Date published: 2013-09-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Hard To Read When I play an HO - what I don't want is to have to try and see the list of objects that I'm looking for. The font, font size and colors of the items lists make it far to hard to enjoy the game at all. I want to look for hidden objects ... not try to decipher the list itself.
Date published: 2011-11-19
  • y_2019, m_6, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_10661, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Escape from Thunder Island

Join the more-brave-than-brilliant aviatrix Rita James on a quest to rescue her kidnapped father in Escape from Thunder Island!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.