Nancy Drew: Shadow at the Water's Edge

Nancy Drew: Shadow at the Water's Edge

PC

Adventure

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

(Large File: 957.92 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Sorry, no trial version available.

Nancy Drew heads for Japan where she’s staying at a traditional ryokan (inn) for a little RnR with Bess and George, but when reports of a vengeful ghost start scaring away the guests, Nancy’s vacation takes a turn for terror! It’ll be up to you, as Nancy Drew, to uncover the secret that lies beneath the surface, before the ghost can take its revenge in Nancy Drew: Shadow at the Water’s Edge!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1113 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Nancy Drew: Shadow at the Water's Edge

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

(Large File: 957.92 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Sorry, no trial version available.

Customer Reviews
Nancy Drew: Shadow at the Water's Edge is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 49.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scary and fun This game is scary! Music is very creepy and sad. Graphic is excellent. Fun characters, puzzles, and activities. It was sometimes funny, too. I'm so hooked on ND games.
Date published: 2012-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatttttt Game Loved this Nancy Drew game, lots of fun!
Date published: 2012-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite I've played almost all of the Nancy Drew games and this one is my favorite, mainly because I loved the puzzles. I love Sudoku and nonograms and I wish I could find more of the renogram type puzzles out there now that I've finished this game. It was long, but I was kind of trying to draw it out so I could play all of the puzzles, but there is a lot of running around talking to everyone. I liked the spooky atmosphere and I really enjoyed figuring out the map, but I did like that you only have to do it once for each location. Great game!
Date published: 2012-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another win for Nancy Drew! I love the Her Interactive games. :D They're always engaging, visually appealing, and fun to play for everyone in the whole family. I love that they went to Japan for this one! Highly recommended!
Date published: 2012-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Nancy Drew Game I have a large collection of Nancy Drew games, both physically and those from Big Fish. My daughter and I love playing the games and she especially was excited to see Nancy Drew in Japan. One thing I like about ND is that when she travels the world, she becomes immersed in the local culture. Shadow at the Water's Edge was no different. You travel around Japan and the puzzles are also Japanese-based. If you love Soduko, Renograms, and Nanograms, then you'll love the minigames here. Of course, Nancy always has to have a job, and in this case, she tutors kids in English, so you'll have papers to correct. There is a level of creepiness to the game and there was one time where I heard my daughter let out a small scream when a ghost jumped out at her. I will admit, I also jumped when I came across the same scene. However, some of the scenes and even the ghost itself reminded me of the movies "The Grudge" and "The Ring," which were originally Japanese horror movies before being remade in America. Some of the puzzles were difficult, but otherwise challenging. Any fan of ND will know that there has never been a skip button for puzzles. That's usually found in Hidden Object Games, never point-and-click adventure games, which is what ND is. So, if you require a 'skip' button, then this game is definitely not for you. In my opinion, the culprit was a lovable character, but their motive was a bit weak. I was also disappointed that Nancy didn't fight off the culprit, instead just gave the person a slap on the wrist and a choice. So the ending, while there were two different ones, was a bit disappointing. Overall, this game was a great one and I would recommend it to anyone who is a Nancy Drew fan as well as anyone who's been curious about Nancy Drew or is a fan of the Japanese culture.
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Nancy Drew Honestly I am biased. I love all the Nancy Drew games. It's just my thing. Challenging, funny, love to explore every possibility. I try to get all the awards at the end so for me, hours of play. This ND game had great graphics and was slightly scarey.
Date published: 2012-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG, What Happen, and were is my SKIN! AHH! Scary Game, And yet verry Fun This game is suspenseful, fun, skin crawling out of your body, hard/fun, hard on the dialog fun! this game will take you the little experience in Japan. this game will also have very detailed graphics, and that means more jumping off of your computer. this game is about a confusing no explanation murder. Now that person is now a Japanese ghost! and you don't want to mess with her if your up for the challenge. due to the recent events in the place that you are staying at, killed peoples spirit to ghost hunt. ill recommend for people to play this game, if you wont be scared. plus this game story log is really twisted, so ill say its for people who are 14 and up. (the puzzles are really!!! hard!!!) Dislike: i did not like it when you are being scared all the time at the unexpected time and place,
Date published: 2012-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game this is a good and challenging game especially the part of the picture frame puzzle. it was a fun game to play and i was surprised to figure out who did it
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "VERY AWESOME MYSTERY GAME" I loved the graphics n story !
Date published: 2012-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Every sleuth will love this!!!
Date published: 2011-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery Game I love the thrill of the game. It was fun to have my skin crawl,
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Better Nancy Drew Games This game was delightfully creepy. Some of the mini-games were really fun. My 8 year old daughter was hooked on one that was a touch too hard and I got to do it over and over with her. I'm sure I'm smarter for it. As usual, the graphics are great and the story is fun. The grandmother's accent is completely unlike any Japanese accent I've ever heard, but all else is great.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved This Game! I absolutely loved this game! The graphics were fabulous and you really felt like you were there in Japan. Even though it is a murder mystery type, there is a lot of fun elements to this game, like riding the train, playing arcade games and helping the one character prepare 'Bento' food packages-a puzzle. I really didn't want this game to end but it had a satisfying conclusion.
Date published: 2011-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Scary and entertaining Ive been doing all the ND games in order of release, and this one is just wonderful. I really enjoyed playing it and the biggest miracle was that navigation was fairly decent this time around! I would like to point out, this game is premised on a "Japanese" theme, so it stands to follow that there will be themed puzzles and such in the game - the robotic cat is an example. Fun Factor : Loads of fun here and all nicely themed puzzles and games. In addition, game time freezes while you are doing them. YaY! I personally love Sudoku, and Nanograms are easy enough, but I did need a walkthrough to complete the Nonograms. The puzzle box was a headache tho. The Pachinko game is fun at first, but does get a little boring after the first round, so fire them all off as fast as you can and just let the odds work in your favor. There are some frightening challenges to get your heart pounding as well. Visual / Sound : Awesome! The sound effects and music perfectly set the mood and help to immerse you. The graphics are really good and at times will give you a a good scare! LOL Voice acting was .. ok. Only Miwaka sounded right and the rest.. really bad impersonations. Level of Challenge : Overall, there is plenty to keep you busy and difficulty ranges from novice to expert level. Upside, you get to use the amazing train system, but the downside is you can only travel to 4 locations. No sight seeing which was a real disappointment. Once you manage to navigate your way to each destination, the next time around it will auto nav for you (thank goodness!) Storyline : Ok, so here is one of the weak spots of the game. There was sooo much they could have done with this, but didn't. The story isn't really that great, and the side story is just.. bland and leaves you scratching your head in confusion. The Historical and cultural components were fun, but left so much out. For some reason after the 10th ND game, the historical / educational components went severely downhill and seems to just get progressively worse. Fortunately, this game offers so many other perks that you can overlook the pathetic storyline and still enjoy it. This is one of the best ND games as far as immersion goes and I would highly recommend this game! If you are a novice to ND games, you may want to start with one of the easier games first so you can get a feel for how ND games work.
Date published: 2014-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Japanese Ghost Story Nancy Drew goes Japan. Bess and George are in the same city for an expo, but - as usual - she only contacts them via phone. She should have stayed with them, cause she ends up in a traditional Ryokan, which is supposedly haunted. The Good: + all the Japanese clichés are in there (reserved family, self-made clothes, ghosts, ceremonies...) + Nonograms, Sudoku and Renograms + hard Bento logic puzzle + scary at times (secret bath! WHOA!), mitigated by the fact that it's quite predictable when the haunts are coming + two different endings (which aren't really that different) + spot on voice acting (Japanese accents did not sound fake to me, those roles were cast with Asian people) + more phone interaction with Bess and George... The Neutral: o ...but they don't give you many hints, if any o not quite logical: you are snooping through the Ryokan and night and nobody notices at all o also not quite logical: the Subway Puzzle. Say you have to take the "U1" for three stations - would you get off the train twice to board the next train of the same line again? (at least they give you a short cut after the first time) The Bad: - only three locations outside the Ryokan - plot hole: you have to stay in Yumi's Apartment because of no more trains that are running - I have taken trains at later times already - the game does not tell you how often you have to repeat Bento and other things to get an award Bottom Line: The neutral and negative points are fairly negligible if you are into scary, puzzle-heavy adventures. Definitely one of the better Nancy Drew games.
Date published: 2012-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Greay Mystery This is another fine addition!
Date published: 2012-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One that will make you jump I have always enjoyed ND games - this one will make you jump at least once - much better than the previous release. Enjoyed the mini games that I had to fine them on line to play. Nice job!!1
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from creepy fun In terms of atmosphere, this is one of the best Nancy Drew games, with plenty of spooky noises and strange happenings, and a mysterious family curse to solve. Like the other Nancy Drew games, this one is much tougher than most HO games- at several points I had to read the walkthrough because I was completely stuck. There are also a lot of number-puzzle type games that you have to play (no skipping!) in order to continue through the game, and these got tedious after a while. I also wished I could fast forward through Nancy's sometimes lengthy conversations with the other characters. But overall, it's very well done and worth buying if you liked some of the other games in this series.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Adventure Game Another entertaining Nancy Drew game. The characters are engaging, the atmosphere is spot on, and the graphics lovely. The biggest negative was the constant back & forth to do singular tasks, & also as you were teaching during the day, only having the afternoon & evening to get things done, was a little limiting, & tedious at times. In saying that, this game had some very entertaining puzzles, especially the Suduko, Renagrams & Nonagrams - just loved those.
Date published: 2011-11-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from "The Ring" comes to ND I didn't care for this game. I was excited to play this after finishing "The Ghost at Thorton Hall" which is a newer one. Unfortunately, this is nothing like it, and I was really disappointed. Pros: -The scenery, particularly the garden is very nice -The subway is a pain in the butt, but you only need to do each station once and then you can fast track to any station. Thank god. I would have quite the game out of pure annoyance if they had made you go through the whole thing every time you needed to run around. -The robotic cat was adorable. Cons: *sigh* -There should always be a skip button for the dialogue. Especially if it is long, and the character's speech is so incredibly slow. I kept reading it at my own pace, then I would have to sit and wait (and wait...and wait...) for the character to catch up. Dialogue is a major part of this game, so get comfy, because you aren't going anywhere. -There isn't really a lot to do. Most of the time you are listening to long dialogue and walking back and forth between empty scenes. I say empty, meaning there are no tasks required there. They serve no purpose other than to fill space for you to walk around. Personally I need a balance between being actively involved (i.e.) solving puzzles or collecting inventory items, and being inactively involved (i.e.just walking or talking). Too much of the latter. - The story line is pretty identical to the movie "The Ring" or "Ringu" for the Japanese version. If you have seen either, you pretty much know the story here. -There is pretty much only one thing to do at a time, and they need to get done in exact order, before there is another task that opens up. It's a very linear gameplay. Overall, I can't really say I'd recommend this. I would play "The Ghost at Thorton Hall" instead.
Date published: 2014-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Must like Sudoku I'm a big fan of Nancy Drew games; I've played almost all of them. However, I found Shadow at Water's Edge to be a mixed bag of good and not-so-good. As far as the "creepy" element, this game ranks high on the ND list. The characters/plot line are wanting somewhat; a few of the characters are believable and interesting, others just plain annoying. There is enough suspense and intrigue to keep with it, but somewhat anti-climatic throughout. As far as the games and puzzles, this is where I felt the producers fell flat. Little variety; Challenge depends on your taste for certain games. Overall, this is a ND game not for the beginner, but for the intermediate who likes a good scare, yet doesn't mind monotonous puzzles and riding a rail to nowhere, for no reason other than - it's a Nancy Drew game.
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as some of the others... I liked a lot of the other Nancy Drew games more than this one
Date published: 2012-10-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful Setting, but Tedious to Play This game has beautiful graphics and a good taste of Japanese culture, including some puzzles, but I found it tedious to play. The tedium comes from having to talk way too much to all the characters. They said very little to advance the story and mostly just repeated their narratives over and over. Some of puzzles are different from most Nancy Drew games. True to the setting, some puzzles are Japanese-style paper and pencil puzzles. A nice change from the usual, but probably not for everyone.
Date published: 2012-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great, but not quite Japanese... When I first heard that this game will take place in Japan, I was so excited (especially the trailer that shows in the previous game), the game itself is creepy but too bad there're quite a few 'holes'. First, the characters don't speak Japanese accent except Miwako who is voiced over by a Japanese. You will find it weird that Yumi pronounces 'Nancy-chan' like 'Nancy-chen', Nancy's offensive attitude like asking over and over about how a person died is really not likable. But the good thing is, you learn about Japanese culture and make Japanese bentos. The music is good and the game is long. This game is creepy and makes you think you're in 'the Grudge'.
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could Have been Great First, the good points. What this game has going for it in spades is Atmosphere. Developers really did a nice job with capturing a CREEPY atmosphere with use of music and sound effects. It's like the Shining meets the Ring. Also, there was a scene in the basement that really made me jump out of my seat. On the negative side, the way this game was set up presented a lot of time limitations in what you could get done in any given day and didn't always flow in a logical sequence, had to hit the walkthrough a couple of times to know what to do next as the hints aren't very helpful. Hated the map, and a good bit of the puzzles where not really my cup of tea and boring. The story was cool, but gameplay was not always enjoyable. Still, not the worst out of the handful of Nancy Drew games I've played. Curse of Blackwood Manor takes that honor and has officially turned me off from trying any more of the old ND games.
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not to bad :) Will always like Nancy Drew.... puzzles make you work, maybe add a little more of them
Date published: 2012-04-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What Happened? I have played two Nancy Drew games before this (Waverly and White Wolf) and I found the quality of storyline to be lacking in this one compared to the others. There was a very confused atmosphere in this game. I think it was because the developers attempted to cover all of Japan-both the hyper-traditional and hyper-modern versions. In the end, all that happened was that you got a very small portion of each as well as a feeling of being limited. As in, you feel a bit taunted, because there are so many train stations and you want to look at what they lead to-but! Nope. You are limited to the ryokan (mostly hallways leading to rooms you cannot enter), the garden (the most enjoyable destination, but nothing more than pleasant), the expo centre (sounds huge right? fully explorable in four clicks.), Yumi's apartment (consists of one room# and a miniature arcade where you can play games #after you make enough money to buy two things, you're done there). This Nancy game is practically raved about on here as being creepy and awesome. Maybe I was expecting too much from it, or maybe I'm just rebelling against popular opinion, but it was not creepy. There was one timed puzzle where my heart was pounding in a rhythm that sound somewhat like: "You do not want to know what happens next so get out of here!" You were in a small room. The door locked behind you. There was rattling coming from the wall, along with hissings, whispering and banging; all growing louder by the second. You had to unlock the door to get out by completing a puzzle. I failed to complete it. Guess what happened next. Did the ghost slither in, grab her throat and squeeze the air from Nancy's lungs? A piece of wood I could have been sure was not there before fell on her head. And killed her. Not to doubt the dangers of chopped up trees, but? Now we get into the really important stuff: There were no subplots. None at all. One of the main, if not the main, reason I love Nancy Drew games. I love finding out about things you would never expect because you're focusing on the main plot line. And Shadow at the Water's Edge was completely bare of them. I seriously, severely hope this is not going to be standard in new Nancy Drew games. Also, the characters were not very engaging for me. They weren't ridiculously unrealistic, but they were kind of annoying. Not that I don't know anyone who is annoying in real life, but you are in contact with the other characters alot in this game for questioning's sake-even versus other Nancy Drew games. I think, this being considered, the character's personalities should have been made more complex than usual-not simpler. Usually Nancy culprits have far better motives than the culprit did in this one. When they went on their usual 'this is why I did this and I am fully justified because of it' speech I was sure it had to be a cover. And, -I cringe as I write this!- not a very good one. Yet it was real. Now, I have saved the worst thing about this game (in my case) for last-THE. MATH. If you do not enjoy math, I absolutely do not recommend this game to you. Puzzles are integral to Nancy Drew games and the game focus in Shadow at the Water's Edge is graphs, math and numbers. I had to constantly use walkthroughs for the games, and many of the puzzles were still extremely frustrating for me. I wish I wasn't, but...I am really dissapointed in this game. It just is not the Nancy and I have quickly some to love.
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from too much sudoku unless you are a master at sudoku -- this is not the game for you. I couldn't finish or even get very far at all --waste of money for me. Seemed like an interesting mystery, but you should be allowed to skip the puzzles.
Date published: 2013-09-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not what i expected i didnt like this game at all. i'm trying to think of some "pros" of the game, but the only ones i can think of are these: pros: *its nice to feel like your actually in Japan, and the garden is beautiful. *i liked correcting the little kids homework. cons: *the old woman talks WAY too slow, and the conversations are WAY too long and its super time consuming and your sitting there waiting for the conversation to end. *unless your a math geek, your gonna hate some of the mini games that you HAVE to do. *who has a robotic cat? (this is just a random opinion. i thought the robotic cat was stupid and weird and unnecessary.) *too much scare, not enough sleuthing. the ghost girl popped up too much, and i didnt even finish the game i got so bored with it. i dont really care how it ends anyway. this is probably my least favorite ND game, and HerInteractive really did a poor job making the game. they definitly could have done better.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed Love Nancy drew games, I've played several. But this particular game was very disappointing
Date published: 2012-11-04
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_11267, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nancy Drew: Shadow at the Water's Edge

Uncover a secret that lies beneath the surface of a traditional ryokan! Stop the terrifying ghost before it has its revenge!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.