Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(225.18 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent in Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death! Your daughter, Angie, was traveling through Europe when she vanished without a trace. Her last letter urged you to come to a remote island town in Italy, where she had stumbled upon a dark secret. When you arrive, you learn that there has been a series of tragic deaths in town, accompanied by sightings of a legendary spirit called the Silhouette. With no way of knowing who would be next, citizens turned to Virgil, a local artist who could famously predict the future through his paintings. Now you must seek out Virgil and his mysterious paintings before you and your daughter become the next victims of his deadly predictions!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus story
  • Gorgeous art and screensavers
  • Downloadable music tracks
  • Integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 989 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(225.18 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay for beginners I expected a lot more from this game. It has promise, but it was very limited in the story line and the general layout. The story was obvious and whilst it kept me occupied for a little while I would not say it rates with so many other really good Collector's Editions... It was too short for a CE and I have come away from it feeling it was dull, so it probably was. Not for people who enjoy a long game with a good story line, lots of locations and a challenge.
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An ok game - good for kids or beginners This review is based on a complete playthrough of the main game and bonus content. This would be a good game for young children or people just starting out with the adventure games. The puzzles are simple (most are really variation on the same theme), the HOS aren't hard (no clicking penalty), and the story is decent. First - The bonus material (or why should I pay double for this game?): The bonus game isn't bad. It took me a little over an hour, maybe more. It had some decent puzzles in it, a HOS, and a 'continuation' of the main plot, with pointers to a sequel. The other stuff? There are achievements which 'unlock' replaying the puzzles and the HOS, so when you finish the game, you can go back and do them again, but they are the identical puzzles and scenes you already did. The achievements are almost all things you have to do to finish the game, so they aren't really challenges or things you can go out of your way to do. You also get the wallpapers, concept art, strategy guide, etc... My review: THE GOOD: The graphics were well done. Widescreen was actually widescreen - you got to see more 'real estate' rather than stretching out and deforming the flat screen picture. The artwork throughout the game was very nice. The storyline, though it's a common one, was presented well. The music, for the most part was fitting for the scenes. No maniac doctors or "witches" with grudges against the world. It's a simple game that doesn't try to be anything else. It's mostly all about the story, which is a good one, though it could have been told better - Kid missing, mystery in the way, predictable 'twist' ending, ends happy (for you anyway). The story is 100% tied up in the main ending. The black bar tips (Good or Bad - you're POV): They really go out of their way to tell you what you need to do, to the point of naming the tools you'll need to get, along with some bad puns (" I'll need a helping hand for this" ... two screens later you're ripping the arm off a mannequin). THE BAD: No lip synching at all. You can't check your achievements in game, and once you 'earn' one you can't see what the achievement was for, so be sure to check them before you start playing if you care about those things. No map, though you really don't need one because there aren't many areas. It wasn't a very long game. Even with only the occasional hint (though you can't really avoid the 'black bar' tips unless you close your eyes or cover the screen) it took me less than four hours for the main game, and I wasn't rushing through it by any means. THE UGLY: While the story wasn't bad, the dialog and voice acting left most of the characters 'flat' and one-dimensional. Bottom line: It's a good game for a child (anyone over five or six should be able to enjoy the game), or someone just starting out with these games or who just wants a nice story with some Stuff to Do along the way. You won't go wrong if you get the SE on this one. IMHO the bonus chapter isn't worth the price of another game, and as I noted above, you get a complete story. As a Collector's Edition though, I can only give it three stars. So long as you understand what you're getting, it's an ok game.
Date published: 2014-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from way better than yesterday I liked the demo enough to buy the game, but I finished it in 2 hours. I like my CE games to last at least 3 hours. Kudos to the devs who can make a game last longer than that. The game it's self was nice and I liked the storyline. I was bummed out when I realized who the bad person was, and that was the first time I heard the lady's voice. Do we really need the stereotype characters. The visual quality can get a bit cartoony at times, but It didn't bother me. Infact the only thing that did bother me was the fake accent of the lady.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another Great One For Some I tire of the schizophrenic scramble these developers are taking these days. Was this another great one for Elephant?? Yes, it has some new twists that are much needed in HOG'S these days. Are the Graphics superb? Yes. All developers can take lessons from Elephant. For me I will pass because my life is a scramble and I like something to make me relax...not feel shredded in the story plot of running to and fro. I will recommend this game because this is right up a lot of alleys! :-)
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed After three great games in a row this one truly disappointed me. Not original at all. Hidden Objects scenes boring and poorly set up. I really missed morphing items, collectibles and puzzle pieces. These additional features of many HO games keep you on your toes. Not a game I would play again.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Is The Prophet Painter a pawn of The Silhouette or is the Silhouette a result of The Prophet Painter? Your daughter, Angie, a budding artist, has been touring Europe for a year picking up techniques when she heard about Virgil, "The Prophet Painter," on a small island in Italy and decided to go there hoping to study with him. He has developed a reputation for painting pictures of future tragedies and people have been dying in tragic accidents. She writes a letter asking you to come there and help her as she feels someone is watching her is not feeling save and needs your help. On your way to the island by ship, the captain tells you about an ominous figure called The Silhouette being seen right before the tragic deaths and this has the villagers on edge believing that Virgil and the Silhouette are connected. At the dock, you find a missing persons poster with Angie's picture and now you are worried. As you approach the town gate, a hooded figure slams the gate closed preventing your entry. When you finally get the gate open, you find a painting of the ship you just arrived on blowing up. You rush back to the dock and find the captain trapped on the burning ship and save him. He gives you a ticket to the art galley showing but find another painting of a burning bakery. Saving the baker gives you access to Virgil's house where you meet the art gallery owner, Rosaria, who displays Virgil's works. There is something suspicious about her and she is cryptic about her relationship with Virgil but does confirm Angie being there. When you find Virgil, he has just finished his latest painting showing his own death. The Silhouette shows up and Virgil runs off and you chase after him. Now you need to save Virgil, find Angie and figure out what Rosaria's involvement is. Graphics are cartoonish but well done with some dark scenes but fairly good animation. Voice acting was ok but some was a bit strained and jerky. Characters had no mouth movement when talking. Music was ok. There are a lot of inventory puzzles to get through during the game so that you feel tired by the end. Many are almost like filler with obstacles blocking your way at almost every turn to make it feel like you have done something whether it is needed or not. Hidden object scenes included progressive interactive lists as well as some silhouettes to find. Some objects blend in with the background. The bonus chapter continues the story after saving Angie with her telling you that you should search Rosaria's house before the police arrive to make sure both Virgil and Rosaria are gone. As you search the house, you find a woman inside a sarcophagus booby-trapped with poison gas. She is Kim, archive assistant for Rosaria, who had discovered underhanded dealings to increase the value of the Virgil's paintings by creating the Silhouette legend and was caught by Rosaria. You have to free her and find a missing painting. An interesting story that will provide a few hours of entertainment if you can get past the busy work.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok, but too short for a CE Dark Canvas starts out strong, but doesn't go the distance. It has an intriguing storyline, good graphics and cut scenes, tricksy HOS, and a good interface, but it doesn't last long enough and isn't complex enough to be a truly top notch game. As others have said, this game is good for beginners or casual players, but expert HOS fans will get through it too quickly. The CE adds a short bonus game, a few random achievements, and some wallpapers, free play puzzles, etc. - nothing too amazing. The SE is definitely the better buy.
Date published: 2014-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Completed Game Review Story was boring, extra games were simple, showed no challenge. Hard to see hidden objects but completed game without using help. Just another HO game I could not wait to finish. Kind of a snooze.
Date published: 2013-03-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from too short This game was way too short. What a waste of money. And I will seriously consider not buying any more games that don't let you lock the inventory. Drives me crazy not to have it stationery!
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Vast Games Deliver Another Dud! Vast games have not given me many games to smile about, and this was no exception. I played 40 minutes of the trial before declaring this a no-go. HINT AND SKIP - Hint takes approx 1 minute to recharge. - Skip takes approx 1 minute to recharge. FEATURES - There is a diary to keep track of your progress. The diary also contains Angie's sketchbook, which documents her story. - While surfing through the diary, I also found a tab for achievements. There is nothing here that says what the achievements are or how to collect them, it simply says there are 15 achievements. - A strategy guide is also featured, which I found very useful. If I was having a bit of trouble on the puzzles, or figuring out what to do next, opening this would help me a lot. HOS & PUZZLES - both were a bit challenging for me, but the HOS were easier. - HOS included extra step objects (highlighted in green#. The other objects were challenging to find. There was an even amount of HOS; not too many or too little. - The puzzles in my opinion were way too hard. I couldn't complete them. Skipped every one. Instructions were complex for the ship puzzle especially. - Based on what I've seen, there are more HOS than puzzles. GRAPHICS/VOICE-OVERS - Graphics are pretty good. They are modern, nothing is un--clear. - Voices are your typical American accents, and are done well. They are not over-done, like some games I've played #notably, Web of Deceit: Black Widow), and seem to match the game well. STORYLINE -The storyline is your typical one; You are investigating your friend/daughter's disappearance, and some mysterious being is trying to stop you. I've seen it many times before, and this one was average, not too good and not too bad. There was one bit of the story that was different though; a man is able to predict the future in his paintings. OTHER NOTES - Gameplay at times was slow and glitchy. Many breif pauses occured, as if the game was not running properly.It may be my computer, or the game itself, I do not know. Backtracking is minimal, but noticable. At one stage I had to backtrack right to the first scene. I don't know what it is with games this year, but none are pleasing me. This one is certainly no acception. I would not recommend this game; it started off boring and did not get much better.
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I'll pass I'll just pass on this game. I couldn't even finish playing the demo because I was bored. I really hate giving bad reviews because I know that the developers put a lot of time and effort in creating these games. But, I have to be honest; this is a game I wouldn't even buy the standard let alone the CE. Guess I'm spoiled by the better games out there.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Borrrrrrringg Maybe I'm playing this game a few years too late, but there are much better games from the same year. This game has an interesting story, but the plot moves so slooooooooowwww that I could barely get through the game. The comments are insultingly leading, the games are unimaginative, and the HOS again have the insultingly leading comments. How on earth was this a CE? No collectibles, morphs,etc. I mainly played it because I love the Nightfall Mysteries series from the same dev, and am regretting it. Glad I bought it at a deep discount but even that was a waste of money.
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hidden object game I played the demo and it felt like I played for hours. I did not like it at all. I actually had a headache after playing it. I don't like going back and forth to find objects to be used in other screens. I don't like having to use the hint button in order to progress so that may have added to my stress. The game was dark and not interesting to me at all. I looked forward to playing because I am a huge fan of art and it seemed like it would be my ideal type of game. I was really disappointed. Hidden objects were challenging and I did like that.
Date published: 2013-01-18
  • y_2019, m_12, d_9, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_17098, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.