Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(225.18 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent in Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death! Your daughter, Angie, was traveling through Europe when she vanished without a trace. Her last letter urged you to come to a remote island town in Italy, where she had stumbled upon a dark secret. When you arrive, you learn that there has been a series of tragic deaths in town, accompanied by sightings of a legendary spirit called the Silhouette. With no way of knowing who would be next, citizens turned to Virgil, a local artist who could famously predict the future through his paintings. Now you must seek out Virgil and his mysterious paintings before you and your daughter become the next victims of his deadly predictions!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus story
  • Gorgeous art and screensavers
  • Downloadable music tracks
  • Integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 989 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(225.18 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Completed Game Review Story was boring, extra games were simple, showed no challenge. Hard to see hidden objects but completed game without using help. Just another HO game I could not wait to finish. Kind of a snooze.
Date published: 2013-03-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from VAST Studios--the minds of genius taking a coffee break! Game seemed outdated and maybe on the shelf while Vast Studios has already put out some of the greatest game series ever designed--Cursed Memories, Shattered Minds I & II, Nightfall Mysteries I, II, III, Written Legends, etc. Seems disjointed with a lot of to and fro which doesn't bother me if the game holds my interest. Although a bit silly, artwork is superb with focus on music and artsy objects. Vast Studios is one of my favorite developers and I will purchase in the future as I have learned that a demo can be deceving and hoping the game improves... On the same hand, Vast Studios does not usually create "easy-to-play" games--you have to work the game. Unfortunately, developers are pressured by "the masses" for "easier" games and this is what we gamers seem to be getting lately, i.e. the majority of BFG's January 2013 "new" games have been mind numbing & notably inferior-- which is why I am combing through the numerous purchased BFG games that I haven't had time to play/finish. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2013-01-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another Great One For Some I tire of the schizophrenic scramble these developers are taking these days. Was this another great one for Elephant?? Yes, it has some new twists that are much needed in HOG'S these days. Are the Graphics superb? Yes. All developers can take lessons from Elephant. For me I will pass because my life is a scramble and I like something to make me relax...not feel shredded in the story plot of running to and fro. I will recommend this game because this is right up a lot of alleys! :-)
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay for beginners I expected a lot more from this game. It has promise, but it was very limited in the story line and the general layout. The story was obvious and whilst it kept me occupied for a little while I would not say it rates with so many other really good Collector's Editions... It was too short for a CE and I have come away from it feeling it was dull, so it probably was. Not for people who enjoy a long game with a good story line, lots of locations and a challenge.
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the best game I went ahead and bought this game before I played it. What a dissapointment! As far as the storyline and graphics and scenery go, quite nice. It took me about 2 hours to complete the game. The bonus play was better than some of the chapters. But being a CE, not at that price. I am increasingly getting more discouraged with the so-called Collector's Editions. It is only on rare occassions that BF has sponsored a "TRUE" Collector's Edition game. I think the developers need to step back and re-evaluate what a good game is these days,
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from way better than yesterday I liked the demo enough to buy the game, but I finished it in 2 hours. I like my CE games to last at least 3 hours. Kudos to the devs who can make a game last longer than that. The game it's self was nice and I liked the storyline. I was bummed out when I realized who the bad person was, and that was the first time I heard the lady's voice. Do we really need the stereotype characters. The visual quality can get a bit cartoony at times, but It didn't bother me. Infact the only thing that did bother me was the fake accent of the lady.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME There is nothing really wrong with this game per se. It has good graphics, if a little on the dark side. There are two types of HOS, list and silhouette, both interactive. The music is fine. The puzzles lean more towards the artistic than the academic, which is right up my alley, and the navigation is perfect. The best thing about it is the story. It rang a vague bell somewhere in my mind, from long ago, but it has enough originality, veering away from the usual, to be fresh, and as it is well thought out and well written, it deserves a credit. It is not what you first think it is is all I can say without giving it away. It has wide screen, collectibles and achievements, though minimal, but no map. The SG is odd. They have used three different sized fonts. One is way too small, the 2nd is normal and the 3rd one is huge. ??? Dunno. I only looked at it so I could report on it here, but I never had to use it. The game plays itself. The cursors are another oddity. There are 3. Custom and 2 game cursors. One is too small and the other too big. Game starts with the big one. There is a location consisting of about three scenes where it became a huge problem and I could do nothing but shut down and start with the custom cursor to get through it. The cut scenes are well done. Fast and with clickable dialogue, but not animated. Don't really think that is either here nor there, but it may matter to some. The lack of a map is not lamentable to me, as it is easy to remember where and what and there is little backtracking, but it will be lamented by some, who require all these things to make it deserving of being a CE. The hint button is directional and fast. Same with skip, but there is little need for skip with this. All the puzzles, whilst nice to do, are very simple. Once again, another game where the thing that lets it down is the length. The main game only took me 3 hrs and that also is not really going to win it much favouritism. The BC took 1 hr 20. It has entirely different locations and is relatively interesting and of the same quality as the main game. So, you are looking at roughly 4.5 hrs and I think that will be held against it. You can either wait for the SE and get a 3 hr game, or pay double and get an extra 1.5 hrs. In spite of it's shortcomings, I will recommend it on one hand, as it is a well made and nicely executed work, but not recommend it on the other hand because it is too short and very easy. Best I can do. Devs, you are losing points here, with the length and it being too easy. Veteran fishies in this pond will not find it challenging enough to pay CE prices and too short for a SE. I see there is another one coming in Sneak Peak and it looks really good. Full of cute creatures and bright and colourful. I hope it is longer and more aimed towards the experienced players.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice game but not a worthy CE!! Beta-tested this game already and complained the lack of the CE extras. It would be a nice standard edition: Very appealing story around prophetic paintings and a dark eerie creature, known as the Silhouette. Very good amount of HOS and puzzles, not too challenging. Graphics are very nice and sharp. For those HOPA-gamers who don't care about CE extras such as achievements and collectables, this game might be a good choice. - I'll wait for the SE.....
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Borrrrrrringg Maybe I'm playing this game a few years too late, but there are much better games from the same year. This game has an interesting story, but the plot moves so slooooooooowwww that I could barely get through the game. The comments are insultingly leading, the games are unimaginative, and the HOS again have the insultingly leading comments. How on earth was this a CE? No collectibles, morphs,etc. I mainly played it because I love the Nightfall Mysteries series from the same dev, and am regretting it. Glad I bought it at a deep discount but even that was a waste of money.
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from too short This game was way too short. What a waste of money. And I will seriously consider not buying any more games that don't let you lock the inventory. Drives me crazy not to have it stationery!
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Vast Games Deliver Another Dud! Vast games have not given me many games to smile about, and this was no exception. I played 40 minutes of the trial before declaring this a no-go. HINT AND SKIP - Hint takes approx 1 minute to recharge. - Skip takes approx 1 minute to recharge. FEATURES - There is a diary to keep track of your progress. The diary also contains Angie's sketchbook, which documents her story. - While surfing through the diary, I also found a tab for achievements. There is nothing here that says what the achievements are or how to collect them, it simply says there are 15 achievements. - A strategy guide is also featured, which I found very useful. If I was having a bit of trouble on the puzzles, or figuring out what to do next, opening this would help me a lot. HOS & PUZZLES - both were a bit challenging for me, but the HOS were easier. - HOS included extra step objects (highlighted in green#. The other objects were challenging to find. There was an even amount of HOS; not too many or too little. - The puzzles in my opinion were way too hard. I couldn't complete them. Skipped every one. Instructions were complex for the ship puzzle especially. - Based on what I've seen, there are more HOS than puzzles. GRAPHICS/VOICE-OVERS - Graphics are pretty good. They are modern, nothing is un--clear. - Voices are your typical American accents, and are done well. They are not over-done, like some games I've played #notably, Web of Deceit: Black Widow), and seem to match the game well. STORYLINE -The storyline is your typical one; You are investigating your friend/daughter's disappearance, and some mysterious being is trying to stop you. I've seen it many times before, and this one was average, not too good and not too bad. There was one bit of the story that was different though; a man is able to predict the future in his paintings. OTHER NOTES - Gameplay at times was slow and glitchy. Many breif pauses occured, as if the game was not running properly.It may be my computer, or the game itself, I do not know. Backtracking is minimal, but noticable. At one stage I had to backtrack right to the first scene. I don't know what it is with games this year, but none are pleasing me. This one is certainly no acception. I would not recommend this game; it started off boring and did not get much better.
Date published: 2013-01-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I'll pass I'll just pass on this game. I couldn't even finish playing the demo because I was bored. I really hate giving bad reviews because I know that the developers put a lot of time and effort in creating these games. But, I have to be honest; this is a game I wouldn't even buy the standard let alone the CE. Guess I'm spoiled by the better games out there.
Date published: 2013-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from hidden object game I played the demo and it felt like I played for hours. I did not like it at all. I actually had a headache after playing it. I don't like going back and forth to find objects to be used in other screens. I don't like having to use the hint button in order to progress so that may have added to my stress. The game was dark and not interesting to me at all. I looked forward to playing because I am a huge fan of art and it seemed like it would be my ideal type of game. I was really disappointed. Hidden objects were challenging and I did like that.
Date published: 2013-01-18
  • y_2019, m_9, d_20, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_17098, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death Collector's Edition

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.