Motor Town: Soul of the Machine

Motor Town: Soul of the Machine

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(198.13 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A young journalist, desperate for a big story, accepts an intriguing assignment: Hunt down an eccentric inventor who hasn't spoken to anyone in years and interview him about his latest gadget. The writer gets more than she bargained for when she arrives at her destination and finds the living have abandoned the town and she learns of the inventor's plans to create cars with souls! As her guide, you'll search vintage cars and rundown factories for clues, perform tasks for ghosts, and solve an array of ingenious puzzles. With the fate of many souls and the life of the inventor on the line, you must not delay!

  • 34 eerie locations
  • 21 mind-bending mini games
  • Unlimited hints and tips

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 535 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Motor Town: Soul of the Machine

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(198.13 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Motor Town: Soul of the Machine is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 72.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Motor Town: Soul Of the Machine Hits The Mark I really liked this game. It just seemed to flow so well. The hand-drawn scenes were beautiful. Lots of quirky characters. Loved the 50's rebel with the guitar and the 70's hippie. Good soundtrack; not overdone. Plenty of the things we expect in a HOPA, A nice variety of mini-games, puzzles and hidden objects. Hidden objects were clear and not over-crowded No over-click penalties and that is a plus for me. Great hint button, "It did not give you the answer". It gave you a direction to go in so you could make your own discoveries. Trotting around was minimal and I found my way very easily from scene to scene. The journal was a life-saver on solving some of difficult puzzles. It took me a while to figure out the locker combination and then it all of a sudden hit me. I really like a challenge when it comes to the mini-games and puzzles. A straight-forward game, familiar plot with a interesting twist. Enjoyed playing Motor Town and will play it again very soon. Good work devs and thank you BFG for another wonderful game experience.
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A+++ masterpeace of 2013 This is a very beautiful stunning breathtaking game that IS underestimated by the audience. I loved every aspect of it - very well developed storyline mixed with excellent graphics smart puzzles and high quality ambient sound FX. I do not know why people say bad words about it. It is a real mega hit of 2013. Thank you.
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from before you buy be aware no walkthrough but forum helps it is not a hard game to play so a walkthrough isn't really needed. you will have to think a little. hints/skips charge fast so that helps. i used the forum once. i figured the rest out. no sound was used. i played casual.
Date published: 2013-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent. must try! I bought this game simply because it's from Alawar. I don't try the demo as I know it will be good. In fact, this game sold as an SE surprises me. This game has a good quality factor like a CE should have, only it doesn't have a map but it doesnt matter because the hint button is helpful. It shows you where to go, not tells you WHAT to do. I am not an English native speaker and I never remember what room is in what place. There is little backtracking and it's quite easy to navigate that you know what you should do if you find an inventory item. Still, I don't see why this game receives bad rating for some people. The fact that Alawar releases this game itself as an SE but it has a quality like a CE is already good. I wish Alawar could produce more games like this.
Date published: 2013-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of The Best This game was right down my alley. It was so good to not have monsters and skulls all over the place. The HOs were clear but were still somewhat of a challenge and I liked the interaction. The game is long so I feel you get your moneys worth. No map but the hint button takes you where you need to go. Found items are generally used close by. (Not always) The music was not annoying. A stress reducer in my book. This might not be what an expert would enjoy.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderfullly different! I love HOGs, but sometimes I would like something just alittle different and this game fit the bill. Cars with souls, along with creepy scenery, fun mini-games all in a SE, it's a win for me! Highly recommend!
Date published: 2013-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for money game! I really enjoyed playing this game and although it was not the most challenging of games, great all the same. Compared to other games on the market this was good value for money. The graphics and soundtrack were good. The length of the game was long - these days too many games are so short in play time. I would recommend this game to beginners and experts just for the fun factor.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Diamond in the Rough - 5+ Stars!! No bells, whistles, smoke, dust and mirrors to attempt and captivate gamers at the onset! This is an outstanding game which stands soley on it's quality workmanship--and a Standard Edition at that. Bravo! Every once in a while we gamers get lucky with an excellent and unique game. This is no amateur project--simply the work of genius. Pay attention to the detailed artwork which will blow you away. Nothing is hidden in numerous shadows and fog. Game is lengthy. Storyline is original. Hidden objects have appropriate items and are do-able. This is a fun game for all skill levels! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2013-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a little review I enjoyed this game. Great for SE prices. Nice time line around 4 to 4/12 hrs., Played on casual. Graphics,voice overs, hidden objects were pleasant enough. I enjoyed everything about it. Nice enough adventure game to play on a nice Sunday or just to relax. Dev made a good job of this one. Thank's BIG FISH
Date published: 2013-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Motor Town: Soul of the Machine I really enjoyed this game. My problem was with that filthy kitchen! I gagged every time I had to go there. I like the searches. This reminds of of my trip to Detroit a view years ago, the streets were filthy, they had armed guards in grocery stores, and a drive through funeral home. My last trip! I would recommend this to anyone.
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Was Impressed! I downloaded the game thinking it was not going to be a good game but I must say I was wrong. Long game with much to do. I was impressed with the art work. I enjoyed and if you choose to play you will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good! Nice story: a reporter goes to interview an inventor who wants to build cars with "soul" and finds a mystery to solve. Great characters, esp. the guitar man and the hippie VOS and text Diary Crisp, clear graphics HOS, interactive and standard, a good number of these Puzzles are good, long skip Hint system points you in the right direction Seek and find Nice, suspenseful music Good length: 4.5 casual
Date published: 2013-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME, ENJOYABLE GAME! I don"t usualy stop to do reviews of all the games I play at Big Fish, but this one I just had to! I really enjoyed everything about this game and will absolutely be replaying this one. I loved the story line, game play and all about this game, Seems not as challenging as some adventure HO games, but for me not being as experienced as some players, I was able to play and enjoy game without frustration, I think everyone will enjoy this game Thanks so much Big Fish for this one!! SexySqueaks, California
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Play this one I played the game for 1 hr and really enjoyed it. I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who likes hidden object and puzzle games
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good SE Game and Great Puzzles This is the second time in a week I have had the privilege of reviewing some excellent SE games. I downloaded the demo for Motor Town and was initially put off by the filth of the abandoned mansion but I am so glad I continued on since the game just got better and better. The game is from a developer who always seems to bring us some very good HO games. When I see their name on a project, I know it is a game I want - so kudos to you on an excellent game. The game is a mix of IHOS and some very good puzzles. I really like the interactive part of the HO scenes as they are a bit different and it is not always apparent what you need to complete an action to obtain the object. Very clever. As you continue your investigation, you will pick up clues along the way on how to solve many of the puzzles so pay attention to your journal. The game has an different storyline but it is one I am enjoying. It is fun to meet the ghosts along the way who give you items that will be needed to complete the game. The artwork and graphics are excellent. Just remember you are dealing with an abandoned town so you don't get shiny, beautiful, clean scenes. Again, I am very happy to have such an excellent game come to market as a standard edition. IMHO with a few additions, this would have been a great CE game. Please give the game a chance because once you are past the mansion things really get interesting and the story picks up.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent SE Game! Game details: This review is for the completed game. -2 Difficulty Modes: Casual and Expert *Mode can be changed any time during the game through the Options Menu. -Notebook can be found on the bottom left portion of the screen. *Clues to solve some of the puzzles were entered in the notebook. -No Map -Inventory bar does not lock. -The game did fill my 19“ monitor screen. -Hint button can be used for both HOS and game play. Very helpful even if no Walkthrough is available. -Most of the HOS are interactive and in junkpile form. Each HOS is visited twice and the objects are not interchangeable per game (you get the same objects to find even if the game is replayed). There is a misclick penalty if the wrong objects are picked 5x in a row; a semi-transparent dark mist will fill the screen for a few seconds. -Puzzles could be skipped. Genre: Science Fiction/Paranormal Game length: I consider myself a slow to medium paced player, so it took me almost 6 hours to complete the game. Excellent length for a SE. My opinions about the game: *I played in Expert mode and there were NO sparkles anywhere, even for the HOS. © *Nice grungy/creepy style graphics. *Music fit the game without being obtrusive. *Good ratio between HOS/Adventure. The HOS were fun to do because you could get 2 or more interactive objects per scene. Objects were not too difficult to find and some were cleverly placed. *It would have been helpful to have a map as there were quite a few areas to roam. *Interesting story line and characters to meet. *Most of the puzzles were pretty easy and relaxing to play.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME Although this game is distributed by the A Team, it is not their work. It is unfortunate that we are not permitted to name the Devs because they deserve acknowledgement and praise for this marvelous game. They also made Twisted Lands: Origin and The Gift. Before playing this game, make sure your socks are tied on because you will lose them and they will never be seen again. It starts out just like any standard iHOPA, in a house, which is where the demo is spent. The graphics are excellent and wide screen and I bought it for that, the quirky story and the perfect navigation. Then, I got out the back gate and into the town and the game took on a whole different dynamic. I started meeting the ghosts. A 1920's Flapper. A detective from around 1950. A Marine from the 1960s. A Flower Child from 1970. A guitar player who very much reminded me of Elvis, and fat business man with a bad temper. It is this overlapping of the decades that creates the atmosphere in this game. That and the massive scale of the locations, especially the Warehouse, which is just mind boggling. It is a wonderful atmosphere, something I rarely come across in these games and it kept me totally intrigued and engrossed. Like old Diners, those old Jukeboxes (this one plays music to die for) old trains, junkyards and scrap yards, to name a few? Hold on to your hat. All of them beautifully depicted and imbued with a sense of realism. The only thing they got wrong was the trunk and the engine in the VW, which they put the wrong way round. The story is slightly ludicrous if taken out of context, but then aren't most of them? But with this game it totally works and I thought it greatly creative and fun. The puzzles are all doable, logical and fun and only a very few old ones. The iHOS are clear sharp and colourful and the game is not overloaded with them. The music is great, as are the cut scenes and the voice overs and there is humour galore from all the fascinating characters. You receive a vessel with 13 slots and along the way you earn the orbs that fit into them, for a thrilling and wonderfully enacted finale. The hint button is directional, though this game is so absorbing that I seemed to take everything in and remember it, for the most part. It took me 4.30 hrs and I had the best time in ages. Thanks to these clever and talented Devs, and keep them coming. We do not see enough of you guys.
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely buying! Just finished the demo and am purchasing this game. Great puzzles, not too easy not too hard. Not too many HOS - just right. They are interactive and easy to get through. Rather clever actually. Love the graphics/ambience. Make sense story line. Inventory makes sense when you receive it so you know where to go back to. Good game!
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completed game review. FANTASTIC GAME! WOW! Where do i start with this game? BRILLIANT! This game had everything.Lots of interactive areas and gorgeous graphics,lots of hobs, as well as things to do within the hog scenes.Loved the story-line it was original in every way. Thought the characters were really COOL,and loved all of them.Gorgeous colour,which is always a plus with me ,didn't want this one to end. WELL DONE DEVS!
Date published: 2013-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't let the title fool you! I am absolutely buying this game! Let's talk about graphics first. Nobody can outdo this developers talent when it comes to creepy eerie towns! The cars and building look HD and real enough to be on a movie. You feel like it's actually you searching room after room and interacting with the ghosts. There is a good mixture of HO's and mini games, which are fun not frusterating to play. The hint system is unlimited and recharges quickly in casual setting. The music is great, again making you feel like you are alone and looking over your shoulder with creepy footsteps and sounds of an empty house creaking! There is no map, but I love having to search room to room site to site manually, that's part of the adventure! The only thing I wish this game had was morphing or beyond objects! See for yoursef, this is a must have!
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game.. I did get this game, I loved the sounds and graphics, the Dev's are very creatived with this awesome game..I loved everything about this game..I know if you give this game a try you will want to keep going the story line is great..
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, solid game amidst a sad, sad city. I used to live near Ann Arbor, Michigan, which is about a 30-minute drive to Detroit. In the late seventies and all of the eighties, we used to go there for concerts and Fourth of July fireworks. When the Renaissance Center was built, the area along the river was revitalized and quite nice for a while. I'm sure there are still thriving areas in this once great city, but most of it is vacant, burnt out, vandalized wrecks interspersed with large tracts of open land where once there were houses. Detroit is known as the Motor City because of its history regarding several major automotive manufacturers, but it also had fabulous architecture. The train station, many amazingly beautiful theatres, and luxury hotels were among some of the most beautiful examples. They now either stand empty or have already fallen to the wrecking ball. I'm glad this game didn't try to pretty up the place, but it does still showcase a glimpse here and there of the beautiful details found in many buildings and homes. The game was entertaining and well-made, and I do recommend it. If you want to know more about this once wealthy, innovative city, check out a site called DetroitYes.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game! I enjoyed this game, playing it a bit each night for a week as I didn't have time to play it all in one sitting. The story line of cars with souls and helpful ghosts giving talismans was different, and that made it quite fun. The settings are in a rundown city filled with cars, junk and even a couple of trains. The HOS are full of all kinds of stuff but I like that kind of scene. The mini games are fairly simply and for some of them, you get a clue from your notebook, so do pay attention to what's in the notebook. The game does not have a map, which is something I like to see, but it was not difficult to get from place to place and the game was laid out quite logically. Liked this one quite a bit, do recommend it.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reasonable Fun OK; probably not a game I will replay, but reasonable fun. Clear graphics, a bit of backtracking but not enough to annoy, and fair sound quality. The interactive HOS were clear and fairly easy. Some of the characters made me squirm with embarrassment; this may or may not trouble you. The hint system, which I used very little, seems very good, and I had no need of a strategy guide as everything was fairly logical and straight forward. One annoying point; the reporter drives an old model VW Beetle. This does not have a trunk/boot at the back; that is where the engine was; the trunk was in front! So; it was good as a special deal, but would have been disappointing at full price.
Date published: 2014-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from over all a good game interesting and a bit different, saving people and cars. a bit confusing at times form me and the finding was a bit too dark and frustrating at times but over all an interesting and different game. the hint button works great which in my mind is always a plus. no map but again the hint button works and tells you where to go so fine with out a map. I don't use sound so cant rate that but over all I recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I HAD LOTS OF FUN BASED ON COMPLETED GAME ON EXPERT LEVEL This game is just fun. It won't be the most challenging or intriguing game you've ever played, but you will really enjoy meeting all of the ghosts in this game. The story is unique, but sort of a fantasy (a scientist wants to make cars with souls,) and you get to visit many different scenes. The IHOS are easy but fun (NO JUNK PILES.) The puzzles are all suitable for a beginner, imo. Most of the objects you need to find are used relatively closely to where you find them. The music is benign and blends smoothly with the game neither intruding or boring. The cut scenes were blurry. I don't know if this was by design or accidental,, but the rest of the game is clear and well lit. I was able to complete the game without hints and in one sitting, so I guess it's not too long. Or maybe I was having so much fun with the characters that I moved faster. The "Elvis" and "hippy" characters were my favorites. I'm not rating this game based on technical specifics because my overall experience with it was a couple of hours of lighthearted fun. In fact, as I played along, I changed my rating from a 3 technically to a 4 for fun. The ring of fire towards the end won me over for sure. Bottom line: Fun, fast and easy enough for a beginner.
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad I thought this was a cute game...a little different from the norm. I shall use one of my freebie coupons on this...it was kinda cute.
Date published: 2013-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was good Overall it was a good game and I enjoyed the play. There were some moments that did not flow well and puzzles that were occasionally too easy. Also, the voiceovers were consistently poor. I would however recommend this game. The graphics were really interesting. I thought the scenes were at times breathtaking and chilling in their detail.
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost a 5, ...but the end was unclear. It probably was because as a Non-CE version, the developers had a deadline. Still, if you've seen the movie "Cars", http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0317219/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1 , you'd notice this game is about living cars with a twist. This goes above and beyond your average romance-gone-bad or other adventure involving spirit.
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Street Car named anybody but Desire Review based upon completion of the game. You are a bored journalist looking for a big story. Your editor sends you to check up on an inventor, who soon turns up missing. From now on the story is a bit out there... The Good: + good game length (for me about 5 hours) + very well done videos and voice-overs + hint system works very good + usually clear what to do next + varied puzzles The Neutral: o as mentioned above, the story is a bit out there o no map, but for most areas it's clear that you have no more business there The Bad: - most puzzles are a bit trivial - sometimes area exits aren't too clear Bottom Line: I have seen much less quality in CE games. If you are into ghosts and science fiction, definitely give this game a try!
Date published: 2013-03-20
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_72
  • loc_en_US, sid_17371, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Motor Town: Soul of the Machine

Soul and machine are one in Motor Town, where a stunning mystery awaits!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.