Dark Lore Mysteries: The Hunt for Truth

Dark Lore Mysteries: The Hunt for Truth

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(243.85 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A violent murder has awoken a small town with a troubled past. A town where evil was part of their history and fear was in their daily lives. They thought that chapter was over with. Investigate the murders and track down the killer before evil engulfs the town in Dark Lore Mysteries: The Hunt for Truth.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 675 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Lore Mysteries: The Hunt for Truth

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(243.85 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Lore Mysteries: The Hunt for Truth is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 44.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DON'T UNDERSTAND NEGATIVE REVIEWS I will be buying this game. I'm not sure why there are so many negative reviews - I didn't have any slowness in scene changes or fuzzy graphics. I have a new computer and sometimes have cursor problems that other people don't have. So you have to try a game to see how it works on your computer before assuming that is just the way the game is. (Ex: I have graphics problems with a game but neilskinut and others did not. Go figure.) HOS are many - but then it is a HOG so I expect them and am disappointed when they are few and far between. So I don't know why people would play a HOG and then complain about there being a lot of them. I did not find them fuzzy - they were well detailed in the usual pile of stuff (but they weren't that crowded and I could find everything). The music is a bit eerie - I liked it as well as the graphics which capture the medieval European theme. Puzzles sometimes take a little thinking to figure out, but if you aren't into them or simply get tired of looking for a solution, the skip button charges pretty fast. It shows how the solution was done (whereas many today just show the final result, if that). Gameplay seems very well thought out.
Date published: 2013-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good rainy day game This game is a good game to relax with. The graphics are clear in some scenes, but somewhat dark and not as crisp in others as with more current games. - It does seem outdated but is still a good game. - I didn't find the accents of the voice overs to be thick. Plus there are subtitles if you need them. - The game has 3 levels of play, Casual, Advanced and Custom. I found that in order to use the Custom settings, you need to click on the radio button to choose that option but then also click on the word "custom" to get the personalized settings. You can select the difficulty of the HOS, Hint recharge time, Mini-Game skip recharge among other things. - The music is pleasant and didn't seem to be repeatitive. I would recommend this game and will get it with a game credit.
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Magistrate killed, vampires ????? Played 30 minutes, casual - 3 modes, casual, advanced and custom, a very nice plus as you can adjust the game to your likings - Voice overs - Journal, bottom right side of your screen - Map, can't say if it's interactive as I didn't try it - Instructions button but they're given to you as soon as you finish a scene - Quite a few cut scenes - Hint button refills really quickly - Skip button, fills quickly too - H0, you don't interact, a lot of them - Good, if not new, mini games - Good graphics A magistrate has been killed in a weird way, you investigate. A nice game on which I will spend a punch card credit.
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nothing fancy, but a nice SE! I actually enjoyed this game, even though it is pretty much a straight HOG. The graphics were nice (a bit grainy), HOGs were not bad (some very dark and hard to see areas), game play very nice. Fast hint recovery, games simple, music nice (I always turn it down because I prefer to listen to the voices and background noises, with a hint of music for FX). Very nice voice overs (always a plus for me). Although this was not a "spectacular" game, it was a very nice SE and one that kept my interest from the beginning. I got to the end of chapter 2 before my demo time ran out, so this obviously is not a very long game...either that, or I was just too fast...no, I think it's not very long. However, I was into the game enough to want to see who the nasty villain is, so I will use a credit for this one. As always, try the game for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for it at all. Thanks for the reviews and have a great weekend!
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed this game but thank god for a great hint button I bought this game quite a while ago, played a bit then left it and just went back. even forgetting most of what it was about I enjoyed it. fortunately the hint button recharged quickly and was really helpful in directing you since I did not have a map. the games were challenging and skipped some but finding items was easy. fortunately game does not get made at you when you click a lot as I do. I don't use sound so can't rate that but over all I enjoyed this game and recommend it.
Date published: 2013-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I LOVED IT I READ THE RE-VIEWS AND THOUGHT HHMM,I MAY NOT LIKE THIS GAME...BUT I DID!! I LOVED IT!!!...OF COURSE IM A HOG PLAYER AND THEY HAD LOTS OF EM!!..I WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE LIKE THIS...THANKS DEVS GOOD JOB!!
Date published: 2013-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from fun stuff for HOG lovers Thank goodness! I was begining to think that all socalled HOG's were iactually puzzle adventuress with a single HOG. The puzzles were doable, but I am an impatient sort and tend to skip them. I enjoyed this game .
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good relaxing and easy HO game Difficulty is Good Great Tutorial Good Gaming pace Colors warm and pleasant. I don't care about the graphics, but fore a beginner that likes HOG's there perfectly fine.
Date published: 2013-02-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME These Devs have put a ding in their rep with this game. I have loads of games by them and they are good. This looks like they hauled it down from the attic, where it has been since the year dot. Plays that way too. Clumsy controls, sticky scene changes, completely stuck cut scenes that just sit there and look at you, long after they are over. Fortunately there is a skip for them. The graphics are unrefined and the whole game is very HOS heavy, all of which are extremely cluttered and fuzzy. It's the colours they have used, which they probably did in an effort to depict medievil times, but it does not work. You would have to be Clark Kent to find some of the items in them. The music is sporadic and eerie, which is not a negative. That and the wide screen are the only good things about it. Some of the puzzles are original and rather good, but others are silly and vague and not even possible. There is a 10 sec hint and skip button, which is invaluable. There is a journal and a standard map, but the latter is not much good. The navigation is delayed and the scenes fade into each other irritatingly slowly. It is a vampire story, then it is not, then it is again, then not. Finally? Will not spoil it for you. It took me 3 hours and I did not enjoy it at all.
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from HOG-HEAVY! Based on the demo, I can't quite make up my mind about this game. I agree that the graphics seem a little outdated, but that generally doesn't matter to me if the storyline is engaging and the game is fun to play. This particular game (or at least what I played of it in the demo# is pretty HOG-heavy - sometimes I played HOG after HOG, and they are *very* much of the junk-pile variety. I ended up using the hint button more than I usually would because there was just so much stuff, and some items were pretty well-hidden in it. I did like the scenery #think medieval#, but I was disappointed that there wasn't always much to do, or much to look at, in each scene. Personally, I found a couple of the puzzles a little bit challengingto the 'little grey cells' #maybe I'm just too used to other dev's easy-peasy puzzles#, but that could have been because I didn't want to waste too much time in the demo working them out. The storyline is so-so, once again I'm on the hunt for some kind of vampire #or vampire wannabe# and from what I can tell there appears to be something about killing people to gain immortality. I know I'm loving a game when I'm on the edge of my seat and smiling while I play it - I wasn't doing either with this one, but then gain I can't say I hated it either. I can't say whether I'd recommend it or not, to be honest. If you don't like *lots* of HOGs in your games then I'd give this one a bodyswerve, but otherwise I'd recommend at least trialling it to see if it's your kind of thing. I'll probably use a PCC on it.
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from How many HOS in one game is too many? To answer that question, play this game! Too many, ugh, so boring and soooo predictable. Please can you come up with anything more imaginative than a list of things to find! Aside from this tedious element, the GREAT news is that this is the first game I have played in which the CHALLENGE level could be customised. I was able to set it to the highest level on ALL except the HOS which I really am so bored with. So when I got to yet another HOS (and believe me if you like HOS, then there are about 30 in this game) I could use the 9sec hint button over and over and get to the object I needed to advance in the game. The graphics are gorgeous, but as others have noted, the gameplay is fairly predictable and a tad glitchy on my computer. However I enjoyed it and was able to complete it in about 4 hours which, when a game is this easy, is a bonus.
Date published: 2013-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth a game credit Loads of junk pile HOPAs with items not related to the storyline. Straightforward and not challenging.
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Outdated My main issue other than the poor graphics, is how dark the HOG scenes were and even though the HO's were not hard to find, they were often the same color as to what they blended into and quite small. Just would not spend my credits on this game
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from That fruit bat must have taken a wrong turn! Things I liked : HOS heavy (I'm a fan). Digital Countdown timer for hint and solve options Swirling Bats hint Pop-up task note Things that I didn't like that haven't already been covered in other reviews : the fruit bat doesn't live in Europe and Van Helsing wouldn't have gone down like that. I'm just saying.
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good story Though this game wasn't very complex, I enjoyed playing. I don't mind that new areas open at different times. Lots of Hidden Object areas.
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the best Storyline could be a good one, but lackluster..Graphics are flat---Hidden objects are good, not real hard to find, but not overly obvious...Hint button quick to recharge in easy mode..Didn't keep my interest ...
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not worth buying A bit boring and old,needs updating along the lines of other hidden object games ,Would have loved this game 10 years ago but not now..
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from too many hidden object scenes I hate the hidden object scenes in the adventure games so this one for me was hard to finish as it had one every thirty seconds and the worst part is they were so badly drawn that it was hard to tell what the heck some of the stuff was. Graphics have come so far in the games and then we get something like this which is so old school it is pathetic.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not much of a hunt for anything! A dark and spooky atmosphere! A thunderstorm, and a murder! That’s about it. The storyline amounts to finding the killer. However, with garlic, bats, holy water, neck wounds and “Vlad’s” castle, it doesn’t take a genius to figure this one out. If my assumption is incorrect, my apologies to the devs. The gameplay offers little to no challenge. Every item you find is accompanied by instructions on where and why you need it. There’s a map that shows where a task is required, but little to do in each location. There are frequent cutscenes that are choppy to watch. (Migraine alert!) The music attempts to be haunting but manages instead to be repetitive and monotonous. The graphics seem old school, although the HOS are clear enough, and there are plenty of them, each being repeated at least twice in the demo. The characters lack any degree of realism, and the accents are so thick that the dialogue is almost unintelligible. The journal entries are actually more interesting than the game itself! I played the whole hour, hoping for improvement, but the only positive thing that I can say is that the hint charges very quickly. I am really sorry, but I would even waste a free coupon on this one!
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from very outdated, nothing to write home about - two levels of difficulty, plus option to customize - voiceovers poorly done, with thick accents - graphics are circa 2004, with extremely little detail - characters are wooden and don't move at all - storyline wasn't anything special - hidden object scenes were very easy - puzzles had no difficulty to them either - gameplay left a lot to be desired, with locations that weren't active until right when you needed them. one or two tasks to complete in a location, and nothing that requires any thought. bottom line - this isn't a game for me, I can't recommend it even to beginners.
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ho Hum After being away for a month I was quite excited to see this game pop up, so I downloaded the trial. Glad I didn't use my free coupon. I didn't mind the graphics; I've seen worse. The voiceovers were okay until I talked to the barmaid, which is right at the beginning of the game. She was so hard to understand I turned off the sound. I only played 15 minutes of the trial and it was one cluttered HOS after another, which is an immediate turn off for me. I won't be recommending this one, and I certainly won't be buying it.
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hunt for truth Thought this game was very old fashioned. I am pretty sure I played it years ago. Its not one I will be buying or using a free game credit for either, as games go, there are far more better ones out there.-
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from HOS TOO MUCH did not like it far too many hos scenes, practically everthing you do opens up hos, and i'm not fond of these music ok, not too intrusive, well done colourful graphics, this game could have been so much more. I love this type of game providing the hos games are in moderation, which they are not in this! ideal for those who like that. i dont recommend it to those seeking a coherent game.
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This is one of the worst games I have ever played. First of all this game is very short, that in of itself is a bad thing to do to dedicated gamer"s . Next the quality of the visual and sound sucked really bad. I became very bored once I realized that this game was just repeat after repeat as far as the course of the game went, you would go to the next hallway or room and there was a H O G and a small task to do. The story was very typical of a long drawn out boring game that just kept repeating itself over and over with each new room or hallway. The only reason I ended up buying this was because my 10yr old grand daughter played the free hour and asked me if she could so I said ok, than when she left I decided to play it, I hadn't thought to ask her about it before she left, we got busy. I can tell you I will never do that again when I was able to talk to her about it she said that she was sorry that she for got to tell me that it was bad. Anyway I do not recommend this to anyone.
Date published: 2013-02-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A waste of time! That was the longest hour I spent playing a game, I just wasted an hour of my life! (yep it's that bad) Poor old style graphics, worst HO's and just a couple of puzzles that would indicate if that piece was placed correctly by lighting up. The hint system recharges within 10 seconds. Not enough to do and you will become bored quickly. You will collect random things throughout the game but have no idea where they go.
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Uninteresting and old tasks I really hate giving a bad review when you think about the hard work and hours that goes into producing a game, but this deserves it. This game would have been acceptable maybe 3 or 4 years ago, but games have advanced and this one got left behind. Use your demo hour to kill time but don't waste credits or money. Story was old, HOs were just things thrown around to fill the screen, puzzles did not have good instructions and made no sense, graphics were old, .... What is something good that I can say? Ahhhhhhh
Date published: 2013-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Very Exciting Too short, too easy, wished I had not wasted my cash
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Hunt for Truth was a disappointment.... This wasn't my kind of creepy gothic game. The music sounded like a vocal less choir on a loop; terrible. Endless Hidden objects like other reviewers have mentioned. I just got bored with too many ho's. I would quit and play later, forget where I was in the game. (hint button used). It could have been a lot better. The puzzles were outdated and simple. Maybe demo the game to see if you will enjoy this. I should have.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad hidden objetc video impossible to play, video move tooooo slow
Date published: 2013-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Where did they dig this out from???? I played the entire demo trying to find something to like about this game and just couldn't do it. I think even a beginner would become bored with this one. I could tolerate the old-school graphics (they really weren't too awful) but the voice-overs, music, and having to solve a HO scene everytime you turned a corner became infuriating. I felt like I was stuck in a bad remake of a B-movie!
Date published: 2013-02-04
  • y_2020, m_5, d_28, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_17282, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Lore Mysteries: The Hunt for Truth

Are a town’s superstitions justified? Follow the blood to find out!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.