Ballad of Solar

Ballad of Solar

PC

Also available on

Time Management

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(172.95 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

In a land of enchantment, torn by evil, a hero arrives to save the day! His name is Solar, and he brings courage, bravery, and skill with a sword. No orc can stop him, no troll can trip him up, and no goblin can gobble him for dinner! Guide Solar and his band of helpers as they set out to rescue the fair Lumina and stop the dark sorcerer Grogan from achieving eternal life. As you go, you'll put your time and resource management skills to work rebuilding towns, completing quests for friends you make along the way, and stopping the enemy from striking. Told with a laugh and a wink, Ballad of Solar is a colorful, challenging and utterly unforgettable adventure for all ages!

  • 30 challenging levels
  • A cast of charming characters
  • Two game modes

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 270 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Ballad of Solar

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(172.95 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Ballad of Solar is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Semi-Timed Game With A Great Storyline! I started playing this game in time mode. But a changed to untimed because I loved the storyline and didn't want to get caught up trying to beat the clock. This game consist of collecting resources, building structures and rescuing the princess and others characters. This is one of the best TM (or not) games that I've played that has a really good storyline. In addition to the storyline being great, the graphics and voice over adds to the enjoyment of this game. I played the full demo and I'm off to purchase the game.
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of fun! This is an adventure game with a difference. From the same studio as Outta This Kingdom, you have to help a few fun characters complete their missions. There are several stages within each level so that you can stop and save easily. This isn't like the other strategy/builder games in that it's not just about building things and collecting rent. You have to find tools to get certain jobs done and each level presents different challenges. There are two modes - adventure, where only some levels are timed - and heroic, which is harder and they're all timed. I think even if you miss the time though, you can still continue - just without a star. If you liked Outta This Kingdom, you'll love this!
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is what I am talking about. The main reason why I gave this game a five star is because the developers placed a lot of thought into this game by using their imagination on how to do something different from the norm. First, some levels are timed others are not. Depending on what you pick (adventure or heroic). The adventure is half and half timed while heroic is all timed. The graphic is crisp and and the characters are not ugly looking (even though some look funny). I like on how the characters interact with each other and how the story continues on to the next level. The music fits in with the story (medieval times) and animals sounds are what they suppose to be. It's fun, challenging but most of all a lot of imagination.
Date published: 2013-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SUPRISINGLY ADDICTIVE TIME MANAGEMENT GAME! I don't usually like this kind of cartoonish time management game but I must admit I tried the demo and I like it! The princess has been kidnapped and is being held prisioner by the evil wizard and it's up to you and the prince to free her. The first scene starts you out with a tutorial and it's easy to learn what needs to be done, and quickly because you are timed. Basically when you start a new level you set up camp and you must guide your men by clicking on piles of wood for example to be cleared from the path after they chop up the wood you must pick up the wood to earn money, there will be rock piles, gold piles, apple trees to collect apples mills to rebuild bushes to shake bridges to repair, all of which gives you some kind of reward of food or money or even tools. You will help out ogres who will join you in your quest and you will help out the locals along the way to retrieve lost items. So I recommend you at least try the demo because you might be suprised to learn that you become addicted to this game as well.
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another hilarious TM game! To start with I don't like TM games that are timed and make you stress your heart & soul out. That just isn't why I play computer games! But this one, just like Outta this Kingdom is only semitimed, provides lots of fun and for this one also unusually good 3D animations! What can you say...I'm thrilled, enthralled and actually wanting to get there in time for once, since if you play the leisure mode only half of it is timed so you know you can relax in a couple of minutes!
Date published: 2013-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magical! Cool! Recently, I have not seen a game where very interesting to look at the animation game. How are cut trees, built houses, jumps food. Yes, there is a choice of difficulty levels. Very Good!
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tons of fun! I loved the graphics, storyline, and gameplay! The voice overs were great, and I even left the music on!
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost perfect! This is probably the best "complete package" time management game. Music & sound are great, story is corny, which I'm sure was on purpose as it adds the comedy factor. Gameplay is great for a TM game. Visuals and animations are top notch compared to other TM games. Highly recommendable!!!!
Date published: 2013-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ballad of Solar This was an awesome time management game. I loved it!
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An adventure worth playing !!! This is an epic adventure...loads of fun to play and a very enjoyable story !!! In this adventure Solar travels through different zones with some companions in tow...in each zone you have some tasks to perform before going to the next one. Doing these tasks you have to build things...collect resources and other things you will need to continue your journey !!! Oh my goodness....what a wonderful game to play...I really liked everything about this game. The music was pleasant and the graphics are really nice. There are a few challenges but easily done !!! For those of you who are hesitant on giving this game a try...trust me I think you'll love it !!! Have fun all !!!
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game. A great game, to play and relax with. I liked that you could also play without the timer. Fun, Fun, Fun.
Date published: 2014-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots o' fun Really fun game. Just finished it and going to start it right back up again. It is a little different that the usual viking thing. Very colorful too. I like how there are two parts to the scenes.
Date published: 2013-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little gem of a TM A very enjoyable game which I have completed. The graphics are very well done and the sound effects / music were very good, which is not the norm for TM games. This game held my interest from start to finish and was certainly immersive - I could have played for longer, had it been a longer game :-). A great play.
Date published: 2013-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seamless storyline, brilliant!! I loved how it blended together without breaks, this is the first of it's kind i have played. Beautiful graphics and music, i really enjoyed playing. I played in relaxed mode, so wasn't too challenging. But there are harder modes if you choose. Please make a number two!!!
Date published: 2013-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game I really like this game. Another one u can go back to get expert levels. I bought this one!
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Such a beautiful ballad I quite enjoyed this game. It is along the same lines as other TM games - but with a bit of a twist. There are 2 modes of gameplay and each level has at LEAST 1 sublevel. If you choose the harder mode, all levels & sublevels are timed if you choose the easier mode, only half the level is timed. It's an interesting concept. I thought the storyline was very good and the characters quite adorable, particularly Yord. I enjoyed that it had challenge to it without aggravating you. I did have to replay a few levels, but was able to complete in gold time by trying different strategies. My only complaints are this: 1) The game is too short. Only 30 levels. 2) There is no 'trophies/achievements' section. Whether it's worth the $7 is up to the player, I used a game coupon to get it and I don't regret it. If the game were longer & it had a trophy system I'd have given it 5 stars.
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First TM I ever bought I don't normally enjoy this style of TM game, (Roads to Rome style). I get bored of them quickly, however, this one is different from the others. I really loved it. I loved the storyline and the characters. I want to see what happens to them. The graphics are sweet, and everything is just the right level of complexity for me. I highly recommend this one!
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review of Completed Game... I really really enjoyed this game. I had planned on giving it 5 stars in fact until it ended on level 30! I have never played a builder game this short so even though I absolutely loved it, I felt like I got a little short changed. The concept of this game is to build different things in order to save your princess but it has different game mechanics than other games. I really liked how each level was either 2 or 3 parts earning a star for each and 1 or 2 of those parts was always timed and one was untimed on adventure mode. There is a hardcore mode where they are all timed but I didn't play that one. Anyways, the untimed levels really gave you time to think and figure out what to do in the timed ones. And he would pack up their tent each time and walk into the next level and usually it would be almost like the other room you just did but with a twist. I really liked this aspect of some timed and some not. This also has voiceovers and nice graphics. The story line is the same ol save the princess but you do have to do a lot of new things to get there.. Make potions, blow things up, talk to people and get helpers. I always felt like all the levels were quite doable although there were a few I had to do over. That was my pet peeve though because if you didn't do the timed ones in time, you got to move on BUT when doing them again, you had to do all the untimed parts as well. It would have been nice just to do the timed however it did make the game longer. IF this game had about 20 more levels. An even 50 or at least some more places to go and things to do, it would have been 5 stars for me. However, I felt like I came to an abrupt halt and I yearned for more. I didn't feel done and thats too bad because I really enjoyed myself. 4 stars for the uniqueness and the fun I had but have to take a star off for length. I loved that you had a lot of help along the way. You have a giant named Yord who reminds me of my dummy brown lab. Its just the way I picture him talking haha and there is a wizard and men who help along the way. Very interactive and while they are talking, you can do the tasks which is nice. I do recommend this however because a game as fun as this one, cannot be passed up. Just use a punch card coupon or wait for the daily deal!
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad, not the best For me, this was a fun game to play through once. I played the whole game in the un-timed mode. (There is a harder, timed mode, as well.) It is an asset/resource management game. You need to help Prince Solar defeat the evil one, rescue the princess, etc. You do this by clearing roads, rebuilding buildings, defeating evil spirits, rescuing fairies and people. Unlike normal TM games, most levels require some interaction with characters on that level. (Get the old man some honey, rebuild houses for the locals before they will tell you where the secret path is, etc). Also, on most levels you need to get to and open boxes that contain useful items, like a shovel or an ax. This game is very order specific. By that I mean, first you need to open a box to get a shovel to fill in a hole to get to the gold to open a trunk to get... etc. The good: Cartoon graphics are great Sound is great Voice overs are good and can be clicked through Game play is pretty typical The characters you meet and who sometimes accompany your are well done. I love Yord, the troll. The animations are well done. I love that you only need to scroll over items to pick them up. No clicking required! As far as I could see, you can't screw up so badly that you can't finish a level. You can exceed the time limit, but you can still finish the level. If you scroll over something, the game will provide info, like what path to clear to get to it, what the box contains, etc. That is very useful, because the paths are not always easy to figure out. The Bad: Most reviewer pointed out that each level is divided into sub-levels. If you miss getting the gold on sub-level 3, you have to start at the beginning again. You can't just replay sub-level 3. I didn't mind this so much, since I really wasn't playing to get the gold. My biggest complaint is this. The game is confusing. For example, there are these weird plants on several levels. On one level, you have to water the plants before you can get what you need from them. On other levels, no watering and you get a root. On other levels you get the flower. On some levels Treants are bad. On other levels you have to help them. To complete some tasks, (visiting shrines, talking to people, breaking up rock piles) three circles appear (Solar, Yord and the magician) and you have to choose which one to send, even though the game tells you which one to send. (Yord to break up rock piles.) I intentional sent the magician to cut through a log, once. It worked and did not seem to take any longer. Don't know what the point is. Also, there is a little phoenix (looks like chicken little) that will supply you with dynamite. On some levels, you have to catch a fish and give it to the phoenix, before he will give you the dynamite. On other levels, he just gives it to you. There is a blacksmith that shows up on certain levels. If you provide him with the necessary parts, he will combine them to make something useful. Some combinations make sense. The top and bottom of a club to make a club, for example. On other levels, the combinations make no sense what so ever. Since time is of the essence, being confused about how to proceed isn't good. There are many other examples I could give, but I think you understand what I am saying. Overall, I thought this game was enjoyable, but having played through once, I am done with it and will delete it. There are some great ideas in it and if the programmers can make it a bit more... don't know what. Logical? I think they will have a winning format. I recommend this game.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice twist on Time Management This is a cute game. You have a choice of playing in Adventure mode or Heroic mode. In Adventure, only part of each level is timed (and they are very clear which is timed and which is not). In Heroic, each level is completely timed. I played it through both ways. Some levels were relatively easy, but, overall, it was challenging to meet the time constraints to get the gold star. This is a good game for beginners on up! The only downside is that there are only 30 levels.
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Nice Surprise i am not a tm person i have some when i went thru that stage of game playing years ago...put this was in my "games you'll love" section so i looked at it and read the synopsis and tried it and after i played my hour demo i spent the 6.99 for it and i hardly every pay full price! the story was original and very nice for a tm :) graphics was clear i liked the cheekiness of the some of the characters dialog and voices were very well done as well for me this was a very addictive game went thru it twice b4 i finally quit for the night lol Very wonderful game! and u do get 2 choices of level of play i always play the easiest one cause i like to play as leasurely as possible hay i am lazy lol hope you give this game a try and have as much fun playing it as i do cause it is one i will play over again =^.^= Happy gaming all you fishies!
Date published: 2013-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid TM adventure with medieval fantasy story line. Save the Princess, Save the world! A hearty adventurous time management romp through a cursed medieval land. The game works well for those relatively new to TM games and want something absorbing, not too ridiculously hard, and with an actual interesting story-line that develops over time. A solid TM game which you can play timed or casual. I played timed over the course of about a week. So the game length is decent. If you don't complete on time, that's fine. You can carry on, but you don't get a pretty gold star on the map, is all. What creates and enhances the play-ability of this game are: the bright crisp cartoon graphics, engaging story-line, quality voice acting, entertaining conversational banter between characters, and great medieval atmospheric music and sound effects. Game play is absorbing and needs focus and attention. Generally you should find yourself constantly clicking. If you find yourself in a long 'waiting' situation, then 8/10 times this indicates you need to rethink you strategy if you are playing on the timed Heroic difficulty. So, go forth brave TM adventurers, and dig, beat, potion and chop obstacles out of the way to get your your Princess Lumina!! <Trumpet Fanfare>
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A new type of time management Same old rules, but a really big effort to change from classical time management games. You must be very attentive what and when to proceed, a lot of steps need a tool, a character and to get them you need a precise path in a very short time. I am playing it right now, and from the begining the expert mode is hard. Your heroes are a mage, a troll, a prince and each can accomplish different tasks.
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Such a cute game!! I love the graphics, they were very colorful and nice to look at. The sounds are great, no annoying voices. All the voices they used are pleasant. I loved the game play... it can be challenging but it can be easy in other parts. Overall I would say this is a great game to get if you love TM games because it will keep you busy!!! I bought the game before I was done with the demo!
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun, Semi-Timed Gather/Build Game Two Gameplay types... Adventure (Some Timed, some Not).. & Heroic (ALL Timed) Nice Stotyline with Decent Toonie Graphics & Sound. Music OK too.. I even turned it up for awhile :) Better than Many TM Games Burned a Credit before Demo over
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice TMgame for a change The graphics are ok, I have seen better. I like that it is a combination of adventure and gather resources's games.The music is pleasant and the explanations are easy to understand and to interact with. All in all a win for me and I prefer TMgames.
Date published: 2013-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good TM game I bought it. But i love TM games. It is the best but it is still good. I like it.
Date published: 2013-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game! This is a pretty good game! Graphics are excellent.
Date published: 2015-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun TM game! This was a fun TM game--not terribly challenging but not mindless either. Thoroughly enjoyed it!
Date published: 2013-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed it This game is so much fun! It has a ton of levels so it's worth buying. I played for hours straight because I had to finish it. :)
Date published: 2013-05-19
  • y_2019, m_10, d_16, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_17831, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Ballad of Solar

Guide Solar and his band of helpers as they set out to rescue the fair Lumina and stop the dark sorcerer Grogan from achieving eternal life!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.