Northmark: Hour of the Wolf

Northmark: Hour of the Wolf

PC

Also available on

Strategy

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(42.19 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Experience the thrills of adventure in Northmark: Hour of the Wolf, a card-based RPG. Choose to become a mighty warrior, cunning mage or powerful druid as you fight for glory and survival in arena combat. Explore every corner of the kingdom from fiery deserts to deep forests and cold mountain peaks and journey to the kingdoms of the elves and dwarves. Danger waits at every turn as you investigate the chilling mystery that threatens your homeland. Can you defeat assassins, thieves and hideous monsters?

  • Original battle system
  • Fight for honour, glory... and gold!
  • Become the greatest hero Northmark has ever known!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 48 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Northmark: Hour of the Wolf

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(42.19 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Northmark: Hour of the Wolf is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, fun, just too short I enjoyed the story line, the humor was well done, and the level of challenge was spot on. It was just too short.
Date published: 2015-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game Once you get started this game was hard to stop playing. The story line is great.
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Northmark, battle card game well I have avoided this game for a while, tonite sat down to figure it out and now that I have it understood it is a really neat game. Lots of places to visit and plenty of battles with loads of cards to get the game on with. I enjoyed it. I hope to see another like it.
Date published: 2013-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really liked it It's a good strategy game and a nice departure from the hidden object games. As long as you don't skip through the instructions at the beginning, it's fun and selecting the right combination of player cards and battle deck to counter the opponents gets your noggin working. Hope we get more of these!
Date published: 2013-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Engaging Adventure DO NOT SKIP THE DIRECTIONS! and don't go through them too fast. Very nice battle card game. Good sense of humor and the quests are fun. Battle mode takes a bit of getting used to but is heavy strategy.
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LET THE QUEST BEGIN! I will be honest with you, I'm not a big fan of the detailed strategy games but this one isn't bad. It is a very confusing game and there is a lot of detailed information to remember before the game even begins, choose the character carefully because it matters especially in battle. It took me a couple of re-takes to figure out what cards or powers to choose to win the battle. Healing powers and magic are sometimes better than weapons. I don't really think this is a game to base an opinion on a demo, just not enough time. If you like this kind of game you will probably have to buy it, one hour just isn't enough play time. Enjoy!
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Battle game This is not a game for a 65 year old lady like me ,but my granddaughter would love it. any thing with battle in it is right up her alley. very good for kids.
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Requires Commitment If you can persevere through the learning stage, this game looks great. Card/battle mechanics seem cloudy at first, but not too much is expected at the beginning. Characterisation is humorous. I'm expecting many hours of absorbing gameplay.
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun strategy card game This is a fun strategy card game with a good RPG Element. Lots of cards to buy and work out how to play. Different characters and strategies appear possible through the game.
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good old-school strategy game (Based on the demo) I found this card battle game to be an interesting addition to BFG's small library of rpg/strategy games (technically separate from time management games). The gameplay is simple, (though I suspect it will grow more complicated and difficult as the game progresses): you work your way across the map acquiring quests, and these quests in turn open new locations on the map. The quests can be simple 'fetch' quests or they can be battle quests, and occasionally you are given choices which may affect the course of the game. Upon completion of the quests, the player is given experience points, which are necessary to gain new character levels and -- in rpg fashion -- each new level unlocks stat points which can be used to boost the hero's offensive or defensive statistics. Battle is turn-based and consists of playing offensive, defensive, healing, and stat-boosting cards, most of which are randomly generated, and throughout the game new cards are made available for purchase either in the shops or by the completion of quests. Although the gameplay itself is different, fans of the wonderful 'Puzzle Quest' games will recognize several elements in play here, such as repeated visits to locations where new quests are generated as the story, and your participation, dictates. An interesting feature of this game is the occasional chests you stumble upon throughout the game, the contents of which are unlocked by solving an anagram riddle -- old-school gamers may recall this exact same feature from the 1993 Sierra RPG 'Betrayal at Krondor'. All and all, an intriguing and unexpected offering from Big Fish -- my curiosity is piqued and as soon as my monthly credit kicks in, I will be getting this one to do some further exploration.
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed...Too Short I love strategy games. They keep the old gray cells working. This game is a great concept. You choose your character: mage, warrior, etc. Along the way, you gain cards to help you in battle. Your first challenge is to find out who poisoned the ruler of your kingdom. As you investigate, you realize that someone is trying to start a war. Disturbing events are occurring. Humans are being attacked and killed. Towns are being burned to the ground. Have the elves and dwarves band together to attack and kill humans? Didn't you all sign a peace treaty long ago? I got excited! I was like, " Wow!! This game is going to be really great!" I scrolled over this huge map and thought I was going to travel to many different areas, fight many different monsters, and garner various, more powerful cards along the way. Nope! Didn't happen. On this huge map one can only travel a few places. I also had a problem trying to figure out how to switch my cards before battles. I kept getting beat up. I went online to find instructions but couldn't find any. I was confused. It took a minute, but I finally figured it out. I have a few suggestions: The design team should go back and (1) add more places to the map so players can travel,(2) give players the ability to upgrade their cards to more powerful levels, (3) and allow us to discard or sell unwanted/weak cards in the shops, (4) add more battles with different and more challenging enemies. This game has all the bells and whistles to be a top-notch game. It just needs to be tweaked.
Date published: 2014-07-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh Didn't care for the card format; I found it awkward and irritating at times.
Date published: 2014-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Well...that was more like a 2 hour demo. I bought this elsewhere but I always have trouble choosing games so I figured I would let everyone know my thoughts on this. It's actually pretty fun, occasionally hard, usually super easy. It wasn't until the final battle I even lost once to be honest. And that was an issue because all of a sudden it's game over? Really? There's tons left to do, you can't really level up more then it allows you. It does drive me nuts that you also can't keep leveling up your cards so YOU can get more skills, but not your cards. I was always frustrated trying to go back to areas. In short it's a tiny battle card game and the entire rest of it is more go to A get B go back to A. The humor and writing is pretty decent, but I felt horribly cheated at the end. They set it up for a sequel which is very frustrating. There's a HUGE map and you barely touch on it so when all of a sudden you are done, just as it was getting intriguing. Roll credits.
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Confused? You will be!! I tried to get to grips with this game but I just couldn't work out how during a battle conflict I could win. Using cards there where various weapons that I could and did use, but the other combatant kept blocking my attacks. That's fine, but I could neither see or find out how I could defend myself by blocking his attack. There is also a lot of dialogue to read. There is an option to skip this, but if you do, you end up not knowing what it is you are supposed to do. So for me this game is a "No No" at least until someone writes clear, concise instructions on how to play the game.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I'm so confused!!!!! Never having played a game like this it must be me but I didn't get this game at ALL. So much to remember before you can even start. I was very confused!! Seems like this would be a great game for the guys of the Big Bang Theory.
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SUPER FRUSTRATION !! ENTIRE DEMO trying to determine how to play! I own Puzzle Quest and several other games like this one, but this one is just super frustration repeatedly. Virtually everything is figure it out for yourself.
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Northmark good concept, but what a rip off, just as I was getting the hang of it the game ended, dont waste your money. Maybe an hour or two of play.
Date published: 2013-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not for me that style of card play battling is not original at all. I tried the game but storyline is too slow. Hard to understand what to do unless you set through all those frames with directions and if I wanted to read I would get a book, not a computer game. For me to enjoy a game it needs to be fun, simple to play, and challenging to defeat. I did not see that in this game.
Date published: 2013-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Northmark: Hour of the Wolf I got as far as 6 minutes into the game and was stuck. Instructions are NOT clear on how to play and move from screen to screen. This should have been developed further and if you can't get past the first 10 minutes it's a "no buy" for me. This game seems to play more like a strategy game than a hidden object game that is states it is. Even with clearer instructions this is not the type of game I usually buy.
Date published: 2013-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Avoid. My wife and I bought this directly from the developers a while back. A very pretty game, with a well thought out combat system clearly derived from card-themed games. The problems begin after that. The game never varies in its "You want A, get me B which is conveniently your next stop" approach to questing. This might work, except that the story is slim, poorly written, and badly developed. Characters don't have character; choices are obviously false choices; the game design mechanisms in play from the first are precisely the same ones you find at the end, with a slim selection of cards. Nothing changes. The AI is poor, too. It frequently makes poor card selections in battle, so the only way for difficulty to be ramped up is to give your opponents more life and access to better cards. Challenge of a sort, just not the right kind. Visual charm can only carry a game so far, especially when the gameplay itself is repetitive and simple, and the AI poor. Asked to do it all over again, I'd take a pass.
Date published: 2013-04-24
  • y_2019, m_3, d_24, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_18101, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Northmark: Hour of the Wolf

Adventure across the lands in this original role-play game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.