Small Town Terrors: Pilgrim's Hook

Small Town Terrors: Pilgrim's Hook

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(398.73 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The only person that could bring you back to Pilgrim's Hook has called you out of the blue. Return to your childhood home and save your twin brother from the dark forces that have invaded this coastal village. The few remaining residents of Pilgrim's Hook appear slightly mad and something strange is happening to those that resist the call of the sea. You are the last hope in this decades long struggle between good and evil, sand and surf, and land and sea. Do you have the strength to defeat this evil that lurks beneath the ocean? Find out in Small Town Terrors: Pilgrim's Hook.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 600 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Small Town Terrors: Pilgrim's Hook

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(398.73 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Small Town Terrors: Pilgrim's Hook is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 33.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good fun lots to do great game. Has great graphics, good voice over and music. Has a map and hint button works good if needed which is not that often. Has achievement and the game is not that hard. Has a great deal of places to visit finding things. Lots of places. Now you have to remember where to use all the items you find. The HOS are easy and the puzzles are some easy some not. You want adventure then play this game.
Date published: 2013-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from He searches...hunter of the shadows is rising TITLE—Small Town Terrors: Pilgrim's Hook VERSION—Standard Edition (full game) DEVELOPER—Gunnar Games (produced by Big Fish Games) GENRE—Interactive Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure STORYLINE—You swore to never return to Pilgrim's Hook. But on your 34th birthday, your fraternal twin Arthur calls you after years of estrangement. Dark forces are at work in your island hometown, and you're about to be a pivotal player an ages old battle between good and evil. Do you have the strength to save Arthur and the remaining citizens of Pilgrim's Hook from the immortal call of the sea? OVERVIEW—Yes, ok, this is another "dark" game in which you're off to save a relative from some evil force. However, this is not a throwaway game developed to take advantage of a fad. There are geographical and literary references throughout the game that indicate the story is woven from research. The balance of iHOs, puzzles, mini-games, and adventure is perfect. Not too much of any one type. The atmosphere is immersive through the graphics, music, and ambient sound. This is a thoroughly enjoyable game to play. Creepy, but fun. GAMEPLAY—Point 'n' click adventure with iHOs, puzzles, and mini-games interspersed about equally. The iHOs are all of the list type, but some are 12 different items and some are four each of three different items. The puzzles and mini-games, while mostly familiar, are presented in unique formats and are, for the most part, challenging. INTERFACE—JOURNAL: Notes clues and keeps track of the story. MAP: Notes active areas and transports, but rather than placing you in an exact location, it places you in an area with a group of locations, so you're not led around by the hand…very nice. HINTS: In the HOs, a hint shows you an object on the list. In adventure mode, it leads you to where you can do something. SETTINGS—Effects, ambient sound, voice, and music volumes can all be set separately. There are three levels of difficulty. Widescreen and custom cursor are available. Sadly, the inventory panel could not be locked open, a feature I wish developers would all include. GRAPHICS—Excellent. Realistic and artistic. Not photo-realistic. Nice use of texture and color to enhance the mood and immersiveness. CUTSCENES—Beautiful 3D rendering brings the animation to life. The water was especially well done. The only fault was in the lip synching but, to be fair, it's really difficult to do realistic lip synching. MUSIC—Moody and in the background with appropriate crescendos. SOUND—Creepily appropriate. VOICEOVER—Very well done. The villain's voice exudes evil through quiet confidence which is much more frightening than any effect. The citizens' voices switch effortlessly between madness and sanity. And the good guys' voices evoke decency. SUMMARY—I highly recommend Pilgrim's Hook, and wish I had gotten the Collector's Edition.
Date published: 2013-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game Of Year 2013 Contender BASED ON COMPLETED CE GAME Yes, this game really is that good. It’s got something to please everyone. The story though superficially familiar is far more interesting than that. Just exploring the island, talking to the remaining inhabitants and trying to figure out what’s going on is involving. The game looks great, bright, clear, misty within context. And I particularly love that though the town was deserted, it was not all old and ugly. Some parts of the town had been attended to up until very recently. The voiceovers were wonderful. Beautiful well spoken speeches exhibiting appropriate emotions. That’s a rare treat. Music okay and background noises very good at establishing atmosphere. There are times in the game where you are walking about alone and the sense of eerie emptiness is inescapable. The HOs are not very hard, a little interactive, and of two list types, giving us a little variety. The puzzles are well explained and are fairly easy – I only needed the SG twice. Experienced players will want to play on hard core (level 3), but I suspect even then this may a bit easy. For intermediate me, it was perfect. Is the CE worth the extra money? I’m glad I bought it. The bonus games were fun, I actually found a wallpaper worth putting on my desktop and there are morphing objects and achievements. The main game is self-contained and finishes properly, so I don’t think this is a lesser game. It is still well worth the money at SE prices.
Date published: 2013-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small Town Terrors: Pilgrim's Hook Excellent storyline and the puzzles were challenging enough not to be too easy yet make you think.
Date published: 2013-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fun hidden object game I like. Storyline interesting, Challenge OK.
Date published: 2013-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object Game Don't usually play games with music, nevertheless, this game is awesome! great storyline, graphics excellent, highly recommend this game it's a great buy.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liked this game a lot better than I thought I would Bought this several months ago as a Daily Deal and left it sitting in my inventory while I played other games that I thought would be more interesting and fun. Was very pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. One of the best things about it was that almost right from the beginning you are given access to nearly the whole town instead of being stuck in just a couple rooms til you unlock every little door and drawer before you can move on! I can get bored very fast when having to do that. Enjoyed the charactors and the hidden object scenes very much. Also, didn't feel like I needed a phd to figure out where to go and what to do next. My kind of game. I highly recommend.
Date published: 2015-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fun! Very entertaining, and just challenging enough.
Date published: 2013-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best in one sitting Fun Game...but in my opinion, this type of adventure game needs to be played in one sitting. Luckily, it has a good hint system, but the hint takes you all the way to your next chore.
Date published: 2013-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Entertaining game with nice graphics The story is interesting. There are 3 game modes but even the Hard Core is easy. The graphics are great, colorful. The HOS are clear. The mini-games are on the easy side. You get a journal, a list of objectives and an interactive map, allowing you to jump to a location. The hint system shows you the way to a task. The voice-overs and the characters are good. The game is not very long; for me about 2 1/2 hours. I don't give 5 stars because I find it a bit too easy.
Date published: 2013-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nicely constructed game Pros: Very nice story. It starts off the way so many do these days - with a missing person and a rescue. But from there it picks up into something quite interesting. You have been drawn back to your childhood home which you hated but which has drawn back your twin brother. He is nowhere to be found - at least in the beginning. The town is almost deserted but for a few left behind and the baddie who has an extraordinary secret to hide. Decent graphics Clean HOS Nice puzzles, some of them quite fiendish! The suitcase is the one which got me scratching my head (never was any good at algebra!) Decent length: took me about 5 hours on expert level. Cons: None really but the ending was a bit abrupt. When I have some credits to spare, I may get the CE to get the extra chapter/s. Maybe the bonuses will have more of the story to round it out. All in all, well worth playing.
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Satisfying Buy!! I enjoyed this one! The good points- An interactive map, that transports. Great graphics, Wonderful voices, Interactive HOS, ( the HOS are mostly interactive) Bad points- Cannot lock your inventory, which drives me nuts!, The good graphics are a tap bit washed out looking... All in all the game has a great storyline, and will not be a disappointment! Liked it a lot. Happy gaming gamers!
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of fun for a rainy day REVIEW AFTER COMPLETION OF GAME AT EXPERT LEVEL I thoroughly enjoyed this game. The story line wasn't one of my favorites, but it did keep me moving happily along. The graphics, music, voice overs and atmosphere were good and added tension to the game. I was able to complete this game with only one hint which means the mini games are doable. I did have to spend a little time on two of them because I was determined not to skip any, but once I solved them, I went "duh" because I was making them harder than I needed to. I really enjoyed how the characters kept interacting with me as well as the interactive map which showed me where I could accomplish tasks and let me jump to where I needed to be. The HOS were crisp, clear and part of the story. They also had some tricky things you had to do in order to collect the hidden objects, which I really enjoy. If I had to say anything negative about this game, it would be my standard whine about the colors. I like a large palate and once again, the game devs kept the color scheme on the gray/brown/black side. I also didn't understand why the octopus was so angry but that may have been that I just didn't follow the story closely enough. Overall, this was a lot of fun for me and I think you'll enjoy it too.
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just Fine!!!! I think I review the CE for not, quite an hour. So I just tried again with this one. I had a free game. am used it. Not sorry, at all. It just got better and better. I am really hard on games. Some of them are so good. Hours and Hours of, game play way, into the night. Big Fish, has been a life saver.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not to Bad at All I was a bit reserved when I read some of the reviews, but I found this game very interesting and fun to play. I played the demo and bought the whole game so that has to be a pretty decent recommendation. The graphics were very acceptable and the music and sound effects went with the story and were not annoying at all. The only problems I had was hearing the voice overs, and I could have fixed that I'm sure had I taken the time. As I said, it was fun to play. It wasn't the push over I was led to believe. Sure the hidden object scenes were not hard and the mini games were doable without too much trouble, but they still offered a bit of a challenge to get through them. There is an inter active map which does help you get around, and the hint button is quick to recharge. The story while a bit confusing at first, all came together in the end and there was an end to this one. I hate it when you are left dangling, but this has a very good endIing to the story. All in all, I suppose I played 5 hours on the game and found it long enough to keep my interest. I really enjoyed the game and I recommend it to you.
Date published: 2013-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game... This was one of the better surprises that I purchased, what seemed to be just another HOG/Adventure game turned into quite a bit of fun. The graphics are truly beautiful in some scenes and the story actually made sense. Nice. Very nice. It was a good length and some puzzles (not all) were challenging. Good replay value.
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOTTA HAVE Nice voice overs. Graphics are the standard drab style for abandoned towns (so less one star). Although nonlinear, where you have to go and have to do is generally apparent. The hint system points in the right direction if you get stuck though. Lots to do and places to investigate, so the interactive map is very helpful. The storyline is interesting - why have the twins not spoken for years, why is one selected to be the bait to lure the other, what happened to the town. All to unfold.
Date published: 2013-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An uneasy feeling caused you to leave your birthplace,Pigrim's Hook, but a distress call from your twin brother draws you back Hundreds of years ago, a previously unknown island was discovered and a town was founded by C. Astour and the island has always emitted an aura of uneasiness. In 1980, the first set of twins to be born on Pilgrim's Hook were born on the summer solstice and the Mayor, Cedric Astour, was extremely happy with their arrival. You, Vera, and your brother, Arthur Hargrove spent your early years growing up there. You always felt uneasy and couldn't wait to leave the island vowing never to return while Arthur always seemed happy and content to live there. After no contact from your brother in years, you receive a cryptic call from him on your 34th birthday and he indicates that he has returned to the island but that you were right and that he never should have returned and then the call ends mysteriously. Worried about Arthur and against your better judgement, you decide to return to Pilgrim's Hook to find him. Arriving at the island by boat, a heavy fog surrounds the island and your feeling of uneasiness and fear returns. Beginning your search for Arthur, you find notes from him telling you that you both were tricked to return and warns you not to trust anyone including him. You also begin seeing a watery apparition that welcomes you home and tells you that it has had its eye on you from the day you were born and has plans for you. There also seems to be a discrepancy with the birth certificate of the mayor and at least a dozen of people have mysteriously disappeared on the island. You have to find your brother, determine what role the mayor played in the disappearances, and what this ancient evil is that has a hold on Pilgrim's Hook and destroy it. The somewhat ominous graphics are good presenting a sense of a pending storm with creepy music that is repetitive but not annoying, detailed characters and good voice acting and appropriate background sounds. There is a journal with objectives list and a good jump map with action areas indicated although sometimes not all action areas are indicated. The hint system is a little different in that once clicked it will continue to direct you to the next objective until you reach it without having to click on the hint button more than once. Inventory puzzles, minigames and hidden object scenes are incorporated into the game very well so you don't feel like you have exited to a special area and then return to the game. Hidden Object scenes were of the interactive list type and find a number of similar objects. None are very hard. The game wraps up satisfactorily in an interesting way making this one to consider for a few hours of diversion.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Bit Disappointing ... The Graphics were OK but not spectacular. What really irritated me was the Storyline. Why was the Octopus Monster after her? What did he want? Game ended but questions were left unanswered. Never found out what the Octopus Monster wanted with her in the first place. Glad I didn't buy the Collection's Edition but just spent one Game Credit on this.
Date published: 2013-05-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't like this one at all... One of the few I've played that I really didn't like. Three times - until I deinstalled it - I had to kill something, and there seemed to be a lot of backtracking to find objects.
Date published: 2015-09-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Should have played the Demo-Version first... After playing through "Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Castle CE" I was looking for another good HOG, and bought "Small Town Terrors" - should have tried it out first, so I could have seen that this is absolutely not my case! Boring, monotonous, low contrast graphics, combined with bugging sounds - soundtrack, effects and ambiance as well - had to unplug my headset cause I could not stand the tedious noises. I set the difficulty to Intermediate (no individual setting here, just three presets from easy to hard) - now it is not possible to change the difficulty grade. This would have been necessary since the graphics is so low contrast (everything comes in the same color it seems...), active areas are not highlighted in any way, and in the HO-scenes there are always several extra-items from the scene needed which you only can find through moving the cursor around and see on which spot it reacts - that ticked me off! I quit playin' after half an hour, this one's a bummer, and I'll delete it without further playing! Definitely not recommended!
Date published: 2014-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Way too short Nice game. But I finished the demo in 28 minutes. Based on that, This is not even a two hour game for me. I don't buy games this short regardless of how good they are.
Date published: 2013-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sticky, glitchy, frustrating, poorly constructed game. Horrible. I deleted quickly. waste of time.
Date published: 2013-05-13
  • y_2020, m_10, d_27, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_18281, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Small Town Terrors: Pilgrim's Hook

There's a dark force at work in Pilgrim's Hook. Return to your childhood home and save your twin brother from the evil that lives beneath the sea.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.