Grim Tales: Bloody Mary
Exclusive

Grim Tales: Bloody Mary

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free minute trial

(759.81 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

(759.81 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You’re driving home from work when you get an urgent call from your favorite niece, begging you to pick her up from her boarding school. The teachers have gone missing, her classmates are becoming violent, and shadow creatures are haunting every corner. Search the school, but remember this one simple rule: Never look into a mirror after sunset. Bloody Mary is always watching.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1280 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 818 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Grim Tales: Bloody Mary

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free minute trial

(759.81 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

(759.81 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Grim Tales: Bloody Mary is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 62.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another good game in the Grim Tales series I have played all the games in the Grim Tales series and this one is a worthy addition to the series. The graphics are beautiful and the storyline is emotionally rewarding. The little animals are cute, the monsters are scary and the mirror world is truly unique. I like the way there is animation in almost every scene. The only thing I would have changed is that the puzzles are a little too easy. If you liked the other Grim Tales games, you won't be disappointed in this one.
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Gaming !! I totally had the greatest time playing this game !! I found this game the same way I find 85% of my games here at bfg,I read the reviews of several games and pay attention to what games my fellow reviewers are calling they're "Current Favorite" game !! I haven't been led astray by my fellow fishies yet !! It's a wonderful way to see what older games everyone has played when the "new" games list just isn't tickling my fancy...And that's how I found this awesome,fun game !! About "Bloody Mary" : It has really clear graphics,the music in the background stays exactly there-in the background,it didn't bother or annoy me in the least...I loved the story twist !! We all had some sort of "Bloody Mary" myth growing up and I think this game took that childhood myth and made it a fabulously grown-up game !! But not too grown-up for our age 12 and up family members and friends to dive in and play...My "bloody Mary" myth was while in the bathroom with the light out,you take 10 deep but quick breaths in and out with your eyes squinched closed.On your 10th breath you open your eyes as your partner in shenanigations flips on the bathroom light as you stare into the mirror and B A N G !! you see good old "Bloody Mary" ..hyperventilating is what brings our dear,scary childhood nightmare "Mary" on !! lol I only played the SE so I, of course,can't comment on any extras and whatnot,but I think it was a very good SE to play...The map is an excellent one with fast travel,available actions and "mirror-world" fast travel too !! And we have a diary to keep us on track with our clues for our journey ...All in all I gave this one 5 stars because I had forgotten it,my daughter found it in my games list about a year after I had bought and beat it and she just loves it too !! Give it a try today with the money off deal or use one of those credits you've let build up and are looking for a good game to sink your teeth into and pass away a crisp,spring day !! Happy Gaming Fellow Fishies !!!! P.S. I'm including as my "Current Favorite" a game I believe to be an absolute "must play" SE and I'm highly recommending it to those of you that do the same thing I do to find a great "new-to-me" SE game...
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really creepy and cool! I bought this game on a whim and I have to say that I really like it! I highly recommend playing it with the sound on just because the music is so creepy that it really sets the mood for the game!.The graphics are also really cool and pretty interesting. They remind me a little bit of Tim Burton movies. Dark yet whimsical. I didn't find this game particularly challenging so I think it would be good if you are fairly new to hidden object games. The only thing that bothered me was that it seemed to move a little slow. I don't know if it was my computer or what but I haven't had that problem with any other game. But I got used to it as I continued to play and it didn't bother me as much as I thought it would. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2014-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the "Creepy" Factor Storyline was dark, which I liked. Good visuals as always. One of my favorites.
Date published: 2014-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you like CREEPY, this is it! Definitely a creepy atmosphere! Loved the story line of Bloody Mary in the mirrors! You're summoned to an old dark mansion that has recently been made into a boarding school to save your niece. Be careful, Mary and her "student helpers" are just around the corner. Lots of fun.
Date published: 2014-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game! The graphics in this game are great! The storyline was good, the puzzles were medium difficulty, the sound effects were perfect (not annoying), and the amount of scenes you had to get through to the end was well worth it. Would recommend this. Great buy for $2.99.
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! Just completing the game and want to congratulate you on the creativity, challenge, visuals, and fun Elephant developed in GrimmTales: Bloody Mary. Thank you for providing one of the greatest games I have bought on Big Fish.
Date published: 2014-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepiest Game Ever I understand how this game won the "Creepiest" title for 2013; I could not finish it. Maybe one day I'll start early with lots of people around; more than just playing you could feel this game, I did want to get to sleep at night. When I grow up some more, I'll finish it...I'll recommend it for those who love creepy, but for those who just love Grim Tales, you might want to skip this one too
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NEVER!!! Talk To Your Reflection! The phone rings in the middle of the night, "Auntie please save me, their all evil!" You arrive at the boarding school of horror, dolls with no heads, sewn up teddy bears and disturbing graffiti have turned this once beautiful mansion into a little shop of horrors. Inside the horror continues, and something attempts to kill you by dropping the chandelier and hurling sharp objects! I love the twisted and demented vibe of the possessed children, nothing creepier! The graphics are amazingly crisp and very detailed, and this isn't an easy game, you need to stop and think at times but there is an excellent hint system and an interactive map. There aren't a lot of HOS but they are very well done, they stick to the creepy atmosphere of a demented boarding school, and several objects within the scene will react when you pass over them with your cursor. The mini scenes are mostly plays where you read a line of the tale of Bloody Mary then interact with items on the stage to match each line being read. Each and every scene have several available areas of action and if you pay attention, stick figure characters come to life and show you what needs to be done, again, creepy. I really can't find a single complaint with either version other than some players may not like this genre, but it's my favorite kind, enjoy!
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Differences to the Collector's Edition... :) This is the meanwhile 5th game of this series and the previous Grim Tales were pure Adventures with no mentionable Extras in their Collector’s Editions… This time Elephant Games went a new way… Extras ONLY available in the CE: 16 hidden figurines to collect, 12 achievements to earn, some replayable minigames and hidden-object-scenes, wallpapers, music, concept art, strategy guide and a bonus-chapter (at least 1 more hour to play!) with a prequel to the main-story… Graphics are - as always - welldone: very clear and detailed, even in the dark scenes. Charakters are very good animated. But be warned: stories with eerie schools and weird and mad school-kids are not everyone’s business… Facts: 7 chapters, 3 modes to choose from (can be changed during the game), interactive map: showing you available action and allowing you to jump, very useful hint (telling you what to do next), lockable inventory. Soon you’ll get a useful friend: Chucky the chipmunk! 11 Slightly interactive hidden-object-scenes, ALL from list and all just played once! 16 minigames, some new, most of them good to solve, but a few quite tricky!! All of them fun to play!! It took me about 4 hours to finish the main-game (this Standard-Edition) in the 2nd mode. Ending is conclusively. Different to the previous Grim Tales, but very addicting!!! :)
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elephant comes through for us again, great game I have been waiting for another excellent experience from Elephant and they didn't disappoint. Great story, graphics are awesome, music fits the theme, HOS are well lit and not too easy. Mini games are tied to the theme and reveal more of the story instead of the usual match the color or stack the rings. Voiceovers are good. They provide the usual 3 levels of play, jump map, diary and hint (fills fast# so you have the power to choose your level of spoiler if stuck. Items are located close to area of use. Not too much backtracking. They have started to make the comments a little more specific to the game as well. For example #tiny spoiler) I tried to use a blow torch on a window grating and instead of the usual 'doesn't fit' it said 'I would probably burn the house down'. Adds more interest. Cut scene styles are mixed between the characters whom you can interact with and primitive sketches like a child's coloring book picture which fill in the back story. The first game I ever played and the reason I joined BFG was Grim Tales, The Bride so I may be biased but I gotta say that this series just gets better and better for me. Only played for a bit so I don't know the length but I am convinced it is well worth the purchase. I just couldn't find anything I didn't like.
Date published: 2013-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seriously Scary! BASED ON COMPLETED CE GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS Spectacular start to the game. Blood drenched colour, the music is so ominous, the acting dramatic. A truly creepy beginning. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The game should be gloomy. Everything is coloured with blood red. Yet it is not. The graphics are clear, detailed and beautiful, and there is no trouble with seeing HOs or found items. The music, as I say, is positively panic-inducing right from the start. Coupled with the eerie sounds of children’s laughter, the whole package is quite devastating. It is, I think, the most frightening of all the games produced by this developer. WHAT’S HAPPENING This game is the 5th in the Grim Tales series, and those who have played the other games will recognise our character of “Super-Auntie”, but I’m sorry to say, no more of our nephew Brandon. It is our niece who begs for our help, and it is her school that we race to. After the first half hour or so, it's the school and the urban legend of Bloody Mary that we focus on. I didn’t really have any idea of what that legend was (it’s not one we have here), but it didn’t take long to figure out. You don’t to have played the other games, or be familiar with the legend to enjoy this game. Bloody Mary seems to have manifested in the mirrors at our niece’s school. Teachers are disappearing and students are behaving weirdly. All of it has to do with the legend of Bloody Mary, and care must be taken to avoid mirrors after dark, or she will drag you into her world. MAKING PROGRESS There are plenty of puzzles and HO scenes in this game, along with a lot of adventure tasks. There is a lot to do. It is all good fun, a little harder than easy, but not super difficult. The beautifully drawn HO scenes have interactive lists, and if I had one criticism for this game it would be that there are not other styles of HO puzzle offered. There’s an interactive jump map that tells you where there are active tasks, not whether you can currently do anything about them, which is a bit frustrating. Hint is excellent, giving you concise instructions on what to do next. Both hint and skip are quick in the easiest of 3 game modes. BLING! There is a huge list of CE extras that you’ll probably miss out on, but I was unimpressed with the bonus chapter, which seemed to have been sloppily put together and while it was long, was not very immersive or convincing. One good aspect was that, the replayable HOs and puzzles were not unlocked until you had completed the bonus chapter, and then, you play a kind of ‘readers digest’ version of the main game. You must find an item to unlock each HO scene and puzzle, by completing one of them. I thought that was worth the extra price. FAMOUS LAST WORDS This is a great game, in either version, but I prefer the CE with its extras. But if you’re not into that kind of thing, and achievements don’t grab you, this game would be an excellent buy.
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Dark, Creepy and Spooky Game for Halloween Grim Tales Bloody Mary begins with a cutscene as you are driving to Blackhill School at the request of your niece, Jackie, who is very upset because the adults have all disappeared and very strange things are happening. Upon your arrival at Blackhill you see the silhouette of a child with glowing red eyes decapitating a toy bunny with a pair of scissors. From the first scene, I knew this game would be over-the-top creepy. Grim Tales Bloody Mary is a dark tale of demon possessed children - a theme I do not like. Strictly because of the theme, I was tempted to give the game a bad review; however, I have to admit that many of you will like the game and not be bothered by the storyline. I vacillated between buying the game or just trashing it but as I progressed through the game I was drawn in by the story and wanted to find out what was going on. Grim Tales Bloody Mary will not be a game that everyone likes but many of you will find that it has the gritty content and feel that you have been asking for in a game. In the end, I think this installment in the Grim Tales series will turn out to be one of those polarizing games: you will either love it or hate it. The graphics are crystal clear and excellent with lots of brilliant color. There are voiceovers that are very believable but I still find it annoying that a developer the caliber of Elephant Games will not add lip movement to their characters when they speak. This is one of my favorite developers and they just haven’t gone to the next level by adding lip movement/voice sync to their games. Aside from that complaint, the music and sound effects are very wonderfully intense, and I have to admit that I jumped once or twice as I was playing the game. I found that because of the intense nature of the music, I needed to turn the music volume very low as I was feeling a bit jittery. The HOS are list type with some interaction required. I found that many objects in the HOS are very small and difficult to find so I resorted to using the hint button. Many of the game's puzzles are the scenario type where you move items around to complete a story but fortunately there are some different type puzzles as the game moves forward. Overall, I was very disappointed with the dark turn that this installment of the Grim Tales series has taken. Although it does get better as the storyline developes and in the end it is an excellent game. Elephant Games brings us some of the best games on the market so it was sad (at least for me) to see such a dark-themed game. Although the game is not one of my favorites because I don't like games with demon possessed children, I will still give it a 5-star rating based on the game’s mechanics, artwork and challenge. That being said, I would strongly encourage you to try the demo before you buy it. Some gamers may find that Grim Tales Bloody Mary is the game they have been waiting for - a good spooky tale for Halloween.
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Grim Tale At Its Best Bought this game as a CE in August and was blown away at the authenticity in its development. Riveting story that keeps you on the edge. Well developed characters with real life believability, no stone was left unturned on this one. I don't want to say too much to give away anything. Just take a chance, experience it for yourself, you will not be disappointed. This one speaks and sells for itself! In my opinion the best of the Grim Tales!!!
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HAPPILY BUSY Lovely game, like the other Grim Tales games. HOS are not too crowded and objects have good visibility. Inventory items may be used more than once and therefore go back into inventory (so no more having to find another hammer because you seem to have lost the one you had when you used a couple locations ago). And there are many, many more fun puzzles than HOS. They vary in difficulty and variety and are not too difficult There's oodles to do in each location. especially when you discover the mirror. The well-constructed story gets quite intricate. Very, very good production values. A lot of fun to play and it will keep you happily busy for some time. Elephant games are tops.
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from brilliant, fantastic game Elephant have done it again, just as good as all the other Grim Tales. Graphics, very crisp and clear, sound and music, couldn't be better, storyline, a bit tongue in cheek but a lot of fun. HO games a bit too easy, but having said that, time isn't wasted trying to find things. Don't take my word for it, try it yourselves you wont be disappointed. Well done the developers, and thank you BF.[ hope there is going to be another one, would have loved the CE but couldn't afford it.]
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grim Tales comes back swinging after Stone Queen. This review is based on a complete playthrough of the game (and CE Bonus content). First off - the standard game ends conclusively, no loose ends, nothing left hanging. The CE adds essentially a new story, and honestly, it isn't nearly as strong as the main game. Creep factor in this game is off the chart. "Children" singing a song about Bloody Mary in the background when you first go in. The way they keep you on your toes and make sure you always know what you're doing and why (In Stone Queen, I actually forgot what the main quest was in the midst of all the puzzles and backtracking). They didn't try to get cute and switch art styles halfway through or push in some junkpiles to pad the HOS count. All the scenes were well drawn, clear, bright enough to see. The minigames range from easy to medium (a couple are 'tricky'). A version of fox and the hounds and the reversi/chinese checkers hybrid for games you don't often see. All that said - It's not a gruesome game by any means - maybe not for the little ones, but anyone nine or ten or older should be fine with it. Most importantly - the game grabs you at the start and doesn't let go. I always knew what I was doing and why (as opposed to Stone Queen, where I actually forgot what the main quest was in the midst of all the backtracking). There is a simple 'task' button that tells you your next objective, and markers on the map showing areas with "Stuff to Do(tm)". It doesn't list what needs doing this time (I count that as an improvement). Not a whole lot of locations, but they use them very well: you may visit the same room three times, but for different reasons and looking for different things each time. Now: what do you miss by not getting the CE? A Strategy Guide that you won't need because the help system is really good ("Use this item here" or "Pick up the <item name> at this location"), a bonus chapter and a bonus bonus game (quick replay of all the HOS and minigames with a pseudo story attached), some collectibles that trigger short old school projector type films giving some backstory, and a handful of the standard achievements. I didn't feel cheated by getting the CE, but I wouldn't feel like I really missed out on much if I had just gotten the SE. Your call.
Date published: 2014-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute must have! I have all the games in this series. After the 1st demo came out, I was hooked. They are all top notch, tons of stuff to do, great graphics, interesting story lines, and you don't have to have the prior games. Each story is it's own. One of the best things about this game is the little extras details that you find in all "Elephant" games. For instance, feed the baby birds in the nest a bag of seeds. One of them is very talented at throwing them up in the air and catching them. It isn't needed to remember or use later.......just a fun extra detail. All the Grim Tales games will keep you occupied for hours. If you haven't already played the others in this series.... check them out! You'll be hooked too!
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't look in the mirror... A Great Fright Fest! BASED ON THE COMPLETED DEMO This Grim Tales addition sets the scene for us in anticipation of Halloween with its ominous, scary, yet thrilling atmosphere. The story revolves around the rather familiar story of Bloody Mary, but Elephant Games manages to revive it like a Frankenstein and make it compelling and spooky at the same time. Your niece has called you, frightened, telling you that the adults have gone missing and the children are acting strange. Upon arriving at her boarding school, you see the silhouette of a boy at a window hold up a bunny rabbit toy and then uses a scissors to cut off his head and then disappears. Another reviewer mentioned this same thing and I just couldn't agree more at how this wonderfully set the tone of the entire game. This game doesn't rely on cheap visual tactics to scare you (well at least not all the time), but small, simple things like what I mentioned about the boy are done throughout the game. Add the scary music (which definitely doesn't help with the scary tones of the game, but this isn't a bad thing!), the occasional creepy events that occupy some of the rooms (a chandelier falling on its own, the scary face that pops up when you click on a ordinary statue, the unnerving sounds of a small doll when you click on it) and you're in for a frightful delight! I personally jumped a few times while playing this game and felt this unnerving feeling that there was something behind me. The scary factor of this game was done quite well in that it didn't make me uncomfortable enough to stop playing, in fact I wanted to play more. Some other things to note: ** Lockable inventory ** Interactive map that tells you which rooms have objectives and you can teleport to locations ** A hint button that is NOT directional, it will tell you in text exactly what to do. ** There is a journal, but it doesn't record any helpful info. ** Three difficulty modes to choose from Admittedly, this is my first Grim Tales game and I certainly wasn't disappointed. The graphics, though not my preferred artsy/painting sort of style, was still well done and realistic. The soundtrack compliments the mood of the game extremely well and is not repetitive at all. In the full hour demo I only encountered 3 (4?) HOS and only a handful of puzzles which weren't difficult at all. This didn't bother me at all though since I very much enjoy games that have you interact with the environment a lot and that is what this games offers. I'm on the fence about buying this game because demonic possession really isn't my sort of thing and I'm kind of a baby when it comes to scary games (lol), but this game is really good so I might just make the exception. Enjoy this little Halloween fright fest adventure!
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grim Tales: Bloody Mary I have already played the Collectors Edition because I found it more useful
Date published: 2014-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT AND CHALLENGING GAME I have been on the lookout recently for a Hidden Object/ Adventure game which is a bit different, having been a bit bored with the games in this genre the last few months which were all a bit 'samey' for me. This one ticks every box!!! Coincidentally, together with this game, I have also just found a few other interesting games which I have reviewed tonight as well, check them out - it's like buses, you wait for a while then they all come at once. This game is not for a beginner in the genre. It is very dark and creepy, and in many ways complicated for a beginner. It is different from the previous Grim Tales in style, artwork and format. It does have a map and a hint which will tell you what to do next, but is no less challenging for that. In other words, sometimes you have to access the hint because it is difficult to figure out what to do next. Alongside the main game, there is a mirror world which is accessible only at certain points in the game. There is quite a lot of back and forth but an acceptable amount to be challenging, which is what I was looking for - a game to hold my interest and a bit different. I love it! The game is a reasonable length to keep you absorbed and occupied for a good few hours. The graphics are a bit different as are the various environments. If you want something that doesn't have doors requiring a key to open them and a different way of proceeding through a game, this one is for you.
Date published: 2013-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Grim Tale This is based on completing the whole game. I have all the games in this series and this by far was the most difficult in the group. It was fun to do and I'm just glad that hint button was fast. I did seem to lose track of where I should go next, but that was half the fun. Makes you think and if you can't figure it out, just hit the hint and you get instructions as to where you should be or doing. The cast of characters and the twist at the end was really good and fun. The graphics are excellent. The Hidden Objects were more of a challenge than the mini games for me. The objects are well planted. The voice overs were good and the music went right along with what was happening in the story. This was the hardest of the series. The Hidden Objects were difficult, but the mini games were less so. The only problem I had with the minis was figuring out what to do at times even with the instructions. Normally I don't like mini games, but these were somewhat different and not the usual click to change everything to a color or place the rings. They also followed and added to the story. This is a challenging game. There is an interactive map. However, I didn't find it as helpful as in other games. It would show things to be done that would not happen until well into the game. I used it more just to move around once I figured out where I needed to be. I won't go into the story itself. The game explanation does that for you.The story was easy to follow and I was surprised at the ending. It did end, but I'm sure in the CE there is more to it, but I was satisfied. It is written so that the flow of the story keeps up with what you need to do. Just remember where you have been and what has happened and you will get along just fine. The characters were funny at times and I got involved with them. This is another hit for Elephant and I can't wait to play it again.
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting, complicated and long Great hidden objective game. Different puzzles, things not obvious. Some items easy some very hard. Nice and long and complicated. Unpredictable.
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story well told. The Grim Tales series is a topnotch one and this one is in their number. If anything there is a narrative tightening, and a better control of the game flow. There is the elephant trademark of the cute animal helper (a chipmunk) and minigames and HOS that stay in the mood of the story. Great game.
Date published: 2013-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of fun Very balanced game for my level. The graphics were first rate, the storyline was interesting and logical, and the puzzles were fun. I never felt like I was totally lost.
Date published: 2013-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game I really enjoyed this Grim Tales game. The eeriness was fun, storyline was decent, and I liked the graphics. There was always some creepy toy moving on it's own. Some puzzles were incredibly easy, but others took awhile to solve, and I like that. I would definitely recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs a bit of work... I was really excited when i saw this game was out, I love the Grim Tales series, and this looked like a promising one. I bought the game, installed and began playing. As I started the game, the graphics were amazing. When I hit play, the quality seemed a bit poor in the small clip, showing the aunt driving to her niece's school to pick her up from a possible threat. The first hidden objects scene was, to be completely honest, disappointing, ugly and VERY jumbled. Either the adults at the school weren't mature enough to pick the toys up, or the kids are very ungrateful. I was disappointed how there wasn't a penalty for randomly clicking, but I guess that's also nice if you are stuck(?) The aunt has to find her niece, Jackie, but has terrible luck. Children are going berserk. You should think Blackhill once was a mental hospital where the spirits were still haunting. The first scene had some great scenery, the music was out of place though. It didn't exactly fit the story so far. The game was fun, had the quality and sound, a bit out of place sometimes, random HO-scenes (as always...) and a great storyline. The challenge was too easy though (I'm an avid gamer, so it might be easy for me. I don't know)
Date published: 2014-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bloody Mary - A Red Game! Based upon completed CE game, and SE demo. Although not my personal favourite in the series, this is a fine, good quality game. The story is engaging, but predictable. The main plot is minimally supported in the dialogue and gameplay. The bonus chapter gives a more in-depth understanding of the villain, and is a prequel to the main story (SE). However, the plot is resolved in the SE version, and you don't need the CE for a conclusion. Game graphics are outstanding in their clarity and detail, although I found that the red hue overshadowed the beautiful artistry. After playing the demo, I thought that the red hue was clever, but it became quite tiresome after several hours of gameplay. With so much red, it was difficult to appreciate the beautiful details of clouds passing by, rippling water, moss on trees and the grain in wood. There are 3 modes of play: Casual, Advanced and Expert. Although there are no sparkles in Advanced and Expert mode, there are still black bar tips, and clues (often animated#. For me, theses animated clues were amusing, and I wasn't upset as they merely pointed to the obvious. e.g. Stick figure hitting a lock with a sledgehammer. There are voiceovers, but no lip movements. There is a diary. There is a transporter map. Current location and active areas are indicated. Note: For those who may be sensitive to bright light, there are bright flashes of white light when you try to transport to the mirror world via its own icon in the map. I chose to go to the mirror worlds via the mirrors in the "normal" realm, rather than the icon on the map, as there were no bright lights and movement was seamless. HOS: There are 13 HOS. There are some interactions in HOS, and scenes were crisp and clear. Scenes were visited only once in the main game. Hints: Hints provide the next step outside of HOS, but will not give directional help....so, if you don't remember locations, you'll have to peruse the map. HInts refill in approximately 35 secs in casual mode, 1 min in advanced mode, and are disabled in expert mode. Puzzles/Minigames: There are 18 puzzles/minigames. There were the typical matching patterns, but some were more unusual. I consider myself a puzzle novice, but I found 14 of the puzzles to be ridiculously easy, involving entering codes or simple trial and error. The rest were simply time consuming and of medium difficulty. Puzzle experts looking for a challenge will most likely be very disappointed. Skip: Puzzles can be skipped in approximately 1 min in casual mode, 1 min 15 secs in advanced mode and cannot be skipped in expert mode. Overall, I found that there was a nice balance between HOS and Puzzles. Although puzzles slightly outnumbered HOS, most were too simple, and even I would have welcomed more of a challenge. However, the simple puzzles helped me to move smoothly through the game with a minimum of frustration. I completed the main #SE# game in a little over 5 hours and enjoyed it immensely. I would highly recommend the SE version.
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bloody Maaary, Bloody Maarrry, Bl- A nice hidden object game, and my first in the 'Grim Tales' games. Great graphics, and differing locations - including 'mirror worlds'. I didn't play this quick enough, so I lost the plot a few times over a couple of weeks (thank god for hints!). This is a pretty straight-forward game though, with most the games being simple - it would've been nice to have had a couple of more complex challenges.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WAY TO GO ELEPHANT! i was bumfuzzled at first when the download said 'free trial' instead of '60 minutes'...didn't know just what that difference meant until i went as far as possible in the demo. was pleased to be able to go back in under a different name and replay the game regardless of how long it took. wonderful idea guys! this way, you don't have to miss interesting details, skip harder puzzles or cutscenes and dialog in order to go as far as possible. it also allows you to really get a good idea of whether or not it's a game you want to buy. KUDOS Elephant guys! not only are your games good to look at, with interesting story lines and fun to play, but now i don't have to rush the demo...yeah!
Date published: 2014-02-07
  • y_2019, m_12, d_15, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_62
  • loc_en_US, sid_19301, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Tales: Bloody Mary

Save your niece from the evil presence haunting her school!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.