Dark Canvas: Blood and Stone Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Canvas: Blood and Stone Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(397.88 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Who used the encasing device in the grisly murder of the Sculptor and his bride? What loathsome secrets are hiding behind the high walls of elegant, Grecian estates? Explore a beautiful and romantic Greek village by the sea, as you use your investigative reporting skills to track down a desperate, haunted killer – before they kill again!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Play the mini-games and hidden object scenes again!
  • Return to Partha in a Bonus Chapter
  • Download soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 867 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Canvas: Blood and Stone Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(397.88 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Canvas: Blood and Stone Collector's Edition is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 35.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YESSEE VASI!!!! LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT !!!! I DONT KNOW WHY ANYONE WOULD NOT RATE THIS GOLDEN GEM A FIVE STAR GREAT STORY FANTASTIC MUSIC PERFECT HO SCENES A total delight to find things !new amazing puzzles GREAT JOB EVERYONE WHO CONTRIBUTED THIER WORK AND TIME FOR US TO HAVE A FEW HOURS OF ESCAPE FROM OUR DAILY LIFE NOW!!!! HOW LONG DO I HAVE TO WAIT TO SEE WHATS IN THE CHEST?????? AND PUNISH ROSARIA LOL HURRY!!!!
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Fun Who Done It!! Loved it! Lots of fun. Good puzzles, some different and challenging. HOs were a little hard for me; objects hidden well. Storyline very good. WHO DONE IT??? Great map and graphics. Great info; I LOVE THAT!! Morphs and Collectibles were well hidden! The Bonus was very good, as well; lots of good stuff! FUN FOR ALL!
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Solid Adventure!! :) Much better than the previous Dark Canvas: Brush of Death!! Welldone drawn settings and characters together with a thrilling story and a lot to do and to explore! This time Vast Studios added a lot of extras to this Collector’s Edition. Facts: 3 modes to choose from (can be changed during the game), 5 chapters plus bonus-chapter, lockable inventory, map showing you available action and allowing fast travel, direction giving hint, detailed journal, strategy guide doesn’t follow your progress. I counted 13 hidden-object scenes, most of them from list with slight interactions and all played twice. Three of them are "find and use" silhouette HOS. 25 very different minigames to play from easy to difficult, as there are for example swap tiles to reveal an image, several maze-type puzzles, rotation-puzzles, fix pipes, complete wire connections, follow instructions, find star-constellations… Extras: 60 Stone Coins to collect, with which you may buy unnecessary things in your collections-room ;) 30 achievements to earn and 20 morphing objects to find, 20 replayable minigames and 7 hidden-object-scenes, music, art-gallery, wallpapers, bonus-chapter with another 4 HOS and 8 minigames and an additional story (took me another hour to play in the 2nd mode). I finished the main-game (with a conclusive ending) in approx. 3,5 hours. This game really keeps you busy till the end! Happy Gaming!! :)
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Will You Be The Next Victim? As an investigative reporter you have been called to a coastal Greek village to investigate the mysterious circumstances in the death of a sculptor Elias Kostas and his wife Maria who were found encased in plaster in his studio. Seemingly it was a horrific accident but Dr. Alexander, who called you, knows the truth and needs your help to prove that this was murder. As the body count mounts up, will you be able to solve the case or will you be the next victim? The graphics are very good but not always as crisp as I like. The artwork is lovely and does justice to the coastal Greek village setting. There are voiceovers with lip/sync that are generally very good with the exception of one character who speaks so slowly, I wanted to drag the words out of his mouth. The music and ambient sounds are very good and I found the music quite enjoyable. In fact, this is one of the few games where I will enjoy the extra soundtracks that are included with the CE content. You have a diary located on the lower left of your screen that, unfortunately, lights up with streaming sparkles every time you collect a note which I found extremely annoying. I found myself constantly opening the diary just to make the lights go away. The compass located next to your diary is the interactive map that shows where there is a task available. Shorty into the game you will acquire a feline helper who will be able to reach areas that you cannot. I know some of you hate furry little helpers in a game but give this one a chance because it is cute and you won’t find it annoying in the end. There are various types of HOS including the interactive list type and the progressive silhouette type. Most of the HOS were done well but in some of the early HOS I had a difficult time locating the items since the scenes were cluttered and the items seemed to fade into the background. The puzzles in Blood and Sand, although somewhat familiar, are good with many of them being fairly easy; however, there are some that are sticklers and a bit tricky. For those of you who want morphing objects, collectibles and achievements in a CE game, you have them in Blood and Sand. You can earn thirty achievements, most of which are earned simply because you complete tasks in the game but there are also some mystery achievements included. As you move through the game you can find sixty collectibles and twenty morphing objects. The remainder of the CE package is fairly standard with the inclusion of a bonus chapter, strategy guide, wallpapers, artwork, music and replay of HOS and puzzles. Given some of the beautiful scenes in the game, I was surprised that the wallpapers were not that great. Dark Canvas Blood and Stone is a very nice game that had the misfortune to be released right after one of the most outstanding games we have seen this year and, as a result, it pales in comparison. The game’s storyline is a bit different than the usual fare and is interesting enough that when the demo ended I wanted more. Blood and Stone is not one of the best games in recent months but it is better than most and does have a decent amount of extras to make it a true CE. Given the good sale for game club members this weekend I went ahead and purchased the game. I found Blood and Sand to be an entertaining game and recommend that you at least try the demo.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks Like Fun! BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS Nicely put together, somewhat creepy intro, with very clean graphics and charming, if occasionally a little overdone, voice acting. This game just looks and sounds good. The story is a little different and the Greek setting is wonderfully “Greek”. The music is light and unobtrusive. A sculptor has invented a strange ‘encasing’ device for his sculptures, and someone has used it to kill the sculptor himself and his wife. As an investigative reporter, we are sent to find out the truth. We meet interesting characters with their own issues, as well as people who can help us and a kitten who helps us out a little. Backstory is told in interesting excerpts found on diary tablets of stone, which are a collecting achievement. MAKING PROGRESS (GAMEPLAY) This game is unusual, because it is mostly a puzzle adventure. There are 20 or so, compared to just 7 HOPs. The puzzles range from very easy to “thank god for skip”, even this early in the game. And they are creative and fun to do. The HOPs are interactive lists, visited twice. Not counted as either HOP or puzzles are an unknown number of progressive silhouette (find & use) HOPs, also visited twice. Action is fairly linear, and contained within each chapter. There is an interactive jump map that indicates objectives, not current actions. The hint is directional. Between them, I only used the SG to find out what it was like. (Good) CE BLING! There is quite a bit to find in this one and certainly enough to justify a CE status. The usual bonus game, SG, gallery, and replayable HOPs and puzzles. Plus 60 collectible coins to by statuettes for your collection room. 20 Morphing objects. Many achievements, quite a range from “complete x part of the game” to the standard timing and accuracy ones, plus a few goofball ones as well. FAMOUS LAST WORDS The first Dark Canvas got mixed reviews. Although I really liked it, many others didn’t. I don’t think this one will be as controversial. It will not my favourite CE game ever. But I think all those extras add to its charm and make it likely to be a better buy than the SE. It is certainly a good game, and seems as though it will be fun to play.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from PLASTER COLD KILLER? I'm not as impressed as I thought I would be. Although the scenery is pretty, the HOS are typical and the puzzles are quite easy. It's relatively easy to finding pieces to complete objects (such as gate, rope) in order to move forward. Map is helpful in showing you where there are tasks to perform. Liked the kitten - he sure likes to climb. I was positive he would get stuck in some high place. Music is appropriate to whatever scene you are investigating. Voice overs are good. Morphs and coins are easy to find. A very nice game. 4 stars (I was expecting a 5-star performance from the description), but still worth owning.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It was a buy for me I like this game better than nevertales, maybe I'm the odd one out, but I like junk pile list HO's I like sparkles especially when they are theme oriented like blue music notes in the maestro series. I liked the morphing objects, they aren't that easy to find, I've only got half so far, don't know yet if they continue on in the bonus. there are 60 stone coins to collect puzzles are pretty good too the only thing I don't like is how the scenery changes from beautiful hand drawn colorful scenes to washed out photographed picture scenes faded to tan color. voice overs weren't the greatest but at least there are no real people in the game! sorry but I detest the use of people in these games, won't buy it if I see any. the one exception being Victor in the Ravenhearst series of course. so give it a try plus its on sale
Date published: 2013-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice game. I played the first game Dark Canvas, and enjoyed this game as much as the first one. Stunning graphics, good storyline and so much fun to look for the morphing objects and collect gold coins. This is a relaxing and enjoyable game and if you don´t have played it yet, you have a couple of nice hours in front of you.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I hope you like statues! I did not play the first Dark Canvas but it doesn't seem to matter -- they don't appear to be connected. You are an investigative reporter, invited to Greece by Dr. Alexander to look into the mysterious death by plaster sculpture of Elias, the town sculptor and his wife Maria. Unfortunately, when you arrive you find the good doctor is now also encased in plaster and the assistant Christo running away from the scene. It turns out Christo is innocent, but you are several puzzles away from that! It also seems the mayor is planning to host a memorial to the sculptor and is using all the town funds for it. You get the doctor's cat, after you feed it, to use as your helpful friend to reach the areas you cannot. There is an attractive map with actions marked - not necessarily immediate actions, however. I also had trouble jumping from place to place using the map, but perhaps I wasn't clicking in the correct place. There are 60 coins to collect that you can use to buy sculptures of different figures -- kind of a nice touch. The HOS are either interactive lists or silhouetted objects that you use to find the next object. The mini-games are easy and not necessarily unique. The scenery is quite pretty and the music is nice and gentle. The story is interesting enough that you will probably want to buy, if you are tired of monsters and ghosts and battles. This is a simple game but a lot of fun.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game The game is adventure+HOG+puzzles. I found this game interesting because of the beautiful Greece landscapes. The art is good done and all points are clear. I love some subtle comedy like the stork carrying a sack outside the doctor’s office and other little things. Anyway, it's not the best game so far, but it's definitely good game.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Liked It!!! Finally a game without ghosts, evil spirits, dead relatives, etc. A very nice easy going game with a simple story that was quite engaging. HOG's were fun, interactive & not as messy as the usual HOS junk pile. I was even able to do the mini games without any hints or skips. The graphics were quite good though the music was the usual annoying, generic type. But, this did not dissuade me from thoroughly enjoying the game. It's a definite buy for me. As always, give the demo a try & decide for yourself.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sculpting gone Mad I enjoyed the first Dark Canvas game, so was excited to see this game appear. I liked it. Visuals and sound were great. Yes, there were things in the game that other reviewers pointed out that were very far-fetched, such as giving the kitten milk while the murderer was escaping. There are collectibles, morphing objects, stones. There are achievements, a SG which I did not look at, and a bonus chapter, in addition to the CE "nonsense" as I call the wallpaper, etc. The HOS were nicely done. Some interactive, some sillhouette. Many more puzzles in this game than HOS. The puzzles ranged from unique and cute to hard. I liked the progression of the game. The last "big" CE offered annoyed me because of the constant find the object interruptions. This is all just my personal taste in a game. As i only played the demo, I'm not sure how long the game is. I enjoyed it though and will either buy the CE or wait for the SE. With today's sale, it will probably be the CE :) Happy gaming.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has a good storyline The game had a lot of extras, ie collectibles (stone coins to purchase little statues, morphing objects, and achievements. I couldn't find where I could check the achievements I received and was a little confused in regards to that. The achievements were based on stuff you completed in the game but not sure what else. The rest of your extras are your typical wallpapers, music, mini games and hos. The game itself went along with you being called to the little Greek town to find out who is behind people being made into statues. It seems to be based on a picture in the doctor's office and Christo, Elias' assistant doesn't seem to be the killer, but not enough clues yet by the time I finished the demo. The game had some weird meanderings that didn't make a lot of sense where they had them but all in all not a bad game. You really need to play the demo though to decide for yourself
Date published: 2013-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice game...3.5 stars Well, I never rehash the story in a game...been done by others. I just like to tell you how I felt about the game. I really liked the graphics in this one. Color was very vibrant and fairly clear. Game play was nice. Music wasn't too bad...calming actually. Voice overs were good. Sounded tinny in the beginning, but cleared up when the actual game began. You can click through the dialoge everywhere in the game, except during the "story" part of it. It did need a little more of a hint as to what was going on in the beginning. HOGs were nice, clear and clean. Items not difficult to find. Games were fairly simple, but some did take a little thought. SG was nice, but not really necessary. Hint system was helpful and filled quickly. There was no real excitement to this game. Nothing that drew me in from the beginning and make me want to purchase to see what happens next. The coins are easy to find, but not sure what they are for #looked at achievements and still don't know#. The only challenge that I found so far is trying to find the morphing objects. They are extremely difficult to see and major eye strain watching for them. Otherwise, it was not challenging or difficult, but it was a nice game. Yes, I will get this game, but not sure if it is worth the price of a CE or if I'll just wait for the SE version. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the review.
Date published: 2013-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Nice Greek Tragedy! Five old friends and three of them dead, encased in scuptor's plastic. After having recieved a letter, your mission takes you to a Greek Island where once upon a time lived a famous scupter and his wife, both tragically dead due to a unfortunate accident involving a machine that turns things into sculpters, Right! As you discover some clues, another tragic death occurs and obviously someone out of the five people is behind these deathsand it looks like the list of suspects is dwindleling.. What we have here is a Greek Tragedy brought to us as a standard HOPA game with the appropriate extras. After having played the demo, I will either wait for the SE version to come out or take advantage of a good sale. Today's game offers good graphics, sharp and bright colorful art work. There are voice-overs and the music was actually quite good. Game features a journal, a task or list of objectives, a map that will allow you to travel and also indicates areas of interest, twenty morphing objects to locate and sixty stone coins to collect throughout the game. There are also achievements to earn as well. Game mechanics include adventure gamplay, standard HO scenes with some interation involved and very easy and quick mini-games. The HO scenes are repetative but items are well hidden and sometimes difficult to spot. So why am I not jumping up and down? Because there is a real out-dated look and feel about the game and a lack of any sort of challenge. Also there is something too familiar about the entire game experience, either I played this game before or played so many like it back when HOPA games were all the rage. Dark Canvas is not a bad game, but not really a great game. As I said, I personally will either take advantage of a sale on CE games or just wait. In a fairness, I am a bit curious to see just who is behind the deaths but as I am comparing notes with the outstanding CE game Nevertales, I cant honestly give this game five gold stars, three and a half would be my grade.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Whodunit (demo only) Story, you are called to investigate a murder of a sculptor and his wife; by their doctor; when you show up you find him dead in the same method as the sculptor/wife. The only reason I'm purchasing this game are the graphics are great and lovely to look at; the sale this weekend and to find out whodunit. I played casual mode. Good Stuff 1-graphics music are great 2-transporter map (beam me up Scotty# 3-achievements 4-morphing objects difficult to see 5-collectibles #used to purchase sculpture?) 6-notebook 7-lists and indications on map of where tasks are to be done Mediocre stuff 1-HOS visited twice outlines, interactive unlike another reviewer, I found the items easy to find and not too small 2-so far the puzzles are quite easy, hopefully they will get harder as the game progresses Really!!!!!!!!!!!! 1-parts of the storyline, you find doctor dead but have to feed the cat; get a playmate for gopher to get a necklace before chasing the suspect After playing Nevertales Beauty Within we've been spoiled; although the graphics, voiceovers and music in this game are excellent and the only reason I'm getting this game are listed above. This would be a good game for beginners who have NEVER played a game of this type before. I would give this game a 3.5 rating for graphics alone. Again, I would suggest that you try the demo as everyone's taste is different and you might really like the game; and since there is a sale this weekend you can take advantage of it.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Don't Get Plastered Pretty good game. Interactive map, Collect coins, two kinds of HO's and some critter action. All task and puzzles were pretty simple. Lots to do but the game did drag a bit. Characters were great and I could not figure out yet who dun it during free play. In Light Lynn
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pleasant to Play This was a relaxing game to play with a peaceful musical background. Graphics were very detailed and well done. Nothing great but all good. You collect stone coins and there are quite a few achievements to earn so those two things are always a plus in any game. The mini games aren't too difficult but good to play. Nothing just absolutely grabbed me as far as the play of this game goes but would still be a good buy.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT FOR BEGINNERS! I thought this was a pretty hard game. The morph's were so challenging in some scenes that it would be almost impossible to achieve all 20 without the guide. Sometimes there's none, sometimes there's one, sometimes there's more. I got them all, and it was not easy, even with numerous guide checks. Surprisingly enough I also thought the HOPS were really hard! Well done, but I found a lot of items blended in so well they were unfindable. This is the first game in a long time I have had to use the guide or hint for a HOP! In contrast the mini-games seemed super easy at first, but then got extremely difficult. A lot of the games are random push this button, make two others move and try to get all the buttons in the right place. Even with the guide, sometimes I couldn't figure it out. I got quite tedious and I ending up skipping a few. The collectable coins are also very well hidden in most cases, I happened to run into a couple after a bunch of random clicking's and I missed a few. Not really a problem as I didn't want to buy anything in the gift shop anyway. All in all I will recommend this game with sme reservations... Beginners will be frustrated really fast! Old timers will be OK if you don't mind checking the guide endlessly and doing a whole lot of random clicking for coins and objectives. The story was OK, graphics are OK, if you have a free credit to burn or there is a great CE sale, It might be your cup of tea, try it and see. .
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Something Went Wrong! This review is based on the demo only and quite frankly I'm in no hurry to play more. The game started out with great potential but in no time went downhill. As an investigative journalist you have been summoned by Dr. Alexander to report on the suspected murders of sculptor Elias and his wife Maria. Upon arrival you find the doctor murdered in the same way as Elias and Maria, encased in plaster. And to boot, the would be murderer is jumping out the window! Now what do you do first, call the police? No, you warm milk to feed the Dr.'s cat!! And speaking of the cat, I had a problem picking it up into my inventory, no matter how many times I clicked my mouse on the cat it would not accept it. So I ended up starting the game again with a new profile and finally it worked. Needless to say it was very frustrating having to redo what I had already done as well as losing out on the total demo time! And so in this vain the story continued. While finally in pursuit of the would be murderer who you catch up to briefly, you have a pitchfork thrown at you and then get interrupted by a towns person who wants your help in finding his wife's necklace!!! Talk about wandering. Anyhow on a more positive side, the graphics were great. Scenery was very picturesque, bright with vivid colors creating a very realistic Mediterranean atmosphere. The music also added nicely to the scenic surroundings. There were stone coins to collect and morphing objects to find, which by the way were very hard to spot. Overall, the game had an interesting story line, but somehow seemed very poorly put together. Maybe it improved as the game went on but for now it's a no for me.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This Game is a Tragedy Indeed and Very Forgettable BASED ON THE DEMO First off, I did not finish the demo. I got about halfway into it before I got bored out of my mind and decided I couldn't waste another minute of my time playing this. You are a journalist (and detective, apparently) who is on your way to a quaint little Greek village in the Mediterranean, responding to a message you received from Dr. Alexander. A famous sculptor and his wife has tragically died in an accident with the sculptor's machine and end up getting encased in plaster. The doctor, however, believes it was not an accident and calls you in for help. The CE includes: ** 4 wallpapers that are nothing inspiring ** 18 concept art sketches ** 7 replayable HOS ** 20 replayable puzzles ** 9 music tracks ** 30 achievements to earn ** 20 collectable morphing objects and 60 collectable stone tokens ** Use the stone tokens to purchase statues. Purchase them all and complete 3 bonus puzzles to unlock a special book ** Bonus chapter ** Strategy guide doesn't follow your progress Dark Canvas: Blood and Stone was a giant yawn. What is there to say about a game that failed to not only capture my interest, but did not provide any sort of challenge or fun? The HOS and the puzzles are insulting easily and can be solved in under a minute. The music was nice, I didn't find anything wrong with it, but the graphics, ugh. They aren't bad and they aren't good, it's like a strange mix between cartoonish and realistic, making the graphical style unappealing and highly tasteless. Bleh. There are VO's but they are okay and the characters have no lip-synch and aren't the least bit animated (wouldn't expect anything more from this game). Other things to note about the main game: ** 5 chapters ** 3 difficulty modes: Easy, Medium, and Hard ** A journal that follows your progress and tracks useful info and things to remember ** Interactive map, allows teleporting to locations and tracks active tasks/objectives ** Lockable inventory ** Hint and Skip options available There is just nothing redeeming about this game. I found myself not caring about the storyline. All of the townspeople could have been encased in plaster and I would just been like "meh oh well". You don't feel invested or immersed in the story at all. The HOS and puzzles are way too easy and there is no fun factor at all, making this game incredibly boring and forgettable. In fact, I've already forgotten about it.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Bit too Tame You would think that there would be a little more excitement in a murder mystery, wouldn't you? While I found the game play okay, it was just that. Okay, not great. The music was a little to soft and melodic, too. No real tension created with it. The graphics were not quite spot on. I really had to look hard to find some objects. And even though I played on casual mode, I had no idea of some areas to search. No glinting! I did a beta of this game and recall the same issues mentioned above. One other issue I wish developers would address is the announcement when you have completed one of the accomplishments. A big banner that says I didn't use a hint (or skip, etc.). Really? I could easily do without these. They just don't add anything valuable to the game play for me. I did find one morphing object about 2/3 of the way into the demo. They are truly not obvious and if that expands the playing satisfaction for some, then they will be happy, indeed. This is a pass for me. It's just a little too ho-hum.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from didn't work It kept telling me I had to take the kitten. It would not work. It stuck me in the game and I could not go forward.
Date published: 2013-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This Mediterranean Adventure Sank like heavy Stone I'm so sorry to do this, but... Setting the record straight, I did not complete the game. In fact, I only played for an hour and I am quite sure I didn't make a lot of progress. I could not continue. First off: AVOID THIS GAME. SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT Here's why: 1. The premise is preposterous. You're an investigative journalist who's come to a beautiful Greek City on the Mediterranean to report on the murder of a sculptor and his wife who were killed when they were both encased in fast-drying plaster. 2. Throughout the game you collect stone coins. The third one I found was in an up-till-then unopened can of sardines. Really?!?!? 3. When you go to the office of the Doctor who tended to the murdered sculptor and his wife you find him dead! and run into a man whom you assume has just killed him...in the same manner that the sculptor and the Mrs. were killed: encased in plaster. 4. The doctor apparently knew you were coming an that he was going to die because he, very thoughtfully, left instructions for you, explaining how to make powdered milk for his cat. 5. Though you are shocked to find the murdered doctor, you proceed to make and warm the milk for the cat rather than call the police or do something productive (oh yeah, you make a mental note that you want to follow the would-be murderer, but only after you make the cat's milk). When you do finally chase after him, he's not made much progress. To discourage you from following him he throws a giant sharp trident at you that he's stolen from the statue in the middle of town. Please note: This game is NOT meant to be a comedy, or tongue-in-cheek. It's meant to be serious and scary...haunting, I believe, is the word used in the description. The Good: a. The "set design," and scenery is absolutely beautiful. It's like looking at a well-drawn watercolor of a Greek Isle. Seriously: these are some beautiful scenes. b. The background music is very well done and is beautiful. It perfectly accents the scene and you absolutely feel like you're in the Mediterranean. The Bad: a. The HOGs are poorly constructed. Admittedly, I only got through three of them, but they are piles of junk. Items are hard to find only because they are in piles and indistinguishable. The objects are not well-hidden. b. The puzzles are lame-o. Nothing new. And the graphics were so small, I was unable to really see what I was doing in the first, standard-issue puzzle of moving a disc to its proper location without being able to jump another disc. c. Once I knew I wasn't going to continue with the game, I used the hint system just so I could report on it in my review. The first few times I pressed the hint button nothing happened. If I was being given a hint, I didn't know it. d. Glitches: Early on I got stuck in a scene of a wall hanging and couldn't get out of the scene. I couldn't hit an "X" to get out, I couldn't back out, I sat and stared at the item hung on the wall for a minute and then quit...just so I could restart and continue playing. According to the description, there are collectibles and there is a bonus chapter. There is an integrated map. I didn't get far enough into the game to vouch that it's well done, but the description sounds right. The UGLY: When I bought this game I accidentally forgot to enter the discount code for 40% off. YIKES. I sure hope BFG is feeling generous. Even $8.99 is too much for this clunker. Although the scenery really is well done, we all know that's not enough reason to buy a game. I know this is very harsh and I'm truly sorry. The problem is this: there is NO reason to buy this game. The developers have done a real disservice to gaming in an era when we are seeing such amazing entries as "Nevertales," and "Pantheon," and home-grown games created by BFG. This one is terrible. Save your Money.
Date published: 2013-10-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Got Stuck!! I could not pick up the kitty, therefore I only played about 10 minutes and could not complete game. I wonder if anyone else had this difficulty?? Quite frustrating!!
Date published: 2013-10-31
  • y_2020, m_1, d_20, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_19681, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Canvas: Blood and Stone Collector's Edition

Unlock the mystery of the Sculptor’s tragic fate!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.