Written Legends: Nightmare at Sea

Written Legends: Nightmare at Sea

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(153.17 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A peaceful sea voyage with your father turns into a Nightmare at Sea when your ship is sunk by the legendary Davy Jones. As you begin to explore the bottom of the ocean, you will discover you are not the only one to suffer this fate. Uncover the secrets of Davy Jones as you meet the other lost souls he has trapped for eternity in Written Legends: Nightmare at Sea, an intense Hidden Object game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 224 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Written Legends: Nightmare at Sea

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(153.17 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Written Legends: Nightmare at Sea is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yo Ho Ho and a Barrel of Fun! This game had just the right amount of challenge for me. I think it has a great story, and the graphics are just right for a swashbuckling, undersea adventure! There are interesting characters to interact with and although I did wish they could speak for themselves, the written dialogue provides enough drama. Make sure to read all the threats and advice offered by your ghostly foes and mates! There is a journal with a handy map and a clue section to keep you on track and your tasks and travels are pretty clear. The inventory gets to be quite large at times but be patient, there is a time and a place for everything. Set sail and enjoy this great hidden object and puzzle adventure!
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best I loved this game. Great storyline. Puzzles weren't too difficult & I particularly like the interaction with the characters to get information as to what to do next. The underwater scenery is beautifully done. Everything, including the H O scenes is easily seen & not too dark at all. I found the music in some scenes haunting yet peaceful as you make your way around the ocean floor. Definitely one of the better H O games in my opinion. Provides a reasonable level of challenge. Not too easy but not too hard either.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have game for all Hidden object adventure fans Ok it's a bit slow a the start with all the storyline movie playing but if you are a fan of Drawn series then your going to love this game as much as i do! Once you get past the first 10 minutes you will find yourself in a perfect hidden object adventure thats just beautiful.This is the sort of game I've been waiting for since the first in the Drawn series. I've been playing this game for the last 6 hours and as soon as i finish this review, i will going back to play again.Just thought i would stop to let you know it's a must get game! You shouldn't be disappointed!!!!!!
Date published: 2011-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely NOT a Nightmare!! I had seen the preview for this game before and waited several months for it and was most definitely not disappointed. Almost all of the game takes place under water in this surreal and utterly cool landscape. You meet interesting characters, solve challenging puzzles and play beautiful and 'do-able' H/O scenes. I've played it several times already and will continue to play it off and on. My only complaint about this game is that it ended! I would seriously recommend this game for those who love H/O Adventure games!!!! One of my faves!
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good game I like games that are good enough to play over and over. This one fits the bill. It's got a great storyline, and the puzzles are varied and challenging. I rated the graphics lower because of the grimy junk piles and HOS scenes.
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Except for Glitches It's a great game. I love the visual effects and puzzles but for some reason whenever I hit the "pause" button and resume the game, it freezes up! I have to exit out of the game and re-enter it to continue playing. Please fix it!
Date published: 2012-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS IS A GREAT GAME!! I loved this game. It is a steal at $2.99. The game had a good story line and there wasn't too much going back and forth to complete tasks. The HOGs were clear as were all graphics, can't say anything about music because I always turn the music off. The only turn offs were: 1) a lot of reading, 2) not enough HOGs. I would highly recommend this game!!
Date published: 2012-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Game! This game was the most fun I've had in a while. The story line was great, the puzzles challenging but not too-o-o hard, and it lasted just long enough not to get boring. The graphics were the best I've seen in any game and the sound effects and music were awesome! Best game I've played in a long time!
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Davy's Jones Locker This game is about saving your father and finding out Davy Jones secrets. It is a hidden object game. It takes place under the sea. The graphs are good and sound are good. I was able to figure out what to do without using the hint button to much. I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and challenging! Usually I can blaze through these pretty quickly, but this one felt meatier than HOGs normally do. It's also very cool being underwater and seeing whales swimming by or sharks overhead. A very fun game!
Date published: 2012-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun, but not too challenging Loved the story, and the under sea visuals! I would've liked a little more challenge, and occasionally, it was hard to see how some of the tasks progressed the overall goal. But I'm really glad I bought it, and had an awfully good time playing it.
Date published: 2012-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most excellent!!! The graphics were great. The puzzles were challenging but not so hard that they couldn't be figured out. I loved the audio of the pirates chants when entering his estate, it was a really good addition. It reminded me of Disney-land's Pirates of the Caribbean trip. There were different mini games also that I thought were a nice touch.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! Lots of fun. Fantastic story. Puzzles are good but not so hard as to be frustrating. Takes place completely underwater and many characters to interact with in order to advance the story.
Date published: 2012-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lousy hint system This is a fun adventure, with plenty of twists and turns. There are two problems. The hint system wokrs OK if you need to know what to do next. If you need to know what to pick up and how, you are out of luck. Let's say you picked up one thing at one scene and not the second one. The hints will never tell you to go there, even if you are in the near vicinity. I had to go to the walkthorugh to find what I needed. Also it has a fascinating storyline with plenty of interesting characters. Well, you solve the final puzzle and it all ends, with no one saying what happened to them. The storyline is good, but the ending stinks.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Highly Enjoyable Game Except for the long wait while the skip button loaded, this was a very enjoyable game for me. The HOS are clearly drawn but not unchallenging. Some of the items were obvious; others took a little closer look to find. The map, while not interactive, is drawn in 3/4 view, so it made it easy to discern where there were things to do and how to get there. Because of that, I only needed to use the walkthrough once -- I had missed picking up a pair of gloves. The story was compelling and kept my interest all the way through with lots of characters to interact with. The ending confused me a bit when it said the rescued souls could "live again." Did that mean they needed to be picked up by the Coast Guard, or just that they could live in an afterlife or be reincarnated? I guess you can interpret it any way you want to. I'm giving this four stars. With voiceover, and a short or immediate skip button, it could easily be five.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleasantly Surprised This was the best one in a three game multi-pack. Essentially this is a low budget version of The Cursed Heart but it is still a page turner that puts many Large File Platinum Edition games to shame. Much better than The Mayan Prophesy in my opinion too. Yaaahhhrrrr we be very happy me-hearties!
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nightmare at sea I bought this game on sale for 2.99 and it was a fun game for the price. I did have to use walk through several times but I played 4 to 5 days to get to the end. Well worth the money and my time. Would buy another one like this. And Big Fish is the best place to buy games, they stand behind their games and are quick to answer if u have a problem.
Date published: 2012-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I didn't know While trying the trial It seemed familiar. I discovered I had bought the game a while back, but apparently never finished it. I finished it this time and enjoyed it. I found the hint button wasn't too much help, but the map was a big help. All in all it is a good game.
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really like this game Sort of weird being alive at the bottom of the sea but other than that ti's pretty satisfying. Nice graphics. Sparkles. Fast hints. HO scenes are pretty straightforward and the number of objects is just right. Puzzles were OK, sometimes tedious but there's a skip button. There's a map that shows you where you are and where you want to be. This feature was nice but inconsistent. Some times the map directs you to a place where there's something for you to do but you have to collect an item from another (that isn't shown) to accomplish the task.
Date published: 2012-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pirates of the Caribbean galore! Prepare for battle against the infamous Davy Jones, captain of the Flying Dutchman... you'll love it, except for a few regrettable flaws in the game. Likes: graphics, storyline, soundtrack, length of the game, number of scenes to be explored, challenge... Dislikes: repetition of HOS - even with the same objects to find - and some puzzles that keep coming back... And then there are the dialogues... I know that some people are hard of hearing or understanding, but there really is no need for repeating every sentence twice or even thrice. Once is enough, and if you really need to be told again what you should do, just click on your interlocutor... or take a look a the tasks page in your journal. Apart from these flaws, nothing but praise for the dev's ... I especially liked the map, which isn't a spoiler at all, but boy, believe me, do you ever need it to find your way around with all the objects that you carry around - at one moment, I had 25 of them in my inventory - and have to use one way or another to complete all your tasks. All in all a very good game, which I thorougly enjoyed playing... honestly, I regretted feeling the end drawing near ... so, I may have some seconds, in a while...
Date published: 2012-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good HOG Mostly HOG. lots of them, but clear and quick. Story kind of all over the place. Long skip button for the puzzles, which were kind of hard. No VOS, just text. Not a great game, but not bad, either. I played casual, just a little over 4 hours.
Date published: 2012-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting undersea setting I liked the setting and the premise: you and your father are dragged down to Davy Jones' Locker trapped with his other victims. You get to explore the bottom of the ocean where numerous ships (and a plane!) from different eras have been sunk. There's an excellent map that shows you locations where there's something to do and I used it constantly; it saved me lots of time with backtracking! At first I was concerned that the map seemed small and it would be a short game, but there there are a lot of adventure game elements that require you to get inventory items and use them in various locations. This is actually the bulk of the gameplay, with the hidden object scenes and puzzles being secondary. I liked this as it felt more like an old school adventure game. I wasn't a fan of the graphics although I liked how the characters looked. I especially didn't like the hidden object scenes, which seemed grainy to me. I did like that a lot of the objects appear covered in scum and when you click on them, you see the clean version briefly before they disappear. The hidden object scenes were all easy, as were most of the puzzles, although there were a few that required a little more time. I really enjoyed "Boneyard", a variation on the "sliding blocks" puzzle where instead of moving blocks to clear a path to slide a special block through, you have to move each block into a specific position. Overall a pretty good game and really interesting setting, probably would have given 5 stars if the graphics had been better.
Date published: 2012-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, but has some problems.... Pros: Great story Good graphics (animation is a bit lacking tho) Good length Good mix of HO and puzzles Good map (but it's not interactive) Cons: Hints are frustrating in that they will continue to point to areas already examined or that require a tool not yet found -- also circles people already talked to... Characters repeat statements when you click on them a second time rather than saying "off with you" or something to that effect On the same note, characters are very repetitive in their statements during the dialog -- for almost every character, before the dialog box closes, they will say nearly the same thing they just told you... I found that very irritating. You can skip dialog, but you will miss clues in this game if you do that... Several areas remain 'active' even after exhausting everything that can be done... No VO?! Boy, would have loved a great voice over for pirates! The game could have been greatly enhanced with a good VO cast.... I had quite a few technical problems also (game shut itself down several times).... Had it not been for the 'cons' noted above, I would have rated the game 4.5 to 5 stars.... However, I still recommend it... it's definitely a good game but could have been great....
Date published: 2012-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adventure and fun all in one!! Good adventure game. Just difficult enough to keep it a challenge. Puzzles just hard enough but not frustrating. Moves along at good clip without ending too soon. Story was well done and nice character dialogue. One hint. Refer to book, map and clues so easier to remember everything. All in all, I recommend.
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MAP and HINT BUTTON I found it very important to check out the map to ascertain where I needed to be compared to where I was; it was extremely helpful to help me not to get lost. HOWEVER, the hint button was NOT nearly as helpful as it should have been. I KNEW in 1 area that there were 2 tasks needing to be taken care of but the hint button would show ONLY 1 of those 2 tasks. I discovered (through the walkthrough) that in that SAME 1 area there were actually 3 tasks needing to be done and the 1 task that the hint button CONSTANTLY referred to could NOT be accomplished until several tasks later AFTER doing the 3rd task in that 1 area. Without the assistance of the hint button, it made for unnecessary running around and frustration and eventually referring to the walkthrough for the guidance that the hint button was not providing.
Date published: 2012-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Game I agree with almost everyone's reviews. This is a very good game that I really enjoyed playing. The story is interesting, there was something really cool about playing the game under water and the mix of reasonable HO scenes with slightly more challenging games made for a good time. I also agree that audio would have been 100x better than the written dialogue. I really liked the bar in Davy Jones' house. I wish there were more scenes there.
Date published: 2012-03-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Written Legends, Nightmare at Sea This was a fun game. Not overly complicated, but enough of a challendge to make it interesting.
Date published: 2012-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed it...but I really liked this game...but when it came time for the mini games (and I finished them) I wasn't given credit for finishing it...I was forced to hit the solve button. Not much of a story line...but I liked the music and the graphics. All in all...a real cool game.
Date published: 2012-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really Enjoyed This One What a fun game! The balance between HO scenes and figuring out what to do next/mini-games was perfect. The HO scenes weren't too difficult (I hate it when they're so hard they give me a headache from trying to see things that aren't really there), and the puzzles were great, too. There IS a hint button for HO scenes, and while there is also a hint button for figuring out what to do next, I found it wasn't very useful at all.
Date published: 2012-03-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from As a captive soul of Davy Jones, you are offered a chance to save your father and yourself and other trapped souls if you can beat him at his own game It is a lovely evening and you are sailing on the open seas with your father in the ship that has been in your family for generations when a sudden squall comes up and wrecks havoc on your ship causing a fire. As you battle the fire, your ship is suddenly rammed by another appearing out of the smoke sinking your ship to the bottom of the sea. As you pass out, you have a vision of a pirate figure with burning eyes. Regaining consciousness, you find yourself in the unstable wreckage and have to get out fast. After exiting the wreckage, you find your father waiting for you and you both seem to be alive but under water. How is this possible? Are you dead? He decides to look around when he is grabbed and is dragged away collapsing the path so you can't follow. When you are able to cross the ravine, you come across a crashed plane and the pilot, Janeway Mollison, who tells you that you are now like all of the other lost souls and are now in Davy Jones' realm and that he scours the seas in his ship, The Flying Dutchman, searching for souls to capture as slaves. She tells you to come by her tavern in the town for a drink and more information. There is a town under the water? She gives you a map and leaves. At the gates to the town, Davy Jones has your father and closes the gates so you can't enter. Once you are able to open the gate, Davy Jones tells you that he is only one that can return you to the surface but you will need to win his little game to be set free. He opens a portal to Daggermount where he resides, and after winning the game, he agrees to return you to the surface but not your father but you can win his freedom if you beat his game a second time. Not one for playing fair, he ports you back to the town and now you need to find your way back to Daggermount, gain entry and play the game again. Along the way you meet some of the other trapped souls who can give you helpful items and information, for a price, your help with something they want. When you win your father's freedom, Davy Jones offers to release all of the souls if you can complete three tasks - shine his medallion, calm a volcano, and learn his true name. Now you really have your work cut out for you. Released in 2011, graphics were pretty good with creative underwater locations that fits the story and good animations and pirate-themed music. There was no voice acting which would have added a lot to the game as there is a lot of dialog to read. There is the usual journal for story and clues and a map that shows goal locations but is not a jump map and there is a fair amount of backtracking. The pirate theme is used in the inventory puzzles, minigames and hidden object scenes making them feel more a part of the story than usual and work well in the underwater setting. Some items were hard to find the right spot to click on to collect them or use them. The game did crash several times but I was able to continue and finish it. The underwater setting is unusual and refreshing although the plot is not so it has a feel of freshness that uses an old standby of a haunted location and the legend of Davy Jones trapping souls so it may be worth a few hours of adventure.
Date published: 2016-05-26
  • y_2019, m_10, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_11549, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Written Legends: Nightmare at Sea

Trapped at the bottom of the sea by Davy Jones, you must discover his secrets, save your father and find a way to escape!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.