Twisted Lands: Insomniac

Twisted Lands: Insomniac

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(245.80 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Help Angel figure out what is real and what is in her head as she attempts to escape from a Mental Hospital! Steeped in psychological horror, Twisted Lands: Insomniac follows the wife of the central character in the original game, as she attempts to escape the mental hospital in which she's imprisoned. Explore a haunting environment as you go on Angel’s mystifying quest!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 545 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Twisted Lands: Insomniac

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(245.80 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Twisted Lands: Insomniac is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best! This game is the sequel to Twisted Lands: Shadow Town, so I suggest anyone play that one before this one. These 2 and Stray Souls are my favorites in the Hidden Object genre. Great stories, they are dark and draw you in well. The art is great, nice and crisp, no problems with items being to obscure to recognize like in some games. This is also one of the few that I would say it's pretty worth it to get the collector's edition for the extra game play. It's not a whole lot of extra gameplay, but it was enough for me to feel it was worth it.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! Really enjoyed this game! Loved the graphics, and the interesting puzzles. The game was well done visually, I really enjoyed finding the hidden objects as well.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality game with an unsettling atmosphere Beautiful graphics and excellent cut scenes combine for an unsettling atmosphere. You're a psychiatric patient trying to escape from a hospital, but you keep seeing monsters and start slipping into a disturbing nightmare realm--or is that reality and the hospital the illusion? I was intrigued and kept playing to find out what was going on, but ultimately many of the questions weren't answered. I did still enjoy the mystery though and the gameplay was fun independent of the story. Hidden object scenes and puzzles were fun and are of average difficulty for this genre.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This game turned me into the Insomniac! This game is awesome! It's the sequel to Twisted Lands: Shadow Town, which you really should play prior to playing this game. The graphics are wonderful, the voiceovers are appropriate and well-done, and the music is in the background - suspenseful but not irritating. The help system is a good one - clicking on it tells you which direction to go in and if you are already at the correct location, points you right to what you need to do. It doesn't tell you what to do, which I like. The story is spell-binding and keeps you on the edge of your seat. And there's a surprise ending… just when you thought you had it all figured out! It's a long game and well worth the $$. Way to go BFG!
Date published: 2011-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game In Twisted Lands: Shadow Town a girl, Angel, was trapped on an island & had to be rescued by her boyfriend, this time, in Insomniac she has to escape a hospital & Mark is trying to save her yet again. It is pretty confusing as she keeps escaping only to be caught, drugged & ending up back in the hospital & you cannot always be sure which are real scenes & which are part of her dreams. This game can be played in easy mode with sparkles everywhere or expert where the only sparkles mark the H0 scenes. The graphics are excellently suited to the setting of the game & the artwork is gritty. I found that having the Full Screen option ticked & at the same time, un-ticking the Aspect Ratio gave me widescreen views. There are voiceovers & you can skip through the dialogue if you prefer, I liked them. In addition the music was splendid & the background sounds suited the story. You are given a diary which gives clues as to what to do next & a task list slightly hidden behind it – just click on the white piece of paper sticking out of the top of the diary. The hint recharges in 40 seconds & if you get stuck it will point you to where to go next. There is no map but I didn’t find it too hard to work out the layout of the scenes. The hidden object scenes were well drawn & the mini games not too difficult, there is a skip button. I love it as I have always been a fan of films where people don’t know what is happening or where they are & this is in the same vein.
Date published: 2011-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent game excellent game play. I liked it better than shadow town.
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't wait for the next one! I love this game. I was first introduced to Twisted Lands: Shadow Town, and loved it. It is an easy game with many clues. The thing I like about both of these games is you don't have to think hard to get through it. There are many clues, and you can skip the puzzles, if you chose to. I always go with the casual, no timed mode of hidden object games. I play this for pleasure, and don't want to have to get the brain working too hard. This game was enjoyable, and isn't too short, or too long. I'm hoping another version of Twisted Lands is in the works.
Date published: 2012-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Game In Years!! This game was so much fun. I played the first Twisted Lands before and it ties into this one. The first game in years to keep me guessing all the way through to the end. You're actually as confused as the character in some places! Awesome! Can't wait for more Twisted Lands games to come out!!!
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completes what the First Game Started When I finished the first Twisted Lands game, my head immediately started rewriting the ending. It was so wrong! Well, this game completes the story and supplies the answers and the ending the gamer needed after playing that first game. You'll recognize some of the scenes from the first Twisted Lands game, but don't think you'll be playing the same game. It's as if you were stuck in the dreamscape with the character, and things are familiar, but never quite the same. The old nightmare sneaks through at times, but is quickly overwhelmed by the new nightmare that has hold of Angel this time. The ending is right, and unexpected, though it still may have you wondering whether she truly escaped... The actual gameplay is all it should be. The puzzles never were overly challenging for me, but they were always original and interesting. Solving a scene sometimes required remembering a task for an extended time, and always the mix of one reality and another left you wondering whether they were actually one and the same - as confused as Angel. I found this game as captivating as a novel, a very interactive novel. It has all the ingredients of a HOG, puzzles, adventures, characters to care for, or to fear, story line, voices and cut scenes that may be skipped (though you won't want to) and anything else you can think of. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2012-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In a word......AWESOME I really enjoyed this game (havent played the 1st one yet). Loved everything about it, just wish it was a tad longer. Thumbs up :)
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fun game great game but can get quite hard.
Date published: 2016-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a Fantastic Game. Based on completion of all 3 games in casual mode -- this one is awesome. Kind of a quirky ending making you think back about everything that's happened and still going, but... This story begins with you being strapped down in a hospital bed with a Dr. Tormente planning to do a lobotomy! Needless to say you escape that fate only to stumble into one bad situation after another. Great story -- very twisted -- hence the name. Lots of HOS and they are visited more than once. They are pretty easy - spooky junk piles - all list. I liked them. There isn't a map which would have been great because there is a tremendous amount of back and forth -- but wait, the hint button gives you free directional hints so you can at least get to the next location if you need it. There is also a walk through, which I used a few times, but I mostly used the hint. I loved the music, but hated the little sound made every time you accomplished something -- it really got old. The scenery is dark and eerie which adds to the story. The story line is hard to follow at times. Okay. most of the time. There are countless diaries and notes to read but nothing never really solidifies the story -- even at the end you are left with more questions. It's been a few years so it doesn't look like we'll see another game in this series. However, the games are still very worth while playing. I've seen countless movies where I'm left in the dark wondering what really happened, so that shouldn't in any way steer you away from these games. Play the demo and read some reviews. For me, I can't say enough good things about this and the other 2 in the series.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hidden object games I have played a lot of these games and this one was very good!
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Play this first, then Shadow Town! Yes, you read that right. This is the sequel to Shadow Town, but it honestly plays better going through this story first. Whichever one you choose will 'reveal' a Dark Secret(tm) about the other game. The difference is Shadow Town still plays very well with you knowing what's going on: in fact I think it plays better. It turns it from Gothic or 'normal' Horror into Lovecraftian. Wicked cool! The ending is as conclusive as it will be (you'll understand when you get there). The Bonus Chapter in the CE is a far prequel that does explain a bit of what's going on, but you should have that pretty much figured out by then. If you haven't: play Shadow Town and all will become very clear. Solid, solid SE buy.
Date published: 2014-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of My Favorites Light on the HOS, which I like, pretty easy and fun. Picks up where Shadow Town left off. Great game!
Date published: 2013-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding This game is truly a mindbender. The graphics, cutscenes, minigames etc are amazing . The story keeps you going and often I wondered, hmmm have I not just been there? You get so involved in the story it is just amazing. Like previous gamers mentioned, you need to play the prequel Shadow Town first. Please do, this will tie everything together. I swear, there are scenes in that game, that I am playing here, just different. Amazing imagination, by the devs. Many times I went.....huh?.....It throws you into different scenes, you can be playing the game and all of a sudden it throws you back into the hospital and you think, oh no, I have to start all over? Insomnia....... Make sure you read everything, so it makes sense. It is a goosebump game. Love it It is fantastic. I wish there were more games like this.
Date published: 2013-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Based on Completed SE Game Let me start off by saying that I generally don't award 5 stars for a game that doesn't have anything to collect, no achievements, no extras, morphing objects, or the option to play another game in lieu of HO - I LOVE that. But TLI still gets 5 stars. Pros: - The game is complete. I haven't played the CE but based on the SE I don't know why you'd spring for the extra money. Everything wraps up neatly. - I LOVE the back and forth between the storylines! You're in a mental hospital, trying to escape, and then *boom* you're back in the mansion again. At first it was confusing, but once I caught on, it was fun. Neutral: - Voiceovers sometimes a bit off Cons: - I did refer to a walkthrough at one point, and I used the hint button quite a bit (but I'm a beginner, so factor that in)
Date published: 2012-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Involved Game that Was Too Short This is the second Twisted Lands but the third in chronology now that they have release a prequel. I got this one on special but went back and did the Twisted Lands: Shadow Town first so I could better understand the story. It helped but now about to start the third installment the prequel Twisted Lands: Origin because I want to learn more. I normally don't find myself so obsessed with the Hidden Object games and can wait more patiently for the next one in the series but I am really drawn to this storyline. This is one of the few games that does provide a lot of backstory through reading of journals, diaries, newspapers and other notes. However, when I finished this game feeling both satisfied, but cheated in that there could have been more story, more information, so I am now buying the prequel and going to spend the next two days playing it.
Date published: 2012-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice game I really enjoyed playing this game, it was my first Twisted Land but it won't be my last, I really enjoyed the story and the graphics are decent. the game didnt drag, it went along nicely. Just wish it had lasted a little longer.
Date published: 2012-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from twisted lands: insomniac this game was BRILLIANT though i only played half of it. the story line was perfect and the Puzzles are challenging and all HOG lovers even if you havent played the first one, you can still play it because i did , and i got it straight away.
Date published: 2012-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What the ****? This is a review of the entire completed game. This game is a mind trip if there ever was one. Half the time you are in her hallucinations and the other time you are not in dream world. There is no actual ending to this game except a lot of questions and WHAT THE HECK HAPPENED? However, I did like it. It is a necessity to play the first one or you will be so confused and its already confusing so make sure you play twisted lands-shadow town... Since there is a prequel to all of this, Im hoping it will explain things a little better but I liked the puzzles and gameplay. Since this is an older game, there are no interactive hidden object scenes but there aren't so many hidden object scenes that its annoying. This game took me approx 5 hours to play BUT I read EVERYTHING. The journals explain a lot and without them, I wouldn't have understand anything. Since in the last game you were Mark and in this game you are Angel, it really flowed well. It was interesting being in her mind. There's still a lot of things I don't understand but I almost think that is the point of this game. Hopefully Origins will wrap it up nicely. I do recommend but only if you've played the first one.
Date published: 2013-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Insomniac will keep you on the edge of your seat... TITLE—Twisted Lands: Insomniac VERSION—Standard Edition (full game) DEVELOPER—Alawar GENRE—Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure (supernatural) STORYLINE—This time you play as Angel, who awakens in an insane asylum with scattered memories of Shadow Town. Threatened by an impending lobotomy, you must escape. But time, your shattered memories, and the ghosts of the past keep playing tricks on your perception of reality. OVERVIEW—Insomniac continues the storyline from Shadow Town, and is a simultaneously fragmented and coherent story that completely messes with your mind. To be honest, I'll need to play it again to fully grasp the twists. GAMEPLAY—Standard adventure interspersed with HO scenes and puzzles. INTERFACE—Journal: Yes, and there's a task list as well. Map: No, and there's backtracking, though not as much as is Shadow Town. Hints: Available in both HO scenes—where they show you an object on the list—and in adventure mode—where they guide you in the right direction. Specials: Collect photos of children to complete an album you'll need later. Strategy Guide: N/A. TECHNICAL—No issues. GRAPHICS—Painterly, but nicely clear in the HO scenes. The background scenes are appropriately moody in color. CUTSCENES—Stillframe series style, but they work to convey to you what you need to know. MUSIC—This time, I didn't notice it (so at least it's not annoying). SOUND—Ambient and game sounds appropriate. Period sounds of children laughing and someone weeping added to the overall creepiness. VOICEOVER—None. SUMMARY—An effective sequel to Shadow Town, although it asked as many questions as it answered, IMO. Perhaps they were answered in the CE's Bonus Play, but I can't speak to that. Overall, I feel Insomniac was worth my time and money, but you really do need to play both games—Shadow Town and Insomniac—for full effect. I recommend both. Off to play Origins!
Date published: 2013-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game This is a pretty interesting game to play. Your character keeps having flashbacks and you're honestly not sure which one is the reality. It was very fun without being difficult and if you do get a little stuck, the hint button will take you right where you need to go. The puzzles were fun and HO scenes are pretty easy. I would say this game is worth the purchase.
Date published: 2012-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very good, creepy game This game actually managed to freak me out a little! Its beautifully made, with some eerie looking characters and scary cut scenes. The whole story line is interesting the entire time, and the ending really had me sitting here, taking a moment to realize what just happened. It was really good, pretty easy to follow, and easy to understand the events that are happening.
Date published: 2012-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Twisted Lands: insomniac Ok, another hospital, patient, story. When can we get fresh new idea here?? But luckily this game is about Angel, the protagonist of the first series of Twisted Lands. I love that the storyline is nice, it flows great, there is backtracking but not as many as the first one. Try playing the Shadow Town before this one as the story connects together.
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun but Confusing Great hint system and guide but I still did not know what was going on. I played the first game but it did not make much of an impression and made this one confusing. Loved the HOS and the puzzles. I liked that the journal kept track of necessary info to solve puzzles. The game length seemed short but fun game.
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Nice Follow Up This is a nice follow up to the first Twisted Lands, however, it interconnects with the first game so much that I recommend you play them back to back to get the full effect. The characters are a little awkward looking but the rest of the graphics are pretty great. The story can get a little confusing but it does offer a nice little twist at the end.
Date published: 2011-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ESCAPING A MENTAL WARD-NOT CHILDREN FRIENDLY! Goal is to escape Dr. Torpse's clutches from his mental ward and solve the Island's mystery. Scary sights and flashbacks. Appropriate soft, eerie background music with an occasional drill sound. Yikes! Hidden objects appropriate and can locate. To Do List" was straightforward and kept me on course--too much-- as it would spell out the answers. Would not need the CE for Strategy Guide. Certainly not childrend friendly as there are some distrubing scenes.
Date published: 2011-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good Demo The demo was pretty darn good, if I had the money I'd buy the game!!!
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Creepy, intriguing game I've already played the other Twisted Lands games and enjoyed them, so I tried this one. Had a lot of trouble getting it to run, but thanks to some excellent support from BFG I eventually got it going. I'm glad I persevered because it was well worth it if you like this sort of thing. Some scenes are rather unpleasant - so not suitable for children - but the graphics are very well drawn, and the melancholy music adds to the bleak atmosphere. Lots of objects have to be discovered and deployed in other areas of the game, so you have to remember where it was that you needed the pliers/crowbar/ornate key etc.etc. so when you find it you can go back - quite challenging if you only play the game in short snatches after a day's work. On the other hand, the puzzles are pretty easy. Like many similar games the storyline is a bit silly, but I don't think that matters - it's just a framework for the scenery of the game.
Date published: 2012-09-18
  • y_2020, m_5, d_27, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_11985, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Twisted Lands: Insomniac

Help Angel figure out what is real and what is in her head as she attempts to escape from a Mental Hospital!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.