Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(207.47 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Help Sam Wilde rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game! Sam

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 469 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(207.47 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 213.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully crafted game This is a beautifully crafted and intelligent game, but not one for the novice or the impatient because there’s much walking to and fro .. and so many different rooms and passages, it made me quite dizzy. The voice over (there’s only the one) is excellent, the graphics crisp, and just enough hidden object scenes to give a player a rest, and a welcome break midst all the confusion. I found some of the puzzles quite difficult .. but maybe because the instructions were hard to understand. To be honest, I lost the will to live towards the end, and if I hadn’t been so intrigued by the storyline (and the deliciously sinister villain) and how it would end, I think I would have quit. But saying all that, none of my criticisms are the fault of the game .. which thoroughly deserves 5 stars. (It was also nice to have a male coming to the rescue of his damsel in distress for a change .. instead of the other way around)
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PLAY EXPERT LEVEL It has clear screens and graphics. Fun HOS and puzzles. They do let you skip both the talking and puzzles, if need be. Played the one hour trial, and purchased. Am on my way back to play. Only thing is if you do not like seeing dead people, then you will not like this game.
Date published: 2013-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OUTSTANDING GAME!!! Best HO game I've ever played. Hours of fun that kept me on my toes throughout. Excellent plot. Oscar droned on quite a lot with his philosophical wisdom, but that aside, it kept me gripped for quite a number of hours. Just the right amount of HOs and puzzles so as not to become frustrated. Most of them were interesting and some of them were not so straightforward but challenging. I would definitely recommend this game. It's well worth the money.
Date published: 2013-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best games I have played in a long time! I have been starting to tire of hidden object games, they all seem the same nowadays. But just occasionally one comes along that renews my interest and this is that game. A super hint of scary, the voiceovers are probably the best yet. You do need to play with the sound on as the voice of the bad guy in the background adds to the tension. The areas to cover are numerous and thankfully the map highlights areas with something to do, the only draw back is that you can't click on that place and go straight there. The puzzles are lengthy and mostly easy by my standards, however there were a few that I found extremely difficult and satisfying to complete - 1 I couldn't do at all but only through my own inabilities, no fault of the game! The hidden object scenes were good and I never found the need to randomly click in frustration!! All in all I thoroughly recommend this game and as I am a little late in discovering it, I sincerely hope the second one in the series is as good as this.
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ruined me for the rest Just my favourite game on this site. The music, the voice-overs, the challenge, the creativity and atmosphere, all made this a game I didn't want to end. I found the whole game logical, and creative. It respects the intelligence of the player and draws you along. I couldn't stop playing. The voice acting is just superb, and the music is haunting while being exciting. It is a bit grim in places, but not graphic. Give yourself a treat and try it. And Mr. Developer? I want a sequel!!! Please??
Date published: 2013-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have for any fan of dark games This game really did it for me. Superb graphics, soundtrack and voiceovers. It grabs you from the beginning and doesn't let you go until the end. I got the SE and that was good enough for me, not really wanting to spend the money just for a bonus level on the CE. I've played it twice already and it's definitely a keeper! The developer so needs to make a sequel with our beloved villain! Please, please!!
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous game!! Played the SE and found it to be quite long and detailed. Excellent voice over, excellent graphics, above average storyline. I was sold on it as soon as I saw the opening scene, so don't skip it! I found some of the puzzles hard to figure out, but the walk through blog saved me. Incredible game for a SE. We need more high quality games like this one.
Date published: 2013-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Game--Superb On All Levels This is one of the best casual adventure/hidden object games I've ever played. Everything was amazing--the story, the graphics, the clever puzzles that were just right in difficulty, the atmosphere. The story bears particular mention because this is one of a handful of games I've played where I actually cared about the story and was able to follow it all the way through. It's very focused, and interesting, and I hated for it to end. It's a good length, too, and I highly recommend a purchase of this one. I'm going to look for other games by this publisher.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absorbing Most times I enjoy a game for the programming skill and the art work which goes into it. Plot is secondary. But this game is quite different, an interesting plot, and a taunting voiceover that keeps you moving from scene to scene. Even though you have to hop around a bit, you do it with a smile on your face. The HOS are easy. I did have to resort to the walkthrough at the end, but that's because I am not an expert. You will have fun!
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing game! Couldn't get enough This game gave me a new thrill for HOPA games. I was quickly drawn into the storyline and only got better from there. LOVED the new puzzles, some extremely hard. There is a journal and a map(not interactive), the Hint button works outside of HOS but doesn't tell you where to go. The HOS were small junk piles but clear enough to be fun and some are great interactive ones. The VOS are amazing! When the game said best played with speakers on it was not kidding! It reminded me of Silence of the Lambs with the character Hannibal Lecter as the voice of this games villan. My only disappointment was that I didn't spring for the CE, I feel like I missed out on a great Bonus Chapter and maybe even some extra play during the regular main story. I can't wait to see more from The Brink of Consciousness!!!!
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT GAME! This is one of the best games i've seen in a while, the voice-overs are incredible , they grab your attention from the first and keep you interested through-out the game. Graphics are great, sound is also great (I usually turn off the background music, but not in this game), ho scenes are very good and puzzles are different and challenging. I really hated to interrupt the game-play with mundane things like going to work, etc. This game is challenging and great fun and has a very interesting ending that leaves you wanting to continue the adventure. I'm anxious to play the next Brink of Consciousness game.
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommended - A Guy's Review *review based on completing the game in expert mode* This game is absolutely amazing in many ways. It is one of those games that belong in every adventure/HOG/HOPA fan's collection. First of all I want to mention the story. Most games in this genre spend way too little time in creating a compelling story and create suspense to the game play, but these developers have done a very nice job in that department. The story is intriguing and interesting, and the way it progresses really keeps you interested and in suspense. This opens for a highly enjoyable experience. It also helps quite a bit when the voice-overs that bring the story forward is done very well, as well as ambient sounds and small well placed effects. The graphics too in this game is astonishing. Everything is highly detailed and crisp. Animations are rather good as well, but I did notice a lack of expression where there should have been. Looking besides that, the intro was very well made. The ending too, but seeing the intro was long and cleverly made, I feel that the ending could have had just a little bit more. Don't get me wrong though, it is well made, and quite original. The most important thing in most games is game play of course, and luckily this too is of high quality in this game. There is lots of adventuring, which I personally like the most. This is flavored with clever and original puzzles ranging from easy to hard and a handful of HO scenes. There are fewer HO scenes here than most other games I've played in this genre, but to me that is a positive. I like them a lot, but too many games have way too many of them and they tend to take the focus and momentum out of the story and game play. The HO scenes are mildly interactive too, and you will be visiting all of them twice. Most of them are easy on the eyes mildly cluttered scenes. There are a couple of smaller objects to find and one or two scenes that are a bit grey/dark. It shouldn't be a big problem for most though. You have both a journal and a map in this game, where the latter is quite useful in this rather large labyrinth of locations. There is no quick travel functions, but the map shows points of interests, when HO scenes are active, puzzles and locked doors. The interface and navigation is smooth and well done. You have 2 difficulty levels to choose from: Regular: Quick skip/hint recharge and sparkles on active zones. Expert: Slow skip/hint recharge and active zones not indicated. HO scenes will still sparkle in Expert mode though, and with the help of the map you can figure out quite a few places you need to go do something. I found the skip/hint recharge still a bit too fast in expert mode, but not a big deal. This game is so good it should not be missed by anyone. I'm recommending it to everyone, and it might be one of the very few games I will play again, just because of the good story. For the guys: It is one of the few games in the genre where you actually play as a guy. This one a criminal journalist named Sam, on a mission to save his love from the clutches of a madman. A compelling story to both males and females. TJ
Date published: 2012-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, Atmospheric Thriller This was an all-around great game. I played both the basic version and the collector's edition. This is the first time I felt compelled to purchase a collector's edition, but the story and gameplay were so engrossing that I wanted every bit of content that I could get. The mood and plot are superb. You become very absorbed in the moment and what is happening. The story elements are interspersed very evenly throughout the game, and I found it very hard to stop playing. It was like a good book that I just didn't want to put down. I always wanted to immediately use the objects I found and see what happened next. Some people might not like all the backtracking, as this is a huge game, and there is a good bit of that. It leans more toward being an adventure game, even though there are some hidden object scenes. I didn't mind the backtracking, because the scenery was so beautifully rendered. I loved exploring everything and looking at the details of all the scenes. This game is one of the best I've played on Big Fish. I would recommend going for the collector's edition specifically, because it has some very enjoyable extra gameplay and story content. And I don't normally buy collector's editions, so I don't make that recommendation lightly.
Date published: 2012-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spooky Game that Works This game had me going for hours. The visuals were wonderfully rendered, the sets were almost endless, and the storyline was entertaining and made sense. The hidden object scenes were mostly easy, but some of the mini-games were very challenging. Best of all, however, was the amazing voice work of the Oscar character. Besides being spooky and making my skin crawl at places, the voice was very reminiscent of one of my favorite actors - William Daniels. For those of you who aren't familiar with him, he played the voice of "Kitt" in the original TV production of Knight Rider. If I didn't know better, I would almost swear it was him. This game is very well put together and I recommend it highly.
Date published: 2012-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommend! Can't say enough good things about this game. The story line is engrossing and the voiceover talent is actually talented (which I can't say for very many HO games I've played). The graphics are very well rendered and the music is a creepily perfect accompaniment - it's not at all intrusive. Not the usual Hidden Object game, there are as many puzzles to solve as HO scenes. Some are quite challenging but are enjoyable. My only negative comment is that there is no interactive map that can bring the player from one point to another in a quicker fashion. There is a great deal of back and forth and I find myself mumbling about the lack of an interactive map to bring me where I need to go as I'm clicking back and fro. All in all, this is an excellent offer by the developers and I recommend it highly.
Date published: 2012-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really fun, interesting game. Can't wait for part 2! Brink of consciousness is a great, fun, challanging game. The voice acting is really good. The main character doesn't talk during gameplay, but you still know he's there as his breathing increases in tense situations. I really don't like hidden object games that much, but this is the right mix of hidden object mixed with point and click adventure. The soundtrack is really good as well and fits with the mood of the story. If you like psychological thrillers then you will like this game. The only thing I regret is that I didn't buy the collectors edition!! :(
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORTH EVERY PENNY !!!!! This game made my husband a HOS player. As heavy PS3 gamers, this game kept us hooked till the end. LOVED IT!!!!!
Date published: 2012-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dorian Grey Review I just finished up this game and wanted to leave a review while it was fresh in my mind. Overall, this was an excellent game and worth 5 stars. That said, I found it quite challenging. I played on the advanced mode. At the end of the game, I had had to skip 2 puzzles and use the hint key a few times. I did not have to use the hint key on any of the HO games, but during game play. I prefer to not use any hints or skips, but this game had me stumped a few times. Because of this it was a pretty long game. I had to walk away a few times when I was stumped and come back again. Oh, I even had to use the blog walk through once. :( lol I've played enough games now on advanced levels that I feel embarrassed to have to use any help. So, now you know the game was challenging. :) The storyline for this game was very good too, especially if you like creepy serial killer plots. The voice work was excellent! The voice actor reminded me of Hannibal in Silence of the Lambs. Very good! If you like games where you get to wander around a lot, this is for you. Plenty of going back and forth, finding clues, and figuring things out. I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definite 5 stars This game had an interesting storyline that made you want to continue. And the best part is that it also had a great mix of hidden object, new & different mini-puzzles, and adventure to figure out what to do with the collected items. I was nicely surprised by the length and complexity of different scenes. The HO scenes were not terribly hard but for me, they were the right degree of difficulty as I prefer not to spend too much time on them so that I can carry on with the storyline. Look forward to the next game by this company. Note: I investigated the previous games by this company, which were 2 Robinson Crusoe games. Quite a different style - all about hidden objects and puzzles, like Madame Fate. I'm not interested in that type so buyer beware.
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game yet!!! This game made me wish I had not rated other games so highly. It is undoubtedly the best game I have played from Big Fish and SO many are SO great. It is quite dark, but with a fiendishly wonderful sense of humor! I usually hate an accompanying narrative, but this one just enhanced the game perfectly. The graphics are exquisite, the games are fun and different, the HOs are very well done. The layout is fantastic and requires a great deal common sense to negotiate and figure out where to return to complete a task, which I love! This game came as close to perfect as a game can get and I really hope there will be another... SOON!!!
Date published: 2012-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best! I don't normally submit reviews, but this one is worth the effort! I think it rates right up there with MCF games. It was a very long play, tons of different locations, and the mini-games were excellent...very challenging! I think the level of difficulty was just right. There is a map to help you around the huge estate with 3 levels, although I still got confused as to how to get from place to place. It's big! I loved the mini-games. It was fun, and offered many hours of play to complete. The story line and voice overs were well done. Great game!
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Challenging, but exciting I consider myself to be an excellent HOP - Adventure gamer, and this is one of the most challenging games I have ever played. The back and forth travel is just right and the game is a real thought provoker. There are no hints in the adventure part of the game, so if you rely on those to complete your games, you might get a bit frustrated. If you really think you are a great gamer, this one might humble you a bit. It is beatable, but you have to work for completion.
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Quality Game GAME COMPLETED MANY TIMES Story: Become Sam Wilde, an investigative journalist, and pit your wits against the murderous genius known only as Oscar. Oscar has your fiancé, and while threatening her, he plays a maddening game with you, in which you must solve the puzzles and escape traps he has set for you in his hideout, a labyrinthine old mansion. Developer: Magicindie Softworks Release Date: Jan 2012 Extras: Interactive Map, Film Grain Option This is an elegantly designed, superior game, serious and challenging, with a disturbing story aimed at grownups. For me, it is its atmosphere that makes this game. The quality of the visuals is exceptional throughout. The interactive HO scenes are clear and relatively easy, though they play with the lighting a bit. Watch for some interesting uses of light to add realism. Oscar’s voice actor gives an award-winning performance and just gets creepier and more oppressive. You, on the other hand, have only a range of grunts, sighs and coughs for expressing yourself. Along with a subtle but effective musical score, this game’s sound is at least as important as the visuals in creating a truly chilling atmosphere. As well, the game is not easy. Despite an excellent interactive (not jump) map, just getting around the enormous mansion is tricky. There are a lot of puzzles and some of them are quite difficult. It'll keep you on your toes.
Date published: 2013-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OUTSTANDING !!! Even the real Oscar Wilde would enjoy that game! - INCREDIBLY AMAZING VOICE OVER ( something that, in most game really annoys me, here is just perfect!!!). Highly sarcastic and ironic! - Fascinating story, - Gorgeous sound, - Crisp and nicelly done graphics - Very good challenging, - Great, fun and brand new puzzles - Very realistic scenes - Unbelievable Atmosphere - Lot of locations and a lot of things to do. - Very good and interactive HOS. A game so complete, fun and great as this is very rare A game that you can not stop! Worth every cent and every minute played !!
Date published: 2012-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Great Game! Wow! Happy birthday to me!! What a great game. The only part of it I didn't like was when it came to the end. Wanted a few more hours playing!
Date published: 2012-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SOOOOO MUCH FUN! I'm not sure where I was at when the CE came out on this game but I would have bought it in a second! This game has to be one of the best I have EVER played. I give it a huge 5 out of 5. The only thing I can think of a little negative to say about this game is there is alot of back and forth which I hate in a game but I don't mind doing so in this game. It's well worth it! Thanks BF and kudos to a super good game!
Date published: 2012-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best games of 2011... Some people have compared this game to the MCF Ravenhearst games, and I think this game is in the same ranks as Return to Ravenhearst, it is that good! When people say this game is vast, they are not kidding. I could not believe how many different scenes were in this game. Just when I thought I had explored everything, more scenes/rooms to explore popped up. There is a map that tells you what rooms are active, but unfortunately it is not interactive, so there is a lot of roaming around, and if people don't like that in a game, they probably won't like it in this one. I didn't mind the roaming around in this game because there seemed to be a logic to it. When you are done with a part of the house, you don't have to go back there again and you keep moving forward. Another thing I really liked about this game was that there are more puzzles than H0 scenes, and many of the puzzles are unique and challenging. I try not to skip puzzles in games, but there were a few I got too frustrated with, so I skipped them. I enjoyed many of the ones that I did complete, and appreciated the challenge. In general, this game is challenging. The hint system isn't very helpful and the map fails to be helpful sometimes as well. It tells you the rooms that are active, meaning there is still a task to complete there, but if you go to that room it doesn't mean you will be able to complete the task at that time. You still might need to find another inventory object before you are able to. There were a couple of times where I had to use a walkthrough to figure out what to do next, since the hints and map were not helping at all and I was stuck. What else makes this game so great you may be wondering. The voice acting has a lot to do with it. As others have mentioned here, the voice acting of the villain, Oscar, is phenomenal, and really adds a lot to the creepiness of the game. This game is addictive, immersive, chilling, fun and long! I didn't time myself, but I would guess that it took me at least 6 or 7 hours to complete the game. I highly recommend it, especially to people who enjoy adventure and puzzles, more than H0 scenes.
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hold on to your hat - it's a corker! I have to say this was the best game I have ever played by BFG. It has all of the elements needed to keep you pinned to your PC - I couldn't move until I had finished it (5 hours by the way). There was a fair bit of running back and forth but not to the point where I lost track of where I was (the map is a handy thing as the game has a lot of scenes). I played on normal mode and did not need to refer to the walkthrough or hints. Graphics are fab, storyline is epic and the level of challenge just right. most definitely a keeper!!!
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brink of Consciousness Wow, what a great story! The graphics, animations and voice acting kept me in suspense until the last minute. There are a lot of scenes within the game and a quite a bit of traveling back and forth. It really required careful exploration and attention to detail but I felt it all had a sense of purpose rather than the aimless wandering some games seem to have. There is a map that lays out the floorplans and highlights areas of interest. The hidden object scenes are well done and I found most of the puzzles quite challenging. Expect the unexpected around every corner!
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brink Of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome SE This is quite simply one of those games that you can replay several times and still thoroughly enjoy. I purchased the Collectors Edition when this game was first released and I loved this game so much that I wanted to play this Standard Edition to see if it was just as exciting without all the bells and whistles. Yes, even after a few years I still feel the same way, and it turns out that the bells and whistles of the CE weren't missed! I still place this 2011 game at the top of my favorite Hidden Object Adventure Games in 2014! Sam Wilder is a journalist that has been investigating the disappearance of several young adults in the neighborhood as his latest assignment. He quickly makes the connection that a mental health patient on the lam is the prime suspect of these disappearances. The man Sam believes is responsible suffers from Dorian Gray Syndrome, The suspect was abused by his father when he was just a boy and he became obsessed over the loss of his youth, obsessed with aging (aren't we all) and obsessed with the anti-hero Dorian Gray. Things take an unexpected turn when Sam is lured into a huge mansion with explicit orders to arrive alone and alert nobody if he wants to see his love Anna alive! The mansion is full of locked doors, secret hiding places and obstacles to overcome, but most of all the rooms are full of cameras and speakers watching Sam's every move and staying one step ahead. The killer taunts Sam as he appears and disappears hidden behind a strange mask and blocked passages just beyond reach. The killer has posed the victims as forms of art throughout the mansion, will this be Anna's destiny, is Anna still alive? There aren't a whole lot of HOS but they are very well done with several items requiring some type of interaction. I loved the mini games, such as figuring out the safe combination that the killer tells you is +11/-3/+8 and I'll leave it up to you to figure out. The Collectors Edition includes a bonus game, concept art, strategy guide and an interview with the developers, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-04-12
  • y_2020, m_1, d_24, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_213
  • loc_en_US, sid_13398, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome

Help Sam rescue his love Anna in Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome, an incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.