Be a King: Golden Empire

Be a King: Golden Empire

PC

Also available on

Strategy

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(25.78 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Defend your kingdom from raiders in Be a King 3: Golden Empire! Rebuild cities to their former glory, feed the poor and protect them from raids by bandits. Rule with your strong hand and raise a powerful empire. Complete different objectives and enjoy the medieval atmosphere as you experience the life of a king. Stop the evil monsters and raiders before it’s too late in Be a King 3: Golden Empire!

  • Become a powerful king
  • Stop the raiders and bandits
  • Defend your kingdom!
  • Play Be a King

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 32 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Be a King: Golden Empire

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(25.78 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Be a King: Golden Empire is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game I like the first two games in this series better than this one but overall I was satisfied with this version. I would recommend that you play either Be a King or Be a King 2 first if you have never played a Be a King before because I think the first two did a better job of teaching you how to play. Also I saw another review that complained about the cursor in this game and I agree it wasn't as responsive as it could have been and I also wish there was an option to change it. Other than that I think its a fun strategy game.
Date published: 2011-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging but fun :) If you are a fan of previous Be a King games you will like this one very much. The game is a bit of a challenge, but that is what we like about them :) There is a "casual" mode added to this one that was not included in the previous games in the series. I enjoyed this, but I was familiar with the game. Give it a try, you might also enjoy it.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Frantic I thought the tutorial was adequate. The timer is short but you can easily get a gold trophy just by building in a repeat formula every level, then upgrading to win. It's a lot of clicking without too much thought. The graphics are cute. Worth a play if you like frantic games.
Date published: 2011-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Sequel I loved the first game and found it to be a fantastic game. So when this game came along I was glad to give it a shot. Since I'm coming to the game having already played the first one I didn't have the issues with the curser. I really didn't have any issues at all. I like the storyline. I like the game. I do however recommend starting with the first one. :)
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It really isn't that bad. :) Based on the reviews, I didn't see the game being that awful. I, actually, kinda enjoyed it. It does have an old school game feeling on the way the game was made, but I think that I might have liked at the same time (in a way.) You can click on the area that the boxes that seem to be in your way are to minimize them easily and then bring them back up. It tells you the goal itself before you start the game. I had no problems with technical area of gameplay. I assume that people are either going to love it or hate it. As for me, I like it, but I am very stingy with credits so it's one of those games I debate over. Otherwise, I probably would have picked it up for a little challenge for my downtime. It does make you have to keep your brain turned on a little. :)
Date published: 2011-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK game, not the best in the series I bought this game, and am liking it OK, but don't feel it's as good as Be A King 2. The controls are a bit confusing--it took me a few minutes to figure out how to hire workers, buy supplies, etc, and the days counter runs *really* fast, though you're given many more days to earn a gold award than in BAK2. Because it seems to be impossible to maintain a positive balance of money if you build very many defenses and wood/stone production, doing the extra missions that require gold is not possible, which is kind of a disappointment, as that was one of the things I enjoyed in the previous game. I'd recommend BAK2 over this game.
Date published: 2011-12-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like the others I enjoyed the first 2 games and I wanted to love this one. I just find it to be the same thing with little difference. I also hoped the images would be bigger, but it's still so small that it's hard to tell one building from the next. I also didn't like how when the building got damaged, the red bar stayed visible. I found the levels difficult and had to replay many of them just to get a bronze trophy. I would recommend to people who like a challenge and have good vision!
Date published: 2011-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Up to Snuff I purchased both Be A King and Be A King 2 so I was greatly looking forward to playing this latest one. It was disappointing. First, at 31 levels it is far too short. Second, it supposedly offers three modes of play but I tried playing the game on all three modes and saw very little difference. Third, adds nothing new to the series. Still it is fun and so I will recommend it but do not expect to be wowed.
Date published: 2011-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too quick I finished the entire game in a few short hours, that was really disappointing. The tutorial was a joke and you had no option to skip it. The day timer ran way too fast, and once you had the system figured out you can easily finish levels without feeling like you actually did anything. I love tower defense games and have played the previous ones from this series, but this one was midling.
Date published: 2011-12-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tower Defense Game Disappointed. There is no challenge to this game, although I played in "normal" gameplay. It didn't matter whether my buildings were attacked, they still could be advanced to a higher level and once you figure out how to accumulate money, the game is really easy. I love tower defense games but this game was a piece of cake.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was Ok. I had 2 levels left before the trial was over, to have the game completely finished. I received gold metals in all but 3 levels, which were the first 3 you do when you start the game. Needless to say, this game is easy. Most have complained about the time length being too short, but I found it to be too long (because I finished way before losing gold metal)... but that depends on the player. Each level seemed to fly by and I felt like I wasn't accomplishing much- except the objectives of course... you don't get time to play out the scenes/battles if you want to earn the time metals/points... and as I said, I had only 2 levels left before the end of the game, so I don't know if you get to actually play in free style when you're done or not... but still, seeing that I only had 2 left, to me, it's not worth the purchase. Sweet graphics and sounds though ;) just not challenging enough to me ...I also think it's worth the game that once you've beat it, that you get to have some free style time in it.. so you can at least still play it, instead of waiting a while (like weeks or even months) before playing it again because it's been beat...
Date published: 2012-04-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Finally a game that made it past the 60 min trial! I'm pretty picky about what games I'll purchase, but this one left me wanting more after the trial was up. I'm halfway through the game, so I can't speak to the end content, but the reviews about mouse issues... mine works fine. The day does go fast, I can't disagree with those reviews, but anyone who said this is too difficult needs to go back to training wheels. I haven't played the previous versions of this game so seeing it with a fresh eye and perspective I'm loving it. It does have different levels of challenge from casual (no timer), normal, and challenging. So, pay at least minimal attention in the tutorial and then set the game to whatever level of hardness suits you. In my first 60 minutes of the game I had all gold trophies for each level played so far on normal. It's not that difficult but at the same time it does take a little strategy.
Date published: 2012-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No Challenge Not for me. I like games that have a challenge but were goals are not 'unreachable'. I only played half hour of the trial. There is not much to 'think' about. Just follow all of the instructions. Do A, B, C and D and you complete the level. Might be a good game for youth or when you want something mindless to play. Setup is cute though and the onscreen action is fun to watch (though there is no interaction to create it other than build buildings).
Date published: 2011-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs Some Improvements The biggest drawback of this game is the fast time limit, it should be cut be 10~20%. And the lack of a good strategy guild tutorial. It's an aggravation that spoils the fun factor. It would be good if the gains of one game could be passed on to the next level for more challenging monsters, robbers, etc., past the building options. As it is it's just an embellishment of the previous versions. And how about being able to name the players.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Utterly disappointing 3rd chapter in the series I bought this game on sight after playing the first two. I truly wish I hadn't, the first two were fun, not the best by a long shot but fun and between the flurry of hidden object games it's really nice when a strategy comes along, even if they're not amazing, but this one could have stayed in the unreleased pile. It's frustrating now to upgrade because you have to "go in and out" of each building instead of simply clicking between buildings and the overall feeling of the game is really not one of fun anymore but rather disappointment. I really hope they bring out a 4th instalment and bring back the fun factor
Date published: 2015-04-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Rather lame compared to the other parts of Be A King I played the first two parts of "Be a king" several times and enjoyed the game very much. But the third part is completely different. Of course, the game play is still the same, a fair mixture of tower defense and building. But the interface is completely different from what you're used to from the first two parts. Buying materials, upgrading buildings, hiring workers, all the actions could be managed in a way that didn't interfere with your playing field, everything was quite neat and quickly done. But now there are huge popup windows that cover almost the whole playing scene, so every action is like an interruption of playing. Buying, hiring, and upgrading are really inconvenient with these enormous overlay windows. I really didn't like that new interface design, it's hampering the game progress, and I can't recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disliked some of the changes from parts 1 and 2 I have loved the "Be A King" franchise up until this one. Wow. It just seems so cumbersome, so much clicking! And, before, you could have some creativity in how you solved each level. Now it's just "solve it this unique way or fail." Visually, yes, it's head and shoulders above the others, but as intuitive, strategic game-play, it just stinks.
Date published: 2014-01-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A Waste of time I found the game frustrating to play. The game has the familiar system of constructing various buildings to create a town, manufacturing resources, and increasing the population, which is done in a cute cartoonish way. There is a Mentor who sits at the bottom of the screen and makes suggestions and observations on your progress, or lack thereof. Which is ok. BUT there are attacks on your little towns by monsters that destroy your hard work and I found no way to stop them. If you add Guard Towers for protection, you run out of money until you cannot repair anything and your town is dead. And this was on the Easy Levels. There are far better strategy games out there, like the Pioneer Lands
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Way too fast with no prep Everything updates so fast that you can't tell what's going on, even in the early tutorial levels. Also, with everything happening so fast I couldn't figure out what was the right balance of resources to get an income, and who knows what the time goals for trophy level completion. There's just no information that's easy to find, and it's not fun enough to spend the time to figure it out.
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Be a Peasant? The game goals seem scattered and don't make much sense. The "days" timer runs very quickly. You can easily waste a day just taking the time to read what your advisor has to say. The tutorial doesn't explain to you how to buy construction materials. Lots of fast clicking, not a lot of fun.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from wouldn't bother! I've played the other versions of this game, and have really enjoyed them, this game however, is really awful, due to the game cursor. You have very little control over it, espescially when needed, its slow/jerky/useless and ruins a good game. You don't even have the option to turn it off, as this option usually helps, but alas!! no good here. If the option was given, then this could be a decent game.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pitiful Time Management Game DISCLAIMER: I only played the free demo. It's the Middle Ages, warfare has taken a toll on the countryside, destroyed villages, and left the people with little food and feeling defenseless and desperate. It time for a great leader to step in and lead his/her people to prosperity and security once again. Well, that's the premise of Be a King: Golden Empire, anyway. That sounded like a great idea for a great game, so I downloaded it. Well, somewhere between the idea and the execution, something went wrong, because after playing for 10 minutes, I was at once bored and incredibly frustrated. The tutorial, and I use the term loosely, was somehow able to be longer than most master's thesis, but have no real helpful information in it. The area with the goals and tasks took up a lot of the screen and distracted you from the actual gameplay. The guy at the bottom of the screen who was supposed to give you hints on what to do, but reading his suggestions took up time need to finish the level. Finally all the buildings looked so much alike that it was hard to know what you were selecting. I gave this game a try, but quit after 22 minutes; I suggest you not bother to try it.
Date published: 2011-12-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No buy for me I liked the first game but this one is a no go for me. The time limit for getting gold is too short, being able to distinguish between building types is difficult, in one level I had to upgrade a building to finish the level but it wasn't available even though I had all the resources to do so. I don't need this kind of frustration.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not For Me Too much pressure. The info box for Tutorial and Objectives takes up too much room, distracting you from the actual gameplay. The time limit for receiving trophies is too short in the early "learning" levels, and you have to choose which resources are needed to accomplish the objective. The Tutorial does not give enough advice on how to do this, but I couldn't see a way to turn it off either. The only option is to replay each level several times to learn how to win a trophy. I found it very stressful.
Date published: 2011-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cursor a real 'drag' There was no option to change the cursor to 'system' cursor. The game cursor dragged all over the screen, slowing the game down.
Date published: 2011-12-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ugh Major disappointment. Not enough info given to advance in the game...so I couldn't. Not fun at all.
Date published: 2011-12-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from the curser is cursed the mouse is a drag. took me 10 minutes to hit the quit button
Date published: 2011-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unplayable The slowness of response of the mouse made this game completely unplayable. Very slow, such a shame as it had the potential to be a really good game.
Date published: 2011-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible time management/strategy game very hard to tell what buildings what.
Date published: 2011-12-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Game keeps freezing I was looking forward to this game when i saw it as i have played the other two games and loved them. However this game keeps freezing and jamming my computer I tried removing and redownloading and it still happened all up very unimpressed
Date published: 2012-06-28
  • y_2020, m_5, d_26, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_12911, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Be a King: Golden Empire

Defend your kingdom from raiders in Be a King 3: Golden Empire! Rebuild cities and protect the population in this fun Strategy game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.