Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(216.42 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Track down your missing twin in Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward. The only trace of your missing twin is the necklace he never took off…and a swampland address. Follow the clues to an abandoned hotel and unravel a mystery of necromancy and more in this eerie hidden-object puzzle adventure classic!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 618 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Blood
  • Use of Tobacco
Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(216.42 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 62.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the wait for the SE version :) i ahve been waiting for this to come out on se version for what seems like an age (because im too much of a scrooge to pay for CE). The only gripe i will have is i had to use the hint button to much as there are so many laces to go i lost my way a little bit! Although saying that, i loved the storyline, the graphics were amazing and the hint button recharged quickly. This is definatley my sort out game - dark, eerie, supernatural etc. A definate must buy.
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's worth buying Just for me. I'm an average player so I'm looking for some fun, good visuals, intriguing story in games. And Charles Dexter Ward has everything! Nice graphics (like realistic style), not annoying music and interesting (yes, really interesting if you'll pay attention to it) story. Haven't bought CE but now think about it...
Date published: 2012-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Awesome! My hat is off to the developers for a games with a truly engrossing atmosphere and feel. I wish more games were like this. I play a lot of Adventure games and this ranks near the top.
Date published: 2012-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Spooky Game! If you passed up on the CE version then you really have to get the SE version today and find out just what happened to your twin brother as you explore the abondoned Haunted Hotel. Once upon a time, the very first Haunted Hotel started off as a simple straightforward HOG, but since then the Haunted Hotel series have gradually evolved with each game and with this latest edition, developers now bring us a new HOPA game that takes place in New Orleans, a ideal setting for any ghost story. The tale of Charles Dexter Ward offers something for everyone; Hidden Objects, Puzzles and Adventure and lets not forget, a great Ghost story. I loved the graphics and . using real live film footages always impresses me. This game had me at the opening scene. The sound effects were truly oustanding, I recommend you use headphones while playing and enjoy the sounds of swamp creatures in the background that set the mood for the game. Game features included widescreen, stretch screen and custom cursor. There were two game modes, but be warned, there were the odd sparkles here and there in advance mode which I found to be disappointing. Game features included a task list but no journal and no map. Instead, you need to find pages of a missing diary as you roam each scene. There was a very good hint system when used, tell you exactly where to go and what to do. Game mechanics were standard, involving collecting objects from non interactive HOS (again with the disappointment) and solve a variety of puzzles along the way. The puzzles were very enjoyable and some actually needed a bit more elbow grease. There are also achievements to earn along the way which were basically tied to each task done. The only problem I had with the entire game was the lack of a journal, the fact that you needed to collect the diary pages to unravel the mystery and with each page just seemed to slow down the pace a bit. If you are a fan of ghost stories then you are in for a treat; put on your headphones and be prepared to surround myself with the eeriness of the sound effects and discover what really happened to Charles Dexter Ward.S
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Can't understand some of the bad reviews. The game is great. I think that the ending was interesting and the graphics is good on my monitor. The game has some puzzles that I didn't see before, but some are pretty standard. And the relation to some works of H.P.Lovecraft added some interest to me.
Date published: 2012-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting!!!! The game has lots of interesting puzzles. Not to much HOS. The hint recharges fast. I loved the atmospheric music and the eerie "weather". And I found visuals to be pleasant. I've played the CE version. Can't say that the Bonus develops the story further (the game play starts where the SE version ends), but it is loaded with new puzzles. If you are a puzzle lover, then go with CE. Try it for your self and see how it works for you. I recommend this game!
Date published: 2012-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good, creepy game! I liked the storyline: you have to save your brother from evil... The atmosphere is creepy! I played in expert mode, so no help, no sparkles. - The graphics are good, not too dark. - The objects in the HOS are easy to find. - Most of the puzzles are really challenging! - There is no journal, just a list of all the letters you find, but they contain no clues for the puzzles or the tasks. - The hint system is good, it tells you where there is something to do. - There is no map, and you easily get lost... well, I did... It took me about 3 1/2 hours to finish, and I never got bored. All in all, a good, challenging game!
Date published: 2012-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! I've played the CE version and enjoyed it very much. The game is quite challenging and doesn't have to many HOS. I found it to be logical and interesting. Really worth playing. Try it!
Date published: 2012-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absorbing Game I love these older style games. They have everything that I like in a game. Clear HO and doable puzzles plus a twist at the end. What more could you want.
Date published: 2012-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game, but short Excellent storyline: you have to find your brother who is trapped in a haunted hotel. Great graphics and VOS. Clear, non-interactive HOS. Some seek and find. Good puzzles. Nice music. A little short, only 3.5 hours on casual play, but definitely worthwhile.
Date published: 2012-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Pretty fun to play. Interesting story line. The best part was that the detective you're playing had actual common sense. I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely worth buying! I always read comments before buying. This time I'm glad that I've bought this game without reading reviews. The game is great. It's just a full package of what I like in this genre - puzzles, mini-games, huge territory to explore. Its even has live video cut-scenes. Graphics is very nice, sharp and realistic. I also liked weather changing through days a lot! Definitely worth buying!
Date published: 2012-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Quality Game I really enjoyed this game! It’s a little different than most HOGs. It’s more like an adventure game with lots of inventory items to find and tasks to complete. It only had a limited amount of HOG piles, which I appreciate. The puzzles were not too hard and I didn’t need to skip any. The graphics, music and sound effects were all excellent. The story was well written and read like a good horror novel (it’s based on a Lovecraft story) and even though it may not be that unique, I thought it was very well done. To me the game was challenging which kept my interest to the end. I’ve played the previous Haunted Hotel games and think this is the best one yet! I hope the developers continue with the series.
Date published: 2012-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent.. well done big fish Kept me intrigued.. loved it so bought the game.. very eerie in some places.. but kept me guessing.. the only downside was boring ending... all im saying i would never have guessed!!!!!!!!.. buy it....
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very interesting This game is a long a story and every turn is an adventure.
Date published: 2012-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Spooky Game Good adventure and good ending. Easy HOS. Even the puzzles were reasonably easy. No map but you really don’t need it. Enjoyed the graphics and the music went well with the game.
Date published: 2014-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellant, decent puzzle's Excellant, decent puzzle's. One of the best games.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovecraftian Fun After the first three games in the Haunted Hotel series, which occupied the same universe and was longer on exposition than delivery, the developers took a sharp right turn into much better and deeper waters with Charles Dexter Ward. If you're not familiar with CDW, it's a short story by one of the masters of horror in H.P. Lovecraft. The story is excellent in its own right, and I commend this group for really bringing a lot of the source material into the game while twisting it in a slightly different fashion. You play a woman whose brother goes to investigate a sinister mansion in a swamp that even the locals avoid. The plot is set up quickly and makes sense, even though you'll be crafting spirit dolls and trying to break curses with mushrooms and berries in no time. There's a lot going on, and a lot to do for each of the days that you're at the house, but it's broken up nicely and fairly clear what you need to accomplish. A couple big departures from previous games in the series: Like the third game, HO scenes are much reduced and actually the easiest part of this. You get enlarged screens and the items are pretty big. Most of the rooms in the place are locked and require collecting an inventory item and using it in the accompanying minigame in order to access. That means sliding puzzles galore. These puzzles take time and are fairly challenging, so completing the game will take some time unless you get skip happy. The game really nails the spooky mood and uses the in-game effects to great results. You see the changes in weather, etc. and it creates a very interactive environment. You do get voice acting for the first time in the series, and while it's just a couple of characters it's solid enough. As for the ending, well..if you've read the source material you know happily ever after is generally not the way it goes. All in all, this is a very strong and long game with plenty of areas to explore and a central storyline that's among the best of its kind. Good to see the creators inject new life into a series with fantastic results. Really well done and actually chilling, not like many pseudo-scary casual games.
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Based on SE FULL GAME completed. Details from the CE + its bonus are listed too. This is a copy of the review I left for the CE version. Just in case you want to know the upgrade to buying the CE instead. **********May contain a spoiler**************** SE Gameplay TIME: took me 2 hr. & 45 min BONUS Play TIME: took me 1 HOUR 15min TOTAL TIME PLAYED = 4 HOURS I do not think the CE is worthy. I suggest purchasing the SE, instead, if you liked the demo. All in all this is an older, but beautiful gem of a game that I still highly recommend. POINTS TO MENTION: This is an older game. It was released in 2012, and this was only the 4th installment of Haunted Hotel. Another DEV had control of it at that time. Recently, I completed the demo for HH Silent Waters and found I was rather bored with that installment. Charles Dexter’s installment was still in my mind as a favorite in this series so I decided to complete it for a second time. Initially, when I played this in 2012, I rated it a 5* in my BFG notebook. Re-playing it in 2016 it did lose a pinch of appeal for me and I would now rate it 4*. This game does not hold hands. There are no bells in whistles, no custom mode and no jump map that have become the norm in newer installments. The skip takes over a minute to restore on mini games and the hint also takes a while to recharge. I always play these older games with the widescreen option “unchecked”. You will have a black bar on either side of your screen but it keeps the clarity and perspective better. There ARE little tricks I used to use back then to help with this type of game which I will mention below. GAMEPLAY & GRAPHICS: The graphics are more computer gen and less hand drawn; which I prefer. The HOS are crystal clear and items look like they should because of the computer gen. graphics. The scenery is absolutely beautiful. Most of this game is spent in outside, in swampy locations. Many of the Haunted Hotel games look the same due to the fact you ramble around hotel after hotel in this series so it was so refreshing to not be in the same old, same old, interior drawn location. As the end of the Standard edition when the credits roll, this DEV actually produced LIVE locations which inspired the areas you play in. I LOVED watching these. Strangely, you CAN re-watch credits but not with the live picture locations. HOS & Mini games: The HOS are all one step list type. The mini games are plentiful but unremarkable for the most part. CUTSCENES AND VOICEOVERS: Deserve their own category they are that good. The cut scenes are LIVE moving pictures of real locations and items. I remember this was a technique most used in the games that came out around 2013. I assume it cost more to do this because it is so superior to clunky moving characters. Possibly it takes more time to produce cut scenes like this. What a shame because in ALL MY YEARS of being a member of BFG (6 years as of 2016) and I started playing these games in 2008, I have never seen anyone DISLIKE these live type movies or characters while reading reviews. In fact, every review I’ve seen that mentioned live actors or cut scenes has always been applauded. So I have no idea why they chose to toss a method that was SO EFFECTIVE in casual games. Mystery Case Files 13th Skull did a great job with live actors/movies as well. Too bad, you can’t re-watch these perfect cut scenes. Your Female character has a perfect voice over and we hear it while the live movie is being narrated by her. I think there is only one other in the game. MAPS, JOURNAL, AND HINT SYST: There is NO MAP. A tip is to really take note of the name of the rooms you are entering and leaving to remember where they are. Another tip for older games, **** Use the Walkthrough guide! The HINT tells you WHAT TO DO next, not where to go. The tasks you must complete are NOT indicated with sparkle. MOUSE OVER each scene you enter to find all items in a room to alleviate extra back tracking. There is no journal in inventory but there are long notes you randomly find from 3 different people that were either in, or lost in this hotel. You can re-read them via the upper R of your screen. Each note has a page number. A LOT of time and effort was put in to these interesting notes that push the storyline. I was thrilled each time I’d get a new one. BONUS PLAY: I can’t recommend the extra play. Every scene is inside a cave-like, dark location with evil drawings or carvings on the walls. I noted in 2012, in my book, how much I disliked the bonus in this game and felt the same my second completion of it. You play in 10 scenes in bonus play, 7 are new and 3 scenes we have played in already during the SE. Bonus play had NO story to speak of. Not only does your character not complete what she sets out to do, but it actually has horrible end. CE EXTRAS: If I recall they are pretty much locked in the demo. Here is what you get. -In game Walkthrough guide—that you will need. -7 downloadable Concept Art, with no logo, and in my opinion- not worth saving. -“THE MAKING OF” was a joke. It is 3 pictures of live scenery or items. -5 DL music tracks. I saved these 2 themes titled “Charles Dexter Ward” and “Walking around”. The music is haunting, appropriate and beautiful. -Bonus game play - 30+ Achievements OTHER GAMES TO TRY THAT ARE SIMILAR TO THIS: 1. Vampire Legends: The story of Kislova 2. Mystery Case Files: 13th skull & MCF Shadow Lake 3. Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor 4. Shiver: The Vanishing NOTE TO DEVELOPERS- As I mentioned, many of this series you play in INSIDE locations. The best thing about HH Charles Dexter were the beautiful, but eerie outdoor locations. Like kids, I think most of us play these casual games to escape for a while from everyday life. So escaping to a beautiful, outdoor location is much more appealing than interior rooms that all look like a decaying hotel. Thank you to everyone at BFG & all the DEV. I really appreciate you!!
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unnerving, creepy, challenging and atmospheric. (Note: older game – first BFG review for this game was July 2012) You should know that there’s NO MAP. The HINT button takes you nowhere,- instead you get a message indicating what needs to be done in what specific area. The story is propelled forwards through the notes you find lying around that have come loose from a journalist’s investigation. The graphics are detailed, and in places gray and foreboding. The artwork in particular of the misty lake, trees, graveyard and dark skies filled with fast moving billowing clouds, accompanied by rain and thunder, is awesome. The music and sound effects are completely appropriate. It all worked together to produce quite an effect – and not one that I’d like to repeat often. The effect builds on you. (I'm not sure this game would have the same effect if you broke it up into play over several days.) There are plenty of rooms to unlock and secret passages to discover. The atmosphere kind of reminded me of the first Phantasm, except it was more chilling. It starts off pretty normally, but once you get into the dilapidated mansion house, it takes on a new momentum. There are plenty of puzzles and plenty of HOPS. The puzzles were challenging, but not so hard that I had to skip. There seem to be two lots of HOPS here, one that are artsy to look at, and one type that aren’t. The non-artsy HOPS are more difficult to see. You might have to play this in a darkened room, or at night. It’s an older game and looked better on my screen in the non-stretched mode. Obviously this game doesn’t have the features of a 2015 style game, but I gave it 4* for its ability to pull me into the game, and some of the wonderful outdoor scenes that looked like paintings of the rugged side of nature.
Date published: 2015-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Too Bad Not too bad on its own - nice storyline, a modern take on the Lovecraft story. The graphics were pretty good and the cutscenes didn't give my computer hiccups like some do. There's no map, but it wasn't too much of a problem. It wasn't very scary, though I do think it would be for younger players. The things that disappointed me were - it has nothing to do with the other Haunted Hotel games. It's a Hotel. It's Haunted. That's the only similarity. The others had a weather-machine, time-travelling, conspiracy COMPLETELY DIFFERENT and pretty UNIQUE story. This one just goes with the 'I have lost my sibling in this haunted, scary place and must find them before it's too late!' that dozens of other games have. I would have enjoyed it more if it hadn't been tacked on to this series. Also, in the other three games you play a guy, which is also kind of Unique, in this, it's back to being a 'scared-but-determined' female protagonist. I kinda liked being the smart-mouthed FBI agent who made a joke when you did something stupid. And who yelled for his Mommy when he saw a ghost. That was hilarious. But for a HOG game on it's own - yeah, it's worth playing.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This one needs a PG-13 rating Yes, a PG 13 rating simply means that every 9 year old will now beg for this game. But maybe it would give a few parents a bit of steering during this Christmas shopping time. While it is a well designed, fluid game that held my attention from beginning to end, I feel that the subject matter and way that it is dealt with makes it too intense for many younger players. If you are under 14, give this one a miss for a couple of years, you will enjoy more then. But this is just the opinion of an old school teacher. Take care ya'll! 0
Date published: 2013-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the Adventurer in You I just finished the game, and what a game it was. I won't go into the story, because that is pretty much explained to you. The fun of this game is the eeriness of it. The music, story, and the weird hotel that captivates you. I was hooked from the beginning. It was fun to play. Hidden objects were relatively easy as were most of the mini games. Not a fan of the minis so I do skip a lot. I just hate to think anymore. The visuals are excellent. They used real footage in parts of the game. The sound is good, as were the voice overs. HOS are well done as is all the graphics. The music goes along with the plot and wasn't to annoying. This is truly an adventure game. There is no map, no journal, nothing but the hint button, which is very helpful and refills fast. You will appreciate that as the time goes on. I think the addition of an interactive map would have earned this puppy five stars. You go from place to place trying to collect papers, documents, and diary pages. Some how I missed one, and I looked, so be on guard. The story is really good. It is based on a novel and has its twists and turns along the way. I think the book if the book is like the game, it would be a really good read. If you like figuring out what to do next, where to go, how to do it, you are going to love this game. I don't particularly like that, but this was fun enough that I really enjoyed playing.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Charles Dexter Ward...again Really, I don't mind that two games are both based on "The Case of Charles Dexter Ward", by H.P. Lovecraft. ("Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper" is the other.) But the developers of this game didn't give Lovecraft any credit that I could see. Both came out in 2012. The games are quite a bit different, but both are enjoyable, if you can stand evil necromancers. This one turned out a bit differently, but I played only the SE version. It didn't matter that there was no map, since I don't play for time. The sound effects helped make the game creepier, so I suggest really listening. Try this one; you'll probably like it.
Date published: 2013-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely worth to be bought Graphics: good and clear Objects HOS: clearly to see, easy to find, not so overcharged like in other games where I often tired at an early stage because I am forced to jumping from HOS to HOS Puzzles: mostly suprising and challenging Journal: none Map: none Hints: recharging quickly Story: Interesting, never boring Atmopshere: lovely, especially the changing of weather gives a feeling of reality in the space of surreality Music: First time I like it very much and exceptionally keep it on during the game Voice over: Very good, warm voice so did'nt put it off exceptionally Visuals: video sequences are very well done and do not disturb like in so many other games Length: Just played 2 hours and yet at the beginning... a lot to explore, seems to be a long game, not so short as many others Opinion: worth to be tried, worth to be bought
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun to play on a lazy day... I just finished this game, and I felt it was worth 4 stars. I was actually going to give it 3, but it did have some redeeming qualities that pushed it to 4. It was a very creepy game. I actually started to play this the other night, and it creeped me out so much that I waited until morning. For those of you that like that level of creepiness you will really enjoy this. In a nutshell, your character is searching for her twin brother at the hotel. The story was based on a story by H.P. Lovecraft, and it was well done with an awesome ending. I could see a sequel in the future. It's important to note that the HOS in this game are few and far between. It really is more of an adventure with some puzzles and scattered HOS. For those of you who are sick of HOS, you will probably like this game. There are two levels, and I chose the hardest one. There was no map or journal, only a task list. The hint button did take longer to recharge, but that was fine. One thing I have developed after having played these games for awhile is a high threshold for patience. Part of what I didn't like was the fact that there was no map. It would have simplified the running around, but the developers took that into account and would find a way to "ruin" certain pathways so your character wouldn't have to keep backtracking. So, in that respect, you were basically being told in a round-a-bout way that an area was cleared without having to see it crossed off on a map. That's actually pretty clever. Another thing that was annoying was that at times you would have nothing in your inventory, and then it would shoot to a ton of stuff. If the item had an X underneath it, you would have to figure out what it was to be combined with. Sometimes that was easy, and sometimes it wasn't. I will say that the hint button was 100% reliable. I never had to consult the walkthrough. Another thing that kind of got on my nerves was when I was in a place where I could drop something from my inventory off to help clear out my inventory list I was not allowed to do that until I had EVERYTHING needed for that task. You can imagine how cluttered your inventory gets. There was only one puzzle that was challenging and required some thought. Everything else I've seen so much that I solved with no problem. I like my puzzles to be a bit more challenging. The cut scenes were really well-done. I'm a huge fan of cut scenes that play like an old movie such as the ones did in this game. All in all, I would recommend this game for adventure lovers who really don't like a lot of HOS. The story actually makes up for the less-than-spectacular puzzles.
Date published: 2012-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth a Try I bought this game based on the excellent reviews that it received. I thought it was a good game as well. I like the fact that if you get lost or are just clueless, the hint button will tell you what to do. A walkthrough probably wouldn't even be necessary for most people. The main thing(most important to some) was the ending...I really didn't care for it. Other than that, good game & worth the try!!!
Date published: 2012-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward SE I haven't heard from my brother Charles Dexter Ward, in over a week. The police aren't concerned because they believe he's probably just gone out of town, but that's not like Charles. He would never leave without saying anything, and he certainly would have been in contact with me by now. My suspicions were confirmed when I received a small package containing a necklace with an engraving of the initials JC. Charles has always been there for me, when our parents died, he looked after me in the orphanage. I didn't hesitate to pack my bags and headed to the return address from the package, I had a bad feeling about all this. The address led me to a very large lakeside estate, where I have found several notes written by Charles. It's all beginning to make sense now, but there's no sign of Charles, in fact there's no sign of anyone, this place has been abandoned for quite some time. I can feel it in my heart, something horrible has happened to my brother......... Recently, I have been playing the Haunted House series from the very beginning. The first couple of episodes are really strange, and really don't have anything to do with the storyline that has made this series epic lately. Charles Dexter Ward is really the first game that is an actual HOPA rather than a HOG. The graphics are really good compared to the first few games, but it has a long way to go. There is no "jump map" yet, and the game mechanics are still archaic, when you click on the Hint feature, you are only given a nudge in the right direction such as, "check out the shed by the lake" I must admit, this is the kind of game that made me fall in love with Hidden Object Adventures, games today are auto-piloted, it's hard not to succeed because they are just point and click games. There aren't really any frills, no Morphs, no collectibles, no furry assistant to help you retrieve items that somehow manage to get to impossible places, this is old school, but it's a cool old school game that doesn't hold your hand every step of the way. The Hidden Object Scenes are simply Listed items with no frills, no interactions, no puzzles. The items are very well blended into the scenery which make some items really difficult to find. This is a feature that is rare nowadays, because no items are simply thrown together in a huge junkpile, they aren't hidden, they aren't blended into the scenery, they are just laying there with a sign that says "pick me" I can usually find items in today's HOPA games without even looking at the list, they are that obvious! The Mini Games are decent and come with good instructions. Obviously they aren't new, because this is a very old game, such as taking lock pieces from one peg to another, but larger pieces cannot go on top of smaller pieces. It's not a difficult game, but it is fairly time consuming. The Collector's Edition doesn't really offer enough bling in my opinion, so this Standard Edition is the better version to purchase. You should really check this game out, it's an oldie but goodie, and exactly the kind of game that probably made you a HOPA game in the first place, enjoy!
Date published: 2017-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good buy Good game, good storyline, nice challenge. However, I am getting a bit tired of ghosts, spirits, lost souls, etc. Would love some HOGs with normal, straightforward, everyday storyline.
Date published: 2012-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has its pros and cons Pretty good game which was ideal for my skill level as it didnt have me constantly needing the hint button.Ending left me confused as it had me googling whether there was a sequel to it as it didnt feel like the game was over.
Date published: 2015-02-16
  • y_2019, m_11, d_19, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3-b1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_62
  • loc_en_US, sid_15160, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Hotel: Charles Dexter Ward

Enter the abandoned hotel and find your missing twin!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.