Fear for Sale: Sunnyvale Story

Fear for Sale: Sunnyvale Story

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(220.24 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Take on another incredible mystery in Fear for Sale: Sunnyvale! Investigate a strange murder and get to the bottom of a complicated case. After making it to the scene of the crime, a deputy is kidnapped by a terrifying ghost house that appears out of nowhere! Discover the connection between the latest murder, and another killing that occured many years ago. Put your detective skills to use and appease the ghosts in Fear For Sale: Sunnyvale!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 1066 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Fear for Sale: Sunnyvale Story

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(220.24 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Fear for Sale: Sunnyvale Story is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A ghost house appearing in Sunnyvale and snatching people and the body of a woman murdered 30 years ago suddenly found! What's connection? You, Emma Roberts, investigative reporter for the Fear For Sale Magazine, have been sent to Sunnyvale by your editor to look into rumors of a ghost house appearing out of thin air, abducting people, and then disappearing again. Also, local authorities have discovered a body of a woman by the old mill that they have not been able to identify. When you arrives, the mayor, Harrold Stern, is less then hospitable denying the rumors and telling you to leave. Of course, you ignore him and examine the body. Nearby, the sheriff tells you that he thinks the mayor knows more than he is offering and wants to meet you near the sheriff's office and he will tell you all he knows. You find an old newspaper clipping from 30 years ago detailing events that surround the murder of Alice Chesterton and the surprising conviction of her husband, Jean Etienne, the local miller, for that murder based on flimsy evidence. There was rumors of jurors being brided but no investigation. The picture of the woman in the clipping was exactly like that of the body found. How is this possible? You find a picture of the mayor and a house which you show to the mayor who denys any knowledge but, before you can question him further, the ghost house appears and both he and the deputy run. The house grabs the deputy with unearthly vines and drags him into the house while the mayor escapes and then the house disappears. You have to find out why the house is here and why the body of a woman who was murdered 30 years ago has appeared. A different twist on the haunted house where a house torn down years ago to make room for a supermarket and highway is haunting an entire town. The house is being used by the ghost of the convicted and excuted miller who was wrongly accused of his wife's murder and he is seeking revenge. His appearance during the game strapped in an electric chair was a little unnerving and gives the game some of its dramatic moments. Released in 2011, the graphics were well done although the scenes with the electric chair were blurry and hard on the eyes but that may have been intentional. Voice acting was satisfactory for the most part but some were cut off in mid sentence so you had to read the text to finish them. Fortunately, the dialogue displayed remained until you click it to advance to the next text. The journal also records extensively the story as it is revealed and should be referred to frequently to keep you on the right track. There is a lot of back tracking as there is no map. You often travel to distant locations for a single item and usually a hidden object scene and then travel back to the other end to use it. The puzzles and hidden object scenes are fairly easy with some interactive objects. The ending was abrupt with newspaper clippings detailing the exposure of the real killer of the miller's wife and jury tampering and then just ends. Maybe it continued in the CE, not sure. Better than the first one in the series but also not one of the best out there but may still be worth a look.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Enjoyed it more than McInroy Manor I enjoyed this game a lot more than Fear for Sale: McInroy Manor, as the HOS were a lot easier, and nowhere near as frustrating. I found the HOS in McInroy Manor to be practically impossible. This game was interesting, with a good twist at the end. There was a lot of going back and forth - a map would have been handy. Mostly HOS with a few puzzles - an enjoyable game all round and I'm looking forward to playing the next Fear for Sale game!
Date published: 2013-07-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not bad................ but not excellent either !!!!! fairly ' run of the mill ' HOG, quite short in length, and if you don't mind a VERY abrupt ending, this could be the game for you, I'm glad I bought it on sale, I might have been a little annoyed if I had paid full price.....lasted about 2 1/2 hours in all. My advice...........do the trial, you will have probably completed half of the game anyway!!! and if you choose to continue......you can always buy it ( or use a free game credit ) best wishes to you fishies all over the world x
Date published: 2012-10-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ending ruined it This game hooked me from the beginning as I liked the house taking people concept..something new BUT this SE isn't complete. The ending gave you no sort of resolution to what actually happened and I assume thats because the bonus game in the CE gave you the appropriate ending. I think it cheats the buyer to do that as bonus games should be a BONUS, not an ending to the game. So you never find what happened afterwards or if the town went back. Really disappointing. The game was VERY easy even on expert and HAD a bazillion hidden object scenes although pretty easy ones. However, when I saw one, I cringed because I would have liked more adventure. Also, in expert mode you can see the sparkles for the hidden object scenes so you are not completely on your own and the top bar gives you suggestions of what you might need instead of leaving you to do it yourself. I did like the music and the graphics. Loved the story idea but hated the ending. Wish it had been harder but had the ending been sufficient I would have given this 4 stars. I can't say whether I recommend this game or not. If you don't care about storyline and endings then go for it and if you are a new player this is probably an easy game to get you started. I don't mind an easy game now and then, they can be fun (haunted manor queen of death didn't even have a difficulty level and I LOVED that game) BUT like I said disappointing ending. sigh.
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed Review IT was a little more layed back than the games I am use to playing... but... Overall I enjoyed the game... The book was helpful in telling you where you should go next.... Graphics and music was fine... I was disappointed in the ending... It didn't seem right.. Almost as if it was rushed or they didn't know how to end it... Other that that I enjoyed it. It wasn't overly challenging but it kept you moving .. .great for newcomers...
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from prefered the first game in the series but still a nice game I did prefer the first game in the series (the mystery of mcinroy manor) and this game feels like it should have been the first game and not the sequel as sequels are usually better. But this was a pleasant if easy game. If plot is important to you, then this game does deliver with a nice mystery. What is good about this is, that if you want more details about the plot, read your diary, and for players that just want basic plot details and get down to playing the game, it doesn’t intrude too much. This balances it perfectly and pleases everyone. But there were some weird stuff going on in the plot which I would have preferred not to be there. It does have the feel of an older HOPA. There were two settings I played on the harder one, and it still gave me sparkles for hidden object scenes which I don’t like. The first game in the series, didn’t have many hidden object scenes, here there are much more and you do repeat them, but they are interactive which is nice (you pick up something or do something in a scene to get an item.) Hint button tells you if there is something to do in the scene and if there isn’t, it won’t empty until it takes you to something you can do. It wasn’t puzzle heavy, I’d have liked to have seen more puzzles. There was a fair amount of backtracking, but if are used to HOPAs you expect that. I am surprised that this was a CE. Nothing special but if you pick it up as a DD it’s a pleasant, relaxing, easier, game.
Date published: 2012-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed feelings I was a bit disappointed in this game after all of the great reviews. While it had some good stuff and plenty of potential, I felt it could have been much better. The Good: The graphics were very nice. I had no trouble finding things in the HOG scenes, even though they were junkpiles, because the graphics were very clear. The music was appropriate and not intrusive. Also, there were several voice-overs that were done well. The game play was fairly typical HOG/ adventure. Not terribly challenging but not too easy either. The same could be said for the puzzles. You are given the choice of easy and advanced modes (sparkles only for HOG scenes). I played on advanced and did not find it too hard. The Bad: The storyline was nothing special - solving the haunting of a town and uncovering its secrets. It wasn't bad, just not very original. There was a good bit of back and forth, for little reason but to make you run around. However, the biggest complaint I have is that it was very short. Most HOG games these days have several hours of game play. This game was only a couple of hours long. If you did not have the back and forth, it would have been even shorter. To make matters worse, the ending was so abrupt and unsatisfying, I did not realize it was over right away. Perhaps the bonus game elaborated more but I don't want to have to pay double price for a decent ending. So overall, it had nice graphics, decent music but an average story, a short run time and a poor ending.
Date published: 2012-01-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from an ok sequel I really wish this had continued the larger picture story of the big bad demon from the first Fear for Sale. There was a disconnect from the first game.
Date published: 2012-01-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The worst! Wish I could get my money back on this one. Save yours and pass this one by.
Date published: 2012-03-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst game of the series, so far! I have bought all the games in the Fear for Sale series, and have loved every one of them until I got to this one. HOGs are way too easy and this one made the least sense of any game I've seen lately. There was lots of wasted graphics and entirely too much conversation for my taste. Sorry guys, but this one is a dud for me.
Date published: 2016-01-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very bland game I purchased this game after playing the free trial and I wish I hadn't. Very poor animation when you deal with the characters. HUGE PLOT HOLES abundant. No really clear resolution to the mystery other than someone gets sent to jail. The hidden object scenes were very easy to solve. Even the first Fear for Sale was better than this one was. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone who enjoys playing Hidden Object games.
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed Liked the first Fear for Sale. This one was a big disappointment. Was too short and ending to abrupt. Pass this one by.
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too Short! The whole game can be played within a couple of hours, or less. And, I'm not the most fastest player around.
Date published: 2012-02-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from fear for sale This was a good game until the end. Very bad ending.
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not terrifying The very poor story line. Stiff graphics. Don't waste your money!
Date published: 2012-01-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Fear For Sale Game I have played a lot of the Fear For Sale games and this one has to be by far the worst. The plot line is vague at best, if you can say that there even is one. Not to mention that the ending of the game was abrupt. I played it through because I paid for the game, but otherwise I would not recommend this game. I was bored throughout.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful I was really disappointed with this one. The story didn't make sense (the sheriff being fired, then suddenly not fired is just one example), and a lot of the puzzle instructions didn't make sense either. I found myself using "Skip" a lot, just to finally finish the game. Avoid.
Date published: 2012-11-21
  • y_2021, m_9, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_13245, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fear for Sale: Sunnyvale Story

Appease terrifying ghosts before they kidnap and punish the entire city of Sunnyvale in this dark and mysterious Hidden Object game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.