Haunted Past: Realm of Ghosts

Haunted Past: Realm of Ghosts

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(369.75 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You've inherited a home, only to discover restless spirits lurk, and only you can hear them. Years ago, a woman plummeted from an attic window to her doom, now she haunts her former home from another realm. Help her with her unfinished business and put her soul to rest in this incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. Commune with the dead, and solve the mystery of Emily's demise. All is not as it seems in Haunted Past: Realm of Ghosts.

  • Appease the spirits
  • Communicate with Emily
  • Explore another realm
  • For a more in-depth experience, check out the Collector's Edition!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.1
  • Hard Drive: 621 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Past: Realm of Ghosts

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(369.75 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Haunted Past: Realm of Ghosts is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely loved it! Really enjoyed playing this game and found the switching over to the other "realm" really unique. The graphics and gameplay are perfect, puzzles not too difficult. A great game all round. The CE version has quite a lot more content and is well worth buying.
Date published: 2012-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Hidden Object Game I loved this game, I thought the graphics were fantastic, the storyline was interesting and kept me wanting more. I have definately put this on my to buy list. I found the game to be not too challenging, but challenging enough and if I got stuck the hint button helped. It recharged fairly quickly.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game with original twists This is a good game, with gorgeous atmospheric background - as do the HOS. Has two twists, one involving moving through mirrors to the shadow realm, where not only you need to find items, but also put them in a place where you can retrieve them later in the real world, and the pictures, where you are supposed to include a missing element, so that they can relase something you need. The pictures, reproduction of beautiful masterpieces add to the atmosphere and the pleasure. It is always good to look at a Vermeer... The storyline flows easily (the "area clear" messages and the VO help a lot). A fun game.
Date published: 2013-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Very good game I really liked this game,very different. The hint system was excellent. Not too much wandering around. The music and graphics were good too.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the spooky house! I loved this game although it took me a couple of scenes to really get into it. The setting was spooky and I liked the story line. It was fun switching to the ghost world and seeing the rooms change. Loved it!
Date published: 2013-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Graphics and Good Variety of Challenges I really enjoyed this one! It had a well-developed story line, beautiful graphics, and a large variety of puzzles. I also liked that it tells you when an area has cleared so you don't waste time going back to old scenes and searching needlessly. Thumbs-up on that one!
Date published: 2012-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome After much debate I finally chose to purchase the game. What a deal I got for the money. This game was interesting, challenging, and addictive. So sorry it had to end. Great graphics, sound, music and the addition of traveling into the other realm. I'll not ruin it for those who haven't played the game. But i can say one draw back, graphics can be a little dark, but works fine if the lights are out in your room (Which is what I do anyway). If a game can let me visualize me actually being in the game then its worth a great deal for me. Please just try the demo, before you buy, if you are in doubt.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED IT Excellent game, great graphics and just the right balance between the challenges, puzzles and HOS's, once you get started you don't want to stop.
Date published: 2012-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Game Play Very interesting game. Left me wanting to play more. Good story line and graphics. Enjoyable.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bravo This is one of the most intriguing, fascinating and fun Hidden Object game that I have played in a long time. Bravo.
Date published: 2012-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spooky, crumbling mansion... (Note: older game, first review on BFG in 2012). Really great details in surrounding rooms of the mansion. You get to see both sides of the mansion, the current peeling, disheveled one and the former glorious, spangly one. Wonderful, realistic looking graphics. Lots of HOPs but not all items always clear. You should know there are very few puzzles, it doesn’t fill entire screen and there’s no map. However, this is a game I thoroughly enjoyed because of the atmosphere and details.
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Hidden Object Game!! I agree with all of the comments that Fishes have submitted. I couldn't let it go until I finish but the game idea is great and the music is great. What I really want to know is when is the next game is available as I am left going to Ireland and then nothing!! Glad to have played it and to beg for next for next chapter!! Lollipop810
Date published: 2015-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Really Great Game This was a really interesting and enjoyable game. I loved the well-thought user interface. It was helpful without being in the way; it even told me when I had cleared an area of puzzles. I liked that a lot because I didn't have to waste time searching an area to see if I needed to do anything else. The graphics were lovely, and the music was nice (after you got through the initial screens when the constant lightning and thunder noises were a bit distracting). I will enjoy playing this one again and plan to look for more games by this developer. (GOGII)
Date published: 2013-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game Will purchase. Nice storyline. Enjoyed the puzzles.
Date published: 2012-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good demo! After having played lots of HO and puzzle games my tolerance for wandering around aimlessly is nonexistent. This demo was a lot of fun; it was very fast-paced and kept moving without too much tedious backtracking or wandering around trying to figure out what to do. I may have to buy this one.
Date published: 2012-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great game! Loved the twist that you hide things in the past to help in the present. I also thought it is great to be able to customize the difficulty and it tells you when an area is cleared.
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC One of the best games, lately, that I've played & bought on the site. Interesting, difficult enough, but not impossible. Loved, loved, loved it!
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great haunted house game!! Just finished the trial!! I loved it!!! I love old victorian mansions, and the detailing in this was exquisite. The story is very interesting. the HO scenes aren't muddy. And traveling through the mirrors is fun. And lastly, the more doors, the better!!! This has lots of doors!!!
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from OTHERWORLDLY EXISTENCE SUMMARY: Game took 3 ¾ hours to complete on casual mode. Travel back and forth between the dilapidated mansion you inherited and the mansion’s opulent splendor in the realm of the ghosts. Details: • HOS are plentiful, attractive and fairly easy. • Puzzles are scarce, in comparison to the HOS and are not too challenging. • Find and trace glyphs to open new mirror portals between the now and the ghost realm. • Game is linear, so there’s not much back and forth. Objects needed are nearby. Areas are marked completed when it’s time to move on. • Found objects in the ghost realm must be cleverly hidden so you can find and use them in the real world. • Customize your gameplay by adjusting the difficulty of tips, visual cues and hint recharge time. • No map, but none is needed due to the linearity. • Diary tells the tale of the family, but you have to find the pages. Miss a page and you miss part of the story. • Very good graphics, especially in the ghost realm. • Sounds are realistic. Playing at night in L.A., I had to look out the window to see if there really was a rainstorm.
Date published: 2013-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Closer to 3.5 - Decent HOG Like I said, I'd rate this closer to a 3.5. It's a very straightforward HOG, for the most part - the twist being you travel through mirrors or other reflective surfaces to hide useful objects in the "ghost realm" that then appear in the house once you travel back through. The storyline was pretty weak - your standard "inherit a house but it's haunted so you have to exorcise the ghost" type thing -- not interesting enough to hold my attention to the details - I played it yesterday and honestly couldn't give you a detailed blow-by-blow of what happened, but the scenes/challenges were interesting enough that I finished the game. If this one comes up on sale, it's good for a rainy afternoon when you've got nothing else to do.
Date published: 2012-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Game, But A Little Too Short Overall, this was a fun game. The graphics are amazing and the art direction sets a good spooky atmosphere. The storyline itself isn't that original, but he idea of traveling between our world and the Ghost World is a fun twist. The level of challenge is good for an intermediate gamer such as myself, but I imagine advanced gamers would find it too easy. One thing that I really liked about the game was that it was all puzzle solving and hog, there were no mini-games that resulted purely on manual dexterity. My only real complaint with the game is that even as an intermediate gamer, I took less than three hours to complete the whole thing. For that reason alone, I would say wait until this is on special for $2.99 to get it, but for $2.99, it's definitely worth a whirl.
Date published: 2012-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well-Crafted Hidden Object Fun There is a lot to like about this game. One example is the overall look of the mansion, which you get to see in both its current dilapidated and previously grand looks. The voice acting is infrequent but well-done, and I enjoyed the background music for the most part. It's always a good start when the game looks and sounds enjoyable. A couple other very nice touches that the veteran game player will appreciate: you are able to select various difficulty settings (not just the game itself, but the hint timer and difficulty of objects as well#, the backstory is collected through journal pages and is deeper and more well done than much of what is out there, and the idea of hiding things in the past to use them in the future is quite novel and very well done in the game. The game moves in a very linear way and tells you when nothing is no longer needed, which is a great way to not spend hours wandering around just for that one lost item. And therein lies the only disappointment for me. Granted, I didn't play the CE, so I can't speak to that, but the game is very short. The searches #even on the difficult level) are often enough but a breeze, there are not very many puzzles in either "world" to slow you down, and you always have a very good idea of what needs to be done next. In addition, not to be a stickler, but considering you can just plop a mirror down in any room to visit that "other side," it rendered the lengths you go to a bit bizarre. Of course, this territory (haunted mansion, speaking to the spirits) has been mined before as well. All of that said, this is a very fun game that looks great, plays in a very straightforward way, and tries to bring something new to the table. You could do far worse than this.
Date published: 2012-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Truly Creative Use of an Old Gimmick Having completed the trial version twice (did CE as well), I'm still not 100% clear as to how the game will play, but it has this to recommend it. The story is based around a spooky deserted mansion, with that also-now-familiar twist of a shadow world behind the real one. What makes this one original and interesting is the uses that you can make travelling back and forth through the rooms, hiding objects in the 'then' and digging them up in the 'now'. The music and sound are both great and the atmosphere is suitably gloomy. My biggest reservation about this game is the graphics -there are plenty of HO scenes, well drawn with very interesting use of brightness in the 'shadow' world, but all scenes are close to monochromatic, at least in the demo. That puts me off a bit. I like colourful games. The gameplay itself seemed fairly standard, and I enjoyed being able to work the puzzles myself - no skips in this one so far, and I finished the trial in just under an hour, which I take as promising 4-5 hours. Oh, and hint is really really quick, so if you must use it, at least you won't be stalled for long. In all, not a game on my 'must have or I'll die' list, but definitely on my 'punchcard weekend' list.
Date published: 2012-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I played ... I bought! I really enjoyed! The story is attractive and pretty well developed, great graphics, locations in accordance, immersive atmosphere, very good sound. Not all locations are clear, but is ok for the mysterious theme. Lot of HOS, most are easy and pleasant - no tiny or almost transparent objects, thankfully !!!! Mini games are not challenging also, but enjoyable and there are some news. What I liked most, and is different from some games, was that instead of getting back and forth all the time, you go through "portals" (mirrors, fountain...) and enter in the same scene, but in the past, to get things required to go ahead. And the best,...is not just find! You have to take them to the future in "some way"!... They do not go into your inventory. Although not a challenging game, is an excellent amusement !
Date published: 2012-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting little game Ghostly and mildly spooky this game has a few interesting features and some novelties -though nothing truly extraordinary- which I will not unveil here to let you discover them. The intro is rapid and simple, the music, very dramatic at first, becomes softer but tends to get irritating at times. The artwork is well crafted, neat, skilfully colored. Equally good are the voice-overs and the cutscenes. All the HO Scenes are neat, though sometimes a bit crowded, the items clear and not difficult to find except, maybe, a couple per scene. But the friendly Hint System recharges fast, random clicking is not penalized, thus making each search a pleasant task even for players like me who are not crazy about pure HOs. Hunting the useful objects is also quite pleasant and easy. For most of them, their use is pretty logical and natural, but many actions are unusual due to the element of novelty mentioned above. You sometimes have to think out of the box in order to successfully perform a task. The puzzles are very easy, and I know that some of you are going to growl because of that... as I did, even though I find it relaxing to have something easy to tackle every now and then. They can be skipped. The locales are interesting, you don't have to backtrack an awful lot, the objectives are clearly stated, and the game lets you know when an area has been cleared. There isn't a map; however, the game being fairly linear; no one should lose his way to the point of despair. You have 3 different modes; I played the demo on Casual; the other two modes will slightly increase the difficulty for the searches and should not affect the minigames. Even on Hardest, the game should remain very manageable. All in all a decent release, quite enjoyable, but which, unfortunately does not offer a high challenge level. Count about 6 hours of playtime, more or less..
Date published: 2012-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game not full screen has voice over, good music. Does not have full screen on my mac and pretty dark which makes it hard to see everything. Has a map Hint button works good and fast The HOS are pretty good. Hard to find them all. Puzzles are not hard at all. Pretty good flow to the game with out much running back and forth. Has sparkles that till you where everything is so you do not have to hunt all over the place. Little different game but fun.
Date published: 2013-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Something different I found this game to be fun in that it was somewhat different in what it had to offer. I bought the CE during the sale last month and really enjoyed it. The HOs are good, clear and crisp, in the "past" world they are very bright with most items easily identifiable. The puzzles are good, maybe a little easy but all doable. There are 3 modes, casual, advanced and custom. The custom was kind of a neat option #I don't think I've seen that before#. The game play was able to hold my interest, and I think it took about 5 hours to play not counting the Bonus play which was probably another 45 to 60 minutes. The graphics are very good #dark & gloomy# as befits a ghost story, the voice overs and cutscenes were very well done, and the music was okay. I do agree with the others that it was not a "must have", but I found it enjoyable and relaxing. A fun little game that offered something different and some challenges as well.
Date published: 2012-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Highly recommend Another I'd rate at 4.5, if I could. This game brings something new - in addition to finding various objects to use, they must be hidden as we travel back and forth through the spirit world, to be picked up again later. The emphasis is on finding and using objects within the areas. HO scenes come at a reasonable pace and are clear and fairly easy to solve. There are very few puzzles, and the ones included are quite simple. The story is good and reasonably engaging. Can't comment on the music, but the atmospheric sounds and voices were great - particularly the antagonist's voice. Movement is smooth. Playing in Casual mode, this was very much on the easy side. Total play time (including demo# was a bit over two hours. There is a journal but no map - but a map was probably unnecessary, as the actions were very well laid-out, without a lot of backtracking. One thing I particularly LOVED about the game was that when an area was cleared, it was labeled so at the top of the screen. I'll take that over a map any day. The only thing I'd change would be longer play #possibly the CE version would have been the better choice) - it's a little too short to get the full five stars, On the other hand, I'd rather the game be as cleanly put together as this one was without a ton of filler material to add unnecessary time. Bottom line: the game left me wanting more. I will certainly play any sequels that come out.
Date published: 2012-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ho with a twist This is the first game i've played with different worlds sort of speak, i love this game, if you love ho adventure, this ones great in my oppinion, i sure hope they make more like this. i cant wait till the next one comes out already and havn't even finished this one yet. The only one little , just little gripe is the music, not all the music but some of it other than that its a great game and wish it were longer but i wish most hidden object adventure games were long.
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game This is a very well-designed game with a unique concept. You travel to the past through mirrors to search for needed objects, and you hide them where you can find them when you return to the present. The HINT button works well during game play, so you don't need a map, SG, etc. The story is interesting and builds well during the game with a diary. The HOS are the usual, cluttered but OK. The puzzles are fairly easy even though the instructions leave a little to be desired. I found the game to be very fun, and it was a good length.
Date published: 2013-02-01
  • y_2022, m_5, d_27, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_13320, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Past: Realm of Ghosts

After Sara inherits a home, she discovers that a restless spirit can speak to her! Help her sooth Emily’s soul in Haunted Past: Realm of Ghosts!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.