Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(321.38 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Guide Ethan Black as he attempts to rescue his bride-to-be from a terrifying menace known as the Faceless Ones in Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers! When Evil comes for the people you love, what will you do? That moment of reckoning has arrived for Ethan Black and he needs your help! Guide Ethan in this Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game as he explores a decimated city, searches for clues, and peels back the layers of a chilling supernatural mystery in Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 577 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(321.38 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 170.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very, very good game! I had a great time playing this game, loved every minute of it. It has a great flow, which I always find very important. Nice conclusive ending with a surprising twist! Hint system works perfectly, no SG needed. Very nice puzzles and HO's, really liked them! VO's and music are superb! Game is very long, about 6 hours of play. An incredibly good deal for this SE, you really don't need the CE. Try it, buy it and have a great gaming experience, just like I did! Have fun!
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 150 REVIEWS AND FIVE STARS ! What can I say except to agree with the majority of previous player/reviewers of this good-looking very entertaining and playable game. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WWHAT A GAME AND WHAT A STORY I can't say enough about this game. A first I didn't know if I wanted to play it. But when I did I just kept on and on. I just couldn't stop myself from playing. I had to buy it to finish it . I'm glad I bought it. Some of the scenes gave me goose bumps. Things just seem to jump out at you.Thanks
Date published: 2013-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Characters full of character! The art is beautiful, and while there is a tremendous amount of going back and forth (which can get a little frustrating when you're eager to know more of the story), there are dozens of little moments that make the constant trekking visually interesting. As for the characters...the dialogue is so neat and the vocalization so crisp that not only do you have a sense of character, you start empathizing with each face you meet. It's so rare to get that kind of effect, the entire staff should be applauded.
Date published: 2013-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hauntingly beautiful.... I think I may have a new favorite game. If ever there was a time when I should have bought a CE this is it. The story was so engaging that I couldn't wait to see what I would find out next. The artwork was hauntingly realistic. I truly felt for the characters. The music really fit the game---soft, haunting. It wasn't annoying or obtrusive in any way. There were only a few times when the game employed the talents of actors for voice-overs, but the actors did a good job. I was pleasantly surprised. There were not as many puzzles as I would have liked and they were fairly easy, but I didn't mind that because the story is what was keeping me hooked. My biggest complaint were the HOS. Those were some true junkpiles. There were 2 levels to play; I chose the harder mode. There is a map, but I never used it. It didn't tell you if you had anything to do somewhere so there really was no need for it. Outside of the HOS the hint button would point in the direction you needed to go unless there was something to do in the room you were in. All in all, I really enjoyed this game. It gave me about 5 or 6 hours of relaxing gameplay on a day that would otherewise have been very boring.
Date published: 2012-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent game Boy this is one you will not want to stop. Graphs are great and music is not overwhelming. The HO are not hard and the puzzles are somewhat easy. Some going back and forth but you know where to go. Map is worthless. Hint button works well to keep you going if you have problems.
Date published: 2012-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome One of the best games I have played.
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THIS GAME! This is the best game I have played so far, the story was actually great, normaly I would hurry through the story as they are so, so, but this one I actually read! Lots of stuff to find, nice length, great graphics, I just plain loved it. The negative thing I would say, is too many keys! But that is common with these games. Excellent game, this is the only one I purchased so far that I WISH I had purchased the collectors edition. Glad I have it! This one is a keeper!
Date published: 2012-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the better ones Decent story line, good graphics. Hints were good. I hate wandering around from screen to screen for hours at a time not knowing what I am supposed to be doing. This one doesn't do that to you, it gives good hints. Story lasted for a long time. Maybe a tad bit too long - but I was getting tired because I played it through without stopping. Puzzles and Hidden Object scenes were sometimes not the typical fare, which makes for a nice change of pace. Overall very, very good.
Date published: 2012-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super game Excellent game, everything is perfect! I received a lot of fun playing it.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! What a great game! This is my first review - I simply had to write how fantastic this game is! Everything is perfect - not too easy, but never frustrating. It was exciting from the beginning to the end! And I really loved the story, the graphics and the characters.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb My hats off to the devs on this one. My favorite game to date. Believable story line, the best graphics, music was also appropriate for the setting of the story. HO's were fantastic, some items easy to locate others not so much. To play this game was truly my favorite, nice long game too. Awesome creepy places, and fun facts to find. I can't say enough about this game folks. I am a Hidden Object/Adventure/Puzzle fanatic. This one I will play again!!! Thank you for such a superb game.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers 5 Star game! Glad I purchased this one. It was a well developed and entertaining game. This game has a good length to it and moves along smoothly. I would have liked a few more mini puzzles, but it's still a keeper.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!! Another wonderful game from Alawar. The length is good, not short, not very long either. The storyline is brilliant although the figurine part is similar to 'Stray souls: Dollhouse', the ending is really unexpected. There is little backtracking except the last chapter which is okay, with creative puzzles and minigames. I really enjoy this game, and recommend this to buy.
Date published: 2012-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attention Holding Game Good story line, very good art and provided logical movement. The characters provided interesting individuality personalities and increased the interest of the story. The puzzles were both challenging and entertaining. I do have to admit that I skipped over a few of the puzzles to hurry my way through the interesting plot. The game built a curiosity in me that kept me playing to see what would happen next. The best prize was the surprise ending which I would not have guessed from the developing story from the beginning to the end. This is the type of game I search for and seldom find in this quality!
Date published: 2012-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Strokes Sins of the Father Don't normally do this but I found this game to be one of the best that I have ever played kept me interested till the end
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game!!!!!! Wish games were more like this!! My rating says it all. Good 5-6 hour gameplay. Couldn't stop playing until it was finished. Ending was a very good ending, sums up the whole game. Loved it!!!
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Absolutely fabulous game - the art is just beautiful - the game is long, it is easy to follow - and I didn't even need a walk thru (very clear help function). I even watched the cut scenes which I don't always do because I just didn't want to miss anything! I just knew it was Russians without even looking at the credits, because they are just so artistic and clever - They are responsible for most of my favorite games. This game is totally awesome and I can't wait to play it again. Thank you Felix for another wonderful experience.
Date published: 2012-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this game! I love this game! What interesting gameplay! PROS Great graphics - Clear and Concise Storyline makes sense and you want to keep playing Puzzles are excellent - makes you think but not frustrating CONS None so far Glad I bought it!
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHAT A GREAT GAME ! Excellent choice for the weekend! Ethan and Clair are in love. They are going to marry and they think nothing could rob them of their happiness. But, he receives a letter from his father and they have to go to Cedar Falls. At the train station, Clair gives a phoenix to her groom and they take the train ... A weird masked observes the couple at the station. The trip flows peaceful until ... only playing to know ! A game very well developed, with great care to every detail. Excellent storyline, very well done following, gorgeous and crisp graphics, very good VO, great sound. Cutscenes are interesting and worth to be watched. Good amount of HOS, not challenging, but pleasant because they have good visibility and interactivity. Varied mini games, some new, some known but well done. Many great locations, with lot of things to do ... and the game flows ... not need to be going back and forth all the time ... This is great! Provides great fun, although not really challenging. Definitely goes to my collection!!
Date published: 2012-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent!!! Based on full play, this is one for your collection! The developers really took their time developing the storyline and the game really held my interest throughout. The graphics are excellent, the HOS aren't difficult but the game is challenging, great VO, mini-games are very varied, there is a map though it's not interactive and the game play is long. If I could give this game 10 stars I would but it's well worth the money and leaves me hoping we continue to get this type of value for the price. Happy gaming all.
Date published: 2012-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Search Out the Faceless Ones! When I first started playing this game I thought it was going to be another mindless romp in the pretty park. I was thrilled to find a dark, exciting adventure! The story is engaging and as the game progresses, clues are revealed in a refreshing way. The locations and characters are beautifully drawn. Although the hidden object scenes are standard fare, you are rewarded with objects that are crucial to other areas of the game. Some tools must be earned by searching the various environments or by solving clever puzzles. Make sure you take the time to pick up and read the various documents you see scattered about. The music and sound effects are fantastic and the animated sequences, including the spectacular finish, are brilliant. I had to check to make sure I had purchased the Standard Edition of this game. It was as complete and satisfying as any CE I have ever played. I hope you think so too!
Date published: 2012-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I absolutely loved this game. The graphics were outstanding, the story was very good and the puzzles/HOS were challenging but not too hard. The attention to detail on the graphics just blew my mind and the length of the game was just right. The only thing I would have liked to have seen was another difficulty selection since even on the expert setting you are given a ton of clues about what to do. I like it better when you have to figure things out for yourself. Overall, I highly recommend this game. It's very entertaining and worth the price.
Date published: 2012-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If You're Undecided Between SE and CE Purchase This review is for the whole game and playing in Expert Mode The story: You take on the role of Ethan Black who has to rescue his bride to be Claire who has been kidnapped. 14 Chapters Journal/Map Voice Overs for some parts of the game then text on screen. 2 play modes: Casual/Expert - Hint/Skip take 2 minutes. Hint can also be used outside of HO scenes. Mini Games My overall impression of the game: Well this is one game that is definitely worth the extra money as I purchased the CE version when it was released. I found the story very intriguing as I couldn't wait to see what happened next in this game even though it's been done many times before the kidnapping and family secret theme story. The graphics, cut scenes, and voice overs well I can sure tell there was some time and thought put into this game though I'll admit those characters popping up on the screen every so often really startled me. LOL! I also thought the HO scenes were pretty nice, crisp, clear for the most part and quite a few of them. A couple of areas were pretty dark and had to use hints for those. The first couple of chapters they are interactive but after that just normal HO scenes that you find by word list. This game just flowed very well with some traveling back/forth getting the inventory items which sometimes tells you what needs to be done. Lots of different locations to go to and lots to do however sometimes you do visit the same scenes for a few of the HO scenes. The mini games were for the most part pretty easy and fun though a couple I found a little challenging but far from frustrating. Not that I needed it but one thing I will say I didn't understand about this game was: The map: I really didn't understand the purpose of having a map that just shows a little red dot of where you are. You can't use it to travel back/forth and it doesn't have any names of the different locations. Just a red dot.. You are here. Well big deal! LOL! As for the game length: Obviously varies from player to player but took me about 6 hours which was definitely long enough for me. Just additional info just in case you're undecided which version to purchase: The CE is 4 bonus chapters which is a prequel. Though it's not necessarily needed as I found the story to be complete without it however just additional info that the developer here provided which I thought was really nice. You also visit some new locations however some are the same as the main game. I also found it to be long enough as it took me between 2 to 3 hours. The strategy guide: i didn't need it but checked it out. You access it through the menu option of the game. You also have to "chapter select" as it doesn't follow you along as you move along in the game. Thanks Big Fish and developer for an excellent game here. A 5 star rating all the way from me. Definitely worth the extra money. This ROCKS!
Date published: 2012-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! I thought this game was a lot of fun with an interesting storyline. Great visuals and music. Liked: - Loved the cut scenes, the graphics and the voice acting - Puzzles were really interesting but nothing that frustrated me - I really liked the storyline and it kept me guessing for a bit Disliked: - The widescreen worked sort of for my laptop. It filled the screen but stretched things slightly so everything was a little distorted. I took it off as I'd rather have the black borders than strangely stretched graphics - The H0 scenes had interactive elements of combing two items together, but that was only for the first few scenes.. for some reason it didn't carry through to the rest of the game which was disappointing, but not a deal breaker. - Some of the H0 scenes had tiny little objects to find which made things challenging - again not a deal breaker, but those who hate itty bitty thimbles might not like this aspect. Overall, I loved the game and would love a sequel! I definitely recommend it unless you don't like dark elements to your story line. Enjoy!
Date published: 2012-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very well done The storyline is unique and interesting, great ending. I played over an extended amount of time yet the game picked up easily where I left off, mostly logical game play and it progressed naturally so there was no need to run back to the beginning for anything. Wonderful graphics and bright colorful scenes, even with the constant rain and gloomy skies. HO scenes were pleasant, no junk piles and there weren't an overabundance of them. You can click almost anywhere in the regular scenes to get little tidbits of information. The cut scenes were like something out of a movie, also well done. My one complaint was that codes weren't kept in the journal so sometimes I had to run back and forth or write them down when it was time to use them. Overall though, great game!
Date published: 2012-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow.....Top 5 Star (PLUS) Game IMHO Spent a wonderful weekend playing this game. A beautifully done storyline with gorgeously, rich visuals and cut scenes, plus the music is top quality and tremendously enjoyable. The level of challenge was just right for me, with very little help needed - and I spent two days on the game. I will certainly be replaying it. A real sure fire winner in my book, with no complaints from me. Loved it!! Great value too! (and thank you kindly BFG)
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TOTALLY ENJOYABLE! I agree with all the other 5 star reviews! If I could give this a ten I would - great story line - characters are realistic and storyline well written. Graphics are beautiful and voiceovers well done. Not too many HOS - did not use the map. Not too much back and forth. Easy to follow - you won't go wrong if you get this one! Hope there is sequel - BFG you outdid yourself on this one - keep them coming like this one!
Date published: 2012-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Time Member...First Review For Favorite It is a credit to this game that I rate it five stars even though I have no working volume on my computer. This is by far the most graphically exquisite game on Big Fish. The cut scenes, finely drawn handsome characters, interactive HO games, intriguing story line are exceptional.
Date published: 2012-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game - just one teensy flaw OK - this was one of the best HOS games I've played in a while. I didn't figure out the "twist" until nearly the end of the game. THE HOS were often difficult to find that one last item and sometimes you earn two "items" when you complete. I liked that. The flow is pretty even throughtout the game until you reach the last "10 minutes" or major scene - and then finding the last 7 items was too "minimized" or felt rushed. But it was certainly a fun ride! I usually mute all of the sound because they are frequently too repetitive - but this one was ok. Music got muted tho!
Date published: 2012-06-17
  • y_2019, m_12, d_13, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_170
  • loc_en_US, sid_14168, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Strokes: Sins of the Fathers

Guide Ethan Black as he attempts to rescue his bride-to-be from a terrifying menace known as the Faceless Ones!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.