Word U

Word U

PC

Also available on

Word

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(15.46 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Enroll at Word U and spell words to get rid of the letters that are overrunning the library! Build longer words for special Gemstone and Bomb tiles in this incredible Word game! Play at your own pace in the turn-based Classic Mode or race the clock in the fast-paced Action Mode. Prove your word spelling prowess by unlocking trophies and competing for the top high score in Word U!

  • Clear out the library
  • Prove your word prowess
  • Enroll at Word U!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 19 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Word U

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(15.46 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Word U is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 22.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not so bad Some other reviewers really didn't like this one, but I don't think it's all that bad. It really takes some thinking to make words when you can't use three letter words at all, but you can use letters from anywhere on the board by using the jump feature, which is nice. Play at your own speed in classic, or make as many words as you can as quickly as possible in arcade. So you can play before you've had coffee, or after!!
Date published: 2012-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Word Game for U Word University offers two modes of play: A relaxed Classic-mode, and the increasingly relentless Arcade option. You are able to swap adjacent letters to form words and create your own letters from existing blank tiles. In Classic mode you are only given a limited amount of swaps to meet a particular quota. Whereas with Arcade, you have unlimited swaps under the pressure of new letters appearing. Once it reaches the top of the screen, it's game over. Each letter has its own score, and you can earn power-ups by forming long and multiple words simultaneously. I did not experience any problems, and the size of the installation was small. If you enjoy word games, I would encourage you to give it a try!
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bookworm is better I have played this game many times and keep coming back to it. The challenge factor is good and you really need to be on the ball at the higher levels of the Classic game. I found the Action game very frustrating as it gets faster and more challenging - the game controls don't work very well. The letters very often don't move when you click and drag them and I have a new, very fast computer, so it's not my computer's fault! In common with some other reviewers, I find it frustrating at times that the game often registers a short word when you're trying to make a long one. If I'm feeling patient it's OK so perhaps I need to avoid this game when I'm feeling hassled! In common with many word games, the in-game dictionary can be odd, registering weird words I've never heard of (and my vocabulary is pretty wide) and ignoring perfectly legitimate words. I played Bookworm as my first word game and that's a hard act to follow. Still, I recommend you try this one if you like word games, and persevere until you get the hang of it.
Date published: 2013-02-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Huge Disappointment I was very excited to download this word game, for I am a huge word game fan, but ultimately it was a disappointment. Moving letters from one place to another on the board was awkward and didn't always work on the first several tries. Then, in several early levels some letters could only be moved if other letters below them were removed--which was almost never. The letters needed were almost never supplied. Ugh. And to think I couldn't wait for this game to download ... Huge disappointment. Could someone please develop something similar to Scrabble? Let the computer be the opponent, and I'll be glued to playing that game forever.
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Probably best for young learners I think it would be a good spelling game for younger folks. It even has a "parental control" option for those kids who would like to have better control over their wayward game-playing parents. I, myself, prefer the entertaining Bookworm.
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from STICK TO BOOKWORM I guess I wanted something similar to bookworm, but this isn't it. If you have a big word, it only takes the simpler four letter word, and not the five or six letter word. If you try to make a big word, it won't let you finish it, if a smaller word is inside it. Not fun. Found my eyes closing, as it was boring. Nothing fun happens if you don't use the red or gray tiled letters. Music is nap inducing. Also, takes proper names, which scrabble disallows.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Here's my 5 letter word for this game: AWFUL That about sums up my thoughts on this "exclusive" game. It may be good for real young spellers, but I feel that even they would be bored in 5 minutes or less. The game is similar to Tetris with letters instead of shapes. But where Tetris is fun, this is a flop. I usually enjoy word games, so I tried to give it the benefit of the doubt and hoped it would improve with time, but I was sadly mistaken. In my opinion, it is a waste of a good hour. You would fare better with any other word game..
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just OK I was not impressed with this game. Maybe it is for kids. I just found it boring and slow compared to a lot of other word games that I have. Nothing exciting here. Sorry.
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Boring Game with Limited Dictionary This game was extremely boring. What made it particularly frustrating was the fact that half the words I tried to play weren't recognized by the game. Even my 7 year old daughter found this game frustrating. A tip for the developers...when your game has a smaller vocabulary than a 7 year old, it's time to rethink your game!
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Are you real! I tried less then 5 minutes and new right away that this a terrible game. Also saw reviews from other people & this company made big mistake! They shouldn't even been put out.
Date published: 2012-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Quite Functional Cute graphics and seems like it would be a fun word game. Unfortunately, this game doesn't seem to work. Dragging the letters to the spot you want to take them to is mostly impossible; for some reason I don't understand the letter blocks get dragged to the wrong spot or a letter you were about to use gets moved/swapped unintentionally. Very frustrating. If only it worked properly.
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from VERY limited for word fans! I was trying to spell more difficult words and the game would select words that were not what I intended...you couldn't select the word and if it didn't recognize it...you couldn't use the word. For example, I spelled the word "fairy" and it ignored it. Too much trouble, back to scrabble for me!
Date published: 2012-04-10
  • y_2019, m_5, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_14200, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Word U

Enroll at Word U and spell words to get rid of the letters that are overrunning the library!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.