Ghost Encounters: Deadwood

Ghost Encounters: Deadwood

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(168.36 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The town of Deadwood is being terrorized by the ghost of a murderous outlaw in Ghost Encounters: Deadwood! Break Blackjack’s evil curse and save the day while enjoying the incredible Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure gameplay. After killing 21 men while he was alive, Blackjack is back to kill many more! Grave robbers have unleashed a phantom curse and condemned the entire town. One by one the townsfolk are dropping dead and now it’s up to you to save them in Ghost Encounters: Deadwood!

  • Save the townsfolk
  • Stop the ghost
  • End Blackjack’s curse!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 296 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Ghost Encounters: Deadwood

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(168.36 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Ghost Encounters: Deadwood is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 100.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A pleasant surprise! Teeters between 4 and 5 stars. Definitely a game that gets better as you go along. Nice graphics, good voice-overs, great cut-scenes. Caters for wide-screen. Hidden object and puzzle games were fairly easy, with no interactive tasks. Annoying sparkles unfortunately. No bonus objects to find or achievements to earn. Hint button only available in hidden object games, but quite easy to work out what's next. No running all over the place - tasks grouped nicely. The storyline flowed nicely and, whilst not captivating, was clear and made sense. The length of the game was reasonable, and finished nicely. I found this game slightly dreary at the beginning, and got stuck on the first puzzle. Almost gave up, but perservered - and glad I did, as it improved remarkably.
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Puzzles too easy I liked the storyline here. It was one of the few trials I played all the way through. Usually I quit trials after about half an hour. I found, though that the puzzles were easy to the point of being insulting. It's also one of those games where if you click on something more than once it will tell you what you need. I guess that's why there is no hint button. Like the other poster said, I will buy this game when it goes on sale.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wild West Adventure! Ghost Encounters: Deadwood is a great game if you can hang in there. There is NO hint system outside of the hidden object scenes and believe me, you will be wishing you had one more than once. You have to explore every nook and cranny of a scene to make sure every avenue is explored and every tool is discovered. The town is fairly large and you will revisit scenes to use objects and perform tasks so stay alert. Hint: remember where you left that ladder! The western town is beautifully drawn and the ghostly characters are wonderful. I thought the animations and voice acting were great for the most part and some were downright spooky! Now for the bad news. The hidden object scene are bright, clear and nicely drawn. And, they could be from any hiddden object game you have ever played. There was no effort whatsoever to create a scene in keeping with the western theme. The music was neither ghostly nor western in flavor. To me it sounded like background music from a B science fiction movie and proved to be so distracting I turned it down. The puzzles are a solid and entertaining but nothing new. What makes this game worth playing is the story. If you like flying without a net you might just have as much fun as I did.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Deadwood: Old Fashioned Fun While "Deadwood" may seem dated as it is almost pure HO, it is still a very handsome game. The scenes are rather spare, accurately reflecting the lack of ready cash of those that lived during the 1800's in the American West. And yes, the story line is rather mawkish, but the fate of Billy is not at all sentimentalized. This is the reason I gave it the fourth star. It was truthful to the premise of the story, It is an easy to play game, if you can play without hints or a map. The only hints available are in the HO scenes. As the game progresses those HO scenes become more complex, rather than over-crowded. "Deadwood" is an HO game. It is not a puzzle game or an ADV game. If you do not care for the HO genre, then "Deadwood" is not your game. If you do not care for simple non-head wrangling puzzles, fold your cards and leave the table. Imho, there are times when puzzle-solving gets in the way of herding the storytelling along. "Deadwood" delivers on its promise to being a good looking and solid HO game, dead on!
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a very well done easy game. If you are looking for a fun game that isn't going to cause you stress when you are playing to relax,then this is it.I think the graphics are very well done and the voice overs are great.I really don't understand why this game has such poor reviews.Everyone is different and I will be buying this game next month. I can't start another card and it has been a very long time since I played the 60 minute trial and time ran out. I was having so much fun. Very easy game but a lot of fun.Well worth the time and money.After looking at the walk through I see it has 3 chapters,but they are long.Do yourself a favor and check it out.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yes it's a standard HOG, but... that's the genre. With so many HOGs/adventure games out there, coming out almost daily, it's got to be hard to come up with completely unique game play. I actually liked that there was no hint button. At first it was frustrating, but when I finally DID figure out what to do, it was more rewarding than being led by the hand, and actually lends to the length of play, which is one of the important factors on my decision of whether to purchase or not. And as for the standard 'junk pile' HOS'...that's also part of the genre. Some complain that the objects are too hard to find, but for me, that's part of the challenge. For the money...it's a good game.
Date published: 2012-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good plain game This is not a bad little game at all, for a Standard Edition it does exactly what you want. There is a choice of difficulty level but even on the easier one, the lack of a strategy guide means that there are one or two points in the game where you will need to think about what to do next. Mini-games and puzzles are not too hard and there is always the skip option if you get frustrated. Decent HOG for the price and if the same developers had another game like this out, I'd be willing to buy - and there have been flashier games that disappointed me, so that is a recommendation.
Date published: 2012-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ghost Encounters: Deadwood I really like this game! The graphics and voiceovers are as nice as some CEs I have played. Options- Sliders for Music, Voice and Sound FX Fullscreen Custom Cursor Eye Candy ( can be set low medium or high) The devs tell you setting it to low can improve speed. I tried all 3 settings and my computer worked best on low. You can play in Casual or Advanced mode. I played in advanced mode and it took me about 5 hours to finish the game. The hidden object scenes are junk piles but objects are not too difficult to find because the graphics are clear. The HOs are not interactive. There is a journal but no map. The Hint button is only in the hidden object scenes and mini games can be skipped. The only thing I didn't really like was that the mini games were repetitive and not really anything new. A little more variety in the mini games would have made this a 5 star game for me.
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Challenging game All of you who have gotten used to having the hint button lead you through, don't get this game. It makes you think on your own. Actually this adds to the fun of the game. It does get frustrating at times running around trying to find where next to go, but it is challenging and rewarding in the end to accomplish the finish on your own. Good fun, good story line with a few twists. Enjoy!!
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fun game I'm a little surprised at all the negative reviews of this game. I think it is quite good. The game depicts the western scene well in the graphics, voiceovers are very good and so is the story. It is a simple fun game. This is one I hope everyone will try for themselves and not rely completely on the reviews. You might be pleasantly surprised!
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thought the game was great! Thought this was a great game & used a free game credit to purchase as soon as we finished the demo. There are volume controls for music, sound & voice. You can choose levels for "eye candy". There is full screen and choice of custom cursor. Game modes of casual or advanced. The beginning movie had us interested in the story right away and the clever way of getting the combination to the safe had us interested in continuing the adventure. Although, the ghosts encountered in the demo were not really of the spooky type, however, seeing your own name on a coffin while conversing with the undertaker ghost was a bit creepy! We are writing this based on the demo as we haven't finished playing the game, so cannot comment on length of play. 3 ghosts were encountered & helped in the hour the demo was played. The hidden object scenes and games were not all that difficult. There is a journal that keeps track of the story and helps you know what to do next to advance in the game. The graphics are good and the voice overs not annoying. Game play was smooth with "eye candy" marked medium. This game is a good addition to our collection. Try it, but give the whole demo a chance. It gets better the further you get in the story.
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Next Logical Move? Buy It! I liked this game. Clear, crisp graphics, solvable minigames (yea!), rooms that are not overly complex or filled with a kazillion clickable items. It's a simple game, but not overly so. In most games, I want to reach the finish line, but often games are so complex and convoluted, they are difficult to finish without constant reference to a strategy guide because the "next move" is not logical. A logical "next step" is good; an illogical "next step" is somewhat ridiculous. Developers, it's OK if a player can finish a game on his or her own. Honest! A negative? Where's the hint button? Hint buttons are GOOD; they reduce a player's frustration level and help the player along to the finish line. I'm not sure what's up with all the negative reviews, but I feel the game is well worth the price and most players will enjoy it.
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Old West Spookfest! Opening scene was encouraging. A good feeling I was going to enjoy this game. Old time western feel with a little spookfest throw in. Using your paranormal abilities to find and save Billy, you will meet several ghosts. You will be given tasks to solve in order to continue the game. Graphics were good. HO scenes were clear but crowded. I did not have too much trouble finding items on the list. Overall, the storyline was well done and flowed from one environment to the next. Hints took a minute to recharge. Over clicking penalty recharged quickly. Some different puzzles I hadn't seen yet. No hand holding in solving. You are on your own. Clues to puzzles fairly easy to find with some searching. No hint when you are through searching a scene. Music was eerie, foreboding and had a strange ringing sound. Wasn't too keen on the ringing. I thought it irritating. Found my name on a casket. Didn't like it. Creepy. Well fishies, I liked this game. It was a bit different. If there is a challenge for me, some different puzzles to solve and no hand-holding I'm hooked. I think I will use one of my game credits on this one.
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's not THAAAT bad! The storyline is pretty interesting (I usually fast forward the stories on demos) it kept me interested. The hidden object scenes weren't hard. I did have to scratch my head sometimes when trying to figure out what to do next but I ended up figuring it out. The demo is somewhat short as it only lets you get to a certain part before the demo ends..so if you go through the demo with ease it will not last the full hour. It took me roughly 45 minutes to finish. Not a bad game to waste time with.
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very relaxing and entertaining I enjoyed this game. Yes it's a little on the easy side but not having hints available except in the hidden object games means that you have to figure out what to do next and where. The voice overs were excellent and the drama was average which made me enjoy it alittle more. I usually play the high energy, scary, thriller games so this was a refreshing change.
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Fun Game interesting story line, and Hidden Objects are not overly hard to find. Enjoyed playing game, story line interesting and not hard to follow. Graphics are good and game play is a lot of fun. Thinking of buying.
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun This game is from the people that made the Hide and Secret games which I think are funny and quirky and its a buy for me!
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, not great. This game was good, but not great. There are things the developers could have added to make the game much better and much better rating. Pros: -The storyline was very good. Blackjack's ghost is killing everyone in Deadwood after some men dug up his remains (he had killed in real life before his death as well). A boy named Billy is being chased in town by the ghost and you have to save him as well. -Graphics and sound was very good. -HOS were not hard at all and not cluttered. Cons: -There is no map at all so you are backtracking a lot. -The hint option is ONLY available in HOS. So it is not useful when trying to find out what you have to do next. Game not clear on what to do next, so did have to resort to the walkthrough on BF site. That is extremely rare. -A little too much dialogue. -Journal was absolutely useless. It only keeps track of the other people/ghosts you meet and the story about them. It does not keep track of certain diagrams or codes or anything for puzzles. -Too much of the same puzzle. Most was jigsaw puzzle. A few were combination,a couple where you just rotate the pieces into the right spot, and there were at least 2 puzzles were instead of jigsaw, you had to move the long pieces horizontally or vertically until you get the image. That takes a lot of time, too much time. Ended up skipping that particular kind. This game really had potential. The developers could have done better.
Date published: 2014-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy & Entertaining GAME COMPLETED TWICE This is one of the easier HOPAs I have played, and would have been even easier, if it had had a hint button outside the HOs and/or a walkthrough. Nevertheless, I stuck it out and finished the game without help, which was very satisfying. Set in the Wild Wild West, this game’s atmosphere is very creepy to match its ghostly story. A hint button that is a vulture ought to give you an idea of the style of this one. The music and background noises were particularly ominous, although they sounded like they’d work better in a sci-fi environment. The graphics are of that rarer cartoon style, except more subtlety is used. And a little glarey. But the objects are easily seen. No interaction unfortunately. This game is fun to play but it is never going to make anyone’s top ten list. It’s an average game, very relaxing when you don’t feel like going into battle.
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What Could Have Been... I really wanted to enjoy this game more than I ended up enjoying it. Combining the supernatural and a Western setting? Yeah, I'm on board. Unfortunately, this game leaves a lot to be desired and does nothing particularly well. From a plot standpoint, it's pretty straightforward. You're searching for a missing child and you have to stop the bad guy. What makes it slightly different is that you have some additional supernatural powers in addition to just being your run-of-the-mill HOG detective. These powers are not as fleshed out as they could have been, and to be honest it's a bit underwhelming. We probably good have reasoned there would be something important in that bulging tied-up sack without ghostly ESP, but at least they tried. Graphic style reminded me of the Hide And Secret series, closer to an old comic book than a current game. Voice acting is present throughout, which was a nice touch, especially whoever voiced the undertaker character. Scenes of course have a Western motif and you will be backtracking. Hidden object scenes are plentiful and average. Puzzles are where this game fell off the rails for me. The developers take the easy way out when they repeat the same puzzles, and boy do they repeat. If you really enjoy jigsaws and concentric rings, you're in for a treat. Some depth and originality would have been most welcome here. There were a few minor quibbles, such as getting rid of an inventory item (like a knife), then seconds later needing to cut something open. Just let me take the ladder already if I'm going to need it again later. I felt these lapses made the game longer than it had a right to be. All in all, I enjoyed the concept far more than the execution.
Date published: 2012-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ghost Encounters DULLwood. My bad I guess for not trying the demo first - I actually had hopes it would be based in some form @ the Deadwood series. The graphics, voice-overs & game play are smooth and high quality. The puzzles were far too simple and so I found the game overall exceptionally unchallenging and items gained after HOS are used almost immediately.This game should be targeted to first-time players. Sorry ... I just found this as dull to the point of tedium.
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ghost Encounters: Deadwood This game could've been so much more.....I'm a big fan of anything "old west".....I got halfway thru the demo & got stuck....No hint button, no walkthru, nada....I tried everything I knew to go forward but to no avail.....Please tell the developers of these games that we need a hint & walkthru for those of us who sometimes need a little help to get going.....Sorry, but I won't be buying this game...
Date published: 2012-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Commendable effort This was not the worst game I've played , but a stretch from the best. The graphics were this games saving grace. The characters were likeable and believable, The mission of the game was not a difficult task, and yet some items were not as easy to find and a lot of traveling between scenes to get what you need to proceed. The HO's were easy enough, I did find the game somewhat tedious and boring at times. Not sure if this game fits everyone. All I can say is you just have to use your judgement on selecting this game for your library of games.
Date published: 2012-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okish Yet again another typical ghost story with that ever so well known curse. The game itself is ok......just to pass the time away but thats it. The HOS were pretty clear but i felt sometimes a bit too cluttered. The mini games were ok, but they were mostly jigsaw ones and didnt pose much of a challenge to the well seasoned gamer. The story line is like as i pointed out at the beginning.....your typical ghost story.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mediocre Game Visuals were great, not concerned with sound. Overall wasn't very intuitive
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from You've done better than this Although I somewhat enjoyed this game, I didn't find it nearly as interesting, challenging, or graphically exciting as games such as 9:The Dark Side, Awakening: Moonfell Wood, and other games like these I have played.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from THE VILLIAN IS A BLACK CLOUD I found this game to be just average. I didn't care for the black cloud, or most of the ghosts. It was boring to hear the voice-overs, which I usually like. You could skip the mini-games, which was good (as I couldn't figure out the safe#. I found the villian to be ridiculous and unscary.The HOS were too easy. And I don't get the paranormal aspect and what I am suppose to do #outside of the portrait). But after reading all the positive reviews, I might reconsider buying this game, as I like a game without a lot of hand holding.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Next.... I'm passing on this game for one reason: it is nothing new. With all the games available, to be a buy for me it has to offer something new. A new concept, new art design, new puzzle ideas, something new to compel me to move forward in the game. Unfortunately, Ghost Encounters: Deadwood offers none of these. It is fine, an OK game that is fairly linear with bright graphics, less bright HOG's , some spookiness, but nothing that says "I'm an inspired game". I'm going to pass.
Date published: 2012-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cute storyline The storyline was cute, a little boy who wants to be the sheriff and save the day. The music became annoying though it had set the right tone for the storyline with the ghosts and saving the boy, Billy. The objects in the hos were easily found and the mini games were typical and uncomplicated. I didn't like not having a map (especially when I started and had to stop) and the hint button was only available in the hos. Got kinda bored and didn't finish demo. Definitely a good game for a beginning hos fan.
Date published: 2012-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from somewhere in between.. after reading a few of the other reviews, i find myself somewhere in beween. its a good game, (not great by far) only cuz the "cowboy theme" is a bit different. other than that...meh...but i suppose its worth the demo anyway.
Date published: 2012-03-25
  • y_2019, m_9, d_20, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_100
  • loc_en_US, sid_14062, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Ghost Encounters: Deadwood

The town of Deadwood is being terrorized by the ghost of a murderous outlaw! Break his curse and save the day!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.