Theatre of the Absurd Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Theatre of the Absurd Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(95.31 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Scarlett Frost, specialist in the dark arts, has been summoned to a luxurious and remote theatre in the snowy Italian Alps. Could it be that the infamous and diabolical Hapsburg Cube has been found and purchased by the sinister theatre proprietor, Dr. Corvis? The cube is said to imprison a powerful and ancient Babylonian demon that would wreak hellish destruction if the cube should break. In a moment of desperate confusion the cube breaks and the demon bursts forth into the souls of the Dr. Corvis and his young Daughter Bethany. The ancient theatre in the lonely winter mountains becomes an arena of spiritual war, between the darkest forces of the underworld and the cunning and esoteric mind of Scarlett Frost. But Scarlett soon finds out that the only way to fight a demon this powerful is to become possessed by one herself. Only then can she acquire a ticket to the Theatre of the Absurd.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Bonus Content

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 527 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Theatre of the Absurd Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(95.31 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Theatre of the Absurd Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 132.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Confused why this game is getting such mixed reviews I loved this game. I noticed that one reviewer said there was too many cut scenes but I just love them I suppose one man's meat etc. What was so fascinating and only reviewing from the demo was just how different this game was. I was very surprised that reviewers thought it same old. For me Wonderful beginning great cut scene. I love hearing a voice instead of reading you "need a key for this lock" stuff thought it a huge advance on other games. Loved the unusual hint button a hand which can also have powers added to it to get you out of sticky situations was hugely novel. Loved the HOS like the music when you found something instead of an annoying tingle in so many games. Extra content if you bought it was inserted into the game which I thought was really good marketing.Loved all cut scenes really done well. Good crisp graphics. Liked the fact you had objectives which were ticked off in your diary when completed. Hint button worked so well have so far not needed SG. Have bought game. Recommend all play the demo and give it a go never mind the bad reviews. No glitches.
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not for the faint hearted! I mentioned in one of my old reviews that I had guilty pleasures, some of which include the occasional cigarette , eating chocolaits and my collection of horror books and films.That being said, this game is right up my alley. My immediate reaction to the opening scene was " Characters are like cut out paper dolls, YUK!" However as I continued, I became enthralled with the sounds and the visual effects of the game. First there is the ominous musical score, the whispers and sound of thunder, moans and cries and I was hooked! I really do applaud the devlopers for using good actors to do Voice-overs. Very ery well done and you have the main character that speaks to you at every turn and tells you what to do. That takes alot of work and in my opinion, somewhat raises the bar in Game Mechanics. I can't really say the same for Graphics, although sharp, they look old-school and one dimensional as are the annimations. However I really loved the art work, dark, intense and drawn beautifully. All of these elements submerges you into a demonic world where you have to save a child from possesion. I am sure the subject matter will be a issue for many as Demonic Possesion isn't everyone's cup of tea. As I said, being of fan of Lovecraft, Poe and King, I enjoy the macabre. Game mechanics offer two game modes but no custom cursor which is surprising. Game play includes a journal, a SG on the left upper corner and a rather clever hint system that is apparently your Hand that offers you clues as to where to go or what to do. The HOG scenes are junk piled and the lighting is not great, making some obects impossible to find. Game play involves the usual puzzles and finding key objects and using them. There are mini-games which so far were easy and familiar. I really do believe that based on the subject manner as well as the lack of some game features and the level of challenge, this game should have been brought to us as a SE. However as I really did enjoy the demo trial and am curious to see just how the game progresses, I will recommend to those who are hard-core players like myself and who may enjoy submerging themselves into their dark side. Like I said, a game not for the faint hearted!
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow-now this is more like it... To be fair, this review is coming from a person that enjoys the macabre. For those that don't, or have a personal objection to it, I do not recommend this game. For those that do-this is a MUST have for your collection; whether the CE or SE. I am impressed by almost everything. Graphics are above par, sound quality and background acoustics are excellent and the voice-overs are VERY well done. What I have enjoyed the most is the gaining of new 'powers' that you receive along the way. For console gamers out there that love the Elder Scrolls, this is a very enjoyable feature and a very creative twist on what could have turned out to be a cookie-cutter game. This game is anything but 'been there, done that.' Yes, the theme has been done in many variations, but the way in which the developers created the game; different game mechanics, a new journal style (allows you to search by topic which is quicker than flipping through pages), an interesting and engaging storyline, a main character that talks as she discovers things, creepy atmosphere and background sounds, incredible cut-scenes and downright scary moments, really immerse the player into the world they created, so I have felt so far none of the 'not this again' feeling. The reason I said 'I am impressed with almost everything' is because while I do enjoy the main character talking and describing what she sees as you move along (very nice touch) she can get repetitive. It's not bad enough that it detracts from the game, at least for me, but it can get a little annoying when it does happen. Other than that, this is the first supposed 'scary' game where I have actually felt fear, so I consider that to be a huge accomplishment for the game developers and one of the reasons I gave this game 5 starts. Rarely do I do that, but this game delivers. I have jumped out of my chair more than once, and feel quite intense while playing it. Love it or hate it, but one thing is for sure-in this game you can tell that the developers actually cared about the quality of the game and added many extra touches. That's getting a bit harder to find as some developers are pushing quantity over quality. This game is going into my all-time favorites category-and that list is not that long. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This one is definitely a "Marmite" game For those of you fishies from places other than the UK, Marmite is a strange brown spread you put on toast and you either love it or hate it, it has no middle ground whatsoever!! This game is pure Marmite! I absolutely love it (as I do Marmite) but I can see it being horrid for some people. I can't even start to describe why it is so fab... I got hooked about 5 mins into the demo, finding the wierd and bizarre feel to the game enjoyable. This is definitely out of a different stable than the games we have been offered recently. Game play is either casual or hardcore, you can change mid play if necessary. I played on casual and it was hard enough for me. The HOS are hard on the eye at times but not so much as to frustrate. Puzzles so far have not been too hard but I have a feeling they are going to get harder as the game progresses. Now all I need to decide is whether I buy it now or wait till the 1st... Cracking game, respect to the devs!
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Chronicleds of Scarlett Frost (Part 1?????) I must say I quite enjoyed this game. I even enjoyed the H0G scenes -- amazing myself, given I am rather tired of the concept at this point. The presentation, taken as a whole, just felt different. It was fun. theater of the absurd (n.) A form of drama that emphasizes the absurdity of human existence by employing disjointed, repetitious, and meaningless dialogue, purposeless and confusing situations, and plots that lack realistic or logical development. Well -- as a game it wasn't all of that. The setting was certainly surreal and horrific, but within the context, it had a story you could follow -- in a broad sense, anyway. I remember reading Ionesco's [i]Rhinoceros[/i] for a college course and having to analyze it ad nauseam. I don't think this game requires quite so much introspection, but it will leave you thinking… As for the game mechanics -- the hint system does double duty. It will indicate H0 items, but it also serves as a helping hand (literally) to perform certain tasks. I'm glad I got the CE. The bonus chapter filled in some gaps. Visually, this game had some outstanding artwork, and it continued in the bonus content. In total, for the extra $$$, I suspect many will say it was not worth it. I enjoyed the game quite enough not to bemoan the additional cost. This review is beginning to sound as absurd as the definition given above. Well -- it was an unusual experience. Nothing about the game play was particularly challenging. It was quite linear in scope. The puzzles were not difficult. The length was modest (even for pokey me) and the bonus chapter even shorter. Certainly you will not need the Strategy Guide. The other bonus content is Concept Art -- well presented but of little other value. And, when all is said and done -- well, you will be left "Waiting for Godot", so to speak. The game finishes with some "handy" information, but is it true? … hmmmm. Still, I'm willing to say it was great -- how absurd is that?
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't Judge a book by its cover. When I saw this game I was not even going to bother to play the demo, but I am glad I did. Lots of intro and cut scenes, but playing the game itself was great. Goggi as usual surpassed themselves with graphic's, story line and puzzles. The HO scenes, for some reason I found a bit hard, however the hints I used were helpful. My heart sank when the time was up but its a definite buy for me. A very good game and worth the CE.
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark, mysterious and captivating game Just finish the demo. I'm waiting May the 1st to buy the Collector Edition (for the stamps only) In a few words : HOS : more interesting than usual, a bit more tricky as well (and I'm playing on casual mode). No map but added to the classic hint button, the heroin's arm gives you indication about the next step. Some of the mini-games and graphics make me think at another game I loved : REDRUM.
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a thrill.. ! I'm one of those gamers who want the the entire effect. I loved the Music and background sounds giving you a creepy feel. The story held me as I wanted so much to free the child. The puzzles were unique and just the right amount of a challenge for me. I was not happy with the HOS as the glowing golden light made it hard to see and the items were difficult for me to find. Thankfully the Hint came back in good time. Having the arm come out was so cool when you needed a clue as to what to do next and how you used it when you were given a new power. I love Cut Scenes and these were compelling and scarey at times and the little girl had my heart in her hands. I had to keep going to free her especially when she would plead for you to hurry. You really should try this one out.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Fun Creepy and Spooky Game With A Strange Title I've noticed on other reviews that gamers either loved or hated this game. For me, I love it! The graphics are crisp, voice overs are not too bad and the background music/sounds are right on for this time of atmosphere. The only thing I didn't like and have to agree with other gamers is there were too many cut scenes and hand holding (the game telling you what to do next). I think people should have given this game more of a chance regardless of it's flaws. I know I did and I am having fun with Theatre of the Absurd
Date published: 2012-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different, Macabre, and Fun Based on the demo, but I'm buying this when I get paid. This game didn't grab me right away. Took a few minutes for me to get hooked. It's a combination of dark fairytale, Lovecraft and Poe-- a combo which can either work well or not at all. In this case, it works well. The heroine is a down-to-earth woman who doesn't get rattled easily. The other characters are a bit cartoony. If you don't like the heroine's spoken thoughts, you can go to Options and turn voices off. However, that can cause problems when other characters speak. You can also skip the cut scenes. The Strategy Guide is very helpful, and there are a few places you really need it. The hints are not as helpful. There is also a journal with a task list, which is helpful as well. The puzzles and HOS are easy to moderately challenging. There are several different kinds of puzzles in this game, and that diversity makes it more fun. The graphics and audio are good, and the music fits the storyline.
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this game! Creepy, interesting, challenging. Loved the atmosphere created by the game designers, hogs were cleverly interspersed in the story line, music well done. This game raises the bar on Big Fish Adventure/HOG games, more like this, please!
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game!!! I've been a member for a few years now and ive never commented on a game till now i thought this game was outstanding i love the cut scenes, storyline everything about the game. Its a thriller!! Thank you Bigfish
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OH BOY! Bought this game only after trying it out for about half hour. Great game to play on a rainy night with lots of lightning and thunder going on. The story line is really different and is accompanied by really scary graphics. The HO scenes and cut scenes are very well done as well. I absolutely recommend this game!
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing game I loved this game, and wanted it to keep going, can not wait for the nest one, the visual/sound and quality was fab, and a very good storyline as well, would like to see more of this type of game
Date published: 2012-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Interesting! This is my 1st review. Cannot tell you all how much I loved the demo. Cannot wait to play full game! Game was played at a great pace and each moment led to another moment that was addictive. I did not want to stop playing!
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesomely Spine Chilling! I am basing this review on the demo only - this is a must buy! Keeps your attention riveted - you must help Bethany! Graphics are really great - along with all the cutscenes - some you can't skip, but once you have seen it, then you are able to skip if you don't want to see it again. HOS are a little hard on the eyes, but once you adjust they are not so bad, and things are easier to pick out of those. What a great story line - dr. releases demon, demon possesses child and investigator - some very intense moments, all designed to send chills up your spine! Puzzles are relatively simple - most are the standard. However, things you collect from these and HOS are satisfyingly different. There are lots of things to collect. Your hint button recharges pretty quickly, the skip button takes a tad longer for the puzzles. It looks like you're in one building throughout the game, but doors keep appearing out of nowhere, which is also pretty cool. Based on some of the reveiws posted, I didn't think this game would be my cup of tea, however, I was hooked within 5 minutes. I really like purchasing the CEs whenever possible - I like playing the bonus games, and the extra features, like the SG that comes with those. Plus, I feel like I get more of my money's worth when I purchase CEs. This one will probably be on the top of my purchasing priority list, however - looks short based on the download MBs, but if it's a really good game, so be it, to me still worth the money. While some of games I have purchased lately have left me bored to tears, I don't think this will be one of them - will purchase as soon as possible and recommend it to others.
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy, Gory & Spooky...gotta love it! I was seduced by this game from the get go. The visuals are stunning, the hand is creepy and the whole thing is just bloodcurdling. I have already added it to my collection.
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game! It's a great game! I hope it's going to be continued very soon!
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mindblowing! I rarely buy collector's editions but I knew I had to buy this within 5 minutes of playing the trial (and I did 5 minutes after the trial ended). There are elements you have probably never seen before that make it a completely magical experience. All I can say is I feel like this game is a game changer - like it is a brand new millennium that has suddenlyl evolved - y2k12! It's just @ ABSURD!
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Theater of the Absurd What a fascinating game. A bit weird but nicely weird. Though the hidden object scenes were rather hard and with no help from the writer, who I might add should be taken into hand and told what the customers expect. He/She does not mark off all the hidden objects in the scene!!! Terrible trouble! But on the whole a thoroughly enjoyable game!! Keep up the good work.
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One I would have overlooked At first, like many reviewers I was put off by the title and initially it seemed too, frankly, demonic. But more and more it was as other reviewers have said, very much like watching a scary movie on a Saturday afternoon. The hog scenes while full were meaningful. Busy but not overly cluttered and challenging. Some objects required me to think outside the box. "No horseshoes" but there is one crowbar LOL. I liked having the voiceover for direction. The puzzles were on the easy side and not many of them although they did have a recurring one with a new twist which I liked. It was fun gaining extra powers (not hard to deal with) to move the story along. Even though one had to move from different locations, it wasn't hard to do given the logic of the storyline and helpful arrows. I got hooked by the storyline and really enjoyed this game. The music actually added to the game as it was very subdued and during hog scenes when you found something they would play a single note. It was fun despite the dark storyline and I plan to play it again. One doesn't need the strategy guide much so waiting for the SE may be something to consider. I really enjoyed this game and found myself not wanting to stop playing, (like a good book) because I wanted to know what happened next. For me, that's a buy.
Date published: 2012-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Threatre of the Absurd Collector's Edition Best game ever bought, Excellent Very original more like it please.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All player objections tended to in this game! Wow, did this designer ever listen to players complaints. He/she has covered everything from fast hint buttons to in game walkthroughs. Yep, you read that right. No need to close the game to seek out walkthroughs anymore. Also, this game has quite the artistic flare of the dramatics. What's not to love? Very different, so expect to be frustrated as you get a handle on navigating thru this game. After a few attempts, you will become a pro. I not only recommend this game, I am going to buy it too!
Date published: 2012-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from interesting concept After stumbling around for the first mins.. I realized this was a very unique HO game. I enjoyed the graphics and the story line. I also liked the special powers given to my character. I can not comment on the music and sound effects since I had them turned off.As for the HO scenes I love the intricate art work, and having to really focus to find the objects.I don't buy games,but if the other game sites I subscribe to, don't offer it, I just might have to.
Date published: 2012-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not for the faint of heart Hidden Object Scenes difficult but doable.Loved the Story and the flow of the game.Never had to back track to the point of total frustration.Didn't notice a hint button except for hidden object scenes so strategy guide a must though I didn't use it until I hit the Bonus Game.Graphics terrifying,I loved it.
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun and Worth It! I haven't finished the game but am about 1/3 through and am enjoying this game. I'm glad the HOS aren't easy...you really have to look as the shadows, etc. help to obscure things - in a good way! Other negative reviews mention too much voice over, too much help, etc. - I for one don't care about voice overs and do not feel that the game telling me that I need to gather 'all the pieces' is leading me or helping me too much. While the story line is macabre, it is refreshing to have some actual scary bits thrown in!!! Can't wait to get back to playing!
Date published: 2012-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Theatre fo The Absurd Collectors Edition Played the demo for an hour as I always try out games before paying for them and I normally wait for CE games to become normal games before purchasing but on very rare occasions I pay full CE cost and this is one of those occasions, brilliant challenges the one hour flew by I am definately going to purchase this game as a CE and I would highly recommend this game to everyone
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hauntingly beautiful The developers have managed to merge an interesting and compelling story with beautiful graphics, very well done voice acting, good music/sound effects and excellent game play. The hidden object scenes take a little getting used to since they're completely different from the latest run-of-the-mill blue-tinted games, but there's nothing that isn't completely visible. I did have to use hints a few times and then felt foolish when the object was revealed in plain sight. What I particularly liked about this was the fact that I didn't have to wander around confused about the use of inventory items. I tend to forget where/why an item is needed but this followed a logical story that didn't require a lot of back and forth from the same location for one action at a time. This is such a beautiful, dreamlike game. Very well done.
Date published: 2012-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun, challenging and great graphics!! I really enjoyed this game. The graphics were exceptional. The HOS were challenging. I never comment about the music because I don't use the sound very often. Otherwise, everything about this game was 5 stars.
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game great story line and very well done graphics were excellent.
Date published: 2012-04-30
  • y_2019, m_10, d_16, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_132
  • loc_en_US, sid_14404, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Theatre of the Absurd Collector's Edition

Help Scarlet Frost outwit evil itself in a dark and mysterious theatre to save an innocent girl’s soul from the most sinister of perils.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.