Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope Collector's Edition

Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(258.50 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Professor Gordon Child was your favorite college professor and now he’s summoned you, his star student, to the island of Cannon Rock. You arrive to find that Child has vanished and a madman has destroyed the island and murdered many of the residents! The few who are left think you’re the only one who can save them… It’s your destiny. But, uncovering the madman’s true identity will challenge your skills and your assumptions. Solve mind-bending puzzles and search challenging hidden object scenes in Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus Game with Moving Storyline
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Wonderful Wallpapers

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 890 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(258.50 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope Collector's Edition is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 91.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Ever! Using real actors in the cut scenes, genius. I had goosebumps from the beginning scenes. I'm playing it very slowly so it will last longer. Not to say it too short. Just prolonging the fun.
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME The game is AWESOME storyline is great and I just love the graphic, they are clear and clean....not fussy. Your able to see the HOG items clearly and not have to get a magnifying glass to see them. Theres alot of back and forth but thats what make the game interesting and keeps you on your toes. Cant wait till I get paid next so I can buy and finish this game. Its on my must buy list.
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object Game! Overall it plays well and is fun. The minigames are doable.
Date published: 2012-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Immensely Enjoyed! This was a fantastic game and I stretched my play over three days simply because I didn't won't a good thing to end. I enjoyed the accompanied story and cut scenes. This game ranks as one I will replay again and again. Thanks for the hard work and look forward to another game.
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful game! Love the games that come from these developers and this new one is just as good. I like that it is story driven and that from the start you find yourself wondering if the madman might just be Professor Child who brought you to Cannon Rock in the first place. There is a good mix in the types of puzzles in the game and lots to do that I like. Hope everyone will give the game a chance for themselves and not reject it just because of a review.
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love the game and would tell all my friends . the game was fascinating and would like more game like this to keep me interested.
Date published: 2012-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Fun This not like the top notch games, but is pretty good game. Easy going and good graphics. Good story line. Not to hard to play. I liked it and would buy it on a rainy day.
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game this game kept me on the edge of my seat took me a long time to play as I savoured it worth the money.
Date published: 2012-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3rd time around Replayed this game which I've owned since it came out. It had been quite a few years now so I did not remember anything. It is pretty challenging without being overly complicated. No maps back then, at least not many games had maps. So lots of going back and forth, but not necessarily a bad thing. A most enjoyable game! I came to see if there were more Dark Heritage games but did not find one, too bad I was hoping there would have been.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly good From the previews, I didn't expect to like this game as much as I did. I very quickly got into it, though, and found it a well-paced, challenging, fun play. The visuals and sound were quality. I enjoyed the storyline greatly. The live actors bothered me less than most, mostly because they didn't try to synch the dialogue to them. Good call on that. The only things that bothered me were 1) the game did get a bit long (but they kept the bonus chapter mercifully short), and 2) the game really, really needed a map. Other than that, though, I enjoyed the game.
Date published: 2013-09-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked it but didn't love it... The story is good, the characters are interesting. There are 2 game modes. - The graphics are clear, but some of the objects in the HOS are rather small. - Most of the mini-games are easy, some are challenging. - The journal is useful but I would have been happy to have a map, since there is a lot of walking. - The hint system is good and recharges quickly. Without skipping, it took me about 3 hours to finish the main part. The bonus chapter took me about 30 minutes. If you don't need the SG, I don't think that it's worth the money to buy the CE.
Date published: 2013-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from AVERAGE GAME This game was enjoyable. It runs you around some, but not enough to be classified as one of my "pet peeve" games. The hint button worked to help get me to the next applicable area to play. There were a couple of mini games that were way too small and busy for me to even attempt to play, so I immediately skipped them. I did not lose track of the storyline and looked forward to seeing what the next area revealed. Nothing much else stood out, either good or bad.
Date published: 2012-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Absorbing game This game offers an interesting storyline with the use of live actors in the cut scenes. The graphics were clear and the HO scenes weren't too challenging, most objects findable without resorting to the hint. Although this is a CE, I found I didn't use the strategy guide as the hint directed me where to go next. There is a bit of toing and froing - those games which offer interactive maps are SO good. I played in easy mode as I like to relax when playing. The bonus story was a little short but explored a new area not used in the main story.
Date published: 2012-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope - Entertaining & Engaging Great Game. Beautiful artwork. Vivid, clear scenes, music fit the story. HO's were sharp with no overclick penalty. I especially like the poof of a red cloud when the item disappeared. Puzzles medium to challenging. The journal was helpful as it stored information needed in other scenes and puzzles. The Collector's Edition Bonus helped put closure to the main story. Nice ending.
Date published: 2012-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed this one! This was a fun game, not terribly challenging but lots of places to go and look for stuff. I did like that there were always new places opening up. My only complaint is that I thought the voiceovers while showing the person's eyes were odd and the evil guy's ravings didn't even come close to matching the voiceover but I have a feeling it probably wasn't meant to. But that's just a style issue that doesn't affect gameplay. Other than that I enjoyed it. The collector's edition strategy guide was never needed. The hint button was enough if you couldn't remember where to go next. If you have a good memory you won't even need that. The bonus game doesn't start automatically, just click on bonus content to play that one. Several hours of enjoyment for me on this one!
Date published: 2012-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game This will be a definite purchase for me as soon as the SE comes out. This game has just the right mix of HOS, puzzles and adventure, with a great storyline. The atmosphere is dark without being too creepy, and the music and sound effects aren't too loud or annoying. The graphics are wonderful with a mix of live action and computer graphics, which brings a reality to the game that other games lack. I am looking forward to the SE coming out, because even though I enjoyed the game, I am not one to spend the extra money on a CE.
Date published: 2012-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very worth buying I bought this game during a sale on Collector's Editions for $6.99. I played it on and off over two and a half very rainy days. It was great! This was such a fun and engaging game. The story was interesting and I was genuinely involved in the plights of the characters. The graphics were very good and the sounds neither annoying nor repetitious. The challenge level of the HOS was low to medium for the most part which is how I want them. Most of the puzzles were fun and fairly challenging to play. A couple of the puzzles were ones that I always get really frustrated trying to do so I skipped those. I play for relaxation, not frustration. The extra chapter in the bonus edition was good and I enjoyed playing it. I don't think I'd buy Collector's Editions unless they're special sale games, though. The bonus material is really not worth paying double the price for the game. I gave this game four stars instead of five only because there were many similarities between this game and so many others I've played. I'm holding out for a really new and different game for my fives!
Date published: 2012-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like it This game is little slow for me and has a lot dark scenes, but it was interesting to play. Music is good, and graphics also. I find interesting having a real video as a part of the story. Its fun and I recommend it.
Date published: 2012-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of the Better Games I've played a lot of HOG games.and this is one of the better ones. Every HOS is easy to play; you can see all the objects - they are not dark and tiny. The story is pretty much what you'd expect - Good vs Evil. And there seems to be a sequel promised. Hopefully it lives up to this one
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good not great Graphics was ok, Has voice over. Music will put you to sleep. Not a bad story. The HOS can be a job to find them all but the puzzles are ok. The hint button works well and is fast. The skip button is a little slower but ok. You do a lot of going all over the place to find items to use. It is a little slow of a game but is ok.
Date published: 2013-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hats Off for that Opening Scene! One of the best visuals I have seen in a long time. Hats off to the developers for the opening scene. They went all out by using real film and actors which really is the most outstanding thing about this game. I loved the cut scenes, sharp graphics, artwork, visuals and sound effects. All superbly done. Also I have to praise the storyline, being a fan of one of the great conpiracies that involve the mystery of the Philospher Stone, I was totally captivated. However that is all the high marks that the game will get from me. When it comes to the rest, I found nothing really outstanding about Dark Heritage. It is your basic Adventure/HOG with game features that include two play modes. Game mechanics are supported with only a journal and a hint system that does refill quickly. There is no map, no collectables (other than a few scrolls, which are too easy to find), and no achievement which I think would have made this game much more interesting and challenging to play. You have your run of the mill tasks, collecting inventory items, solving puzzles and playing the odd mini-games. HO scenes are slightly interactive with easy to find items. As there is no map, you have your journal/diary to help you and there is alot of back-tracking involved. As I said, really very basic gameplay which was a bit of a letdown for me. With all the work that was put into the visuals, I had high expectations but instead, found myself getting a bit bored by the end of the demo. I just found the gameplay too predictable. However, I anticipate that this game will be an instant hit for many and I too am looking forward to continuing on with the journey and finding the Philospher's Stone.
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Engaging story and good gameplay! The opening scenes in this game are very well done...great voiceover, a bit of intrigue, and it makes you feel like the world will stop turning if you don't play the game and save the world as we know it. The options list is generous and provides sliders for music and sound, as well as offering a full-screen option, a cursor option, a game difficulty option, a voiceover option, and aspect correction. I find that very generous and it should provide what just about every game player would ask for. The voiceovers are good...but there is a time or two when the words you hear are not in sync with the person who is speaking..and live actors are used, which I find more engaging than the drawn ones. The hint system is helpful both in and out of hidden object scenes. The hidden object scenes are typical junkpile, with most items fairly easy to see, but a few very well hidden. The hint button recharges very quickly..about 30 seconds in the regular game mode I played in. The integrated strategy guide stays open where you left off, but goes back to the beginning once you leave the game, so you have to find where you left off every time you start the game again. That is one of the negatives for me....for the game.as long as I'm playing with the same profile, the guide should stay where I leave it when I leave the game..but this one doesn't. The puzzles/mini-games are along the line of most, with a few new twists here and there and all are skippable in about a minute. The story and gameplay move along nicely with some back and forth travel, so wear your walking shoes. There is a diary that keeps your notes, but nothing that allows you to jump from place to place...so pay attention to where you are in the game..lol..or you'll get lost like I did. Thank goodness for the strategy guide or I'd still be rambling about in the game. In the story, a much-loved teacher/mentor has summoned you to a place to help get rid of a bad guy and secure the Philosopher's Stone....with a nifty ending and decent bonus play. Overall..an engaging story, good voiceovers, good graphics and animations, fun interaction in hidden object scenes, and good length of play..for me...around 6 and 1/2 hours...but I'm a slow player..check everything out..never in a hurry. Try the game if you want a neat story and great gameplay with a few twists and turns that you just don't expect.
Date published: 2012-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great HOG! I knew 5 minutes into the trial I was buying this game. The movie clips are the best I've seen and the graphics are outstanding. The bonus play was pretty short, but fit with the rest of the story seamlessly. I even enjoyed most of the mini games, which I usually skip over. Overall, a really good game.
Date published: 2012-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD GAME I beta'd this game last week and I am impressed that the developers listened to what I had to say or what some of use had to say and changed it. It was regarding the Introduction - the graphics were very grey - now they are colourful. I like that!!! Thank you! The game has beautiful graphics and colours. There is a lot of back and forth, but I am managing fine. The puzzles are good, not too difficult and come with clear instructions. Objects in the Hidden Object Scenes are not difficult to find. It is very easy on the eyes. This is one of the better Hidden Object/Aventure games that have been offered lately (my opinion).
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved it! Great storyline, graphics are awesome. Puzzles are challenging but not too hard. Thoroughly enjoyed it, well worth it :)
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope CE Dr. Gordon Child has requested your help, "I'm in great danger, remember everything I've taught you, the key to finding the stone is in the medallion"! Dr Child's research lead him to the discovery of the 17th century manuscripts of the Order of Cannon Rock. The manuscripts prove that Arthur Rosen, the founder of the Order, created the legendary Philosopher's Stone. Rosen knew the stone would be dangerous if it fell into the wrong hands, so he hid it. Indeed it landed in wrong hands, a madman has come to the island, hundreds have died by his hands including the Grand Master of the Order! You will find 9 prophecy scrolls throughout the game (not exactly well hidden) and these scrolls will enlighten you with facts surrounding the Philosopher's Stone. Only the chosen one can locate the stone and will bring forth light to the land after seeking the help of the guardians. The Hidden Object Scenes are interactive list finds, some of the items require interactions such as finding a rubber stamp and placing the stamp onto an inkpad and then onto a piece of paper which will stamp a picture of a rose which is on the list. Most of the mini games are fun, some are a bit frustrating. There are games that require you to flip the breaker levers until all fuses are lit but each lever you flip also affects other levers (frustrating) One of the games I thought was fun was deciphering a code by matching symbols and letters. This Collectors Edition has wallpapers, the making of the game, a built in Strategy Guide and a bonus game. There are different Amulet Chapters, The Water Amulet/The Earth Amulet/The Fire Amulet/The Air Amulet. I actually own this game and have played it a couple of times and the story is interesting from start to finish, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Bad! I always play a demo in the easy mode. If easy is too easy, I don't bother. I found the graphics a bit fuzzy, but not so bad that I wouldn't purchase because of it. HOGs were fun, but a bit pale in color, not difficult. Game play was good, music good. Nice voice-overs, SG and hint system (didn't care for the blood splatter when using the hint#. Nice job mixing real with fantasy. So why click on a ghost if they aren't going to do anything but run away? Funny.. I prefer seeing the number of chapters up front on any game, which gives me an idea of approximately how long it is. So tired #no pun intended) of the sleepy eye in all these games. This game didn't grab me, but I found it interesting enough to want to finish. Not sure if I'm going to use the special today, or hold it in the puddle for a really nice special. I will purchase at some point. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2012-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good way to spend an afternoon Decent game though most of the puzzles could have used a reset button. A good way to spend an afternoon or two when you have the time.
Date published: 2012-06-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from best HO The story is told in an interesting and suggestive style. it has good story but is pepetitive
Date published: 2012-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Fun! I really liked playing the demo of this game a lot. Nice graphics.
Date published: 2012-06-14
  • y_2022, m_5, d_26, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_14721, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Heritage: Guardians of Hope Collector's Edition

Your favorite professor summons you to the island of Castle Rock. He wants you to find the philosopher’s stone and save the world!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.