Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel

Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(226.00 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

During a road trip your friend's daughter is kidnapped by a mysterious man at the Penumbra Motel, the scene of murder and strange occurrences 50 years ago. You must head into the heart of madness to not only find the girl, but unravel the mystery haunting the descendants of the Penumbra family and the Motel grounds.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 446 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(226.00 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 77.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth playing for the mini games I love mini games and in this one there were a lot of really challenging ones that you really had to work hard at to solve. Most of them were games that I had not came across before.
Date published: 2012-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OUTSTANDING Just finished the Demo..what a great game..they did a great job of mixing in the real video's with the game play..loved the way the ghost came in and talked to her to warn her..the visuals and sounds were crisp and clear and sound was great..the ho's were alot of fun to play not to hard..I highly recommend this game to all level of players..have a blast with it..well worth the buy
Date published: 2012-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't stop playing! If you like spooky puzzle games, then this is for you! I loved this game. I even shouted out at the computer several times in startling suprise! I got completely wrapped up in the game and couldn't stop playing until i either fell asleep from exhaustion or beat the game! There are 3 different options for dificulty level. This game does not contain any HOS that i remeber. It is all about exploring and finding useful items, solving puzzles that were new, fun, and challenging, and interacting with the environment. Some of the puzzles were quite difficult. I loved the variety! I love spooky or even scary games so this was right up my alley. The hint system was perfect - i never had to close out of the game to consult a walkthrough. As far as getting through the game, the CE strategy guide was not needed. I am so glad that i found and played this game, I hope to find more like this one! Enjoy!
Date published: 2012-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game I was pleasantly surprised, I didn't expect that much. Some may call it a pure Adventure but you still look for things so I call it a HOPA with no HO scenes. That's fine by me, I like HO scenes just not that much. The game is long, full of puzzles, some mini games. Reminds me of Nightmare Adventures - The Witch's Prison.
Date published: 2012-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great adventure game! This is not a HOG but pure adventure. I played in Hard mode. The storyline is very interesting, with ghosts and puppets. - The graphics are crisp and couldn't be better! - The puzzles are not the ones you usely get. Most of them are quite challenging. I was sometimes happy to sneek into the walkthrough... - There are many locations, a lot of going back and forth and no map, so I got lost a number of times. - The journal is clear and contains the clues you found for the puzzles. - The hint system is like "there is nothing to do here". This is one of the best games I played, challenging, long - it took me nearly 5 hours to finish - and with a great storyline. It reminds me a lot of the MCF adventures. Thanks ERS for another wonderful game!
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of fun no HO's thank heavens Bring us more like this! Pure adventure no HO's. I love adventures and we need, we WANT more like this!!!!!!!
Date published: 2012-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this game! This game is great! Great background music, not intrusive nor annoying at all. The graphics are great. I do like the storyline and the live actors. But most of all, NO HO in this game at all. So refreshing. For me, that's the greatest thing about this game. The "flow" is not interrupted by an HO mini game. I love BigFish Games, but I wish more games didn't not have the HO feature. I play only the Adventure games here, but there's still HOs. Two thumbs up!
Date published: 2012-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best HIdden Object game so far! I really enjoyed this game. It is just hard enough and I really liked not having to search for hidden objects in a room full of stuff! It really keeps your mind active. Will there be more Dark Alley games coming soon?
Date published: 2012-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Hidden Object Scenes! Finally a game that is all adventure with no hidden object scenes. I play these games with my 6 year old and his interested wonders when it comes to the hidden object scenes. As does mine at times. We also play on casual/easy mode. We take all the help we can get and will skip games if too hard to complete in a short period of time. There were times when I was lost on what to do. There were no Goals displayed, the hint button didn't help & there were no sparkles to be found. The ending left some to be desired, but also left it open to a squeal. We both liked that the characters in the game appeared real and that they talked, therefore you didn't have to read all the dialogue. I would love to play more games like this!
Date published: 2012-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must for adventure fans Not a single hidden object scene in the entire game! Explore creepy locations, talk to ghosts and eccentrics, and rescue your friend's daughter from the bad guy. This is a very long game and the puzzles can be very tricky. If you enjoy exploring and using your noggin, then do yourself a favor and get Penumbra Hotel.
Date published: 2012-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Hidden Objects! What a different style of game! No hidden object games to play whatsoever. The graphics were stellar, as was the music. I thoroughly enjoyed this game and would play it again. Don't worry, you won't be disappointed with having no HOG's it's that good.
Date published: 2012-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO HO SCENES!! this is one of my favorite games and so great to get a break from the HO scenes! they could be eliminated entirely everywhere in my opinion.....this game is worth buying in my opinion...
Date published: 2012-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super game! After playing the trial, knew I had to buy it!...Dark, deep mystery storyline, keeping you really hopping!...Hint button isn't extremely useful, but a very good and intriguing HO! A definite yes for me!
Date published: 2012-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good old point and click I absolutely loved this game. I used to really enjoy point and click adventures and only started playing HOGs when they became interactive. I much prefer minigames to HOS and never could see the point of finding objects just to show you had keen eyesight. That said this is exactly the sort of gameplay I like. Examine a scene, find something useful then work out how and when to use it. OK I did need to use the hint button to check when I had cleared an area and occasionally had to go to the walkthrough but that doesn't bother me, I still had hours of fun. More like this please.
Date published: 2012-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No HOS scenes I really enjoyed this game. It's hidden object game without the HOS scenes. Some areas a little dark but otherwise okay. Didn't like some of the music (personal tastes).
Date published: 2012-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Alleys : Penumbra Motel it had a good story about it and the graphics are great however there comes a time when I had to go threw the walkthrough to figure out where to go because the hints only said (nothing to do here ) but did not explain what to do or go next - but it is a fun game if you like hidden objects and ghostly people !!!
Date published: 2012-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An atmospheric puzzle game. This game contains no hidden object scenes which I generally find preferable to ones that do. The puzzles are relatively taxing and the storyline engaging. The live action sections are better than most with the characters' voices actually matching their mouth movements. It was fairly intuitive although I did find myself having to use the hint button a bit more than I normally would like to to find out what to do next.The finale is somewhat sedate but you still feel as if you come away with value for money.
Date published: 2012-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Adventure.....No Hidden Objects, No Sparkles! SE version appears glitch free. Shows tasks button but it is not functioning in the SE version. Music supposed to be spooky, but it reminds me of an old movie (circa 1940-1950) kinda humorous made me smile (can’t remember the name), it sounds so familiar. No map and not so much trekking to and fro. No HOG therefore no sparkles. Visually graphics are similar to Escape from Ravenhaurst (cluttered and astatically, not visually disturbing). Rooms look like you would expect in an abandoned old motel…looks like you would expect a hobo to appear at any minute and build a fire in the middle of the room. Three options of play casual, expert and hard core. I played expert. The hint button does take a while to recharge and the skip button on puzzles takes a very long time to charge. Puzzles are different, some challenging, a couple frustrating (planet puzzle), hang in there they are do able, just very thought provoking. One puzzle seems to repeat itself, but it starts small and gradually grows more complex, not overly difficult. Scenes maybe put off some, there are lots of skeletons “hanging around” and ghost galore. Nothing disgusting or scary. If you hate bugs, well there are lots of them. If your dislike games with the occult beware, this has films that give you the impression that’s where they were going. The ending was somewhat abrupt. Just sort of stopped, but not really sure what I expected…were they supposed to just continue to grandma’s house? Was the professor really who he said he was? Oh well, I was enjoyable for adventure and no HO/sparkles. Got the imagination going and was entertaining.
Date published: 2012-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TRICKY, CHALLENGING PUZZLES I loved this game! It's no HOS by any means, but is a fun, challenging, interactive puzzle game. I played the hardest level and it really kicked my butt. It's been a while since I had such a challenge. Well worth the money and more. Really appreicated the longer play time. In this one you have to collect items to move through the levels and solve puzzles. There are no lists of things to find, but you don't miss it at all. Decent story, you have to save your daughter who disappears when you stop for gas. Some of the storyline is a bit vague and confusing, but who cares when you have a great game to play.
Date published: 2012-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great game! Highly recommended! To play Dark Alleys was like being inside a thriller ! Great suspense story : a kidnapping in a sinister place, where murders (with an ax,) took place half century ago! Outstanding cutscenes with real people, perfect VO and excellent sountrack ! You feel in a movie theater. The game is listed as HO, but is totally different from the usual scenes full of objects - is more an adventure game, and as you go along, you will finding and using things that go into inventory . One great thing is that not has to be going back and forth too much. It has mini games, some already known, but with different details and difficulties - like put together electrical wires, but in a brand new way! Really enjoyable. It has a box where you store the tapes you are going collecting ... and MUST watch ! There are three difficult modes- casual, hard and advanced. I played in hard mode and, although not very challenging, the game is incredibly motivating, fun and entertaining. I had played the free trial of the CE, butit ended after 40 minutes. Now I will buy the SE.
Date published: 2012-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great adventure game. This game is brilliant. It is a simple click and play, you find objects and then place them where they belong in order to make the game's plot progress. It is not a HO game, by the way. Graphics are well made, gameplay is smooth and fast reacting. This game's developers put the extra time and everything they had in order to make the cutscenes looking as real as can be, with actors instead the usual animation, and music that creates the atmosphere needed for this kind of thriller genre. From only playing the demo I established a need to own this game...
Date published: 2012-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GIVE IT A TRY! I just completed the demo, which took me 48 minutes. I will definitely be buying this one. I actually enjoyed not being slowed down by HO scenes for a change. The puzzles are fun; not too challenging yet, but one of the reviews stated that they do get more challenging as the game goes on. You should at least give the demo a try with this one!
Date published: 2012-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had to buy it its a ERS game ERS games are great so I played for 30 min and got it for free. I would have bought it also. Great graphics and the sound is good. I love adventure games so this is up my alley. DO not care if there is no HOS. Looks like a good game to play. Try it.
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Game This is one of the only games I actually finished in one day! I really liked the story line and the visual graphics. It was exciting and was challenging enough to keep me intrested without having to press the hint button too many times. The only thing I did not like about the game was that there were no hidden object scenes. I am glad, however, that I didn't see that in the description as I might not have bought it and would have missed out on a great game!
Date published: 2012-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favourites There is not really enough I can say to reccommend this game. It is magnificently put together with a good creepy storyline, graphics, many locations and endless puzzles that test your ability ranging from easy to hard ones. There are no hidden object scenes but this is fine, as most games have them, whereas in this game you have to work to find many objects and decide how and where to use them.I played this on advanced level though, hardest of 3 options, so an easier level may make things easier for some players. The graphics are good with some special effects, and the whole package is great. I would like to see more games like this on the market. May suit a more experienced player better than a novice, but all should find this a very enjoyable experience. If there is one aspect I can identify for improvement it would be that I would like the music to be a little more sinister, as there are many creepy moments, my favourite involves a ghost dog.
Date published: 2012-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My kind of game When looking for games, I always sift through the reviews hoping someone will say how much HO the game has because I try to avoid HOS. I was pleasantly surprised to find there were no HOS in this game. It was not a pretty game with regards to scenery, but it was interesting and had lots to find and do.
Date published: 2012-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Need more like this I liked everything about this game. The storyline, the characters, and the graphics. The music wasn't annoying like some of the similar games. I would highly recommend this game if you like a challenge and are not afraid of the dark........lol. Will definitely buy this one
Date published: 2012-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Special If for no other reason than the wonderful sound effects, fun music and not too hard puzzles, this game is an excellent time. I found myself laughing out loud at times then enthralled in the artistry. Totally enjoyable game and I'm so glad to have found it!
Date published: 2013-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved it ! Sick and nutty , my favorite ! I liked the atmosphere, the motel, the dreary rooms, it was lots of fun !
Date published: 2012-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LILTURBO it is my favorite of all time game.
Date published: 2013-06-16
  • y_2021, m_11, d_28, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_14852, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Alleys: Penumbra Motel

Rescue a young girl from the Penumbra Motel. Solve puzzles, unravel a long standing mystery of death and disappearances in this heart-pounding adventure game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.