Haunting Mysteries: The Island of Lost Souls

Haunting Mysteries: The Island of Lost Souls

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(134.97 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Free the trapped souls and reunite a love long lost in Haunting Mysteries: The Island of Lost Souls! Trapped on a seemingly deserted Island after a malevolent force brings down your plane, you must discover what brought you to the Island and how you can escape its hold. Help the Island’s former inhabitants as you make your way across the Island. Search stunning Hidden Object scenes and solve mind-bending puzzles as you uncover the truth in Haunting Mysteries: The Island of Lost Souls.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 817 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Haunting Mysteries: The Island of Lost Souls

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(134.97 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Haunting Mysteries: The Island of Lost Souls is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This one is addicting I like HOGs that have special items to search for within the game. The extra challenge of hunting for the lost souls was terrific. Very good HOG, quick hint refills, great graphics, good music. The other puzzles were challenging and fun but not impossible to figure out. It also has both the creep and fear factor because you don't know what to expect.
Date published: 2012-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haunting Mysteries: The Island of Lost Souls Brilliant game. Reminded me of the Midnight Mysteries collection which I also loved. THE GAME: - Help the restless souls on the island and defeat the evil one to save the good ones. - Lovely graphics; nice and clear. - Clicking between locations in the game was a bit slow some times, but mostly quite good. HOS/PUZZLES: - HO scenes were ok, nothing too special. Each item I could find fairly easily. Some interaction. Some scenes were a little frustrating as there was light shining onto the pile of items and you couldn't see them overly well. - Puzzles ranged between difficulty. Most were quite simple but others needed a little thought. Most of the puzzles I've seen before. WHAT DO YOU GET? - No journal or map. (I played on Advanced though so maybe you do get a journal if you play Casual). - 32 awards to gain, e.g. complete a HO scene in under a minute, or complete a puzzle without help. - 40 'faces' to collect. - Three modes of play; Casual, Advanced and Expert. LENGTH OF GAME: - Very good length for a SE game. Took me just under 4 hours to complete. You do get time penalties for not completing puzzles though. All in all, thoroughly enjoyed. Would definitely recommend.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good game This game was so easy to follow.....The hint tells you just what you need to do & even shows you which objects in your inventory to use.....The VOs were very good because you're talking to a soul & you can't see their mouth move anyway, but it's very understandable......The story flows smoothly & there's not a lot of running around trying to find what goes where.....You do backtrack but only by a scene or two.....The graphics were done neatly & things are easy to see but some of the objects in the HOs are hard to find......You have to move some things around to find an object or some of them are blended in so well it takes some time to find them......I played in the casual mode & this game was very relaxing & easy to follow.....Also, you don't tear your hair out trying to find things or where to go next......I highly recommend this game & I commend the developers on a job well done......Would love to see more like this......Thanks Big Fish & I hope the devs bring us lots more games....
Date published: 2012-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from few reservations but really enjoyed it Admitedly i had a few reservations about this game so i tried the trial version first and within 10 mins had decided to buy. The storyline is great although there is a lot of running back and forth - no map so trying to remember where you needed to go was a bit of a pain. Some of the HO scenes were fuzzy so used the hint button quite a few times although it does recharge pretty quick on casual mode. I fnished the game in 2 1/2 hours and it was really good, didnt want it to end!
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adventure!! I loved this game from the moment I hit Play. No hints except for HO's and no journal or map. Lots of locations, but they keep your activity to one area at a time so you aren't running too far. The puzzles were fun, maybe a little easy....but I was having a good time. I don't use sound so no idea there. When there is dialog you can hit the space bar to go at your own pace of reading which I love. I thought it was a well put together game.
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hats Off! A fun game, designed with humor. Artwork is exceptional with authentic scenes. Well researched. The Creative team deserves an award.
Date published: 2012-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game The graphics are great and game play progresses logically. I played on the difficult level and the puzzles were interesting, but not too difficult, although I did check the walk through for one of the puzzles because I could not decipher the object of the game from the instructions. I enjoyed the format for the HOS.
Date published: 2012-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from island of lost souls this is a great game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!---A+++++++++++
Date published: 2012-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game game was fun lots of things too do
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most delightful game!! A most delightful game with a great story with a truly wonderful ending. This game also has a lot of awards to find although they are not mentioned what they are. The voice over is very well done. The mini game were a joy to do, some were a little hard, but none the less very enjoyable. This game is well worth the money.
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from POOR LOST SOUL From the demo this one started out slow for me then grabbed me as I went along..the voice overs were outstanding the visuals are great..this is one that i will definenly buy..ive got to see what happens with lillian ... her crying got to me the most
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable Game Fun to play. Many different scenes and mini games.
Date published: 2014-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spooky Fun Game A very fun spooky game from the very beginning. Love the 3D quality of it.
Date published: 2013-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Island of lost souls The game is great but, but the HOS are too dark
Date published: 2013-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NICELY DONE Very interesting and intriguing puzzles - even with instructions, have to figure out exactly what needs to be done. Like that there are various awards given. Saving the souls always is interesting to me. Enough other reviews to give you the details. I didn't intend to buy it, but changed my mind 30 minutes into the game.
Date published: 2013-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gets progressively more difficult! Awards & achievements in SE TITLE—Haunting Mysteries: The Island of Lost Souls VERSION—Standard Edition (full game) DEVELOPER—Fuzzy Bug Interactive GENRE—Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure (supernatural) STORYLINE—You're flying north of Scotland when an unnaturally strong storm suddenly forms and forces you to crash land on an uncharted island. You soon discover the island is uninhabited as well, with the exception of a myriad of spirits trapped by an evil ghost bent on fulfilling an unrequited love. In order to escape the island, you must free the spirits and banish the ghost, presumably to you-know-where. OVERVIEW—I bought this on a whim when it was offered to me at discount after acquiring another game. Many Fishies who reviewed it indicated they thought it should have been a CE. That, plus the attention to detail I noticed in the graphics shown in the screen shots intrigued me. I was pleasantly surprised to find a familiar storyline extremely well done, brilliant graphics, and a game that became progressively more difficult. GAMEPLAY—Point 'n' click adventure with HO scenes and puzzles. The HO scenes start out relatively simply—zoomed in views with larger objects—and progress to incredibly difficult—full rooms with small, well-hidden objects. Similarly, the "haunted souls" are, in the beginning" easy to spot. Near the end, there were several scenes where I couldn't find the soul to save my own life. Puzzles were mostly familiar, but saved by the gorgeous graphics and level of difficulty. INTERFACE—Journal: None. Map: None, and while there is some backtracking, it's not onerous. Hints: You'll need them! See the rest of my review. Specials: 32 awards to be won, and 40 "haunted souls" to be found. The "haunted souls," while remaining in one place, tend to morph in and out as shadows move, candles flicker, etc. Strategy Guide: N/A. TECHNICAL—Didn't accept my trackpad's tap setting; I had to actually click. GRAPHICS—Incredible use of color, texture, and light and shadow to accent the mood of each scene, to aid in hiding items in the HOs, and to add to the player's immersion into the game. CUTSCENES—The "storytelling" cutscenes were mainly each spirit just shimmering while the voiceover filled you in. There was good in-game action animation (when putting a key into a lock, for example). MUSIC—I heard two themes repeated ad nauseum, and often abruptly cutting off to dead silence. This is an area where the devs could use improvement. And, really, you don't have to have a melody playing all the time. But at least give us some ambient sounds, some moodiness. Go back and play Myst to see how it's done really well. SOUND—Same complaint as "music." Other than waves crashing onto shore when you were near ocean, there was often dead silence. Ambient sounds add a LOT to player immersion. VOICEOVER—Absolutely perfect. Other devs should play this game just to see how voiceovers should be done. SUMMARY—If the music and sound had been on point, I could have given this game 5 stars. The devs took an old story and retold it beautifully with the help of brilliant voice acting, excelled in the graphics department, and developed a game that grew progressively more difficult from beginning to end. If they step it up in the music/sound area and give us some unique storytelling, I can't wait to see what they do next.
Date published: 2013-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good but short the graphic and the story were good but overall lenght of the game wasn't long enough. I'm finding that the games nowadays are only allowing you to complete one task at a time. The inventory you carry is mininal and that makes it the overall game too easy. imho ('12)
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really great game Great graphics and story. Some puzzles left me confused, but I still liked the game.
Date published: 2012-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well Done! This game is a real treat. I felt it was very user-friendly in its mini games and object/ghost interaction. Not too many hidden object games, and the back and forth wasn't obsessive.
Date published: 2012-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just creepy enough Liked this game very much. Enjoyed the traveling to Scotland. Loved the voices of the characters. Help Lillian get free from the hands of evil. Hints not of much use. Graphics beautifully done. I did not find all the lost souls, hidden too well. Would have liked the story to last a bit longer, not many places to explore. But for an afternoon of fun try this game.
Date published: 2012-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Haunting Mysteries: The Island of Lost Souls (imo, based on demo) - This started pretty slow for me. The game initially came up in a window, then transitioned to full screen, sort of - with a black bar across the top of the screen. First time that's ever happened for me, & maybe a resolution adjust will fix it, i don't know. The intro scene of crashing my plane was just flat, but as soon as i got out of the plane it was a different world of enthralling graphix, which i think look great. I really like the atmosphere attained by the combination of art, lonely sea sounds, & the real sense of being stranded alone on this haunted, unmapped, ghost inhabited island. The music could have been left out tho - it doesn't enhance the feel of the game, & cuts out noticably. Transition between scenes is sluggish, which is a bit irritating for me, but i've seen worse. HOscenes are junk pile & some items are pretty tough to see. No map or journal. Hints are simplistic, ie: "Theres nothing to do here now". There are achievements, and (*possible spoiler*) there are haunted souls to find throughout the game, but keep your eyes peeled 'cause they're blended into the surroundings well & appear as ghostly faces, which i found quite by accident. I've not heard of this dev, but wouldn't be surprised if they're pretty new to casual games, since the whole thing does feel a bit rough. However, it's a worthy effort on their part, & i'd look for more & better offerings in the future. I'm finding this ghost story enticing enough to keep playing, & am further drawn in by the presentation of the ghosts themselves, which are quite well done, with very good voice acting. I missed the CE of this somehow, but don't think i'd go there regardless because the game isn't as smooth as a CE should be. But overall the SE seems good, with ghosts, hauntings, nice artwork, & a decent story, & i foresee good stuff yet to come beyond the demo time. I'd recommend giving it a try if you like ghost stories & spooky places to roam. I do, so i'm going to go press Buy Now & save some lost souls. Have fun gaming, folks!
Date published: 2012-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice game! The storyline is good (as the title says: free the lost souls on an island...). I played in expert mode. The sound is good. The graphics are clear. Sparkles indicate the HOS. The puzzles are quite easy. It would have been nice to have a map, but there are not that many locations, so it's ok. It's not a very long game (I needed 3 1/2 hours), but I nevertheless spent a good time!
Date published: 2012-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's not stunningly amazing, just a good HO game. This is a good HO game. The storyline is nothing new and nothing exciting either, but, it exists so you will be able to help this game's ghostly heroes with their after life wishes. You start by being on an airplane, you get into a sudden storm, evil eyes looking at you from within the clouds, your airplane crashes to the sea, miraculously you survive, and you discover an island with ghosts that seek your help. Lame script, I wouldn't go to watch this movie. The graphics of this game are good, I enjoyed playing the HO scenes, You find objects and you use them in the various scenes. Hint button recharges fast skip button available and puzzles are OK, this game is not to difficult, and its good for spending time.
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Definite YES! I passed on the CE version of this game because I just thought it just did not meet the standards that I set for what qualifies as a CE game. THerefore I settled to wait for the SE version and I am glad I did. Granted that the storyline is nothing we havent seen and the game mechanics involve your run of the mill Adventure HOG. Story begins with the plane crash and although I do like the occasional backstory, I was put off by the fact that there was no journal or map included. after surviving the crash, you find yourself on a deserted island haunted by trap spirits who are kept by a madmen bent on unrequited love. So once again there are sould to be saved, HO scenes to play and puzzles to solve. Like I said, nothing really outstanding. Graphics are good, occasionally dark and grainy due to weather conditions. Voiceover acting is very authentic. HO scens are junk-piled and interactive, not as easy as one would predict. Some items were just too small or too dark to find. Puzzles were unique and enjoyable. The most challenging aspect of the game was collecting the 40 souls hidden throughout. Very difficult to spot in some cases and there are awards to gain as well. Word of warning, bring along your extra pair of running shoes and be prepared to meet some very interesting characters. Overall, a very good game to have especially as a SE, a bit on the short side but nevertheless, worth having.
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game! A good story, well developed. Gorgeous graphics, as well as VO and soundtrack. Very good suspense atmosphere. Scenes with the lost souls are really neat and well made. HOS are well balanced, not really interactive, without much challenge - even with a few objects hard to see - because the hint fills fast, even in the hard mode. Some mini games are pretty fun, others not so much. No map or journal, but is not a problem since there is not much coming and going. I really like games of this genre / theme (ghosts, lost souls, haunted places), but The Island of Lost Souls, despite being fun and entertaining, it's kind of slow compared to the others, sometimes tires waiting.
Date published: 2012-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Game, Excellent Value BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS I liked the intro to this one. After being downed by a freak storm, your first objective is to escape the plane before it sinks, and get to land. It is exciting and well done. When you reach landfall, you find yourself on an uncharted island, apparently abandoned, except by mournful ghosts! Helping these lost souls becomes the motivation for the game. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The graphics are clear and cut scenes are done well, perhaps a little rough when compared with the kinds of art we see now. And there is not much in the way of eye candy, the scenes are kinda dull. A really nice touch was the voices. Throughout the game, we do not have a voice, only our “thought bar”. So for a while it looks as though there will be no voiceovers. However, upon meeting our first ghost, we they do have voices – very enchanting Scottish voices to be precise. There are also some lengthy periods of silence, depending on how long it takes you to do stuff. MAKING PROGRESS HO scenes dominate the gameplay in this one. I found the HOs a tad more challenging than most, and part of that is the rough graphics, and partly because the cursor is pretty finicky, but it is also because the objects are well hidden. HOs are interactive list, with some lists being challenging to complete because they include many multiples of one item. Not too many puzzles, and I didn’t have trouble with most of them. Hint is pretty useless outside HO scenes, there is no journal and no map, so there is that element of greater challenge. BLING! I say excellent value because, with this game, you get many of the features of Collectors’ Edition without the price tag. There are 40 morphing collectibles (cleverly hidden), 32 secret awards, and a game timer. (It took me exactly 4 hours to play) FAMOUS LAST WORDS This game is interesting and involving. The characters are very appealing. If not overwhelming, it at least promises a pleasant afternoon’s distraction.
Date published: 2013-08-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from just ok I didn't really care for this game because the graphics were blurry. Didn't know I had to find 40 ghosts till game was over. Easy game. I got this for 2.99 so it was ok.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from it was ok The hint button works fast. The story was old to me. Maybe I play to many games. It was a little boring. The graphics are good and has voice over. I just could not get into this one. The HOS you really had to look.
Date published: 2012-09-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good solid hidden object adventure game This is most definitely a hidden object game; I found a lot of them. The graphics were a little fuzzy (sorry couldn’t resist a pun on the developers name) & a lot of the objects were well hidden or blended & took a while to find. The artwork was colourful & the island well depicted & as the game progresses a lot of new scenes will open up. There isn’t a map but you do tend to pretty much finish with one area before moving on to the next so although there is a lot of moving back & forth it is not too onerous. The mini puzzles were a blend of the usual, put together a photo, join up wires but there were some that I hadn’t seen before & it was fun to try & figure out how to solve them, they ranged from easy (once you know what to do) to average in difficulty. There are two modes of play, casual with a 30 second hint recharge, sparkles & glints or expert with a 60 second hint, sparkles for the H0s only & a time penalty if you skip a puzzle. The game does keep track of how long you take to play & the hint is useful in that it points where to go & also tells you when a scene has no further actions. There are 32 awards to win & you can find a list on the main menu; there are also 40 haunted souls to find. These are rather like morphing objects, however if you find them your eyesight must be really good, I only found half a dozen in the whole game. I would have been happier had they been made a little more obvious as they were simply too well blended into the scenery. The voiceovers were good & I liked the music & the background sounds; the story was interesting & you have to find an object to release each ghost so that they can leave the island. It took me around 3 hours to play & I didn’t feel I needed to get the Collector’s Edition as the ending was OK.
Date published: 2012-07-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for beginners!! The game is a basic HOG, pretty simple and straight forward all the way through. Not much challenge. It was smooth flowing,good graphics. Missing excitement, intrigue. So, it was ok, great game to start with. Cannot recommend, or not recommend!
Date published: 2012-06-22
  • y_2019, m_5, d_19, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_14920, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunting Mysteries: The Island of Lost Souls

Free the trapped souls and reunite a love long lost in Haunting Mysteries: The Island of Lost Souls!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.