Guardians of Magic: Amanda's Awakening

Guardians of Magic: Amanda's Awakening

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(84.37 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Join Amanda on this astounding journey between scientific and magical realms in Guardians of Magic: Amanda's Awakening! Explore 27 wondrous scenes and solve masterful puzzles to find the balance. Cast spells with your wand, build magical devices, and use technological savvy to stop Dr. Magus. With impressive mini-games, an engaging story, and an amazing ending, Guardians of Magic: Amanda's Awakening is a wonderful escape that's certain to please.

  • Engaging story with an exciting ending
  • Build magical devices to solve puzzles
  • Learn and cast magic spells

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 91 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Guardians of Magic: Amanda's Awakening

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(84.37 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Guardians of Magic: Amanda's Awakening is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 32.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Sweet Little Game Part of the appeal is you can't take it too seriously - perfect for those times when you're a little bit down and need a pick me up. Cute and cartoonlike with an overall brightness that left me with an uplifted feeling - it was an enjoyable hour of play. I found no HOS's in the demo and lots of simple puzzles which were fun to do. Is a great game for beginner's yet even the experienced can enjoy it. There is no map but the running around isn't excessive or offputting. There is a reference book with four parts to it - journal, constellations, spells and puzzles - which all have their uses. There is a hint button that functions as hint, friend and backstory. I'm having a hard time putting into words how the game comes across to me and the best word I can think of is charming. Definitely recommended to have in one's repertoire for those lazy, rainy days when a little pick-me-up is always welcomed. A solid 4 stars all around.
Date published: 2012-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Busy. busy. busy.... This is a game that keeps you going every minute. . Frought with puzzles - no HO scenes- you will find yourself busy the whole time. I won't go into great detail about the story and puzzles because the other reviewers have been very thorough and in those areas. The storyline itself is invoved and continually unfolds. You are Amanda, the grandaughter of a Magaician whom has passed. You've been summoned to rescue a guardian fairy?? from a crystal ball. So begins your foray into and introduction to magical powers. The puzzles are short and there are lots of them. Pretty much the old stand-bys. The artwork is wonderful. Very colorful and charming with music to match. There are voiceovers in the beginning but they drop off into readable dialogue. Very easy to see and much appreciated. They is no choice of game mode; you're stuck with the custom cursor, too. Mine gets swimmy which I hate. There is a hint that I found helpful, a skip for puzzles, a journal, and a spellbook. You collect pieces of a bubble blower to build and pages of the spellbook that are missing. You receive spells to use as you go along. There are puzzles and things to do everywhere. This game really keeps you busy. It's a bit old fashioned in it's feel but it's charming and good fun.
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SUPRISE!!! From the looks of this I didn't expect much but got a little gift for my morning trial:) I really enjoyed this. The story is cute and keeps you involved. It's made so that you are working on several tasks at once without even realising it. It is heavy in puzzles but they aren't hard enough to scare even the beginning players. Just a light fun game. No dark corners or monster!
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For The Young at Heart Magic versus Science is the age old battle that prompts Amanda to answer her Grandfather's plea and embark on a mysterious adventure that will change her life. With the help of Mera Whitelaw, a magical being imprisoned and who needs her help, Amanda finds herself on an adventure where she must undertake a variety of tasks in order to uncover the plans of Dr. Magus, a one time friend and now enemy of her dead Grandfather. At first Guardians of Magic appears to be a very simple Adventure-Puzzle game, designed for a much younger audience. However as I played on, I found myself being immersed into the game play which included finding blueprints and parts that needed to be combined in order to build magical machines, solving a variety of puzzles, solving riddles and helping out magical being with their demands. I also had to trace constellations in order to unlock gateways into other realms, cast spells and enter different realms and look for clues, all within the one hour demo. The graphics are cartoon style and sharp and there are voice-overs and sound effects as well. There is only one play mode and game features include a journal that provides you with notes, spells, blueprints to the machines that need building, constellations outlines and puzzles that can be re-played. The game mechanics is relatively easy, seek and find and as there is no map, expect alot of backtracking. Puzzles were very easy but fun and included finding pairs, spot the difference, weights and Tangrams. Hints are provided by your new friend Mera when needed and you also use the machines that you build to provide you with help. There were things in the game that did annoy me like the journal that kept popping up on my screen and the dialogue that passes too quickly. Nevertheless, It is an ideal game for a younger audience but I expect that adventure lovers who have a whimsical side and who are young at heart will enjoy this game. I was suprised to say that I did find it entertaining, charming and well executed. I do recommend that you try the demo and see for yourself. I you do have a punchcard sitting around, this could be well worth your while to spend a lovely afternoon with Amanda and friends.
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Hidden Object Game! Fun story line and challenging strategic puzzles.
Date published: 2013-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from CHILD'S GAME This was a "cute" game. Very Very short & very very simple. The puzzles were insanely easy. Graphics were colorful & nicely done. I recommend this game to anyone 12 years old & under.
Date published: 2013-11-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Innocent easy fun I loved this one as a kid's game - no gloom, monsters, ghosts, skeletons, or other scary stuff. The story is decent and interesting. The graphics are cartoonish but clearly drawn, puzzles are not overwhelming. There are enough clues along the way to keep you playing to the finish. I'm giving this one to the grandkids.
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good game, but way too short Overall, this was a very enjoyable game. I thought the art style was great, as was the plot, dialogue and voice acting. The puzzles had a good balance of repetition and variation (there were about 4 or 5 different puzzle types, each of which showed up 2 to 3 times), although I wish they had balanced the difficulty settings better (some puzzles in the beginning were hard to figure out, while the ones at the end were easy because I already knew what to do). My biggest problem with the game was that it was too short and there wasn't enough development of the plot. I beat this game in under 3 hours, when typically games I buy here at BigFish take me at least 6 hours. I would have appreciated more dialogue and character interactions (there were a few interesting characters to be found around the world that you couldn't interact with, for instance). The villain's motivations also fell flat to me (not to mention the "reason" given for the villain's actions was bizarre given the other information given about them). The "too long; didn't read" version: This is a good game, but I can't recommend it because it just didn't have enough content.
Date published: 2012-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Naive and easy game. Good for beginners. Cute story of a girl and her magician grandfather . At the beginning has VO, after the dialogues are written. Only one difficulty level You can skip tutorial, but it appear tips all the time. Well done and colorful graphics. Music calm but getting tired Mini games are easy and well known as tangram, finding pairs and they recur. As the game progresses, you gain spells. Not much emotion nor appeal, and is really easy...but it can be good entertainment for children or beginners.
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Puzzles and Adventure Notice the word puzzles first - NO HIDDEN OBJECT SCENES! Skip this paragraph if you don't want to know back story. Girl (your character Amanda) loves Grandpa who is into magic, but not you not so much. He introduces you to a scientist friend, Dr. Magnus who like you is into physics and chemistry. All good until Scientist and Magician have a fight; they never see each other again. Grandpa dies, Magnus does not attend the funeral. Game begins with you at his house. While at his house, you discover a "Guardian" is captured and she needs your magic help (yes, what you are not good at) to escape. Intro graphics are comic book quality, but drawing quality improves for the game. Options are Full Screened, Windowed and Sounds. Automatic Tutorial but can be turned off in the options. Puzzles during hour demo: Find combination and use it, block slider, Memory/Concentration, Jigsaw, Tangram, round disc slider, Find the differences, scale balance and continue the pattern. These types of puzzles repeat several times. Collectibles so far: Find 8 pieces to assemble a bubble machine designed by Grandpa which will reveal pieces of magic to you and second collectible are 10 pieces of a blueprint which will reveal a new object to assemble. Level travel: After finding the secret library, as you solve the puzzle boxes you find, you get maps to constellations which can be mapped out (yes another puzzle) in the telescope to unlock a secret painting in the library. You can then use magic in the form of moving your mouse in a specified motion to transport to that scene. There are many more spells to learn besides transport such as fire, etc. When you travel through the different pictures you reveal with the constellations they seem to represent different periods in time for the same location (so far). You do have a Journal which keeps track of the Puzzles you have done (which you can replay at any time during the game), Constellations, Spells and your Journal notes. The hint button is in the form of the captured Guardian who will say "maybe you should check somewhere else". ANY time you use the hint, it will need to be recharged - about 30 seconds. Overall decent game, but not sure if I'm in the mood today, maybe I'll get this game when I'm wanting some more old-style puzzles.
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but very short Though I thought the game had good graphics and the storyline was interesting, I found it to be very short. As a guide, where the common 'adventure/hidden object' type of game will take me a few hours to complete, this one was completed in a couple of hours - and I don't believe it was at all worth the cost of purchase. Would I play it again? Definitely. Would I spend money buying it again? No. Would I recommend it? No.
Date published: 2012-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Maybe I Should Look Around Some More.... After 29 minutes I had seen "Maybe I should...." one too many times. It's a great idea that isn't helped by having little to no guidance. Someone said it's a good game for a beginner. No way. And not good if you have high blood pressure. It's irritating, slow, no 'path' to follow. It's a story in search of a game, and it doesn't find one. The puzzles are ok, but, most really don't lead much of anywhere. Not one real 'AH HA!' moment in the first 29 minutes. I want my 'ah ha's!
Date published: 2012-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not my cup of tea!! I liked the story line. Usually magical stuff is fun but this game is just too crazy. There is no direction so you are left to figure things out on your own. This is fine but when you are playing the hour play, you don't want to waste time trying to figure out how to play. Then the game makes you do spells with a wand. The catch is that you have to trace a pattern JUST RIGHT or you don't go any where and you have to do it every time you need to go to a different part of the game. If you have nothing better to do and have loads of patience, this game is for you. If you like time management games or HOG that move better, I don't recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad, but nothing special either This game was ok. The graphics are a little gritty but not awful, the story line was mediocre. It's more of a puzzle game than a HOG, and it didn't keep my attention through the entire free trial. But if you're looking for a game to pass the time without wowing you, this will do the job.
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Guardians Of Magic: Amanda's Awakening Some games just don't age well, and this is one of those games that was probably fantastic back in the day, but is now dated and awkward to play. Amanda was raised by her Grandfather, Julian Reese, who was a well respected magician. Amanda wasn't very interested in magic or astrology, she was interested in science and chemistry, so Grandpa had his good friend Dr. Magus mentor and teach Amanda everything he knew in this field. After Grandpa's funeral, Amanda comes across a letter Grandpa left for her, warning her that she's in danger. Seems Grandpa had visions that Amanda would face great challenges and he left her the blueprints to a device that would help her face these magical challenges, a Clockwork Bubble Blower (how ridiculous does that sound) that reveals hidden secrets of the magical realm. There is very little to do in each location, there's usually only one or two items to pick up for inventory, and an occasional puzzle to solve. There aren't any Hidden Object Scenes in the demo, and I doubt there are any in the entire game. There are 8 pieces of the Bubble Blower device to find and eventually 10 pieces to the second device but that's after the demo. When you find a piece the blueprint pops up allowing you to rotate the piece until it's in the correct position. A fairy named Mera will become your hint icon, she's a friend of Grandpa's from the magic realm and she's been imprisoned and needs your help locating Grandpa's Spellbook to free her. Some of the Mini Games are listed below as brief descriptions from the demo: 1) Use directional arrows to key in the code you found in another scene. 2) Click and drag blocks to move the key to the lock. 3) Click and drag puzzle pieces to assemble the painting. 4) Flip over cards until all cards have been matched to their identical image. 5) Shut off the furnace by turning dials to reach 10 psi's on the meter. As I stated before, this game is old school, the mechanics of the game are clunky, and there's very few areas of interest, the puzzles are simplistic and this game isn't very entertaining.
Date published: 2016-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I agree with Stsfuzzybear Every game gives you a "hint" - the question is how well it performs. The hint button in this game doesn't give you much info, and has to recharge EVERY time you use it, even when it tells you "to look somewhere else". It wouldn't be so bad if it had a map. but nooooo. Doesn't anybody realize that most people play the games for the challenge, and walking back and forth from one location to another adds little value. Could it be that some developers omit both features because it makes for a longer game? I didn't finish the demo.
Date published: 2013-10-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very short. First let me say, I like almost everything about this game. Story, gameplay, puzzles, all good. When the trial ended, I intended to buy it. When I checked an online walkthrough though, I found that I had gotten exactly half way through it on a one hour trial. Even as a deal of the day, I just can't recommend a game this short.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Much too simple! Cute little game, but extremely simple. My grandson found it too easy and he's only 8. Nice graphics, although very simple and old school. Music okay but get annoying very quickly. Not really much to do anywhere in the game. Did not care for the hint system at all (please give me a real hint when I need one and a little direction). Extreme beginners might enjoy this game, but I personally found it to be very childish and simple. Not for me today. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2012-10-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from poorly done No hidden objects. Couldn't get a handle on it. Boring. slow moving (probably my fault). Easy games. They were fun. I'm bad at games. And, another MAGIC game! What's up with all this magic stuff! Cartoonish too.
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from WAY Too Short Finally a game that isn't about vampires, car crashes or violent and it only takes about 30 minutes to play. Thankfully it was a free game or I would have been really disappointed.
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Boring hidden object game Hints are terrible. Have to do the same thing repeatedly to get to different screen not just the first time. It is one of the most boring games I have played.
Date published: 2012-10-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Game Ever I've played some pretty bad games, but this was one of the worst. The graphics were bad, the game play itself was awful. Very little instruction for using different items in the game, and the hint button was always useless. I play a ton of hidden object games and most are pretty self explanatory, but this was beyond bad.
Date published: 2017-11-16
  • y_2021, m_6, d_14, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_15934, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Guardians of Magic: Amanda's Awakening

Open your eyes to a wondrous world in Guardians of Magic: Amanda's Awakening, a spectacular adventure of science and spell-casting.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.