The Great Unknown: Houdini's Castle

The Great Unknown: Houdini's Castle

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(171.97 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Your honeymoon is cut short when your plane crashes on an uncharted island in The Great Unknown: Houdini's Castle. You awake to discover a madman has kidnapped your husband. To get him back, you'll have to use all your wits to pass his sinister tests and solve the mysteries of Houdini's castle. Along the way, you'll uncover Houdini's secret past and learn about the brilliant apprentice who changed his life. Can you expose Houdini's greatest trick to save your husband and escape the island? Take the challenge in this thrilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 204 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Great Unknown: Houdini's Castle

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(171.97 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Great Unknown: Houdini's Castle is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 30.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Enjoyable HO Puzzle Game! You have your choice between Casual and Expert Modes. In Casual Mode, the Hints recharge quickly and game sparkles guide you toward new HOS.This game took me 6-1/2 hours on the Casual setting; I am sure it would have taken me much longer to play if I had selected Expert Mode. I had to resort to the Hint button occasionally, but only for the puzzles where you have to figure what what objects are related. Each time, once the Hint had shown me the answer, it seemed obvious, and these puzzles provided enough challenge to be interesting and yet not so much that it was frustrating. Hidden objects were often related to the scene, with minimal unrelated "junk" and no tiny items. Most hidden objects were easy to find; a few challenging ones kept me interested (I prefer puzzles to hidden object scenes.) Unlike another reviewer, I didn't have trouble with the hidden object scenes being too dark to see. It could be the normal variation between different computer monitors. If you have trouble seeing items, I suggest changing the monitor angle so the objects are easier to see. There was a good mixture between hidden object scenes, puzzles, and exploration/adventure. Puzzles were mostly of types frequently seen, but the art work related them well to the story, so I didn't mind. You have the option to Skip puzzles in the Casual Mode setting, but I didn't find this necessary. Directions are listed below each puzzle. I did not need any Hints for the puzzles, other than the puzzles that were related to hidden objects, as explained above. I did a fair amount of running back and forth, but that was because I often overlooked something that would have enabled me to finish a section. This non-linear approach to the game design means you can still make progress in the game, even if you have overlooked something, but you will have to do more running around to the various scenes. There were a lot of different scenes to explore, and the artwork was exceptionally good. The colors and tones added to the game's atmosphere, yet there were also beautiful outdoor scenes that contrasted wonderfully with the spooky atmosphere of the remaining scenes. Lots of skeletons, but minimal gore, which is the way I like it. The music added to the spooky atmosphere, and most of the background sounds did also. The cut-scenes were intriguing and helped immerse me into the story and game play. I missed one of the film reels, and will most likely replay the game to see if I can find it =) Fortunately, missing one film reel did not keep me from finishing the game! The ending is satisfying, you don't feel frustrated waiting for the next game to be released by this developer before you will know what happens. Give this game a try, I am glad that I did!
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good solid game It is a good, fun game, with not too much backtracking, and clever HOS (with a variation about finding matching objects), with objects that are relevant to the scene. The storyline is OK, and it moves along. I would give it five stars, but those I reserve for those games that "blow me out of the water". This is not one of them, but it is quite good.
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun! I enjoyed this game. The graphics were good and you didn't have to strain your eyes to see objects in hidden object scenes. Game play was modifiable through the menu, giving you the option of casual or difficult. Hints reloaded very quickly in casual mode. The challenges were not overly simple and I enjoyed the storyline which takes your through Houdini's castle on a mission.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review of Completed Game... There is a suitable ending in the SE edition which is two thumbs up for me. I would have liked to know a little bit more about what happens with the assistant but it wasn't necessary to enjoy the game. There are 2 difficulty levels. I played the hardest and although hidden object scenes didn't sparkle, every once in awhile, little glints would appear around certain areas especially if I took too long in one place. it wasn't overly annoying though. The gameplay was rather easy. There weren't that many puzzles but the ones they had I was able to do. The hidden object scenes were a mix of lists and associations. I liked the twist and not knowing which one you'd encounter. Some of the associations were hard, needed the hint button for sure. The story moved along by finding film reels. I liked that aspect, made the game make sense. The only thing missing in this game was the widescreen support button didn't work on my computer, clicked or unclicked. There were some dark places where I literally could not see the items I needed to find and a map would have been nice as there are a lot of places you need to go back and forth from especially in the beginning. Its a rather linear game but there are a lot of locations, a lot more than I originally thought and it flowed quite well. I had a fun time playing it although it was not the longest game. Probably took me 3 hours but short games can be fun too. I definitely recommend this one. Kudos to a new developer.
Date published: 2013-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked it I thought it was a good game. It had a good storyline, but I think it could have been longer. Other than that I liked it.
Date published: 2012-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than I expected The concept was a little farfetched, but I enjoyed the story line, the pictures and graphics were good, the puzzles were easy to medium, the HOS were sometimes difficult , but I liked the association type. A map would have been nice, as there is a LOT of back-tracking, but it was fairly easy to remember where I had been. An enjoyable game for an enjoyable evening (took about six hours).
Date published: 2012-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A decent game, but certainly not one of the greats. Although not one of the greatest games I have ever played, I did find it rather enjoyable. I can't put my finger on why that is really, it just had enough to it to keep me interested. I like the idea of a Houdini themed game but at the beginning you are not really sure as to what your objective is or even who you are. Some of that becomes clearer as the game progresses although not that clear! The Houdini connection however is somewhat tenuous, and a bit of a disappointment. Beyond the normal hidden object scenes there are many "association games" where you must match up an item with one in the scene. The pairings were not always obvious and on several occasions were downright obtuse! The puzzles were fairly easy and there could have been more of them but I did find myself passing a pleasant few hours. The game could have benefitted from a map but it was still easy enough to navigate around the scenes. There were a few small irritations which only detracted slightly from the gameplay. An (invisible) dog barking in several of the outdoor scenes and the word "I" written as "i" in the many of the notes that were laying around come to mind. But generally, I enjoyed the game and I don't think you would be wasting your money if you were to invest in this one. Just don't expect anything extraordinary.
Date published: 2012-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very agreeable game I had played other games by these dev's and liked them... so ti was with this one. Liked the graphics and the sound... some reviewers say the graphics are fuzzy, but I don't agree. It's a different style of drawing, but certainly not less valuable than other tack sharp and neat styles. Sounds never bothered me throughout the game. There's a lot of stuff to do and a lot of locations to explore. In this, the lack of an interactive map with teleportation possibility sometimes proves to be annoying. You certainly have to keep your head together and remember where everything goes or should go... sometimes you may find yourself wandering around and trying the hint button to see if something needs to be done in a certain location. Your notebook is not much of an aid. HOS are not difficult at all... but I rather fancied the association games which often proved to be much more of a challenge. The hint button doesn't charge quickly, so I avoided using it as much as possible. The game itself is rather linear, especially towards the end. Storyline is OK. The length of the game is quite good. I cannot believe one of the reviewers who says that he finished the CE in four hours. Anyway, I played the SE and spent quite a good time with it. Actually, I regretted the game coming to an end.
Date published: 2012-10-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from this was a hard game for me...very challenging!!! it is not a bad game, just really hard for me. the hints charge in about 30 seconds and skips in about 1 minute. the hints do not handhold you at all. they just say "there is nothing for you to do here". they do not tell you where you need to go. when you have something to do they will help then. i played casual, low sound. diary but no map so there is a lot of traveling. wear comfortable shoes. you crash land on an island and your husband is kidnapped and you have to find him. houdini's assistant mr. whitehead needs you to find his girlfriend, rachel who disappeared during the water torture trick that whitehead was trying to re-create. houdini went to the grave with the solution and because of it rachel disappeared. then he says that he will give you back your husband when you find her. it is a long game due to the traveling and for me also due to the hint system. some of the scenes weren't just HO scenes, some of them were scenes where you had to match items that went together. like cabbage and rabbit, or domino and chess piece. they can be pretty hard,
Date published: 2013-10-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Glad I Got It I just finished playing the game, and I'm not sorry I got it, but am just a bit disappointed in the story itself. It was fun, and although it isn't a long game, toward the end I was ready for it to finish. I liked the Hidden Objects and mini games. The voice overs were good, the movies fine. You have a journal which I didn't use very often. I did a lot of running all over and back again. A map would have been terrific, but I make it without too much trouble. Hint is kind of helpful and does charge quickly. The graphics are really good and although the whole game seems to be a cartoon, it is well done. The sound is good, and the music not irritating. It went well with the story. Although some have said the hidden objects were too easy, I have to disagree and say that they presented a challenge to me. The association games were difficult at times as were the hidden objects. What I found rather easy were the mini games. So with the different hidden object games and just getting around, I found this game quite challenging. The story line was a bit off.. It did have a beginning and an ending, but somewhere in the middle I did get lost. So if you find yourself wondering why you are someplace or doing something think nothing about it. That was just their way of presenting the story. All in all this was a decent game and I did buy it. So I would be a fool not to recommend it which I do.
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average, But Enjoyable ... Good enough for a few hours play when waiting for the next hot game release. Graphics and sound are up to scratch and a lot thrown in for such a small file download. The Hint system is of very little help, and the game tends to slow occasionally in the HOS if you are finding the items quickly. This is a SE on special or voucher game ...
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eh..... This game had so many glitches that I was able to play entire game through a demo. I have no idea how that happened, but all I know is my "5 minutes left" went on forever. Other than that, I couldn't even enjoy it due to the difficulty being so low and some of the task and items needed being unclear. The voice acting was...annoying other than the main antagonist. I mean, don't get me wrong. The game was not an all failure. I enjoyed where the story was going and the was the story was being elaborated was clever...but I do wish it was tighter (as for graphics)
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing New Here Search around a dark, spooky place. Find HOS and mini-games. The hint button was one of those irritating sorts that only works in the room your available action is in, so I spent many minutes going from room to room trying to figure out what to do next. The association mini-games were a bit of a stretch - a few I didn't understand the association even with a hint. As other reviewers have noted, the HOS are fairly dark and muddled. By the time the trial had finished, I was ready to be done with this game.
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wish it were better. Images were fuzzy, sound was great, story line was good, but I thought it would be more of a challange. If so, I would have bought it. I have bought almost every game to support cancer. I love the fact that Big Fish donnats $1.oo. Thank you for that!!!!!
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Still unknown Its an ok game, but I like a game to be more than ok. So I will be waiting for something more than ok before spending.
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A little boring, Not very challenging This game is ok, but not great. Same music as the music in "Macabre Mysteries: Curse of the Nightingale" HOS and puzzles easy to moderately challenging. Graphics mostly good, but fuzzy in HOS. No map that I saw, but there is a journal. Storyline: original premise is good, but it's not played out well. For instance, she wakes up from a plane crash to find a news article that her plane disappeared a month ago, but a note from her companion makes it seem as if they just got there. Makes no sense, and there is no explanation as to why. There are better games out there, but I'm recommending this game to those who like this sort of thing.
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Houdini's castle Not well done. Very fuzzy and hard to find pics
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from NICE AVERAGE GAME This is a nice average game. There are many things to do simultaneously and you carry inventory until it can be used. The contrast between found and unfound objects in the HOS list could have been sharper. The images in the HOS were frequently indistinct (and not always because they were in shadow). The “association” mini-games in which you match objects to an associated object (ex: matching a banana with a monkey) make use of previously seen HO scenes. Although there was a lot of detail in the environments, they were a little crowded. Not too challenging - no frustration. Pleasant game to while away the time, but nothing exciting.
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Difficult Clues were awful. They were not helpful at all. They didn't tell you where to go when you're stuck. I started this game over with three different profiles and got stuck every single time. Never could finish this game.
Date published: 2014-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from wanted to like it but just couldn't get there unfortunately this game just ended up frustrating me. the idea was good, games were okay. the problem was the hint button, I hate when they just say nothing more to do here where there is also no map. I just end up frustrated and wasting time trying to guess where to go. I kept going back to this game to try and get past my frustration but finally just gave up. hopefully the developers will listen and stop creating these frustrating games. I Love big fish games but want maps and/or hints that really help.
Date published: 2013-10-08
  • y_2019, m_7, d_20, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_16129, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Great Unknown: Houdini's Castle

Your honeymoon turns sour when a madman kidnaps your husband, forcing you to expose Houdini's greatest trick.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.