Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(323.28 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Return to Europe in a brand new adventure as Dana Knightstone, the best-selling novelist who can see ghosts. When your cousin, famed musician Sebastian Knightstone, starts hearing eerie violin music in his Austrian manor, he asks for your help to investigate. But you're not the only one digging up the ghost's secrets -- and you find yourself falling headlong into danger! Solve challenging puzzles as you trek through snowy Austrian landscapes in search of missing clues. Can you follow the ghost's trail before time runs out?

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Smart strategy guide
  • Wallpaper & concept art
  • Replayable cutscenes

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.1
  • Hard Drive: 478 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(323.28 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 75.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game! This one was an instant buy for me. The graphics are incredible and the story and game play were engrossing. A nice ghost story without all the dark ambiance that most adventure games have. There isn't a map, but it really isn't needed as you don't get lost in millions of backtracking scenes. The HO were very well done with lots of interaction and different approaches. Some were in list form, others were in find so many veggies, etc. And then there were move objects out of the way to find objects. It was very entertaining and I wasn't constantly wondering what to do next. The game was very well thought out and I can't wait for the next one!
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great game They worked hard on this one, at first I thought it was gonna be another old game, blablabla, but no it was fresh and interesting the HO were well done and the graphics excellent, not very creepy but some good rewards and interesting scenes.
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Good Game! This series has truly been improved upon! I think it's the best one yet. The storyline is interesting along with the mechanics of the game. Sound effects are good and graphics clear and crisp. Even on hardcore, the puzzles are do-able. Just enough HOS to enjoy a variety of things to do. Lots of eye candy to see. Nothing to collect along the way but at least there are achievements to be had which helps to qualify this as a CE. Good job Boomzap!
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NICE ADDITION TO THE SERIES Relaxing music; georgeous scenes; appealing and believable story (if you believe in ghosts); wide variety of clever puzzles. Good blend of HOS and puzzles/mini-games. It’s a delight to see HOS with such detailed and picturescque graphics instead of the drab, overly crowded and dilapidated-looking HOS found in so many games today. As with the other Dana Knightstone stories, the developers put a lot of thought into the plot and did a fantastic job of putting the gameplay together to move the story forward smoothly and effortlessly. And they showed a little humor in everyday life - the animals and their antics sure added a little smile to my face. A very well developed and polished game. A nice addition to my Dana collection.
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Storyline and Music Bode Well With the Game Play! Often, the storyline of Hidden Object Games may, but often not, match the activities in the game i.e., HO scenes, mini-games, etc. This one is right on. The game has 3-game modes, achievements, and a well done resource book. The music also matched the time period. * Great graphics *50 plus HO scenes *6 chapters, plus the Epilogue, only in the CE version *Challenging interaction in both the HO scenes and throughout the game *No objects to find to earn an achievement *No map, but there are the hints are plentiful, and they tell you just what to do *Mini-games. Some are familiar, but there are enough new ones to keep you engaged I can't wait to purchase and play the rest of the game. It's worth it, particularly since they are offering a bundle deal.
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What an absorbing game Lovely winter scene's, good graphic's and the music didn't intrude at all. For me that's a big plus. I just lost myself playing this demo so that I didn't want it to end. The storyline is good and the mini games are an interesting mixture. I been with BF for a while, but I don't recall the previous games in this series. So a real treat for me that this comes as a special offer in a bundle. I had real fun and enjoyment with this game, and it is a definite buy for me.
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do not buy the SE! This is one of my favourite series and the 3rd is no disappointment. The bonus chapter in the collector's edition is a must so do not go for any bargain on SE versions! The bonus is always adding to the story which is why you buy these adventures in the first place really! Lots of love, excitement and pleasure coming your way if you play this! Great story, graphic, sound HOS and well everything is just great!
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes, another ghost story, but one that is well done! I have the other two Knightstone games and really liked them. This is a very good dev and the graphics (clean and clear) and game play prove that. I really like voice-overs, they just seem to make a game come to life a bit. The games are nice and a bit different so far. HOGs are fun (I like the mixture of things to do). Music very nice. The only thing I didn't care for was the SG. You do enough clicking around during a game, you certainly do not need to click around a few more times for the SG. It needs to be on the screen for easy access. I really like this game and am going to purchase to see what happens. Nice special today. Wish this would happen before I purchase the other games...oh, well. As always, try the game for yourself. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for it at all. Personally, I think this is a very nice game and based on the first two games, I think it is worth the CE price. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Dana Knightstone ! I have played all the games and excited to see this one out, loads of achievements and collectables , HOS are easy but so what ! It's a nice change from all the demon infested games out now (although I do enjoy these also) . Was thrilled to see achievements as those make the game so enjoyable to me , other tools you collect to use later on. I have only played a few minutes and had to buy. Boom Zap is the developer and have done an excellent job in my opinion . Dana Knightstone fans will love it !
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING GAME - NOT YOUR USUAL HOG! Beautiful graphics and great music. The voice overs are well done although not in sync. One of the first scenes in the demo was that of the snow-covered mansion. There is something cozy and inviting with scenes like these. There is no map, but it has a very helpful hint system. The HOG's are integrated and are very well done. There seems to be more sophisticated IHOG and FROG being developed and that's a very good thing. They make you think just a little bit harder and that's always a good thing. No chance of getting bored with this game. I'm glad the developers are listening and are bringing us these awesome games. After the demo was over I went to YouTube and watched several videos on the game. Very helpful as the 1 hr. demo flies by pretty fast and it's nice to look it over again. Keep up the good work developers, you're on the right track.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Experience! This is a MUST BUY! I like this game so much! Its very different from the other Dana Knightstone games. It has more action and adventure going on for Dana. The gameplay is very logical and clever. Things made sense. Its a good breather from those dark games these days thats filled with monsters and wolves where there's always someone abducted. Its not a very very difficult game. Just right difficulty for me. The hidden object screens are very interactive. The graphics is very clear and sharp. The characters are also very pretty and very well drawn. The Voiceover in this game is also well done. I recommend this game for people who wants something different. Thank you Boom Zap for another wonderful game! Please make more! This game is a sure buy for me!
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely addictive I bought this game after my hour was up. I think I'm toward the end. I've been playing it off and on most of the day. I hate when life gets in the way of my gaming. Just kidding, well mostly kidding. The game ramains just as good as the demo. The visuals are excellent and the music is good. The leads voiceover can be a bit jarring, but not bad enough to put me off. The level of challenge is more to 3 3/4 stars. There might be a glich in it, but it could be my computer. The hint keeps telling me that I need to look at the piano, but I'm unable to click on it. Have to keep looking at the forums to see if anyone else has the same problem. There isn't a walk through for it yet. The story line is very good too. I'm going to take a look at the other games too.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Time just flew by! This is a lovely game. It is very easy to get around. No map required. The music is very relaxing. The puzzles are fun and not too difficult. The Hidden Object scenes are beautiful, not cluttered and interactive. I own the 2 previous games. I would recommend the Bundle sale for sure. At least try the demo. I just had to buy the CE.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from death upon an austrian sonata, a dana kingstone novel collectors edition excellent game full of intrigue , wonderful graphics and interesting characters , very good hidden object scenes not the usual boring find the object but somewhat more fun , this game for me ranks top of my list so far and i highly recommend this game , well done boom zap ,only one grumble i lost my hammer in the bonus play ,so could not finish game completely
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fine interactive Movie night at Home I love these European stories of Dana Knightstone. It is like being there, interacting with characters, doing good deeds and being in the the thick of things. The picture quality is crisp, clear and enchanting. And the story line has all the old world charm you ecpect from her. Only negative is that strategy guide is to be founf under menu button - but that is not a big problem. Enjoy the Europen winter adventure!
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hidden object game the game was great i love HO game
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completed the game! Everything is great from start to finish... I just LOVED this game; every minute playing was enjoyable to me... This one is just unique and the challenges are just right :D Thumbs up, BFG & dev!
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG SO GOOD Loved this game always a collection that is great, ease of going through the scene help hints are good LOVE IT wish it was 6.99 have to wait and add up some credits
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the series!!! I always love hidden object games! Love the series of Dana knightstone!! Characters ,music and scenes are always gorgeous!
Date published: 2014-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thumbs up for this one!!! Just the way I want a game to be! Make more like this one!! NOW!!:-)
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Game! Super fun- Interesting, entertaining, fun... It wasn't creepy or scary, and the characters and the storyline were FANTASTIC!!! I really cannot press how perfect this game is. It is the best of the Dana Knightstone Novel games.
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game I thought this was a very interesting and well-written game. You are trying to solve an old mystery about what happened to a beautiful violinist. She comes back as a ghost to help you at times. There are several chapters, and for each you are in a beautiful setting, and you must find helpful objects, solve hidden object scenes, play mini-games, and backtrack in order to use some of your found objects. Since this is the Collector's Edition, you are also trying to get various achievement awards. You should look at this list ahead of time so that you have some idea of activities you should do in order to win the various achievements. If you get stuck you can also look at the strategy guide that comes with the Collector's Edition game. I thought the art work and the sound were both beautifully done. The mini games ranged from very easy to medium-difficult. There is a skip button if needed for the games. I really liked this game and would definitely recommend it.
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great adventure! This game makes me feel like I am like a modern version of Indiana Jones! No treasure but I am finding out the truth - Dana is on a real adventure - there are bad guys out there, but I am not afraid. I love the story and the pacing, and of course the charming man I met too during Dana's journey. There's a plot twist and I enjoyed the modern day setting. The dress up with a disguise subgame put a smile on my face :)
Date published: 2013-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely casual game! I f you are looking for something to take your time and , also has wonderful graphics this is the game for you! The Dana Knightstone series is my favorite on Big fish! I Have bought every single one.
Date published: 2013-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story & graphics, enjoyable hos & puzzles All the Dana Knightstone stories are interesting stories and good solid hos and puzzles.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from once again Dana Knightstone does not dissapoint can't help but love these. I actually bought and needed the CE - it was very helpful although the hint is good so not absolutely necessary. I don't use sound so can't rate that but over all a good story like usual. finding is reasonable not rediculously hard or complicated. you help save someone. I enjoyed the game.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A story come complete I really liked this ghost story though it's different with real people vs. monsters in other adventures. The graphics are not Boom Zap's highest quality, but it may be the preferred style of this particular team.
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Hidden Object game. Wonderful storyline as well as hidden object game. Very enjoyable and worth the money.
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing atmosphere So in this game, you are writer who can see ghosts! You have to help your relative find out who is the ghost with the violin, and set the past mistakes right. I think this game's strength is in the beautiful atmosphere. I found myself in another world as soon as I started the game. It felt like home, partly because I live close to Austria. The snow, the mountains, and the music just makes everything perfect. The hidden object scenes and the mini games are cleverly made and there are just enough of them. Plus you don't have to run to and fro all the time, the tasks follow each other logically. Although the mini games weren't too hard, I didn't mind because with all the other things it was complete. The hogs were my favorite, especially enjoyed when I had to collect a specific group of objects, like fruits. The story was captivating but nor overdone. I would have liked to participate more between the scenes (like catching the train to Germany etc) but overall it was a wonderful game, I really enjoyed it! :)
Date published: 2012-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spoiler Free - Death upon an Austrian Sonata, Dana Knightstone I enjoyed this one. It was a nice balance between hidden object scenes and story. I played it on easy and I think it may have been a bit too easy. The mini games were simple as well. I believe I used the strategy guide all of two times which means that I did well on my own. It also means that I didn't really need the strategy guide. I don't know how long the bonus gameplay was but I hope that it was enough to make it worth paying the extra money for the CE. It took me just under 5 hours to finish - it tells you how long you took, that's how I know. At this point I don't really feel that it was worth it to get the CE. Perhaps that will change when the SE is released and I see how much of the game was bonus gameplay, but right now I wish I'd waited. girrl88 - home of the spoiler free review
Date published: 2012-12-04
  • y_2020, m_11, d_28, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_16157, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition

Can you solve the mystery of the ghostly violinist?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.