Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(323.28 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Return to Europe in a brand new adventure as Dana Knightstone, the best-selling novelist who can see ghosts. When your cousin, famed musician Sebastian Knightstone, starts hearing eerie violin music in his Austrian manor, he asks for your help to investigate. But you're not the only one digging up the ghost's secrets -- and you find yourself falling headlong into danger! Solve challenging puzzles as you trek through snowy Austrian landscapes in search of missing clues. Can you follow the ghost's trail before time runs out?

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Smart strategy guide
  • Wallpaper & concept art
  • Replayable cutscenes

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.1
  • Hard Drive: 478 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(323.28 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 75.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Hidden Object game. Wonderful storyline as well as hidden object game. Very enjoyable and worth the money.
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing atmosphere So in this game, you are writer who can see ghosts! You have to help your relative find out who is the ghost with the violin, and set the past mistakes right. I think this game's strength is in the beautiful atmosphere. I found myself in another world as soon as I started the game. It felt like home, partly because I live close to Austria. The snow, the mountains, and the music just makes everything perfect. The hidden object scenes and the mini games are cleverly made and there are just enough of them. Plus you don't have to run to and fro all the time, the tasks follow each other logically. Although the mini games weren't too hard, I didn't mind because with all the other things it was complete. The hogs were my favorite, especially enjoyed when I had to collect a specific group of objects, like fruits. The story was captivating but nor overdone. I would have liked to participate more between the scenes (like catching the train to Germany etc) but overall it was a wonderful game, I really enjoyed it! :)
Date published: 2012-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The game's great..but the trophies not so much I love the game and the story is amazing. The only prob I had was the trophies. Some are stupid and not really worth your time. The bonus game is a 70 like 30 dislike. I'm not a trophy person and it's my minor pet peeve. The sounds great as well as the music, the story and everything. But if i were you I would disable the showing of the trophies for this one.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pretty fun game Have good voice over and music is good. The graphics are also good. Not that hard to play and has a good flow. HOG are different and fun. Puzzles are also not that hard and makes it fun. The hint button tell you what to do and where to go. For me that is a little more info than needed but that is better than no hints. Different and fun.
Date published: 2012-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spoiler Free - Death upon an Austrian Sonata, Dana Knightstone I enjoyed this one. It was a nice balance between hidden object scenes and story. I played it on easy and I think it may have been a bit too easy. The mini games were simple as well. I believe I used the strategy guide all of two times which means that I did well on my own. It also means that I didn't really need the strategy guide. I don't know how long the bonus gameplay was but I hope that it was enough to make it worth paying the extra money for the CE. It took me just under 5 hours to finish - it tells you how long you took, that's how I know. At this point I don't really feel that it was worth it to get the CE. Perhaps that will change when the SE is released and I see how much of the game was bonus gameplay, but right now I wish I'd waited. girrl88 - home of the spoiler free review
Date published: 2012-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO FAR THE BEST I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!! A writer with the ability to sense "ghosts" is called to Austria by a distant family member, he also can sense "ghosts"...and the fun begins... -The storyline is beyond brilliant~ -The story takes you to so many different location, I mean a a lot!!! More then I have seen in any "Hidden Object" game, I was absolutely amazed, this was way beyond any game I have played~ - The crisp and clean visuals made it impossible not to like this game 100%~ -The HOS were very different in so may ways..you will see. I looked forward to the HOS~ - The music was appropriate for the concept of the game, not loud and annoying~ I LOVED THIS GAME, MY FAVORITE BY FAR, and I have over 50-60 games I have bought BUY THE GAME AND HAVE AS MUCH FUN AS I DID!!
Date published: 2012-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like these games! Here's another gem in this series. I love the story line and the artwork. The mini games are mostly great and the music is fairly easy to ignore. A very enjoyable time for me!
Date published: 2012-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lot's of fun, relaxing!! I really enjoyed this game. I play these when I'm relaxing and getting ready to go to bed, so I liked the level of this game, and the hints now and then were truly helpful. Gorgeous graphics, very fun storyline. Five stars!
Date published: 2012-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another awesome DK game! I owe every title of DK game and this one I bought without trying the demo. The game, as usual excels in music, graphic and story. There is less number of puzzles, which makes me so happy. BZ is so well known to me for creating lots of puzzles in their games but this time it's moderate. Not too many, which is great. Can't wait to see the next game of DK novel!!
Date published: 2012-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like this game I seldom write a review but really enjoyed this game. It was challenging but not one where you had to wonder around from 20 different rooms like some games. I recommend this game. It was fun and different from many hidden object games I have played.
Date published: 2012-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No demons - hurray!! I have played all the games and loved them too! HOS are easy but that's OK! Better than getting frustrated. LOL. It's a pleasant change from all the demon infested games out now. I have played the others and yes Dana Knightstone fans will love it!
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Breathtaking ... This is by far the best game I have played on Big Fish Games since I became a member almost 2 years ago! Beautiful graphics, gripping love story with bittersweet tragedy, excellent voice-overs and a nice mix of mini-games and HO scenes. I didn't want this game to end, and loved the added Epilogue Chapter that comes with the Bonus Content. Going to be buying the two previous games in the series and can't wait for the next one!
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST KNIGHTSTONE NOVEL YET!! MY NEW FAV! I hope this is a new start to the series. It is an amazing game in so many aspects. Music, story line, graphics, awesome and very different mini games. I really LOVED this game a LOT. I have played others in the series but wow they outdid themselves this time!! Worth the purchase and them some!!! Keep it Up Game Developers I can't wait to see the next one now!!! Enjoy
Date published: 2012-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lets have an adventure! This game is so awesome! I played the demo and even before the time ran out, i have decided that i will buy this game! STORY: Its quite different compared to everything that is being released these days. The ghost love story is just one part of the game. Dana having her own adventure trying to find out whats the story behind the ghost is so wonderful. GAMEPLAY: The puzzles are clever. Its not too easy and not too hard. The hidden object areas are very interactive and fun. Its a good mix of puzzle and hidden object. Great job to the developers! I can say that this is the best of this series yet! The hints are useful and helps me out when im stuck. I'm old and forgetful, so having the journal being clear and available is very nice. GRAPHICS: I loved the graphics! Its so clear and not messy. Its realistic and just my cup of tea. The ghost and the characters are so beautiful and handsome, they are too good to be true. Ship me now to Austria! MUSIC: Its relaxing and thrilling at some points. Very nicely done! I love the ambient sound effects. Makes me feel I'm really there. As a whole, I think this is a very solid game with good story. Just what I want to play to relax. I see myself as Dana having an exciting adventure! I've had enough of horror games already. This game is worth your money indeed!
Date published: 2012-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 007-ish Hidden Object game First time to play this game.. A good mixture of typical and unique hidden object games (like that sardines can that you have to open using that key-handle thing) with lots of other types of games along the way! Picturesque scenes from the first chapter down to the last with cool atmospheric animations and ambience.. Cutscenes are super cool! with all the necessary animations and stuff.. I love the drama ... and that James Bond action/chase in the beginning... Over all this game is really really good!!! makes me wanna buy the previous Dana Knightstone's!
Date published: 2012-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LET ME KNOW WHEN 4TH IN THE SERIES COMES OUT ! Loved this 3rd chapter to the game hey so it did not have a few more puzzles then the 2nd game but still have to hand to you guys at big fish and b/z .Game still comes out beautiful .Let me know when the 4th game in the series comes out big fish and boomzap
Date published: 2012-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from greattttttttttttttttt this is really a great game ,i love it so much ,this is such a beautiful game and i love its music so much.........really wonderful , dana knightstone novel game series is my favorite,thankyou so much for this game ,it should be another sequel of this game with another story again.....
Date published: 2012-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hauntingly beautiful... VERSION Collector's Edition demo DEVELOPER Boomzap Games GENRE Adventure/Hidden Object mystery STORYLINE You return in your role as Dana Knightstone, novelist and solver of romance mysteries. This time, you're called upon by your cousin, Sebastian, to investigate the enigma of a beautiful ghost of a musician. But you're not alone in your search to uncover the ghost's secrets! Your quest takes you to beautiful Austria. GAMEPLAY Your trusty journal holds your notes as well as clues you discover in your quest for the truth. To be honest, I became so engrossed in the game, I failed to notice the hint system and whether there was a map! This is more of an adventure game than a true HO game, in my opinion, as the HO scenes are so integrated into the storyline that they really seem a necessary part of the game, which is unusual. Some are of the list type, with a portion of the list requiring an extra step. Others are "find several objects that fit this category." TECHNICAL Hardly worth mentioning, but it is something that occurs in all Boomzap games…I have my trackpad set so that I don't have to press to click; I just have to tap. In the HO scenes and puzzles, the game doesn't recognize this; I actually have to press to click. No idea why. GRAPHICS The beautifully rendered 3D graphics are richly colored and captivating. CUTSCENES Sort of stop motion in style, but it doesn't detract from the story at all. MUSIC Haunting…really gorgeous. SOUND Both ambient and game sounds are appropriate and well done. VOICEOVER The voiceover acting is quite good, especially Dana's. SUMMARY Boomzap is one of my favorite developers, so I knew I'd enjoy this game. I'll definitely be adding it to my collection, but I'll probably wait for the SE (only because I have quite a few free game codes to use up). This one is worth it.
Date published: 2012-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just wonderful thank you BF for the bundle opportunity! I almost passed, sure glad I did'nt! I never played the first 2 games, so I looked them up and read the reviews and decided to try . these games are beautiful . major eye-candy! wonderful HOPAs I think they intricated every type of mini game / puzzle I've ever come across and some are in the HO scenes. very clever,absolutely loved it, but I'm a huge fan of the mini games and puzzles. loved the storylines , keep you thouroughly entranced. hint button though rarely needed tells you what to do next limited running back and forth in each scene then off to the next [new] scene. good narration and voice overs not too much talking in fact didnt need to skip it like in some games [cant shut em up lol] thanks again big fish for the bundle, hope alot of people took advantage of it. these games stay in my keeper file. happy gaming!
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game! This one was an instant buy for me. The graphics are incredible and the story and game play were engrossing. A nice ghost story without all the dark ambiance that most adventure games have. There isn't a map, but it really isn't needed as you don't get lost in millions of backtracking scenes. The HO were very well done with lots of interaction and different approaches. Some were in list form, others were in find so many veggies, etc. And then there were move objects out of the way to find objects. It was very entertaining and I wasn't constantly wondering what to do next. The game was very well thought out and I can't wait for the next one!
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great game They worked hard on this one, at first I thought it was gonna be another old game, blablabla, but no it was fresh and interesting the HO were well done and the graphics excellent, not very creepy but some good rewards and interesting scenes.
Date published: 2012-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hidden object game the game was great i love HO game
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do not buy the SE! This is one of my favourite series and the 3rd is no disappointment. The bonus chapter in the collector's edition is a must so do not go for any bargain on SE versions! The bonus is always adding to the story which is why you buy these adventures in the first place really! Lots of love, excitement and pleasure coming your way if you play this! Great story, graphic, sound HOS and well everything is just great!
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Experience! This is a MUST BUY! I like this game so much! Its very different from the other Dana Knightstone games. It has more action and adventure going on for Dana. The gameplay is very logical and clever. Things made sense. Its a good breather from those dark games these days thats filled with monsters and wolves where there's always someone abducted. Its not a very very difficult game. Just right difficulty for me. The hidden object screens are very interactive. The graphics is very clear and sharp. The characters are also very pretty and very well drawn. The Voiceover in this game is also well done. I recommend this game for people who wants something different. Thank you Boom Zap for another wonderful game! Please make more! This game is a sure buy for me!
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completed the game! Everything is great from start to finish... I just LOVED this game; every minute playing was enjoyable to me... This one is just unique and the challenges are just right :D Thumbs up, BFG & dev!
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thumbs up for this one!!! Just the way I want a game to be! Make more like this one!! NOW!!:-)
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG SO GOOD Loved this game always a collection that is great, ease of going through the scene help hints are good LOVE IT wish it was 6.99 have to wait and add up some credits
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from death upon an austrian sonata, a dana kingstone novel collectors edition excellent game full of intrigue , wonderful graphics and interesting characters , very good hidden object scenes not the usual boring find the object but somewhat more fun , this game for me ranks top of my list so far and i highly recommend this game , well done boom zap ,only one grumble i lost my hammer in the bonus play ,so could not finish game completely
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING GAME - NOT YOUR USUAL HOG! Beautiful graphics and great music. The voice overs are well done although not in sync. One of the first scenes in the demo was that of the snow-covered mansion. There is something cozy and inviting with scenes like these. There is no map, but it has a very helpful hint system. The HOG's are integrated and are very well done. There seems to be more sophisticated IHOG and FROG being developed and that's a very good thing. They make you think just a little bit harder and that's always a good thing. No chance of getting bored with this game. I'm glad the developers are listening and are bringing us these awesome games. After the demo was over I went to YouTube and watched several videos on the game. Very helpful as the 1 hr. demo flies by pretty fast and it's nice to look it over again. Keep up the good work developers, you're on the right track.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Good Game! This series has truly been improved upon! I think it's the best one yet. The storyline is interesting along with the mechanics of the game. Sound effects are good and graphics clear and crisp. Even on hardcore, the puzzles are do-able. Just enough HOS to enjoy a variety of things to do. Lots of eye candy to see. Nothing to collect along the way but at least there are achievements to be had which helps to qualify this as a CE. Good job Boomzap!
Date published: 2012-11-09
  • y_2019, m_9, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_16157, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Death Upon an Austrian Sonata: A Dana Knightstone Novel Collector's Edition

Can you solve the mystery of the ghostly violinist?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.