Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(500.18 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Uncover the evil legend that haunts a forgotten town in Mystery Case Files®: Shadow Lake! In 1973, something wicked took over the town of Bitterford, Maine, after an unsuspecting inmate unearthed a mysterious object from beneath the prison floor.

Years later, Bitterford lies in ruin. You must join forces with psychic Cassandra Williams, played by award-winning actress Lea Thompson, to investigate the events that led to the town's destruction.

Only you can expose the evil that lurks in the depths of Shadow Lake. But beware... What you discover may haunt you forever.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Exclusive bonus gameplay
  • Unlockable Morphing Objects
  • Beautiful screensavers & wallpapers
  • Exclusive behind-the-scenes video
  • Dynamic casebook and integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.2
  • Hard Drive: 1584 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(500.18 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition is rated 2.6 out of 5 by 849.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OH WOW I played the trial and just had to buy the full game. I am a fan of MCF games and as usual this is an amazing game. The graphics are amazing and it really makes you think about what your next move is going to be. I dont normally submit a review but on this one I just had to.
Date published: 2012-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular! The Hint system was very different and sometimes a bit difficult but I just loved the Story line. The Story was superb. Could have had a more spectacular ending with the Demon coming to life and then dying again which was what I was expecting. 5 Stars all the way for this Game!
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't believe the number of bad reviews! I am writing this November 25th 2016. I'm mentioning the date because this game was released in 2012 and it is STILL one of my favorites, which is why I am playing it all over again. Now this is a perfect example of why I LOVED the MCF games in the first place --- they are nothing like your run-of-the-mill hidden object / adventure games. The uniqueness was what drew me to the MCF games and kept me anxiously awaiting the next one. I must say, however, that I have not been impressed with the last few MCF games as the very format or style has changed and they seem to have become just like any other hidden object/adventure game. I keep hoping that the next one will return to the "Shadow Lake" and "13th Skull" type of adventure. Time will tell!
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Engaging - and tough I too am so surprised at the low score of this game. Where are the MCF fans? The cutaway scenes are excellent - amazing quality cast - Lea Thompson as Casandra? Are there no BTTF fans either? Totally entertaining! The game was tough to figure out at times and sometimes counter intuitive (putting out a candle with a spoon). The puzzles ranged from easy to really challenging. I didn't like everything about the game - I don't like out of control inventory bars that auto-hide at the bottom of the screen and you end up in a constant battle between calling it up or leaving a room. Just not smooth play. And having to go and get the ladder from wherever you left it - that was alright, but didn't really add to the game. For instance, at one point you need it but it's not in your inventory, so you don't know that you need it and it's not there to try, and at the master detective level there is no hint at all why you can't get into the area. Also sometimes the game play was either choppy with no clear idea where to go next, or repetitive when you knew the next step in a cycle. Apparently there were morphing objects to get? I didn't see one. The HOGs were pretty tough too and sometimes impossible to see the objects. However, aside from those minor issues, the production value and acting made this game so campy and fun that I loved playing it. Really memorable characters! (Also like the little nod to Madam Fate on the game console in the town).
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A new favorite for me? Definitely! I honestly don't see how this game is so hated. It was really fun and creepy, especially the ghost in the schoolhouse. I honestly hope this one gets a "sequel," like some of the other games in the Mystery Case Files series.
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Mini Movie Adventure I have seen all the bad reviews about this game and almost did not download it. I am glad I did not heed to those. This is a great game. You have real life actors, not animated characters. It's like participating in a movie! It was awesome!. There need to be more of these type games. I am not a HO game person and as a matter of fact despise them. My eyesight is horrible and so that makes it that much more frustrating to get through one. If you like HO, great, there are a billion out there to enjoy, but don't pick apart something that there should be more of -real life actors with puzzles mixed in. I totally recommend this game especially if you enjoy movies.
Date published: 2013-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF Didn't Disappoint! I thought this version of MCF was fantastic! I think it brought back a bit of the old school with a map layout and challenge at the end of a certain task to continue (piecing of the puzzle), but also brought in the elements of the new. I loved the hidden object being expanded to multiple areas of the current location. I have read some of the reviews that said the morphing object didn't work until the end. I didn't have that problem, once I unlocked it (fairly early in the game) there were objects in the next location. I thought the story line was great and kept me interested. Hours of game play I thought was average for MCF. Personally I like this one better than the last release and I hope they continue with this layout. To me it didn't disappoint :)
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fun and scary for all ages me and my family played this game and we enjoyed all the creepy and scary things that happened in the end of the game was the shocker and the best plot
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyed this Game I really enjoyed playing this game. Would liked to have see more of Jack .... he was hilarious.
Date published: 2012-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BayBay36 WOW.... Just finished playing and loved it! Once again, Patrick Wylie and his team bring complete joy. Loved the new perspective on the game and, very exciting to have a professional actress playing a role. Thank you Big Fish, Wylie and the Team!!
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great amazing game. the revolving mini game through me off. had to skip. very good graphic. too much running around but thanks for the map. an unusual game. enjoyed it well. very different. know they'll be another. can't wait. i'd buy. it's well worth it. i do recommend it.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Real actors! Excellent acting by Lea Thompson. Transport map, great hint system. The psychic reading puzzles were a bit bizarre and hard to figure out. HOS had insets that somewhat hard to see, but otherwise a great game. No bonus chapter. 5 hours casual.
Date published: 2012-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best game in the whole year 2012. I have waited so long for the next game in the MCF series. And the it was worth the wait. Mystery Case Files Shadow Lake is a perfect game for me. The sounds and the graphics are the best. Very detailed and the sounds are very good done. The story is a quite different one from the other games, but I really like creepy, mystic stories. Changing the locations by a map is something new, but I liked it. The auto drawings reminded me of the door tokens in escape from Ravenhearst. I'm happy that they were in this game again, The only thing that wasn't so good was the leve of challenge. The puzzles were good. Difficould and easy puzzles appeared in the game. But the HO Scenes were very easy. It seems the devs forgott to hide the objects. But Mystery Case Files Shadow Lake for me is a very, very good game. I can't wait for the next game.
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent almost all around This game was excellently done. I experienced sync issues with video and sound but it didn't take away from the experience. Keep it up guys!
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning This is a fabulous and stunning game to play. Using techniques I have not seen in games before (such as puzzle pieces that move like they are in water at the slightest touch) and the clever melding of real acting and animation, has given this game an edge that sets it apart from others before. I am surprised that it is not rating as good as it ought to!
Date published: 2012-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Like MCF: Shadow Lake MCF games are always innovative, and Shadow Lake is intriguing and engaging. I like that you must unlock the morphing objects. The HO scenes are great. I love the map, the characters and the sly, campy humor. While this is a new direction, and others have slammed it, my bet is you'll see lots of other developers imitating this latest MCF offering. I give Shadow Lake a top review.
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved Cassandra this game had a great storyline for me and kept to it. It was a new concept as far as I'm concerned, but I loved Cassandra Challenge was not too easy but hard enough to make you think. Just right for me
Date published: 2012-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best MCF in a while, and my fav:) I was hesitant to purchase this game due to some others' ratings. I absolutely loved everything about it. I love lea Thompson too, so that was a cool surprise. I have been an avid MCF gamer since they started coming out. I was very disappointed in escape from ravenhearst due to how terribly morbid it was, I could could hardly even sit and play it. Shadow lake has redeemed MCF games for me. It was perfectly scary enough, and kept me eager to play the whole time. The other complaints about this game seemed to be that they were upset the graphics were updated? I think that's a weird thing to complain about. I LOVE the changes they made in this game. Change is sometimes a bad thing, but not in this case. Those of you who are hesitant due to other reviews, just decide for yourself. I wasn't disappointed at all.
Date published: 2012-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the better ones Lovin this game, very challenging. Not sure why there are so many negative reviews.
Date published: 2012-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hello Gamers What's wrong with you, MCF makes great games. You give 5 stars to games that really don't deserve it. I give MCF 5 stars because that make really Great Games.
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm loving it I think ALL the acting is very well done and I'm VERY impressed with everyone. It's all in sync (voice & video - which is unusual for these types of games). Lea Thompson is fantastic just sitting there! I'm up to chapter 9, reached a slight impasse, and am waiting for help so thought I'd write up my thoughts about the game. I've been playing for hours today (about 5 or 6 so far) and have only skipped 2 or 3 "puzzles". However much I hate doing that - I simply can't resist wanting to get right back to the story/game. I'm really loving this and so far, it's provided hours of mind bending "fun". FYI - I'm only 75% complete...
Date published: 2012-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Loved this Game! This game was quite the production. It's a different game from run of the mill HOGS. The game however follows the excellence of prior MCF games. This game requires, even the casual mode player, to use their recall. Paying close attention to location surroundings is necessary. The art work, actors, cut scenes and storyline very good. My thanks to the entire production team, developers and QA, as one might say "you did good!". Now I await a sequel.
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spooky, creepy fun! Judging from the reviews this seems to be a love or hate it type of game. Well, I'm in the love it camp. It''s actually pretty frightening in places with a nicely creepy atmosphere, which is fantastic! To be honest many so-called scary HOPA's I've seen are about as frightening as a fluffy-wuffy kitten playing with a ball of yarn so to find a *genuinely* spooky/scary game is great. The humour doesn't grate either or feel out of place (in fact, more games could do with a bit of humour). Production values are obviously very high and you can tell Lea Thompson and the other actors had fun with the role, others disagree but I think it really adds to the game. Can't comment on the SG - I see from other reviews people aren't keen on it but to be honest SGs aren't massively important to me as I rarely use them. Other features I haven't used yet so again can't comment on those. Liked the transporter map, always a plus. All in all, great fun. Five stars from me.
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from something special It is not like the other MCF games, but I love so much to play it! Don't understand all the bad reviews, but there is no accounting for taste!
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't be scared This new game to the MCF series brings a fresh breath of spookiness and paranoia. If you enjoy the seris you may enjoy this one although it brings a pace that differs from the others. Be aware that there are many jump scares in the game just waiting to get you so this game may not be for the faint of heart or those with heart problems.
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting spooky game! I loved this game! Can't wait to buy this one! This game was done so much differently than all the other HOGs. I got spooked after watching the tv in the motel room. scared me half to death! I always loved the spooky paranormal games that have a good storyline to them. this is one of them. Id recommend this to anyone who loves this kind of theme.
Date published: 2012-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another MCF Success This game has a lot going for it. Live actors, new kinds of puzzles and HOS, map that lets you teleport, good hints, good journal. Good vocals, ambient sounds, and appropriate music. The Strategy Guide, though, is strange. It only has pix, and only shows you what to do in the room you're in at the time. In order to find everything on an HOS list, you have to travel from room to room, and also zoom into drawers, cabinets, etc. Puzzles are different, too, such as the one with 4 squares of a video, and when you try to connect the wrong ones, they bounce off each other. Storyline: an evil, ancient object with runes on it, causes people who touch it to become deranged. You're hired by a psychic to find out the whole story, and get to the bottom of the negative energies that have turned an entire town into a ghost town.
Date published: 2012-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MCF = Magnificient Creative Fun! I loved this game! Based on the demo only, I will definitely be purchasing this game! I enjoyed the 13th Skull and this one has a newer more exciting take on the HO scenes, beautiful areas to explore and I thought Lea Thompson did a great job, she was a hoot not to mention "The Ghost Patrol".
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I enjoyed it. I loved the "Cassandra" and "Jack" segments. It was worth buying the game just to watch them.
Date published: 2012-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must get game! This game is amazing and has it all. Love the graphics and the integration of the live actors. the puzzles are excellent. One of my favorite things about MCF games is that they always have a good mystery story. This is not exception. 5 stars all the way!
Date published: 2012-11-20
  • y_2022, m_5, d_26, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_849
  • loc_en_US, sid_16158, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Shadow Lake Collector's Edition

The residents of Bitterford, Maine have fallen prey to a terrible curse. It’s up to you to unravel the series of mysterious events that led to the town’s downfall and uncover the evil that was responsible.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.