Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition

Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(327.79 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Charles Dexter Ward has summoned you to the island of Pawtuxet to stop a renegade spirit that is murdering the townspeople. The spirit is using human souls to become immortal, and you will be next if you can’t stop him. Based on the novel by H.P. Lovecraft, this Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game will test your investigative skills as you solve the mysteries of Ward’s family and complete the ritual that will banish this evil spirit once and for all!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Downloadable H.P. Lovecraft novel
  • Revive the lost souls in the bonus chapter!
  • In-game strategy guide
  • Exclusive behind-the-scenes video
  • Concept art gallery

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 7.0
  • Hard Drive: 459 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(327.79 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelleeeeent! I love these types of Graphics, absolutely stunning! The Game was relatively easy, no mind-benders for a change, which I enjoyed every much. I don't why people complain about that - does everything have to be mind-bending? Yes there are many HO scenes for HO lovers! This Game is definitely replayable and I look forward to playing it again in years to come. Worth every cent!
Date published: 2012-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from JUST FINISHED GAME I really liked the "behind the scenes" in the extras.It was very well done and gave us an idea of the people who voiced, coded and drew the game and where they worked. This is a REAL extra to me. That and the bonus game. The ending was good but could've been better. Lots of HO but they were pretty good and the Adventure part was good too.
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charles Dexter Ward Back Again Based on the hour trial. Murder and soul-snatching (again), and this time CDW is in danger from his ancestor, whom he resurrected (and now regrets it!) Voice overs pleasant enough, and graphics are crisp and clear. Has environmental sound effects, such as thunder, which can be turned off in the menu if desired. I have my music at mid level, and it plays very soft in the background, behind all the thunder. HO scenes so far are good, unlike others which are either too cluttered or have dark spots. Puzzles can be skipped, and skip button does not take forever to refill! I sometimes find the puzzles TOO challenging, but so far have been able to complete them. Hint button is also fairly quick to refill. Hint button also helpful to show next step. In the "Objectives" book, a hint is shown as to the next step, if you want it. I find this game has enough challenge to satisfy most, without having to be a certified genius to complete! I am thoroughly enjoying the game so far, and look forward to seeing the story through. I thoroughly recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fun dark mystery! I just finished playing my hour & it seemed like I only played for a few minutes! I got so wrapped up in this game, I didn't want to stop. There wasn't anything I didn't like about this game; the graphics, music, everything was great. Right up my alley, too. I love scary suspenseful games & this was right up there. I would definitely buy this game!
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spirit stealing human souls !!!! Demoed 20 minutes, normal mode - 3 modes, easy, normal, hard - Voice overs - Integrated SG on the bottom right of your screen, you can access it too from your notebook - Notebook on the bottom left of your screen + tasks button but they appear in your notebook - Click penalty in H0, I hate that :whistle: - No map - Hint useful outside H0, shows you the way, didn't use it so I don't know how long it takes to refill - Skip button - H0, you interact, they are clear - Mini games not over difficult up to what I played - Very good graphics - Music a bit loud Good story based on H P Lovecraft novel. A spirit is using human souls to become immortal. I think I've already seen this theme in quite a few games, still the game looks good and it's a buy for me.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Graphic Beyond Compare I was prepared not to like another "dark and sinister" game. Yes, the subject matter is dark, but the graphics just drew me into the web. The play went smoothly as the next steps made sense. Often we are asked to be mind readers to move forward, but as mentioned this game makes sense as to the next moves. I really enjoyed the trial, though it was not the full hour, but a shorter demo.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very spooky game I liked this game very much. The graphics and sound are great. I did not have to use the hint button very much. It is a hidden object game, but it is not one right after the other. This is a good game to play at night. I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper This review is based on the Demo and I find that it is a fun game. The graphics where Excellent and the Story draws you in to game. The voice overs where excellent. The challenge of the game was not very hard. All in All its a fun game to play. I happen to like H.P. Lovecraft stories so based on this I would recommend the game.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very very good the HOs were excellent, not a pile of junk. Game worked very smoothly as well. I dont like super creepy but this one was not grim and icky like a few iI have played.. was sad when trial ran out, will probably buy!
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definately a buy I don't comment often but this one caught my interest from the start, only played for 15 minutes before buying. Great new addition to collector editions - downloadable book content. Graphics are good, voice content that is able to be continued quickly - everything I look for in a game. Thanks BFG for the extra content of a book to download.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Heck. I knew I would like this game as soon as I started to play. The audio itself is good, but I am not too crazy about the character voices. Otherwise, it is a fun, cool game!
Date published: 2012-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game! This is an excellent game from these developers! I really liked their series Mystery Stories and this CE is very well made. Beautiful graphics, enough Hidden Object searches to satisfy the fans of this kind of gameplay and nicely challenging minigames. Well done devs! The Bonus game was fun to play too and a nice ending for this story. Leaves you with a positive feeling!
Date published: 2013-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Hours to play and a great game too!! I just finished this game and bonus game. I don't know if it's due to egg nog but this took me 3 days to finish! That is a whole lotta game and I play alot as well. I loved the story line and where that story takes you. There are a few go back to areas looked at before, well a bunch actually but still a good game. I played on expert and it worked fine. If you are a great player I would advise playing on expert. I LOVE playing games, I think the staff know me by name..just kidding, well not really. This game is the longest game I have ever played Although I am going to ask my cousin Rob what he put in the fruit cake this year!! Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and Hope the New Year is a truly awesome one for you too!!
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I Loved this Game It was fun the talking was so far behind in its time should have been a little bit more updated.... The background music was great, Challenge was however you would like it I guess because It does give you options :) on challenge level Storyline was excellent I truly enjoyed the story ....Loved the game TY
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not exceptioinal, but a very nice game! Very nice graphics and game play. Liked the music (unusual for me). HOGs were fun and a bit different for a change. Nice hint system with quick recovery. Nice voice overs (always a plus for me...brings a game to life). I did find CD Ward a bit of a dork and very nerdy looking, but it works. SG had a lot of holes, e.g. put this item there and go do this. It didn't say where to go to do this, just do it. You actually had to look at the pictures in the SG to see where you were suppose to go. Other than that, it was okay. Games were very easy, and didn't take much thought to accomplish so far. This is a simple game and easy to figure out what you need to do with a particular item (especially if you explore a scene before you leave it like I do#. All that being said, I did enjoy the game, even though there was a lot of running back and forth for only one item most of the time. I am going to purchase today and see what happens #again, a no brainer, but I like it well enough to buy it). As always, try the game for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for it at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What an interesting game. The storyline of Ward reanimating his deceased relative and the relative becoming a reverant was well done. There was a lot of running around back and forth, but it was in a limited area. I actually completed the demo, which is rare for me as I take my time and found myself surprised when it was over. The characters were cartoonish, but well done and the scenery was also well done. There were three levels and as usual I played on the casual. The strategy guide was very straight forward, but actually had you doing a lot more running around than I actually did. The music was appropriate and did not interfere nor annoy but did fit the scenes it was playing in. I enjoyed this game, without the bells and whistles that are in a lot of the CEs. The hos scenes were a little junky, but I didn't have to use the hint button at all. Didn't quite get the journal entries, which gave you hits of where you were to find the next thing to gain your objective and kind of surprised and threw me off, All in all an enjoyable 50 minutes was spent.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's the Lovecraft connection Being a Science Fiction nut is not always a good thing, but it's definitely fun! I like murder mysteries too, so putting it all together with a good casual game is a perfect blend for me. So far the demo is showing this game to have all the necessary bells and whistles, i.e. voice overs, three levels of play, a strategy guide that stays where you left it, lots of cool, creepy sound effects and shocking scenes of the dear dead souls, oops, I mean the soul less dears. You'll have to try it to see what I mean! This game would make a great midnight movie with popcorn. And then there's that Big Fish key chain. I have to have it!
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not that bad Does have dead bodies in it but not any worse than tv. The HOS are ok. Not a bad game but I'll wait for the SE. Hint button works good. There is lots of running around to find items but all the games do now.
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from NOT for children Some scenes depict dead bodies so don't recommend for children. Hidden object game with a fairly good storyline based on the book The Case of Charles Dexter Ward from 1927 by H.P. Lovecraft. Puzzles, although not as prevalent as the Hidden Object scenes were very enjoyable. Yes, lots of back and forth. CE has 6 Chapters plus one Bonus chapter. Demo is Chapter 1 only. Extra items are a Strategy Guide, Concept Art, Bonus Chapter, Behind the Scenes (making of...), plus an E-book of The Curse of Charles Dexter Ward in PDF, EPub or Kindle formats. Options for Resolution, Custom Cursor, Effects, Full Screen along with Volume Settings for Music, Voice and Effects. Games has 3 levels of difficulty. Overall, I rather enjoyed it.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No Big Thrills but a Good Story. I am a big fan of Lovecraft and his obsession with immortality is certainly a theme that takes hold of this story. Our detective is asked to help C.D. Ward in tracking down the Revenant Murderer who he claims is his ancestor, Curwen. Our slightly mad Antagonist is after human souls who he believes is the key to immortality and it is up to us to stop him. Dark Mysteries is a good HOPA that offers a strong story line and interesting game features. I was not a big fan of the graphics; the hand-drawn artwork makes this game look old and worn-out which really is not much of a preference of mine. However the colors are vibrant and objects are clear. However I thought the sound effects and music was outstanding and together they offer a great ambience to the gameplay. Game features a journal and the intersting past of the journal is that you have four seperate hints that will show you what to do next. There is no map and I really di not need one. The HO scenes are crowded and interactive and the puzzles, while very easy to solve, some did have a fun factor to it. The game did not thrill me as much as other adventure games do but I am intrigued at the prospect of having a Lovecraft novel as part of the bonus section. Over all a decent game which could have been a little better in the challenge department.
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Creep Factor Like haunted house games and this was ideal with fluid gameplay and a good music score. Nice addition of Behind The Scenes in CE. Some rough translations, such as a drafting compass is called a "divider", but no worries otherwise. I was pleased enough to spend 4 hours on the CE with no regrets.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper CE This game is inspired by H.D. Lovecraft's novel "The Case of Charles Dexter Ward" written back in 1927, however the novel wasn't published until after Lovecraft's death in 1941 when it was published in Weird Tales magazine. In this Collectors Edition, you are able to download the original e-book on any e-book or computer! Charles Dexter ward contacts you in a state of panic, claiming that the reverent murderer is real and is haunting Pawtuxet Island. Charles Dexter Ward claims he is responsible for resurrecting Joseph Curwen who claimed to know the secret to immortality. (if that were true why was he dead?) Joseph refused to help Charles and started killing everyone who got in his way, he needs to kill people in order to steal their souls to stay alive! The Hidden Object scenes are list finds that are slightly interactive, where you might have to click on a cabinet or drawer to open and expose more items. There is an abundance of activities to do in each scene with plenty of inventory items to collect, repair and use. The mini games are rather easy such as using arrows to move a lockpick up, down, left or right in order to guide the lockpick correctly between the different cylinder openings. You find a grandfather clock and a red powder that when combined allows you to view and listen to events of the past. This Collectors Edition has a Bonus Chapter, a built in Strategy Guide, Original e-book, concept art and an in depth Behind the Scenes video clip which was actually a really cool look at the employees responsible for this computer game. The video shows how the concept art is used to transform into what we actually see as the end result, and how they add voiceovers and music, really amazing to see how these talented people turn a computer program into a work of art, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beware the Revenant The best thing about this game may be the inclusion of the entire Lovecraft sci-fi novel. That and the other CE extras except for the bonus chapter are available from the start. The next best thing might be the artwork. Appreciated even more if you watch the "Behind the Scenes" and view the Concept Art extras. The presentation is in Widescreen. The voice overs are animated and lip sync is on target. Not sure you can label the rest of it Best of anything. The story has been done before in some way. You are the detective on the case to help C. D. Ward reign in the Soul Keeper he inadvertently unleashed into the world and is now killing people and sucking out their souls. There is nothing new at all about the game play except for an innovation in the journal which provides progressive hints. Objectives are also listed there. There are 3 modes of play -- only the hardest has no sparkles but it also has no puzzle skips. All modes provide too much guidance to say the tasks are at all challenging. HO scenes (interactive) outnumber puzzles and you will revisit them each several times. There is no alternative way to get through them. There is no map. You will be going back and forth on foot quite a bit. There are no collectibles, morphing objects, or achievements. Is this a terrible game -- no. Anyone new to the genre would find it interesting, if a bit morbid. Seasoned players, I'm afraid, would say same old, as I was wont to do rather quickly during the demo. Too bad since parts of it are quite well done. 6 Chapters plus the bonus chapter which would appear to make all right again for the residents of Pawtuxit. I have no idea how the real novel ends up, but reading it might be a better use of time for me. 3.5 stars.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average Based only on the Demo: Overall, your average HO game. Pretty easy to figure out where the items you collect are needed. HO scenes aren't bad. There was not enough in the Demo to make me want to continue however. If you are a beginniner to these types of games then this game would be a good one to build up your skill level. Storyline was good as wel.
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed This game does not feature anything new but total frustration. It is very slow, puzzles are dull. Storyline is not engaging. You should really avoid this game.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK Game If you can ignore the dumb story, this is an enjoyable game. The production is good, and game play is well designed. The HOS and puzzles are pretty standard. The HINT works well during game play, so you don't need an SG. The main game ends well, but the bonus chapter adds to that. One of the extras is a film clip showing the developers at work - interesting. Another extra is a copy of the story on which the game is based in three different formats.
Date published: 2013-01-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Crashed 4 times..but I kept at it! The game was fun..to a point. It had a lot of bells and whistles...good voice-overs, great colors and environments, a good creepy factor, and fun puzzles that weren't too difficult, but didn't send me searching for the available skip button, either. However, as some have mentioned in the forum review pages at Big Fish, there were technical problems that I thought I wasn't going to have. About 2/3 of the way through the game, I got the old familiar access violation, and the game crashed. I uninstalled it, went to the forum pages, found it had a new build, and I reinstalled the game. Shortly thereafter, it happened again. All in all, in a period of about 15 minutes, the game seized up and issued the access violation 4 times. Each time it happened, the game manager would come up, I'd click on play, and off I'd go...until it happened again...I did that 4 times. After the last time it happened, the game played beautifully through the rest of the main game and all the way through the bonus chapter, so, don't assume that, should you get that error, that the game won't play. I just decided to keep going with dogged determination, and I wasn't disappointed, once I persevered through 4 access violations...lol. The game play made sense..things happened in the proper order. The hint system worked well and refilled fairly quickly. I did rely on the strategy guide a bit, as I got turned around a few times, as there is lots of back and forth, so put on your walking shoes. It's a good game, and I liked the ending, so try it out, and be patient if the glitches show up...I was, and had a nice evening's game play.
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing Too Special The title and bright colours attracted me, but I was a little disappointed after I played the demo. Good Parts: Best thing about the game was the HOS. They were great and a breeze to play. Also included extra step objects. Graphics were good, but a little work is required. Hint and skip recharge fast. It was easy to figure out what to do. Objectives were great. You could click on a picture to get a hint and it would tell you exactly what to do. A unique feature to this game that I hope to see in a lot more. Extra content is great. Ranges from bonus chapter to an e-book of the novel which the game is based on. Great value for money. OK Parts: Puzzles. Some were ok, but some were annoying. Bad Parts: Storyline was kind of boring. Same old ghost story, nothing new. Intro was boring and the rest of the story wasn't much better. The whole character of CD Ward was terrible. Bad voice-over and just odd. Character wasn't protrayed very well Demo only lasted me 29 minutes.. Nothing really special. I was happy with just the trial. This game will either be loved or hated, so take your pick.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK Only Definitely won't spend for the CE. OK game, but I'll pass. Others have given explicit details about why hohum. I agree with all. Play demo and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Challenging, Too Many HOS This is the second CE I've bought recently that seemed to be simply moving from HOS to HOS with very little inventory/interaction required to complete the game. This one revisits the same scenes for the HOS so it's even more boring. The puzzles, what few there are, are very simple as well. I generally play with sounds off so can't comment as to soundtrack. The game also seemed VERY short, completed the whole thing in just a few hours which is disappointing for a CE version.
Date published: 2012-12-10
  • y_2022, m_5, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_16733, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition

Charles Dexter Ward summons you to the island of Pawtuxet to stop a revenant from murdering the townspeople.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.